We normally think of ourselves in terms
of the deliberative system—the conscious
reasoning self—yet automatic operations
generate complex patterns of ideas that
influence nearly all our judgments and
decisions

Was reading a World Bank Report,"Mind,Society and Behavior" in a chapter there is mention our methods of thinking,there is a quotation as the above.

Any one interested click on link for a copy

http://www.worldbank.org/en/publication/wdr2015

Test your Thinking Skills.

A bat and ball cost $1.10.The bat cost $1.00 more than the ball.

How much does the ball cost ?

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

"Most people answer “10 cents,” since $1.10 can be easily broken into a sum
$1 and 10 cents. The automatic system provides a plau-sible response, based on what comes quickly to mind,before the deliberative system has time to intervene
and regulate our judgment."

Hey Mits, how's the Med School going? Wonderful service to mankind being undertaken by all involved. You're so humble and never toot your horn. If they know what you're doing, they'll drop dead with jealousy.

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

$1 and 10 cents. The automatic system provides a plau-sible response, based on what comes quickly to mind,before the deliberative system has time to intervene

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

Alena is 100percent contented and has no reason to be jealous of anyone. 😆😆

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

Gyal what kinda story me hearing that you jealous of Mitwah!😀😀😀😀😀. Delusionalism has just skyrocketed to a whole new level.  Homegyurl has no sense - of reality.

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

Gyal what kinda story me hearing that you jealous of Mitwah!😀😀😀😀😀. Delusionalism has just skyrocketed to a whole new level.  Homegyurl has no sense - of reality.

😁😁😁😁☺️☺️☺️☺️. 

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

I would give you a big fat zero for this answer if I were your math teacher. You have to show how you get to b = .05. 

That's not the way I would solve this problem anyway. 

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

I would give you a big fat zero for this answer if I were your math teacher. You have to show how you get to b = .05. 

Bhai,the school bottom house trained saw that,i stayed put,it's a simple formula to give the answer.

alena06 posted:

Here are the 5 more lines for the old ones😀

a=1.0 +b

1.0+b+b=110

1.0+2b=110

2b=10cents

b=5cents

😁😀

Gyal don’t waste your time with these stupid people.  None of them can hold a candle to you.  They come here to waste time, tell lies, and antagonize people.  Many of them have nothing else to do.

alena06 posted:

a=1.0 +b

1.0+b+b=110

1.0+2b=110

2b=10cents

b=5cents

😁😀

So you agree that what you wrote before was simply baloney? Like you finally get some help to figure it out. Thank God for Google. 

alena06 posted:

a=1.0 +b

1.0+b+b=110

1.0+2b=110

2b=10cents

b=5cents

😁😀

Gyal don’t waste your time with these stupid people.  None of them can hold a candle to you.  They come here to waste time, tell lies, and antagonize people.  Many of them have nothing else to do.

Why did you not attempt. 

Did you lose it at "a"?

Base did all the work for extra credit. You think he was your QC Professor? 

Nah, I had a lil throw-back coaching my kids when they were stuck on math homework!

I hope he realize, that was not a Google solution!

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

I gave u the basic equations, see my later post where I solved them.  Y’all taking this thing seriously.  

Hey Mits, how's the Med School going? Wonderful service to mankind being undertaken by all involved. You're so humble and never toot your horn. If they know what you're doing, they'll drop dead with jealousy.

Don't know how many of you remember any of the radio programs from back home. There was one with "Aunty Pat". I can't remember the name but she used to give local sayings. This one comes to mind. If you throw a brick, the pig that squeals is the one you hit. Let's see how many pigs squeal.

alena06 posted:

The ball costs 5 cents. 

Quote from report

a+b=1.10

a-b=1.00

Solve for b=5 cents.

I gave u the basic equations, see my later post where I solved them.  Y’all taking this thing seriously.  

What you gave before is unrelated to your new answer. It doesn't show the steps to solve the problem and would be incomplete on any math test.

alena06 posted:

Django good you have another way via a formula. Share let’s see.  Excel does all my math at work. 😀

b=ball

b=(1.10-1.00)÷2

Short cut simple and easy

This does not get you squat with any math teacher.  You need to go through the process as I illustrated!  The only reason you can do what you did is because we all knew the answer!

alena06 posted:

Django good you have another way via a formula. Share let’s see.  Excel does all my math at work. 😀

b=ball

b=(1.10-1.00)÷2

Short cut simple and easy

This does not get you squat with any math teacher.  You need to go through the process as I illustrated!  The only reason you can do what you did is because we all knew the answer!

Banna, i knew the answer when posted this thread.

Anyway take a read of the report.It's interesting.