THE ASSET RECOVERY UNIT

July 14, 2015 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom, Source

An asset-recovery unit is to be established in Guyana. In theory this sounds commendable. All countries should attempt to recover as much assets that have been stolen from them. However there are number of preliminary points which have to be settled.

Firstly, there has to be some basis, other than academic or intellectual conjecture, to establish that the State has been denuded of large amounts of State assets. If a few dozen cars are stolen, then there are state agencies like the Guyana Police Force whose function is to investigate such disappearances. There is no need for a special assets recovery unit.

It has been said that one academic has posited that as much as $300B may have been stolen from Guyana. I do not know if this is a cumulative figure or it is an annual figure. If it is an annual figure then it would be larger than the total Budget of the country and therefore would have to involve misappropriation of private funds. The methodology as to how this sum, whether it is cumulative or annually, needs to be examined.

But even if such is presented, there has to be some tangible evidence that would be necessary to justify establishing such a unit. The first hurdle to be crossed is therefore whether there is a basis for the establishment of the unit.

The second hurdle to be crossed is the likely total sum to be recovered. If the sum to be recovered cannot meet the expenditure involved in tracking down the assets, it makes little sense to go after the alleged disappeared assets. You may end up spending millions of dollars to recover hundreds of dollars in assets.

The third hurdle is the legal framework. If the stolen assets are in Guyana, it needs to be asked whether there is a strong enough legal framework to facilitate their recovery. The regulatory laws in Guyana are generally weak and it is doubtful whether they can support effective asset recovery.

It is suspected that if indeed there was massive stealing of public resources them much of these resources may have found their way into foreign jurisdictions. How does the unit to be established hope to go after these assets.

It certainly does not have extra- jurisdictional reach and it is doubtful whether foreign powers are going to assist unless the crimes involved have corrupted their economic or social systems.

The fourth hurdle, and perhaps the most important of all, concerns the perception that this assets recovery unit to be established may be used as a vehicle or witch- hunting persons in society.

This is a unit which is likely to be given tremendous powers to investigate not just government officials but also private citizens. The powers would likely have to be highly intrusive.

It is important therefore that the functions of this unit be made clear to the public. It is important also that the legal powers of the unit be established and that some oversight be put in place to ensure that this unit does not abuse its powers or does not use its powers to pursue with private or political vendetta.

The persons appointed to this unit should themselves be subject to scrutiny. They should be required to declare their assets to the Integrity Commission before they commence work and their assets should be regularly monitored.

This is not small money that is pursued; it is from all accounts hundreds of billions of dollar. This requires a specialized and highly trained unit with persons of impeccable character who can withstand public scrutiny.

The Minister responsible for forming  committees and boards did a good job, but what are they doing?  They promised criminals in the PPP will be behind bars before 60 days after they form the Government.  Did they?

Whatever the PPP did, may not be criminalistics because they are still walking the streets, so this Government is wasting valuable time.  They will be one day judged by the People who stole the election for them.

The new Govt and their 2 House Slaves are a BIG JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now you know why the PPP kicked them out from the party.

Let us talk in 2020 when the PPP seats reduce to 26.

You have today.  Tomorrow may never come.

Talk about the PNC and how they are effing up the country.

Don't fool yourself.  An equal amount of Indians and blacks are leaving the country.

The PPP will still get 50% of the votes.  Blacks will vote race and then the Indians will be forced to stick together.  

The govt will do as most new govts do. Absolutely nothing, when faced with the realities on the ground. Ask the current Greek gov't. For all the election and referendum bluster, they accepted not the deal that was originally presented to them, but a worse one. The current APNU-AFC govt. will do likewise, because there are powerful forces in the country that they want on their side and whom they will therefore not offend. They will make the obligatory noises to make their supporters and PPP haters feel like they are doing something and then let it gradually fade away. That is political reality!

The Minister responsible for forming  committees and boards did a good job, but what are they doing?  They promised criminals in the PPP will be behind bars before 60 days after they form the Government.  Did they?

Whatever the PPP did, may not be criminalistics because they are still walking the streets, so this Government is wasting valuable time.  They will be one day judged by the People who stole the election for them.

Big liar as usual. No one said the PPP will be in jail. They said those culpable for crimes will be before the courts where the veracity of their accusations will be adjudicated. People go to jail because you can verify their thievery. There are lots of thieves the world know are thieves but one cannot make a case against them because the evidence is destroyed or corrupted. That the entire lot are fat cats when they did not have a pot to piss in previous to their holding office points to them as thieves. It is a matter of compiling the evidence

Listen banna, nothing will come of anything.  The PPP has key elements of the PNC checkmated.  Do they look worried?  The only thing, Westford will get a slap on the wrist over the few vehicles she attempted to commandeer.

We will see. If Granger is like the PPP corrupt, deceitful and unreliable where making elites accountable is concerned; we will see.

We will see, just like you and your giddyness in 2011 ready to go back and open that big cassareep factory.  Reality hit, all gone fuh channa.

As I said it is difficult to extricate the culture of dalitdom from the indian. It is not like ghee on the head  which a good shampooing can remove. One needs extensive exposure to the western intellectual canon to remove the habit of communal shitting and that is not easy for generational cultural disease as  weak minded fools. Those end up like you lingering on the borders of the infantile and pretentious pontificating on nonsense all the while believing you are a steeped in wisdom.

Bai, well, you know how things go.  You far from removing that cassava pone stuck between you ears!

HAHAHA  Nah is deh PIWARI talking.  Leave Brother Stormy alone, he is trying to assimilate as a real Guyanese.

Such insightful observation!

HAHAHA  Nah is deh PIWARI talking.  Leave Brother Stormy alone, he is trying to assimilate as a real Guyanese.

Let me see; you and that idiot are the benchmark of the "real Guyanese". I guess that means  something different from the affirmation of Moses that he was Guyanese since both of you were on his case. Idiots just percolate up from the among you folks like dumplings in soup!

By the way, I was incubated in a western ethos so imprinted with its entelechy. I do not have to be assimilated into anything that is already my cortical imprinting. You do.

Such insightful observation!

Thank you, much appreciated. I do give the deserved respect.

satire and irony do indeed miss minds lacking necessary subtility

The Problem here is the changes they promised. I am still waiting for some of these to be implemented.     I doubt whether they are going to make good on their campaign promises...