Murderous men on camels and snipers on rooftops

DECEMBER 18, 2012 | BY FREDDIE KISSOON 

As the Egyptian protest intensified, Mubarak did a horrible thing. Mubarak sent men with swords on camels and they waded into the protestors with resulting deaths. From thereon, lines were crossed and one side had to win, one side had to lose.
Why did Mubarak do such a foolish act? The answer any first year student in politics can offer.
As the Libyan protest became widespread, Gaddafi sent snipers onto rooftops where they shot and killed innocent demonstrators. From thereon, the days of Gaddafi were numbered. Why did Gaddafi do that? Again, you can find the answer from anyone who studies politics.
Authoritarian governments are essentially insecure regimes. Concessions bring about the fear of the lessening of power. Thoughts of losing power spiral out of control for two reasons – prosecution and humiliation.
Where the PPP goes from here after the 2011 national elections is not something one can easily predict but it is not hard to imagine that like Mubarak and Gaddafi, there will be no negotiation, no compromise, no concession.  For the PPP, one side has to win, one side has to lose.
Since the election of 2011, the pattern of unpopular rule has gone on unabated but if one were to point to any anomaly inside the PPP that largely indicates that the irrationality of power has sapped the soul of the PPP, it is the Ramkarran affair and the nature of the PPP reply to Ramkarran’s now famous Stabroek News commentary
It is not that Mr. Ramkarran was quietly engaged and asked to wait and be patient with his wish list. On the contrary his criticism was met with pomposity, arrogance and insults. For Ralph Ramkarran, it was time to part company with a government that not only lost its way but was perhaps irredeemable. Then came the stupid reply to his popular Stabroek News article.
When governing parties become morally and politically bankrupt, the capacity to intellectualize and philosophize die. Simple PR tasks are overtaken by aridity, inanity and asininity. No one in the regime can rise above the ordinary and invent an explanation that is elegant, penetrating and successful. One silly thing follows another. You know then that the regime has lost direction and time is closing in.
After losing the majority of votes in a general election; after seeing the rejection by that part of Guyana that came to be synonymous with the PPP – Berbice; after witnessing the support among Indians for Moses Nagamootoo, it was only logical to thread carefully with its second best personality after Nagamootoo, Ralph Ramkarran.
The PPP couldn’t do. It cannot do it. The authoritarian instinct destroys rationality. It replaces sense and sensibility with hubris and hauteur. But most of all the authoritarian instinct is driven by fear of losing power.
If Ramkarran’s wish list is accepted, then the domino effect comes into play. We give in to Ramkarran on corruption, then, he may want to go in other directions. Ramkarran succeeds then another party leader will come up with his demands. The government gets weaker and the door is open for the opposition. This is the thought that permeates the collective psyche of the PPP.
It explains the frenetic drive to confront the opposition
This writer does not share the popular view out there that the PPP is so psychologically traumatized by the 2011 election results that it cannot see and face the reality. My theory is that the PPP is overcome with the domino effect. If the opposition is allowed to get an input into NCN, then it will be the Chronicle next, then UG,  then the public service then the NIS, then the Bank of Guyana. This is what has overran the psychology of the PPP. This is standard political theory.
This theory explains why dictatorship falls. It cannot save itself. It has no internal dynamic to propel it forward. The only logic that moves it is survival not negotiations. This explains the murderous men on the camels and the snipers on the rooftops.

For  many especially  those  who are aligned  or sympathetic towards the PPP, Freddie  can  be a royal  pain in the  butt. However in this  instance, I strongly believe the man is on the  button! The"aridity, inanity and asininity "  of this  cabal leave  no  room for rational thoughts  and response  to their  current  delima. With  every  passing  day and  every looming crisis, they are boxing themselves more and more into an intractable corner with  little or no prospect of redemption or a graceful exit.  

Guyana doesn't belong to the PPP/C. They are certainly afraid of the domino effect. They asked "It's Rohee now. Who is next?" They are scared. Their authoritarian instinct is driven by fear of losing power.

The PPP is built on stone-invincible. It is the down and out indians who gives the organization its might. Freddie Kisson is a dreamer. Arabs and kuli ppl are not the same.

Signet my brother it is them "kuli" (your word not mine) people who are suffering in Cotton Tree and Yakasari Black Bush Polder and it is a "blackman" (my word) who highlighting their problems.

it it them same "kuli" (your word not mine) people that will say "time for LANKA to get rid of PPP RAWANs."

What do you think dear old chap Signet?

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Signet my brother it is them "kuli" (your word not mine) people who are suffering in Cotton Tree and Yakasari Black Bush Polder and it is a "blackman" (my word) who highlighting their problems.

it it them same "kuli" (your word not mine) people that will say "time for LANKA to get rid of PPP RAWANs."

What do you think dear old chap Signet?

Hardships is karma of indian ppl. They left india by the droves because of hardships on the land. Guyana is no different for them. In 1953, they replaced their white man dependency with the Super Zamander.

down and out indians,there is not much of that around anymore,the world is changing,you still think indians will remain stupid.the people want answers and the ppp donot belive in giving answers,only excuse and blame game,the nature of all thiefs and con

Not so fast, the PPP is still a strong party with deep roots.  Yes the facts are the PPP is losing votes by the hour.  Right now their latest internal poll but them at 41%, AFC at 29% and PNC at 28%.  

That does not look to me like the PPP losing the plurality.

Originally Posted by Mara:

The Beginning Of The End Of The PPP?

Just a dream, just a dream, Mara.  

The PPP will have to change or they will be met with resistance. They cannot run the nation as their private cake shop. They need to sit down with the stake holders and plan, structure and manage a consensus model for government or they are doomed. Their kind of government is at an end. Check the ME where every kind of dictatorship is falling. The PPP dictatorship wrought by a dysfunctional Westminster process must be reformed. It is not like anyone want them out of government. One wants responsible government and options for the people to check their authority.

The PPP will have to change or they will be met with resistance. They cannot run the nation as their private cake shop.

This is correct, because "cake shop party" is a registered trademark for the AFC.

Not so fast, the PPP is still a strong party with deep roots.  Yes the facts are the PPP is losing votes by the hour.  Right now their latest internal poll but them at 41%, AFC at 29% and PNC at 28%.  

The AFC could obtain 29% and become the main opposition, especially with a Moses-Nigel ticket. However, it has to correct the blatant internal inefficiencies and get an effective 2nd and 3rd tier leadership and activists. The party has not done enough to claim the status as main opposition. In a snap election PPP = 45% and AFC = 15%.

The PPP will have to change or they will be met with resistance. They cannot run the nation as their private cake shop. They need to sit down with the stake holders and plan, structure and manage a consensus model for government or they are doomed. Their kind of government is at an end. Check the ME where every kind of dictatorship is falling. The PPP dictatorship wrought by a dysfunctional Westminster process must be reformed. It is not like anyone want them out of government. One wants responsible government and options for the people to check their authority.

You claim to be intelligent but vigorously trying to equate ME Dictators to Guyana Democratically Elected Govt. A well functioning Govt as you can see, where the Opposition DOES have a Role. Sometimes I wonder what Intelligence really is.!!

Oie Nehru Bhai, you laarn yu lesson fuh the day yet?  Why you bubbling yu gum all over the place.  Go to school old chap.

Dictators are the same everywhere even if they present differently. They are dictators because they dominate the will of the people with ruses subterfuges and or violence plus they rule differentially with the support of a narrow base who are of kind or clan.

If every you truly wonder you will then ask the proper questions.

As usual, over one hundred ( 100 ) words of utter nonsense

willful ignorance is not overcome by facts.

TK Bhai both the PPP and PNC scared of a snap election....dem shitting in dem skin......they will lose a total of 15 seats.

Now they have 33 +25 =58

In a Snap Election Today the will only get 43 seats.....let them fight how dem want to split up de 43 seats......de guyanese had enough from denm two losers.

If you want I can name the 15 losers from the PPP & PNC.

willful ignorance is not overcome by facts.

Keep trying and perhaps, one day in the far future, you may be able to deal with facts and overcome your handicap.

TK Bhai both the PPP and PNC scared of a snap election....dem shitting in dem skin......they will lose a total of 15 seats.

Now they have 33 +25 =58

In a Snap Election Today the will only get 43 seats.....let them fight how dem want to split up de 43 seats......de guyanese had enough from denm two losers.

I hope you are right my friend. Remember I saw personally the inefficiencies. However, Moses is a political genius. He can change it. I only had a few meetings with him that's the immediate conclusion that came to mind. His political instincts are second to none. 

Except that Indians are a declining % of the population.  The vast majority of African and mixed voters continue to reject the PPP, as they have in the previous 4 elections.   And the Amerindian support is soft.  The PPP bribes the tochaus who deliver some votes.  As this segment becomes more sophisticated and less controlled by their leaders, and demand equality on parity with other groups, this might not continue.

Their own internal poll shows that they will lose even more seats.  28+29=57%.

Originally Posted by TK:

The AFC could obtain 29% and become the main opposition, especially with a Moses-Nigel ticket. However, it has to correct the blatant internal inefficiencies and get an effective 2nd and 3rd tier leadership and activists. The party has not done enough to claim the status as main opposition. In a snap election PPP = 45% and AFC = 15%.

making a lot of noise doesnt necessarily mean that their support has almost trebled.

The snap election might have  alow turnout with the PPP getting out their machinery, and bribing others.

Does any one know for a fact that support for the APNU/AFC has hardened since a year ago?  Dont get excited about protests because a scant minority actually show up.

Now they have 33 +25 =58

THe AFC amuses me.  Prior to each election they get excited and imagine tremendous support.

Oh well I forgave them for their error in 2006 as they were new and so had no wqay of gauging their support.

But last time they boasted about beating APNU, and maybe even the PPP.  Yet they did scarcely better than in 2006. And what should disturb them is that they lost a big chunck of those who voted for them in 2006, while grasping another discontented group.

So how does the AFC know that they will not lose a % of their Indian Berbice votes, just as they lost many of the Gtwn Africanj/mixed votes last year?

Suppose the discontented Berbice voters just decide to sit out the election?

When the AFC blabbers they need to ensure that they have a strong basis for these conclusions, and not amateurish enthusiasm from naive volunteers.

The AFC are yet to prove that they are seen as a viable alternative by a large section of the electorate, and not merely a vessel used by frustrated voters to register discontent against the party whichy they usually support.