@Prashad posted:

The man has balls of steel to question his father and mother at the breakfast table about what they are doing for the conditions of roads in Guyana.  How many sons do you know who will do that?

@Ramakant-P posted:

That is absolute rubbish.

Is this a soliloquy? Is Prashad the other half of Ramakant's name and personality? 

The Opposition Leader of Canada is a Black guy name Jagmeet Singh. He was kicked out of Parliament the other day because he is too prestigious.

By your deduction, you just confirm that you are also BLACK. Welcome to the real world, if you are not White ,then you are Black.

It would serve you better to learn more of the USA, then you would appreciate Canada a LOT.

The Opposition Leader of Canada is a Black guy name Jagmeet Singh. He was kicked out of Parliament the other day because he is too prestigious.

He must be the first BLACK [PUNJABI] guy with a beard and turban as opposition in Canada's parliament . WOW !! Only in Canada. 

How many times Cheddi Jagan [and other parliamentarians] were not only removed from parliament, but were also jailed ?  Gyal, remove you racist blinders. 

β€œIndian racism towards Black people is almost worse than white peoples’ racism” An Interview with Arundhati Roy

Posted Jun 13, 2020

DC: How do we support the movement in the U.S. and how does one show solidarity with people protesting in India?

I’m assuming that you mean the massive protests that have erupted over the cold-blooded killing of George Floydβ€”the latest in a series of killings of African Americans by white American police. I would say that the best way of supporting that movement is to understand where it comes from, first of all. The history of slavery, racism, the civil rights movementβ€”its successes and failures. The crude as well as subtle ways in which African Americans in North America are brutalized, incarcerated, disenfranchised within the framework of β€œdemocracy”. And to understand the role that the majority of the Indian community in the U.S. has played in all of this. Who has it traditionally aligned itself with? The answers will tell us a lot about our own society. We can only support that really grand show of rage across cultures and communities that is happening there, if we address our own values and actions with some degree of honesty. We ourselves live in a pretty sick society that seems incapable of feelings of sisterhood, brotherhood, solidarity…

Read more

From the time humans populated the earth as different races of ppl, there is ancestors. In my ancestors, certain they have endured all sorts disadvantages. But I am here. And they will carry on after I am gone with those left behind. The endless cycle of survival.

On these global crises, Black ppl hope to gain what? I think they only want White ppl to accept them. After that happens, if it ever happens then who else. 

Tearing down white ppl emblems of achievments only will make white ppl as african culture. So many divisions only leads to endless confrontations.

@Bibi Haniffa posted:

Canada's New Democratic Party (NDP) holds the balance of power in parliament, propping up Justin Trudeau's minority government. The NDP Leader is a Sikh, Jagmeet Singh. He was ELECTED to that leadership position in 2017.

Nice Guy Gili, your post is for the edification of Bibi. Don't be afraid to say it.

@Mitwah posted:
@Bibi Haniffa posted:

Nice Guy Gili, your post is for the edification of Bibi. Don't be afraid to say it.

On the contrary, my post was for the "edification" of PRASHAD. I refuse to be dragged into your conflict with Bibi. No offence meant.

@Mitwah posted:
@Bibi Haniffa posted:

Canada's New Democratic Party (NDP) holds the balance of power in parliament, propping up Justin Trudeau's minority government. The NDP Leader is a Sikh, Jagmeet Singh. He was ELECTED to that leadership position in 2017.

I'm always happy and proud when immigrants like Jagmeet go to foreign countries and do so well.

I believe Jagmeet was born in Canada.  His parents came here from India.  His father is a psychiatrist who came to Canada with Indian qualifications and had to requalify .  It wasn't easy for the family.  Jagmeet has written about the challenges his family faced and particularly about racism he encountered growing up in Windsor, Ontario.  

@Totaram posted:

I believe Jagmeet was born in Canada.  His parents came here from India.  His father is a psychiatrist who came to Canada with Indian qualifications and had to requalify .  It wasn't easy for the family.  Jagmeet has written about the challenges his family faced and particularly about racism he encountered growing up in Windsor, Ontario.  

Sometimes our personal experiences motivates us to do things for others and racism is one of those motivations. As many people of colour might experience.

But not all the time.  I read that William Wilberforce worked on the slave ship, captained by John Newton who wrote the hymn Amazing Grace, after he became a pastor in London.   Being a spiritual man, Wilberforce motivation was the suffering of the slaves, to see them free. The struggle was so intense  for him, that he died a year after slavery was abolished.   

@Tola posted:

He must be the first BLACK [PUNJABI] guy with a beard and turban as opposition in Canada's parliament . WOW !! Only in Canada. 

How many times Cheddi Jagan [and other parliamentarians] were not only removed from parliament, but were also jailed ?  Gyal, remove you racist blinders. 

I am not racist. A prominent Canadian poster on this board said that if you are not white you are black. Since I failed to convince him that I am a Colley Homan I decided to jump on the bandwagon and say all abbey a wan black family. I am 50% Punjabi so since Jagmeet is a Punjabi, I used the logic of elimination to decide that he is black. Am I right or wrong?

I was referring to BLACKS as Africans. But true, for many, if you are not white you are black and racism can be levelled against you in the same manner. 

Have you been to the Punjab ? Ludhanna, Golden Temple, museums, etc  ?  In the movie Gandhi, Army Officer Dyer could not take his armour car thru a narrow passageway, where many unarmed women and men  were shot, while some jumped into a water well.  This passageway and well are located near the Golden Temple.  

@seignet posted:

I am not Black, White Canadian Policemen knows that. 

Why ppl can't just go on with their lives rather than worry about ethnicity. I know somewhere along the line, I will piss off somebody and they will call me some name. 

I am smart not to argue with such ppl. 

Fortunately, you might be one of the lucky ones.  It was  recently declared that the RCMP is a systemic racist unit.  Many of us don't go looking for racism in our everyday life, but it comes to us without asking.

[British] Colonial systems are racist.  In Guyana and also in Canada, starting with residential schools.    

@Tola posted:

Fortunately, you might be one of the lucky ones.  It was  recently declared that the RCMP is a systemic racist unit.  Many of us don't go looking for racism in our everyday life, but it comes to us without asking.

[British] Colonial systems are racist.  In Guyana and also in Canada, starting with residential schools.    

Today, in Guyana Blacks are racist, given the opportunity they could marginalized anyone who is not black. My point, generally we all racists.

I live 2 hour from Toronto. About 10 years ago, visiting some friends in the area the road was closed off. I tried asking a  Black Police Officer a question about an alternative route. The bruddah had such a piss poor attitude I swore he was a Black Guyanese, only dem know how to discriminate indian ppl. 

Last edited by seignet

Who knows?

It was mentioned that you and Alena are related to Ralph and it was also mentioned that he his mixed with black. Therefore according to your logic of elimination, you ladies are black even more so that you stated you are 50% Punjabi and came to the conclusion that Jagmeet is black.

Singh was born on January 2, 1979, in Scarborough, Ontario, to Harmeet Kaur and Jagtaran Singh, immigrant parents from the Indian state of Punjab. His mother is from Ghudani Khurd, in Punjab's Ludhiana district, while his father is from Thikriwala, in Barnala district.

@Prashad posted:

Gilly saluting you but Gilly knows exactly where he came from and part of it lies in West Africa.

Sheer unadulterated trash. Sheer wild and baseless conjecture. Prashad is projecting his paranoia to Gilly. Prashad must now be informed formally that Gilly underwent DNA and Ancestry tests and the results showed absolutely no trace to West Africa, East Africa, North Africa or South Africa. Prashad cannot and must not speak for Gilly. SPEAK FOR YOURSELF.

@Django, how does Prashad know that Gilly gave a "thumb up" to Terry? Do I now have to look behind my back everytime I wish to use that feature?