that Special Master should be chosen from a list of eminent persons outside the Commonwealth . . . preferably from Norway

the two Guyana parties should be presented with a list where they can mount objections to particular nominees . . . somewhat similar to the sanctified GECOM formula

we are in extra-constitutional waters now

let's see then who is acting in "good faith"

Dondadda posted:

Your are just spewing nonsense here. The CCJ is tasked with interpreting and making decisions based on the Constitution and the law. You are asking the CCJ to operate outside of the Law and the Constitution. Your position is similar to that of the DAG. Anything to delay the election. 

you are a moron

do you even know what "consequential orders" mean?

pay attention when i say we are in "extra-constitutional waters now"

what i propose hinges on the agreement of the parties

that is why the Court invited submissions

separately, the Coalition has nothing to gain by "delaying" the elections a couple of months . . . you and the PPP know that

such unintelligent, feeble chanting is allowed in polite conversation only because the corrupt PPP pitchfork media (Stabroek News that means you) lends such nonsense credence

it's y'all COVER so that people lose sight of the PPP bottom line from day 1 . . . FRAUDULENT elections with a bogus voters list

it would be a travesty of historic proportions if the CCJ imposes such on Guyana

that Special Master should be chosen from a list of eminent persons outside the Commonwealth . . . preferably from Norway

the two Guyana parties should be presented with a list where they can mount objections to particular nominees . . . somewhat similar to the sanctified GECOM formula

BOTH parties are acting in bad faith, or at least their supporters see it as such...

I am not sure what you mean by a "legal non-fraudulent voter's list", but I am guessing you are referring to the coalition preference for  a lean and clean list based on H2H registration. That is a coalition position, and the CCJ still has not spoken on this as yet. I assume this will be a major part of their consequential orders.

And, YES, I agree that because the country is entering extra-legal constitutional areas, unchartered in history, it makes sense to seek an outside THIRD PARTY intervention....(Carter played a meaningful role in 1991-1992) otherwise, we are going to see a repeat of the same situation with the three lists, and further delays...

Not sure why Norway is your preference, but any EU country could fit the bill.

However, for this to happen, since the onus is now on the government, they have to accept the rulings of the CCJ in good faith and the Chairperson must be removed since he is illegally occupying that office.... 

"removing the chairperson" is a creature of the Consequential Orders

a unilateral move to do so by the Gov't will likely "delay" elections until 2020 at the ealiest

even Jagdeo recognized the problem when he publicly declared, after the CCJ rulings, that Patterson was OK with him if we get early elections

he twist up he mouth now that his people tell he that he gat wind in he sails

it is now a negotiating position of the PPP . . . fair enough

where the hell do you get off spouting PROPAGANDA that the Coalition does/did not "accept the rulings of the CCJ in good faith"

smfh

Dummy, where the hell you come up with CRAP. How is the PPP at fault?? Al YUh does open Al Yuh stupid mouth only because Al Gore created the Internet for FREE use!!

Banna,

I am saying that the perception on both sides is that the guns are now drawn...more so with CCJ decisions.

The PPP will not accept H2H registration. Therein lies the great divide.  The coalition will fight this to the end. Their supporters were protesting yesterday...demanding H2H and some even saying that the coalition does not have to listen to the CCJ....and they know the opposition is not in good graces with the ABC/EU.

So tell me, how is your Great Hairless Leader going to force this government to accept the rulings and work within the timeframe Jagdeo is proposing? The army, police, etc is in the hands of those in power....and everybody know that you and your leaders are not going to mount protests in Georgetown.

So go tell the coalition supporters that the PPP is not at fault and see what kind of reaction you will get.

So tell me, how is your Great Hairless Leader going to force this government to accept the rulings

Granger has broadcast to the Nation that the Gov't accepts the Court's rulings

you are pulling false, tendentious stuff out of your ass to provide jumping-off points for ignorant propaganda rants by the Nehrus of this board

this is not clever

a unilateral move to do so by the Gov't will likely "delay" elections until 2020 at the ealiest

even Jagdeo recognized the problem when he publicly declared, after the CCJ rulings, that Patterson was OK with him if we get early elections

where the hell do you get off spouting PROPAGANDA that the Coalition does/did not "accept the rulings of the CCJ in good faith"

smfh

Only a knucklehead with a defend-the-coalition-at-all-costs like you believe that the coalition gon simply roll over and play dead with these rulings against them, and with more to come with the consequential orders...

Did you not hear Patterson reaction to the ruling (and his is a judge).?

Did you not hear Granger’s initial reaction to the reasoning of the CCJ?

Do you really believe the coalition gon let power slip out of their hands without trying all kinds of manipulations?

Let me guess...if you really believe that the Stabroek News (the ONLY independent media in Guyana) is a “corrupt pitchfork PPP media” then we know which team you are batting for....

SMFH right back at you...

smfh

Only a knucklehead with a defend-the-coalition-at-all-costs like you believe that the coalition gon simply roll over and play dead with these rulings against them, and with more to come with the consequential orders...

Did you not hear Patterson reaction to the ruling (and his is a judge).?

Did you not hear Granger’s initial reaction to the reasoning of the CCJ?

Do you really believe the coalition gon let power slip out of their hands without trying all kinds of manipulations?

your alienation, imaginings or conjectures do not interest me

facts do

when you depart the swamp and pluck up courage to bring them, come back and talk to me

Let me guess...if you really believe that the Stabroek News (the ONLY independent media in Guyana) is a “corrupt pitchfork PPP media” then we know which team you are batting for....

ALL media are creatures of media owners . . . ALL of whom have 'interests'

the interests of the David De Caires-led SN of old are not the same as today

only the childish engaged in simple-minded, naive prattle would not recognize this . . . or, perhaps, a knave protecting malign interests

which of these are you?

i have show how the Anand Persaud-led Stabroek News have lost their way in many, many of my postings on GNI

try to keep up

did you know that the New York Post was a historically LIBERAL newspaper before Rupert Murdoch took control in the 1970's?

i point there to give you an education

GECOM is NOT a part time friggin entity and MUST be aware that an Election can be called in 90 days, and therefore must be able to!!

Banna,

what you wish for, what the CCJ decides, and what the coalition decides to do are now three different things.

GECOM is now an established creature of the PNC....with a 4 to 3 vote. The leader off GECOM will not deviate from what the president wants. There is a reason why Granger handpicked his own person...he took a page out of Burnham’s Notebook.

The government and GECOM are driving this car, not the opposition....so Jagdeo can scream all he wants... 

only the childish engaged in simple-minded, naive prattle would not recognize this . . . or, perhaps, a knave protecting malign interests

which of these are you?

i have show how the Anand Persaud-led Stabroek News have lost their way in many, many of my postings on GNI

try to keep up

did you know that the New York Post was a historically LIBERAL newspaper before Rupert Murdoch took control in the 1970's?

Banna,

when you are not cussin people with your foul mouth, you are busy creating straw men and accusing people of being racists.

Guyana has several newspapers...everyone knows that the SN is the best source for information. 

You didn’t complain when SN opposed the PPP. The real propaganda paper in Guyana today is the coalition-controlled Chronicle (just like when the PPP controlled it). 

Your real problem is its an “Anand-Persaud” thing (I am guessing he is the editor)...your anti-Indo petticoat showing...

WTF does the NYP have to do with anything? Why dont you make the same argument about the Chronicle?

You are the same person defending that racist Phillips...and you were singing praises to Christopher Ram when he took Jagdeo to court for spewing racial insecurity...now the man is a filthy knave...

I wont let you waste my time, but let me bring you back to reality...regarding my reference to the PNC not acting in good faith...:

1. Granger said there are 200,000 names that are bloated on the current lists and young people are not registered...where is the evidence for this 200,000 phantom names, since the CCJ lawyers (go look at the tape of the trial) argue that there has been ongoing and continuous registration of those under 14?  

2. SN - July 19...here is Patterson, as judge (who once padded his resume): “Asked if he was prepared to resign his post as part of showing respect to the ‘edict of the court’, Patterson said “I haven’t thought about that”.   Patterson is still on the job.

So tell me where the “good faith” is reflected in these positions.

I am saying this to you....you are a band face liar, a racist (just like the folks referred to as Indo KKK)...you are here for one single purpose...

Now, let we see you use your poetic jingoism and name calling to kill your own thread.

which of these are you?

try to keep up

Banna,

when you are not cussin people with your foul mouth, you are busy creating straw men and accusing people of being racists.

Guyana has several newspapers...everyone knows that the SN is the best source for information. 

You didn’t complain when SN opposed the PPP. The real propaganda paper in Guyana today is the coalition-controlled Chronicle (just like when the PPP controlled it). 

Your real problem is its an “Anand-Persaud” thing (I am guessing he is the editor)...your anti-Indo petticoat showing...

WTF does the NYP have to do with anything? Why dont you make the same argument about the Chronicle?

You are the same person defending that racist Phillips...and you were singing praises to Christopher Ram when he took Jagdeo to court for spewing racial insecurity...now the man is a filthy knave...

I wont let you waste my time, but let me bring you back to reality...regarding my reference to the PNC not acting in good faith...:

1. Granger said there are 200,000 names that are bloated on the current lists and young people are not registered...where is the evidence for this 200,000 phantom names, since the CCJ lawyers (go look at the tape of the trial) argue that there has been ongoing and continuous registration of those under 14?  

2. SN - July 19...here is Patterson, as judge (who once padded his resume): “Asked if he was prepared to resign his post as part of showing respect to the ‘edict of the court’, Patterson said “I haven’t thought about that”.   Patterson is still on the job.

So tell me where the “good faith” is reflected in these positions.

I am saying this to you....you are a band face liar, a racist (just like the folks referred to as Indo KKK)...you are here for one single purpose...

Now, let we see you use your poetic jingoism and name calling to kill your own thread.

One more thing...

the only reason a supposedly smart person like you can take this kind of asinine, wrong-headed statements, coming after the CCJ decision is simply because there are no Walter Rodneys alive in that country who can bring senses to the illegally ruling-coalition....your PNC buddies took care of that years ago...

AND...you know very well that the opposition is no threat to the ruling parties because they are placing all their energy to fight a “legal” battle, rather than adopt one that will bring out people on the streets like nearby Venezuela.

[1] Your real problem is its an “Anand-Persaud” thing (I am guessing he is the editor)...your anti-Indo petticoat showing...

[2] You are the same person defending that racist Phillips...

re [1] i am not responsible for your malignant conjectural fantasies that you reify like antiman because you have nothing intelligent in response . . . i suspect they are Freudian

re [2] snarling outright LIES are not helping your case

good luck with the GNI PPP project [trying haaard] to paint me (Ronan) as some sort of anti-Indo "racist"

uh huh

Even though CCJ can order GG any decisions, they will disobey such decision and GG is not bound to comply. 

Granger will continue following Burnham’s authoritarian footsteps.

The international community can then apply pressure to the government to comply by imposing sanctions. 

Putting Guyana first, the PPP/C had accepted a reduced term in office when PNC put their hooligans on the streets. Granger government will not put the people first and AFC is in full support. 

Though Jagdeo is smart in his political tactics and has won back most of PPP support which they lost in 2011 and 2015 election can he force this undemocratic government out, without outside intervention...

The power is in the hands of the PPP supporters to bring this undemocratic illegal government down. 

Banna,

what you wish for, what the CCJ decides, and what the coalition decides to do are now three different things.

GECOM is now an established creature of the PNC....with a 4 to 3 vote. The leader off GECOM will not deviate from what the president wants. There is a reason why Granger handpicked his own person...he took a page out of Burnham’s Notebook.

The government and GECOM are driving this car, not the opposition....so Jagdeo can scream all he wants... 

y'all two singing from the same smartman song book

amusing watching you play set-up man

hmmmm?

the only reason a supposedly smart person like you can take this kind of asinine, wrong-headed statements, coming after the CCJ decision is simply because there are no Walter Rodneys alive in that country who can bring senses to the illegally ruling-coalition....

another scamp cloaking heself in Walter Rodney's shroud

were he alive, Walter would chase people like you who support the criminal handover of Guyana's resources to their mattie by PPP tiefman through fraudulent elections

and, when/where exactly did the CCJ rule that the Coalition is ruling "illegally"?

you are without shame

banna go read a book for a change and try out your sophomoric 'cleverness' on nehru, ksazma and dave dem

All BS nonsense...typical PNC BS at that

must be nice that you, like nehru, can just take a dump on the thread and walk away without explanation . . . no?

why should I encourage nonsense

no one's asking you to "encourage" anything

i pointed to your non-contributing, nonsensical post

[1] Your real problem is its an “Anand-Persaud” thing (I am guessing he is the editor)...your anti-Indo petticoat showing...

re [1] i am not responsible for your malignant conjectural fantasies that you reify like antiman because you have nothing intelligent in response . . . i suspect they are Freudian

good luck with the GNI PPP project [trying haaard] to paint me (Ronan) as some sort of anti-Indo "racist"

uh huh

No painting...like I told you before...I am saying it loud and clear...you let the cat out de bag when you defended one Eric Phillips...and his concocted racist plan...

Take a hard look in the mirror...you might see the image of Phillips staring back at you....wagging his fingers, saying, “beware dem Amerindians, Indos, Mixed, Chinese, etc...is we country dis”

AND, yes, I am on to your game plan....since I dont fit the profile of the people here, I must be a “GNI PPP project”...

You are no innocent bystander, trying to unmask the Indo KKK...you should unmask yourself first...

the only reason a supposedly smart person like you can take this kind of asinine, wrong-headed statements, coming after the CCJ decision is simply because there are no Walter Rodneys alive in that country who can bring senses to the illegally ruling-coalition....

another scamp cloaking heself in Walter Rodney's shroud

were he alive, Walter would chase people like you who support the criminal handover of Guyana's resources to their mattie by PPP tiefman through fraudulent elections

and, when/where exactly did the CCJ rule that the Coalition is ruling "illegally"?

you are without shame

banna go read a book for a change and try out your sophomoric 'cleverness' on nehru, ksazma and dave dem

Scamp? Shame?

Read a book?

The audacity!

Banna,

I may not know much about Guyana as you, but I think I know enough. I have people in my family who talk all day long about “de old country”.

This much I know...as per the CCJ ruling, the coalition is an occupying force, bullying its way and subverting democracy....y’all lucky the opposition did not resort to an intifada-like uprising...

The only person who is SHAMELESS here is you for defending the illegal actions of this government...the same government that cut down the life on one of the most brilliant scholars the country has produced...(BTW, for your information, I did read his book on Guyana and How Europe Underdeveloped Africa) and then shamelessly buried the COI into his investigation.

Haul you arse...you have no moral standing to lecture anyone here...

you defended one Eric Phillips...and his concocted racist plan...

you are a cowardly big mouth LIAR!!

You have Mastered the selective (and conveniently) cut and paste skill....

you are a corrupt LIAR

ankle caught in a snare and you cannot get away

it will be interesting watching you gnaw your way out of this

i look forward to seeing you slink off holding your bloody stump

You and trump has this hots for Norway! Well, I agree a special master would serve to end the coming delays from both sides over dubious objections designed to meet political ends. 

I do not agree we are in extra constitutional waters. The dorp dead day for the NCV will be when the CCJ hands down their official ruling the clock to 90 days begins then.  The granger regime has acted as if no NCV was in force up to now. They always asserted they are the governing body until the NCV is declared accepted by the CCJ

Faith is a terrible thing to rely on in Guyana's political waters. And good is not an adjective I would attach to either party. 

Dondadda posted:

Your are just spewing nonsense here. The CCJ is tasked with interpreting and making decisions based on the Constitution and the law. You are asking the CCJ to operate outside of the Law and the Constitution. Your position is similar to that of the DAG. Anything to delay the election. 

you are a moron

do you even know what "consequential orders" mean?

pay attention when i say we are in "extra-constitutional waters now"

what i propose hinges on the agreement of the parties

that is why the Court invited submissions

separately, the Coalition has nothing to gain by "delaying" the elections a couple of months . . . you and the PPP know that

such unintelligent, feeble chanting is allowed in polite conversation only because the corrupt PPP pitchfork media (Stabroek News that means you) lends such nonsense credence

it's y'all COVER so that people lose sight of the PPP bottom line from day 1 . . . FRAUDULENT elections with a bogus voters list

it would be a travesty of historic proportions if the CCJ imposes such on Guyana

The coalition gains time in office ( the "cash prize" of elections in Guyana) so it is a premium for delaying as long as they can. Further, the get the state machinery to leverage in their campaigning. And then there is the bead trading options possible with Amerindian chiefs for votes we see at election time...not to mention state patronage of their political worker bees being facilitated on the state's dime. The objections to the NCV on spurious grounds was to extend time so there is much to be gained in the delaying tactics so far. I expect that to continue.

This pure political poison in the manufacture of the meme that the list is "fraudulent" and "bogus". No opposition crafting of its current state to gain an advantaged has been established. Further, the idea that the list once valid, ( some 3 years ago to but the PNC in power?) has magically swelled to the excess of 200k than is statistically valid. This is Vincent Alexander bullshit. The growth would be from people departing the jurisdiction and dead people. All of this could only occur if the lazy people in the commission were neglecting their job. Also, they register 14 year olds as part of the process to that there could be vast pools of unregistered 18 year olds out there is again playing loosely with the facts.

GECOM’s house-to-house registration decision invalid; Granger’s “bloated” voters’ list claim “not true”- ANUG

A New and United Guyana (ANUG) political party at the weekend said a decision by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to conduct house-to-house registration was  invalid because the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) found that the appointment of the Chairman of that seven-member body was unconstitutional.

According to that five-month old political party, the governing A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU) coalition has been misleading Guyanese by claiming that the seven-member body had agreed to conduct house-to-house registration. With the three pro-opposition elections commissioners against house-to-house registration, ANUG said Retired Justice James Patterson, whose appointment was struck down by the CCJ, used his casting vote with the three pro-government elections commissioners to decide that house-to-house registration must be conducted before the next general elections.

“The resulting tie was broken by the casting vote of Justice James Patterson, the Chairman unilaterally appointed by the President. But since that appointment was done in violation of the Constitution the entire process is vitiated. In any event, a casting vote by Patterson will not inspire the confidence of at least half of the population,” ANUG said.

Publicly recommending a consequential order  to the CCJ when it meets on Monday, that political party wants the CCJ to instruct President Granger to pick one of Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo’s 18 nominees for the post of GECOM Chairman and avoid further delay in holding general elections. ” The result will be a Chairman in whom Guyanese may repose their confidence and trust, two conditions which are sadly lacking in our vicious political arena. Anything else will simply protract Guyana’s unhappy difficulties created at the hands of the two parties,” the party said.

The three pro-government elections commissioners are Vincent Alexander, Charles Corbin and Desmond Trotman, while the three People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-backed counterparts are Sase Gunraj, Bibi Shadick and Robeson Benn.

“bloated and defective” list

ANUG also dismissed the David Granger-led coalition’s claim that the voters’ list was bloated with about 200,000 defective names and that as much as 10,000 names of youths would be disenfranchised because their names are not on the voters’ list. “The process is straightforward and seamless, and has worked for over a dozen years without any difficulty, and the President’s bald statement that the list is bloated, expired and corrupt is simply not true,” the party said.

According to that party- whose leaders include Senior Counsel and former House Speaker Ralph Ramkarran, Attorney-at-Law  Timothy Jonas and former government minister Dr. Henry Jeffrey-the process for adding and removing names from the voters’ list has been time-tested without any problems.  The party said when the President of Guyana announces a date for national elections, the Elections Commission is obligated to extract from the National List and place on the Voters’ List the names of those persons who are 18 years  and over or will be 18 and over on the date announced for elections. The Voters’ List is then published, and copies are placed prominently at places of poll during a statutory period of claims and objections, according to ANUG, during which any Guyanese may scrutinize the list to object to any names which should not be on the list or any names wrongfully omitted from the list.

Further ANUG said Section 6(A) of the National Registration Act provides that the Elections Commission shall use the official list of electors from the 2001 general and regional elections as the base to commence continuing registration. This provision was inserted by Parliament in 2005.

“The intention of Parliament was that there should be a continuing process by which the list was updated by introducing new young citizens
who reached the age of 14 years and removing deceased citizens. ANUG explained that a method to accomplish this is set out in the Regulations passed under that Act, which provides a machinery for young Guyanese who reach the age of 14 years to be placed on the list, and for deceased Guyanese to be removed from the list. This is done in periodic cycles as part of the continuous process.

smfh

It would delay elections only if Granger prevaricate in his selection process. Jagdeo said he can deliver people as fast as he needs them. I think the two of them should sit and trade names until the process is over. I cannot take long to go through the pool of qualified people in our society if they actually decide to be fair. What Jagdeo recognizes is the APNU's need to buy time. He feels letting patterson remains serves to block one way for granger to steal time. 

You and trump has this hots for Norway! Well, I agree a special master would serve to end the coming delays from both sides over dubious objections designed to meet political ends. 

I do not agree we are in extra constitutional waters. The dorp dead day for the NCV will be when the CCJ hands down their official ruling the clock to 90 days begins then.  The granger regime has acted as if no NCV was in force up to now. They always asserted they are the governing body until the NCV is declared accepted by the CCJ

Faith is a terrible thing to rely on in Guyana's political waters. And good is not an adjective I would attach to either party. 

it's not for you to agree

constitutionally, elections cannot be held if there is no GECOM chair

uh huh

You are something else...thin skinned and prickly yet you are wont to hurl  insults of your own  peculiar venal strain in every post!

And  I ask, what is your hang up with homosexuals and why is it you presume that it is only homosexuals who oppose you? Don't you think that is "malignant  conjectural fantasies" if  not abject ignorant and utter useless trolling?

Why is the gentleman lying if he opposes your facts? Are you Gabriel and can only speak eternal verities? You should not engage in discussions if that is your view. 

So tell me, how is your Great Hairless Leader going to force this government to accept the rulings

Granger has broadcast to the Nation that the Gov't accepts the Court's rulings

you are pulling false, tendentious stuff out of your ass to provide jumping-off points for ignorant propaganda rants by the Nehrus of this board

this is not clever

Granger allowed the stupid 33>32 argument to go before the high court and ultimately to the CCJ. He is the one that sacrificed his dual citizenship members of parliament to forward the argument that Charandass was not a valid parliamentarian on account of his dual citizenship.

It is granger that took over a year to discount Jagdeo' list of potential candidates for commissioner and decide on one Sunday afternoon after church he can do so unilaterally.

All of this nonsense of his making. No one puts it past him to prevaricate and delay as much as he can this time either. He is not in jeopardy of going to prison for disobeying. He however gains time.

One is not pulling anything out of their ass to deem him untrustworthy. This H2H list making is another of his rabbit of a hat trick. Demanding 9 months to do that takes the cake.

Indian took 900 million people to the polls in 30 days. We have 450K electors  less than 200k households so why cannot we do that in 90 days? 

it's not for you to agree

constitutionally, elections cannot be held if there is no GECOM chair

Nor was it for you to propose a special master or declare we are in extra constitutional waters. Talking through your ass? 

GECOM's chair is about picking a person. I is not like this person has to be specially trained for the job. The task demands logistical and administrative skills and I am sure we have some who fit the bill. It is only granger who limits the position to judges in his inimitable jaundiced thinking.