From what I am hearing privately from PPPites up and down the hierarchy and what I can discern from firsthand observation, the PPP is on a steady march to the Opposition benches on May 11.

They display no capacity or even inclination to do anything new. They are basically hoping the Indians will rescue them no questions asked. I don't know who formulated this strategy of "bai, abbe guh see" towards Election Day.

They further seem to be actually immune to sensible advice even when they agree with you. They want a victory but are strangely unwilling to actually do what it takes. They are deeply committed to their way of doing things. I think these people are real Communists in 2015. The world's last ideological Communists as far as how a political party and government is to be run. Uncle Freddie is 100% correct in his analysis of the PPP as a party and government. They are a regime that is too entrenched to embrace any change whatsoever. Change in anything is just not permitted by their ideology. They don't change because it is not in their nature to change for any reason whatsoever. The PPP is incredibly firmly wedded to it's ideology of how things ought to be done even though they can clearly see (and freely admit) it's not working.

The PPP is captaining the Indian Titanic and are clearly headed for the iceberg but refuse to turn because turning is just not in their traditional playbook and they ain't about to try no new-fangled "turning" strategy now.

I've never ever seen anything like it in my lifetime. (no exaggeration)

The Coalition is favored by the great goddess Fortuna. They just have to be minimally competent (by already low Guyanese standards) to achieve victory. Were I a Georgetown businessman, I'd send a substantial check to Congress Place now.

Only a little rigging or an act of extreme Indian solidarity or a combination of the two can save the PPP now. I wouldn't bank on this act of extreme Indian solidarity this time. The PPP hasn't earned it nor are they about to.

The PNC is playing chess and abbe canecutters are playing with the usual pile of mud.

From what I am hearing privately from PPPites up and down the hierarchy and what I can discern from firsthand observation, the PPP is on a steady march to the Opposition benches on May 11.

They display no capacity or even inclination to do anything new. They are basically hoping the Indians will rescue them no questions asked. I don't know who formulated this strategy of "bai, abbe guh see" towards Election Day.

They further seem to be actually immune to sensible advice even when they agree with you. They want a victory but are strangely unwilling to actually do what it takes. They are deeply committed to their way of doing things. I think these people are real Communists in 2015. The world's last ideological Communists as far as how a political party and government is to be run. Uncle Freddie is 100% correct in his analysis of the PPP as a party and government. They are a regime that is too entrenched to embrace any change whatsoever. Change in anything is just not permitted by their ideology. They don't change because it is not in their nature to change for any reason whatsoever. The PPP is incredibly firmly wedded to it's ideology of how things ought to be done even though they can clearly see (and freely admit) it's not working.

The PPP is captaining the Indian Titanic and are clearly headed for the iceberg but refuse to turn because turning is just not in their traditional playbook and they ain't about to try no new-fangled "turning" strategy now.

The Coalition is favored by the great goddess Fortuna. They just have to be minimally competent (by already low Guyanese standards) to achieve victory. Were I a Georgetown businessman, I'd send a substantial check to Congress Place now.

Only a little rigging or an act of extreme Indian solidarity or a combination of the two can save the PPP now. I wouldn't bank on this act of extreme Indian solidarity this time. The PPP hasn't earned it nor are they about to.

The PNC is playing chess and abbe canecutters are playing with the usual pile of mud.

the ppp do not need much support they have nehru,yugi,the snake,and our shit head skeltonman.these great supporters will take the ppp all the way to camp st jail

Nehru, Yugi, the Snake, and Skeldonman's time have come and gone. The PPP doesn't realize this though. Indians have grown up a lot politically but the PPP is not ready to treat us as adults so we must part ways.

May 11 is round deh Korna.

I don't know any PPP Big One lookin forward to May 11th. Do you?

PPP strategy is to bring up Burnham and PNC...they don't realize that people kinda tired of hearing the same thing every election

They need to step out of the same old tired script ( I prefer they stay with it though)

If you were listening you would have heard: Rice production up the sky, Marriot Hotel, Berbice Bridge, Dozens upon Dozens of Schools, Health Clinics, Miles and Miles of Roads, Amerindians Areas getting Water, Solar Power, Health Clinics, Schools, Vehicles, Equipments , should I go on and on like the energizer Bunny????

PPP strategy is to bring up Burnham and PNC...they don't realize that people kinda tired of hearing the same thing every election

They need to step out of the same old tired script ( I prefer they stay with it though)

Dem bais seem to be a one trick pony. Really the schupidest people I am acquainted with in politics.....and that says a lot.

How these people managed to remain in office for 23 years is simply astounding to me.

If you were listening you would have heard: Rice production up the sky, Marriot Hotel, Berbice Bridge, Dozens upon Dozens of Schools, Health Clinics, Miles and Miles of Roads, Amerindians Areas getting Water, Solar Power, Health Clinics, Schools, Vehicles, Equipments , should I go on and on like the energizer Bunny????

What good is all that without decent employment and rampant crime rising to the level of a prolonged national emergency?

How about Gold and Diamond and food stamp??????

Guyana has had a construction boom for a few years now that was helped partly by the boom in gold prices.

The question is whether the PPP's mediocre stewardship of the economy - failing to transform it from a primary-producing income nation to onw of value-added products and services. It hasn't shown much in the way of using its ownership of the airwaves to make telecommunications affordable and efficient by the private sector. It's friends have totally monopolized this area and with a lack of education policies to encourage technology proficiency, all we can do is have a couple of call centers.

Given the poor infrastructure and civil institutions - the police and tourism officials - Guyana has failed to take advantage of initiatives on the back-end of sun-n-sand packages and boat cruises.

All of this because of a politburo style governance that is stifling innovation and enterprise. The PPP is being fooled by the laundered liquidity floating around the economy. Energy - both hydro and hydro-carbon - are long-gestation projects that require foreign capital and expertise. We are yet to see much returns in this area after a decade when oil prices were going up and up. Now with shale oil production in the US costing less than $40 a barrel Guyana will be faced with a tough situation here.

The PPP seems satisfied with the rice-farming areas and the Indian business class (including huckster class businesses) and rely on the sugar belt lethargy when it comes to voting or fear of the PNC.

Poor PPP.  They scream so much about Burnham that they are so stuck in the 70s when the Indian vote was greater than all others combined, so a strategy of panicking Indians was all that was needed.

The Indian vote will be less than 50%.

1.  The Indian population has declined.

2.  Many Indians are very disappointed with the PPP, but see no alternative, so will stay home.  On the other hand many non Indians (including Amerindians) seem energized by the best prospects for a PPP defeat, so turn out will be higher.

3.  Many Indians have left the plantation, and no longer respond with Pavlovian barks every time the PPP claps their hands.  Some of these people will take a chance on Nagamootoo.

The PPP has now retreated into calling itself a "coolie" party, and screaming panic to mobilize the Indian vote.  They select as PM a black woman with absolutely no political following, so will lose most of the 2800 votes which Sam Hinds brought them.

I am less anxious about APNU AFC lethargy than I was.  They finally seem to be communicating to people the level of campaigning that they are doing. ZWhat is interesting is that Granger seems able to move into Indian areas and be well received, and does this even though he knows that he will not get most of those votes.  But he is communicating to Indians that he isnt the racist ogre which the PPP screams that he is. 

Corbin would NEVER have dared to go into PPP strongholds to campaign.  The fact that Granger does so shows that Guyana has changed, and that some will listen to him, and share ideas with him, even if they do not end up voting for him.

Expect a lower than usual turn out in PPP stringholds, and a higher turn out among African/mixed voters. In fact last time Region 3 showed a higher turn out. ALL of it going to APNU.  Even though this is a PPP stronghold those African/mixed West Coast/Bank Demerara still helped APNU in the final vote count.

APNU AFC looking good in Amerindian areas!

So PPP loses the votes of black soup lickers who are looking to jump ship.

Amerindians are looking for people who will trespect them as adults and do not bytch slap them in public.

Indians are just tired of the PPP.

I think its APNU/AFC 50.1%.  PPP 48%.

The PPP seems satisfied with the rice-farming areas and the Indian business class (including huckster class businesses) and rely on the sugar belt lethargy when it comes to voting or fear of the PNC.

Even the best political entity gets sloppy and tired after 22 years. And the PPP isnt the best.

We hear Jagdeo screaming at Granger/Nagamootoo to debate him. They ignore him as they should because Jagdeo is not running as candidate for either President or PM.

My point is why isnt Jagdeo demanding that Ramotar debate Granger, and Nagamootoo debate Harper.  I suspect if the latter happens Harper will be so demolished that she will leave the stage in tears and withdraw her candidacy.

Caribny the economic conditions of rural Guyana is seen as acceptable. In the urban area that count there is a building boom and some hustle. These two areas the PPP looks likely to hold their 2011 position. The corruption and lack of vision to move Guyana's economy to the next level are not on their minds.

In the industrial sugar belt there is some fight to maintain their votes as well as recovering those who fled to Moses in 2011. This is a battleground that the PPP needs to hold. The question is will they?

The APNU will get its 35% of the votes (assuming that the Corbin stay-at-home comes out in this new exciting coalition) and the AFC its 7%. The PPP looks to keep its 45%. That's 87% and that's where the battle to GAIN votes is relevant. Caribny seems to think that the Amerindian vote will swing to the coalition in sufficient numbers to make a difference of a couple of seats or at most 3. That brings them even. Now it's the 10% (mostly) 2011 Moses Indians is where the real battleground is. That's why they have electioneering, polling and counting the votes.

Now thou speaketh like a true Grand Ayatollah! Allah be praised.

Indeed, I readily endorse your observations, Shaitaan.

My personal interpretation of the Freedom House situation is straight and simple.

PPP has nothing new to offer the Guyanese people.

PPP has run out of ideas.

PPP vision is dull now, a sympton of intellectual cataract.

PPP can only remind voters of 1964-1992 now. No tangible and appealing blueprint for 2015-2020 and after.

Summary: PPP brukup.

100 Percent accurate.

Caribny the economic conditions of rural Guyana is seen as acceptable. In the urban area that count there is a building boom and some hustle. These two areas the PPP looks likely to hold their 2011 position. The corruption and lack of vision to move Guyana's economy to the next level are not on their minds.

In the industrial sugar belt there is some fight to maintain their votes as well as recovering those who fled to Moses in 2011. This is a battleground that the PPP needs to hold. The question is will they?

The APNU will get its 35% of the votes (assuming that the Corbin stay-at-home comes out in this new exciting coalition) and the AFC its 7%. The PPP looks to keep its 45%. That's 87% and that's where the battle to GAIN votes is relevant. Caribny seems to think that the Amerindian vote will swing to the coalition in sufficient numbers to make a difference of a couple of seats or at most 3. That brings them even. Now it's the 10% (mostly) 2011 Moses Indians is where the real battleground is. That's why they have electioneering, polling and counting the votes.

APNU has a consistent 40%, except in 2006 when  folks boycotted Corbin.  They should do better as turn out in PNC areas should increase, given that there is an emerging euphoria that the PPP might FINALLY be beaten.

This election will depend on turnout in PPP strongholds and the extent to which Nagamootoo makes further inroads.  The Rupununi and the North West will impact as there is evidence that an emerging group of Amerindians are tired of their tochaos.

BTW Afro Guyanese haven't benefitted from this "boom" that you describe.  Linden is a disgrace and large parts of G/town no better.  The condition of the black villages has long been reported.   It is very evident that the poorest blacks in the English speaking Caribbean are in Guyana.  I have heard many Islanders make note of this when they return from visits to Guyana.  This even includes people from islands which flocked to Guyana as recently as the early 70s.

From what I am hearing privately from PPPites up and down the hierarchy and what I can discern from firsthand observation,.

I.

100 Percent accurate.

I see. Panic in the Indo KKK camp.

From what I am hearing privately from PPPites up and down the hierarchy and what I can discern from firsthand observation,.

I.

100 Percent accurate.

I see. Panic in the Indo KKK camp.

There is no panic old man. No one thinks that Granger is Corbin. No one with sense anyway. If Indians must go sit on the Opposition benches then so we must. That appears to be the judgment of history come May 11th.

FYI, there is no Indo KKK.

You and your fellow PPPites surely engage the same stereotypes of blacks as do the white ones running around with hoods.  That infamous Chronicle article on Afro Guyanese could have fitted right into the Storm Front KKK website.

You and your fellow PPPites surely engage the same stereotypes of blacks as do the white ones running around with hoods.  That infamous Chronicle article on Afro Guyanese could have fitted right into the Storm Front KKK journal.

You are beyond disingenuous. frankly Sir, yuh liard!

Name me one thing I've said that is stereotypical of Black people. Most people would actually say I have a higher opinion of Black people than I do Indians and they would be right.

I just want my people, Indians, to progress and further civilize in this new century not to the detriment of any other group. That is not radical.

The PPP needs all the help they can get from all freedom loving groups as comrade Rohee said. He knows the situation so lets ROAR for Donald and win one for the Gipper. I was going to sneak a topic in while the Admin snoozes.

He should give me reason for his sanction. I did not broke board rules.

I was going to sneak one in while he snoozes. I know the admin game. E. Snowden is a dear f.... d

Originally Posted by Honest:

The PPP needs all the help they can get from all freedom loving groups as comrade Rohee said. He knows the situation so lets ROAR for Donald and win one for the Gipper. I was going to sneak a topic in while the Admin snoozes.

I was going to sneak one in while he snoozes. I know the admin game. E. Snowden is a dear f.... d

u are an un-funny fraud . . . admin should ban yuh rass just because he can

Rice is a poncy scheme to enrich a choices few as the farmers get shafted. Imaging it crated three whole other new industries that parasitically feed off it.

The Berbice river bridge is the ultimate con job followed by the Marriott. Imagine that....the taxpayers build these edifices so cronies of the PPP can feast off their earnings.

You mean miles and miles of poorly paved roads simply increasing the graft options of the PPP contractors  and angering locals.

Dont talk about the Amerindian electrification project. That is absolutely a travesty.

Dont need to answer the others because in those areas as well there are differences.

The PPP is presiding over a debt ridden, non productive economy that exists as it primarily because we have mudheads running the show.

Originally Posted by Honest:

This is a serious thread chap. Please stick to the topic if you can. This thread is about the absolute disarray within the PPP camp. The non-existent strategy. The self-deceptions. The unwillingness to even throw their supporters a bone. Frankly having acquainted myself with an up close and personal perspective, I see no reason why the PPP shouldn't lose. They deserve to.

We're down to what kind of second or third class citizens the Coalition will turn Indians into now. That is my principal concern now. A PPP victory is near impossible at this point and even if it was it isn't really desirable.

APNU AFC looking good in Amerindian areas!

So PPP loses the votes of black soup lickers who are looking to jump ship.

Amerindians are looking for people who will trespect them as adults and do not bytch slap them in public.

Indians are just tired of the PPP.

I think its APNU/AFC 50.1%.  PPP 48%.

Amerindians are going to vote exactly as they did last time. They are a trapped demographics. Only region 8 managed to break out and possibly will continue to do so.

The PPP lost the youth vote so they are losing a few percentage points there. If APNU is able to turn out its voters the PPP will lose big. If the PPP wins it is because Black turnout is below 70 percent.

. . . We're down to what kind of second or third class citizens the Coalition will turn Indians into now. That is my principal concern now. A PPP victory is near impossible at this point and even if it was it isn't really desirable.

i guess this is what passes for cleverness in these 'times'

what an absurd statement from a deadly serious, absurd person

If you hang with a bunch of racists and scream to the world that they aren't racists then obviously you must be one of them.

The PPP is guilty of the same racist sins that the PNC is guilty of, and its your innate racism which prevents you from seeing that.

Amerindians are going to vote exactly as they did last time..

Well then the PPP is back, because face it, most of those PPP Nagamootoo votes aren't coming his way again.  Last time they voted against PPP corruption.  This time they will see it as voting PNC, which most will not do.  Indeed there is a theory that more than a few of those votes were for ROAR in 2001.

APNU is capped with its African/mixed vote.  Only hope there will be higher turn out in that group.

The battle ground is the Amerindian vote and a vague hope of inroads into the PPP vote.

Amerindians are going to vote exactly as they did last time..

Well then the PPP is back, because face it, most of those PPP Nagamootoo votes aren't coming his way again.  Last time they voted against PPP corruption.  This time they will see it as voting PNC, which most will not do.  Indeed there is a theory that more than a few of those votes were for ROAR in 2001.

APNU is capped with its African/mixed vote.  Only hope there will be higher turn out in that group.

The battle ground is the Amerindian vote and a vague hope of inroads into the PPP vote.

I am betting on good sense of the breakout voters who are now 60% of the electorate...young people. I am not betting that the will overcome by ancient battle lines of racial parochialism. I am betting they will see sense in removing crooks and hope that the new people will mean change. If only 10 percent of them are PPP electors and they make the switch it is game over.

We're down to what kind of second or third class citizens the Coalition will turn Indians into now. ..

Poor boy! Are you paranoid that Indians will now suffer for 22 years of what black people had to go through in that period?

Fear not.  You see Indians are the largest voting bloc, and even though no longer the majority it is unrealistic for any one to think that they can win unless they gain a decent amount of this bloc.  So Indians will be safer under APNU AFC than are blacks under the PPP, because the PPP DOES NOT need the black vote to win elections.  Indeed the PPP strategy to win elections is akin to that of Ronald Reagan.  You cater to the most anti black hysteria and panic them to your side.

So go along and vote for the Indo KKK (PPP).

I am betting on good sense of the breakout voters who are now 60% of the electorate...young people. I am not betting that the will overcome by ancient battle lines of racial parochialism. I am betting they will see sense in removing crooks and hope that the new people will mean change. If only 10 percent of them are PPP electors and they make the switch it is game over.

Do you know that Obama LOST the young white vote, only winning among the college educated cohort, a group which Obama won even among motre mature adults.

I say this to say that it is a fallacy to suggest that there are huge differences between how young people vote when compared to their parents.  If 90% of older Indians support the PPP expect at least 75% of the younger ones to do the same.  The fact that the AFC, which was originally premised on winning this cohort, maxed out at 11% last election, should indicate something.

Do you have statistics to suggest that 60% of those who will ACTUALLY VOTE are between 18-34?  You do know that this demographic are known world over for having low turn out, and in Guyana I see no evidence to suggest that they are any different.  Plus has any one checked to see how many of these people have ID cards and are correctly listed at the appropriate polling station?

While it is important to focus on the youth vote, and the youth wing of the APNU AFC seem to be doing a good job with that, one cannot rely on hope that this group will save the day.  The 18-25 cohort are usually irresponsible because at that stage of life there really isn't much reason to be otherwise.

We're down to what kind of second or third class citizens the Coalition will turn Indians into now. ..

Poor boy! Are you paranoid that Indians will now suffer for 22 years of what black people had to go through in that period?

Fear not.  You see Indians are the largest voting bloc, and even though no longer the majority it is unrealistic for any one to think that they can win unless they gain a decent amount of this bloc.  So Indians will be safer under APNU AFC than are blacks under the PPP, because the PPP DOES NOT need the black vote to win elections.  Indeed the PPP strategy to win elections is akin to that of Ronald Reagan.  You cater to the most anti black hysteria and panic them to your side.

So go along and vote for the Indo KKK (PPP).

Are you that thick headed? I am absolutely against this farce that passes for election and then government in Guyana.

My simple point is that one should not replace one race's domination with another. I had hoped that we could one day move on from this farce. However history is a game of winners and losers. There are rare instances of successful multiethnic settlements within a single State. One ethnic group will dominate and the other will be dominated. We are witnessing just that.

Save your hope and change for someone else like the AFC Kool Aid Brigade. I voted for Obama in 2008. I believed because I wanted to believe. But I ended up voting for a Wall Street Republican with wooly hair not a Democrat. I'm leery of people selling me the same bill of goods especially in a dangerous place like Guyana where power once lost is almost never regained.

).

Are you that thick headed? I am absolutely against this farce that passes for election and then government in Guyana.

My simple point is that one should not replace one race's domination with another. I had hoped that we could one day move on from this farce. However history is a game of winners and losers. There are rare instances of successful multiethnic settlements within a single State. One ethnic group will dominate and the other will be dominated. We are witnessing just that.

Save your hope and change for someone else like the AFC Kool Aid Brigade. I voted for Obama in 2008. I believed because I wanted to believe. But I ended up voting for a Wall Street Republican with wooly hair not a Democrat. I'm leery of people selling me the same bill of goods especially in a dangerous place like Guyana where power once lost is almost never regained.

1. How does voting PPP remove one race domination?  It REINFORCES IT?

2.  How does the fact that the PNC conceded way more to the AFC than the AFC will deliver in votes (40% of the cabinet, and a guaranteed 12 seats) suggest to you that this will be one race domination.  Nagamootoo has NO BLACK SUPPORT.  His raison d'etre is his appeal to the rural Indian vote. 

To remain relevant he will do his best to ensure that he keeps their support.  He isnt a stupid man so he knows that what ever support he gets this go round will be tentative based on his performance, should the coalition win. 

Should APNU proceeed on a race based vendetta then Nagamootoo will be out.  And if he is out then the AFC is out and the APNU AFC gov't comes to a premature end.

So Nagamootoo will reconcile the interests of the rural Indian vote within the context of an African dominated regime.

This African dominated regime will know that its continued existence will depend on keeping the AFC happy.

So the APNU AFC coalition has its risks, both in terms of whether they will win enough support to beat the PPP.  And in how it governs.  But it is as good as it gets for the time being.

Shaitaan the best security which Africans and Indians have in Guyana is ensuring that the needs of both are accommodated.  Voting PPP is guaranteed to ensure that the ethnic domination continues. There is no guarantee that this will not occur under APNU AFC.  But what we do know is that if it does occur that coalition gov't isn't going to be more than a one term.

You pour scorn on me because I am older than you.  Rest assured this means that I know a few more things than you do, including remembering the attitudes that were pervasive among the adults in the early 60s.  Do you want to go back to the early 60s?  Because this is where circling the waggons and screaming tribal shouts will get you.

Indians and Africans have to work together to solve their mutual insecurities and it will work best when those whose survival will depend on it are responsible for doing this.

You and your fellow PPPites surely engage the same stereotypes of blacks as do the white ones running around with hoods.  That infamous Chronicle article on Afro Guyanese could have fitted right into the Storm Front KKK journal.

Name me one thing I've said that is stereotypical of Black people. Most people would actually say I have a higher opinion of Black people than I do Indians and they would be right.

I just want my people, Indians, to progress and further civilize in this new century not to the detriment of any other group. That is not radical.

One word..nahh two words...succulent duck.