Originally posted by antabanta:
I eat one banana almost every day.
Fav fruits are banana, mango, papaya, black cashew (which I haven't had in years).

I don't think I have ever seen black cashew. Is that like the blood red cashews?

My fav is definitely banana. I eat 2 every day. Mango and cowah are right up there too....unfortunately those are seasonal. In cowah case...when I go Guyana Smile
Originally posted by Riya:
I eat one banana almost every day.
Fav fruits are banana, mango, papaya, black cashew (which I haven't had in years).

I don't think I have ever seen black cashew. Is that like the blood red cashews?

My fav is definitely banana. I eat 2 every day. Mango and cowah are right up there too....unfortunately those are seasonal. In cowah case...when I go Guyana Smile
Some cashew when ripe get very dark on the outside almost black but not quite. I forgot cowah. Let me know when/where you getting cowah from so I can organize a sting operation.

Then I know the cashew...those are sweet most of the time.

If I tell you the cowah location, I have to get a cut from the operation.
Originally posted by Rosita:
Guava

I am drooling for gooseberry jam, anyone know where I can get some good gooseberry jam?

Guavas

Guavas are a small tropical fruit that can be round, oval, or pear-shaped. They're not all that common, so they might be hard to find, depending on where you live. But if you can track them down, it's more than worth it. Guavas contain more of the cancer-fighting antioxidant lycopene than any other fruit or vegetable, and nearly 20 percent more than tomatoes. Our bodies can't process much of the lycopene in tomatoes until they're cooked; the processing helps break down tough cell walls. However, guavas' cell structure allows the antioxidant to be absorbed whether the fruit is raw or cooked, and the whole fruit offers the nutrition without the added sodium of processed tomato products.

Lycopene protects our healthy cells from free radicals that can cause all kinds of damage, including blocked arteries, joint degeneration, nervous system problems, and even cancer. Lycopene consumption is associated with significantly lower rates of prostate cancer; in addition, men with prostate tumors who consumed lycopene supplements showed significant improvements, such as smaller tumors and decreased malignancy. Lycopene has also been found to inhibit the growth of breast cancer cells, and research suggests that this antioxidant may also help protect against coronary heart disease.

This strange-looking little fruit is also packed with vitamin C and other antioxidants. Serving for serving, guava offers more than 60 percent more potassium than a banana, which can help protect against heart disease and stroke. In fact, the nutrients found in guavas have been shown to lower LDL and boost HDL cholesterol, reduce triglycerides, and lower blood pressure.
Originally posted by bird:
Tell me what is the best fruit for you and why and can you have this fruit and only this fruit everyday. Mine would be the banana. yippie

A ripe mango. I like the way the juice drips down my mouth and onto my hand as I lean over the kitchen sink enjoying the sweetness, not caring that I would have to pick the fibres from my teeth later. I just live in the moment.

I have a mango tree, but I don't like mine. I yearn for the neighbor's because his is absolutely delicious.
Originally posted by Miraver:

A ripe mango. I like the way the juice drips down my mouth and onto my hand as I lean over the kitchen sink enjoying the sweetness, not caring that I would have to pick the fibres from my teeth later. I just live in the moment.

you paint a vivid picture there!!

i remember the juice used to run down my arm all the way to my elbow.....and i used to lick every single drop from elbow up Smile
Villagebelle
Originally posted by Villagebelle:

you paint a vivid picture there!!

i remember the juice used to run down my arm all the way to my elbow.....and i used to lick every single drop from elbow up Smile

VB, I iz a painter (at times)Smile
I lick the juice too! I also roll it around on the counter top or squeeze it with my hand until I can feel the juice just begging to pop out and then I make a hole and suck on it. Delicioso!
Originally posted by Miraver:
I have a mango tree, but I don't like mine. I yearn for the neighbor's because his is absolutely delicious.
So is you always teefin de people dem mango!!

Anta, I used to teef mango since I was a lil gyaal. Big Grin I used to push meh hand through the chain link fence and nudge the fallen mango with a stick until it was close enough to grab it. It was a lil mango...sand mango, I think.

I took some pics of my tree and my neighbor's, but having some trouble with photobucket. This year, the gentleman's tree limb hanging right into my yard. Yuh won't call dat teefin, would you?Smile