Teixeira mulling run for PPP/C’s presidential candidate

July 30 2018

Gail Teixeira

Long-serving executive of the People’s Progressive Party, Gail Teixeira, is considering contesting for the presidential candidate of the party when it holds its nominations later this year.

“There are some of us who are considering, not only the ones named so far and we will make our decisions known at the appropriate time,” Teixeira told Stabroek News yesterday.

A People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) presidential candidate will be named before this year’s Local Government Elections but party leader and General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo, has  warned potential nominees to be cautious in their public campaigning.

Sources told this newspaper that it is not the first time that Teixeira, has considered running for the position since she was also nominated back in 2011 but chose to stand with former President Jagdeo in his endorsement of his successor, former President Donald Ramotar.

One source said that Teixeira has “great internal support” and is respected and admired for the performance of her Chief Whip duties in the National Assembly.

“She is just as capable and is as deserving, if not more, than many who have shown interest. Gail is a powerhouse, do not mind her height. She has great support, I think always had, great internal support and she is respected by all for that Chief Whip position she holds,” the source said.

“Gail stands by Bharrat in all of his decisions and when in 2011 Donald was proposed, although she wanted that chance, she allowed him. I guess she thinks it is only fair that now be her chance …but I am not sure if she will get the support from Jagdeo that she thinks,” the source further added.

Although Jagdeo as PPP General Secretary is currently the de facto party leader, his ineligibility as the next presidential candidate is being seen as an opening for younger members of the party who fancy their chances of running or being part of a ticket. Former Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony and PPP/C MP Dr. Vindhya Persaud are both seen as potential candidates who can be successful.

Jagdeo has already declared that he intends to be a part of the next PPP government, but sources within and close to the party believe that he is likely to also face resistance from both younger members who have their own support bases as well as the party’s old guard, with whom he has long had an uneasy relationship, including during his 12-year presidency.

Former Parliamentarian Charles Ramson Jr has publicly announced that he wants to be the party’s Presidential Candidate while former Attorney General Anil Nandall has said that he will serve in whatever capacity his party sees fit.

Sources had previously told this newspaper that Anthony, Nandlall and former Housing Minister Irfaan Ali were seen as being the most likely presidential candidates in the event that the CCJ upheld the presidential term limit. The CCJ has upheld the constitutional provision and there is much anticipation about who will be the PPP’s candidate.

While he has personal favourites, Jagdeo has said that he will not be lobbying publicly for any candidate but says that he wishes all of them well in their nominations and selection.

“There are lots of people that I like and very competent people too. I wish them all well,” he said as he assured that the selection process will be finished by the end of the year and the party will focus on its 2020 campaign strategies.

Gail has paid her dues to the PPP.  She is well educated and has the passion and tenacity of a good leader.  She would have made a better President than Ramotar.

Tell that to Jagdeo. 

Dr. Jagan would send Gail in the late night to contact his supporters all over Georgetown in some very dangerous areas. Yet she never refuse to go. She is a very brave woman.

Is that why Jagdeo sent her and Priya to do the cussing up? 

Gail has paid her dues to the PPP.  She is well educated and has the passion and tenacity of a good leader.  She would have made a better President than Ramotar.

Watch it. Prashad likes the red man too. Even though Carib j  sees him as just a koolie.

She might be a good candidate, but Guyana needs new and young faces. AND, We had enough of “white” leaders.

I think any President should be either Afro, Indo, Amerindian, and of course, most preferable, a DOUGLA. I would throw in a ""Putagee”, just to make my boy Cain happy.

Thats my 2 cents.

She might be a good candidate, but Guyana needs new and young faces. AND, We had enough of “white” leaders.

I think any President should be either Afro, Indo, Amerindian, and of course, most preferable, a DOUGLA. I would throw in a ""Putagee”, just to make my boy Cain happy.

Thats my 2 cents.

Is Gail part Putagee? I thought Dr. Anthony is mixed. Maybe I am wrong.

Thats my 2 cents.

Which part? LOL

I thought Gail’s parents were Janet and Cheddi. Does anyone know her background?

Anthony is too “low key”, he is not a rabble rouser and does not seem to have presidential character....come to think of it, I dont know of anyone in the PPP who is Presidential material...

I thought Sherrod Duncan had some chances, but he messed up Over the Chronicle debacle.

I think Dr. Frank Anthony and Dr. Vindhya Perssaud will make an excellent team. Both veterans without excess baggage.

What is Frank Anthony showing the East Indian Hindu youth of Guyana at this very critical time in their history? It is good to be a brown English man. We lost many a  Skeldon man, keefer and the Chief trying to be brown Arabs already.

I've already named Nandlall and Teixeira. Which one is candidate or running mate doesn't matter.

Gail is not Jagan's daughter. That was a rumor in the 1970s after Nadira migrated to Canada. Joey hates Gail vehemently.

Guyanese are still in the Stone Age. They see male ( sexes )  as the dominant factor. 

@ Vish, Sherrod Duncan is from AFC. 

Frank Anthony is the only candidate who mixed with the grass root... he’s been around  Cheddi days and he’s from the PYO. He knows the party in and out. 

I've already named Nandlall and Teixeira. Which one is candidate or running mate doesn't matter.

Gail is not Jagan's daughter. That was a rumor in the 1970s after Nadira migrated to Canada. Joey hates Gail vehemently.

Benn said in his paper that he had information to show that Janet was Gail mother.

Which part? LOL

I thought Gail’s parents were Janet and Cheddi. Does anyone know her background?

Fool, stop talking shit! This is the height of your blasted ignorance! Gail Texeira (note the last name) is a putagee woman, birthed by well established putagee people in Guyana. Her father used to drive a big black car around GT. If I'm not mistaken her father worked for the bank. She attended St. Rose's high school.

Your confused rambling about hating a "white" leader but not minding a "putagee" one is noted and laughable! Look up where Madeira Portugal is on a map. SMFH.

Benn said in his paper that he had information to show that Janet was Gail mother.

Someone said that Jagdeo is Cheddi's son. That's why he name him Bharat.

Which part? LOL

Fool, stop talking shit! This is the height of your blasted ignorance! Gail Texeira (note the last name) is a putagee woman, birthed by well established putagee people in Guyana. Her father used to drive a big black car around GT. If I'm not mistaken her father worked for the bank. She attended St. Rose's high school.

Your confused rambling about hating a "white" leader but not minding a "putagee" one is noted and laughable! Look up where Madeira Portugal is on a map. SMFH.

Gail is black and Portuguese.

Thats my 2 cents.

Frank is Indian, grew up in the PPP party.

Gail will definitely command respect from the voters, but as an old PPP’ite I don’t know how dynamic of a leader she will be and at her age how much can she drive the badly needed CHANGE.  What are some of her big WINS in her prior Ministerial positions?

Someone said you are Burnham son.  That's why you naturally fall into his footsteps so easily.

alena06 posted:

Gail will definitely command respect from the voters, but as an old PPP’ite I don’t know how dynamic of a leader she will be and at her age how much can she drive the badly needed CHANGE.  What are some of her big WINS in her prior Ministerial positions?

Guyana needs a fiery leader with a lot of sarcasm...Joe Biden mold.

Toilet paper. The information came from Benn batty.

All dem bharrats is Cheddi pickney.

If Janet was Gail's mother, is Benn saying then that Janet Jagan had an affair on Dr. Jagan? Very far fetched story. Was this in the National Enquirer or New nation?  Come In Django.

alena06 posted:

Thats my 2 cents.

Frank grandfather is Dougla. Mom is from the madras/ Tamil background and they are Christian by religion. 

If Janet was Gail's mother, is Benn saying then that Janet Jagan had an affair on Dr. Jagan? Very far fetched story. Was this in the National Enquirer or New nation?  Come In Django.

Bhai i doan know who knack who,

Gilly gave an answer.

She deserves a shot. Just think if she becomes prezzy of Guyana in 2020 and pocahantas becomes the new POTUS.  I think it would be good.  

Think again. We all know an Indo Male will be anointed. 

She deserves a shot. Just think if she becomes prezzy of Guyana in 2020 and pocahantas becomes the new POTUS.  I think it would be good.  

Think again. We all know an Indo Male will be anointed. 

How about PNC announce a Black Female as their Presidential candidate ?

Equal opportunity.

alena06 posted:

Thats my 2 cents.

Frank grandfather is Dougla. Mom is from the madras/ Tamil background and they are Christian by religion. 

Ahh did not know.  He is from Enmore. A very Indo dominated village.

I say Alena should be the Presidential Candidate and Leonora the Prime Minister for a BETTER Guyana.

Sure bro, I can run that place from here for free. 😀 The best part will be to downsize the cabinet and choose a few good men/women to work.

Sure Leonora can work from here too.😀

If we had to choose from the usual suspects, the daily posters on GNI, whom would we choose and why? We already have from Nehru a ticket of Alena/Leonora.

Nah buddy, we can give them a little free advice but not going back there for nothing.😀

The coolie rat race rushing for power before the so call secret ballot get started. I hope the PPP doesn't run into internal trouble before they get started. 

Why don't you shut your ignorant ass if you have nothing of substance to contribute?

The coolie rat race rushing for power before the so call secret ballot get started. I hope the PPP doesn't run into internal trouble before they get started. 

You are the Most Racist Ass roaming GNI, do you actually exist? It may serve you better to shut your poke, today you are burping ignorance. Life is treating hard, should seek professional help, get permission before you post, little boy.

Poster Sheik just confirmed in another thread that Prince does not like Black People yet he comes here to stir up trouble with his constant demeaning of Indos.

Had any other  poster been posting the racist Shyte that he post at GNI, they would have been banned.

Prince has been getting a free pass right under Riffs nose with his anti Indo racist Shyte at GNI.

There appears to be double standards when it comes Addressing the issue of race at GNI. 

Wow, a race for the bottom.  Look who calling people racists!  Are you sure you ok?

Poster Sheik just confirmed in another thread that Prince does not like Black People yet he comes here to stir up trouble with his constant demeaning of Indos.

Had any other  poster been posting the racist Shyte that he post at GNI, they would have been banned.

Prince has been getting a free pass right under Riffs nose with his anti Indo racist Shyte at GNI.

There appears to be double standards when it comes Addressing the issue of race at GNI. 

Anyone who can refer to their own race as "rats" just to appease another, has truly lost their identity and is undeserving of any respect.

Last edited by GTAngler

Wow, a race for the bottom.  Look who calling people racists!  Are you sure you ok?

Nah,demeaning women on GNI,nah,pretending to be an alter boy,nah unemployed  bum, who are you to question me ,nah not.

All dem bharrats is Cheddi pickney.

Then he is genuinely the "Father of the Nation".

Anyone who can refer to their own race as "rats" just to appease another, has truly lost their identity and is undeserving of any respect.

GTAngler,

Not backing Prince,he meant "rat race" the "C" word used to describe East Indians is derogatory,I may have used it after realizing it's bad,i  refrained from using such.

GTAngler,

Not backing Prince,he meant "rat race" the "C" word used to describe East Indians is derogatory,I may have used it after realizing it's bad,i  refrained from using such.

Duly noted and accepted.

Very True.

Thecoolie rat race rushing for power before the so call secret ballot get started. I hope the PPP doesn't run into internal trouble before they get started. 

Very True.

What's true ?

Which part? LOL

Hey Lizard man,

Thanks for the info in Gail...she must be a family member of yours, eh?

Yes, Portugal is in Europe, but For the record, sometimes Portuguese are listed separately, as they have been traditionally in the Guyanese context. 

Hey Lizard man,

Yes, Portugal is in Europe, but For the record, sometimes Portuguese are listed separately, as they have been traditionally in the Guyanese context. 

Gail is no family of mine. My relatives went to school with her at St Roses' (don't know if they were in the same form). There was a period of sophistication and high society in Georgetown which a servile, uncultured oaf like you can never be acquainted with. So you gravitate to the low end  assuming Gail is meh "fambly". Her family was part of the who's who in GT.

Gail is Portuguese and English White. Her maternal grandfather was Major Henwood who conducted the British Guiana Militia Band that used to perform at the governor's mansion and the three bandstands in GT.

alena06 posted:

I say Alena should be the Presidential Candidate and Leonora the Prime Minister for a BETTER Guyana.

Sure bro, I can run that place from here for free. 😀 The best part will be to downsize the cabinet and choose a few good men/women to work.

So you will be a President like Granger and rule from afar?  In absentia?

Hey Lizard man,

Gail is no family of mine. My relatives went to school with her at St Roses' (don't know if they were in the same form). There was a period of sophistication and high society in Georgetown which a servile, uncultured oaf like you can never be acquainted with. So you gravitate to the low end  assuming Gail is meh "fambly". Her family was part of the who's who in GT.

Then, 

You might know the answer...easy wid dem insults banna:

Does she have Canadian citizenship?

And, would you vote for her if she is the PPP candidate?

Gail is Portuguese and English White. Her maternal grandfather was Major Henwood who conducted the British Guiana Militia Band that used to perform at the governor's mansion and the three bandstands in GT.

Thanks...do you know if she possess Canadian citizenship?

I know some people, like Leslie Ramsammy , posses US citizenship.

Gail lived in Canada from 1963 to 1975. She would have lost citizenship by being in Guyana year in year out since her return.

I never knew one loses citizenship by being away.  I thought this happened when you have residency status!

Sorry, she can only loose it if she committed an immigration fraud on her application; another way is if she renounced it.  Hope she is updating her passport when due.

I am not sure a person can loose citizenship this way. 

I dont know what the Canadian laws say, but immigration laws varies across countries. For instance, Israel allows dual citizenship, the US does not.

There is something uncomfortable about a Guyanese parliamentarian maintains citizenship in another country as well.

As far as I know, if Gail is, she has not renounced Canadian citizenship. 

alena06 posted:

Why not? 😀 Was doing that Vicky Justice workout with my 15 year old and I ‘bruk ma rass’. 😀

alena06 posted:

Why not? 😀 Was doing that Vicky Justice workout with my 15 year old and I ‘bruk ma rass’. 😀

You that old?

Sorry, she can only loose it if she committed an immigration fraud on her application; another way is if she renounced it.  Hope she is updating her passport when due.

Thanks.

Confounded liar and peddler of VERY tall tales! From Gilbakka (who should know):

Gail is Portuguese and English White. Her maternal grandfather was Major Henwood who conducted the British Guiana Militia Band that used to perform at the governor's mansion and the three bandstands in GT- Gilbakka

Jagan never sent Gail to "warn supporters in dangerous areas" at night either. I doubt Gail was even in the country then, and if she was would be a very young woman! And wid all the bad ass Indian men like you and Yugi around, why send a putagee woman?

You are a peddler of tall tales and a pathological, congenital LIAR! Mekking up shit and pelting it in people like ignoramus Yugi mouth fuh he to vomit out hay ad nauseum!

Confounded liar and peddler of VERY tall tales! From Gilbakka (who should know):

Gail is Portuguese and English White. Her maternal grandfather was Major Henwood who conducted the British Guiana Militia Band that used to perform at the governor's mansion and the three bandstands in GT- Gilbakka

Jagan never sent Gail to "warn supporters in dangerous areas" at night either. I doubt Gail was even in the country then, and if she was would be a very young woman! And wid all the bad ass Indian men like you and Yugi around, why send a putagee woman?

You are a peddler of tall tales and a pathological, congenital LIAR! Mekking up shit and pelting it in people like ignoramus Yugi mouth fuh he to vomit out hay ad nauseum!

How does Gilbakka know where Dr. Jagan sent Gail. Gail was the Dr's confidential secretary.  Prashad knows because Prashad saw Gail in several locations in Georgetown in the 1980s' at night speaking to black supporters of Dr. Jagan. It was clear that she was relaying messages to them from the doctor. Iguana if you call me a pathological, congenital LIAR to my face I will smash your ugly face deep into your deformed head you keyboard warrior.

Iguana if you call me a pathological, congenital LIAR to my face I will smash your ugly face deep into your deformed head you keyboard warrior.

....heh heh heh...dis is wha duz happen in Guyana. Late at night after  drinking likka, 160 lb biscuit chest punks does get spounce and start smelling deh sweat. I ain't like yuh wife punk!

Gail is black and Portuguese

Oi P Rashad...I hear somebody say U does peddle big women patacakes..then him say a couple bigwords someting bout "liar" and U mekin up shit an peltin it rass in yugi mouth then yall does vomit out hay an' eat um...dah true?

Baseman, somewhere on this thread you said Gail should have a fair shake of PPP presidential candidate. I would say the same for Rohee, Nagamootoo, and Ramkarran when they were with the PPP.  A fair chance in the PPP doesn't exist, or any party for that matter. 

I don’t disagree with you.  Everyone should be given the chance and have a transparent process to ensure no one is cheated. With such a process, even if one loses out, they will not be too bitter.  

PPP should pick candidate with best chance of defeating the coalition

July 30 2018

Dear Editor,

Reference is made to the news item captioned `Teixeira mulling run for PPP/C’s presidential candidate’ (SN Jul 30). I wish her well.

There are several (officially and unofficially) declared candidates (those with more than a passing interest in the nomination). Some are electable and some completely unelectable.

In choosing its nominee, the PPP should focus on who is “electable” – who has the best chance of defeating the coalition APNU+AFC in the general election. There are a few names within the party and a few outside the party who have strong favorability ratings and who can defeat the coalition. It does not take brain science to know who is electable.

Anyone with an anti-American attitude or guilty of anti-Americanism or partook in an anti-American attack has no chance of winning a general elections. The US will not allow it unless there is redemption. Anti-Americanism contributed to the removal of the PPP from office in May 2015. The US does not have a short memory.

The PPP should select a nominee who is committed to strengthening relations with America and by extension Canada and the UK since these countries will largely determine the outcome of the elections.

Yours faithfully,

Vishnu Bisram

Gail is Portuguese and afro Guyanese from her Portuguese Guyanese ancestry. I don't know anything about her English heritage.

Why are you so concerned about her ethnicity and not if she is electable? She is a Canadian but can she strengthen the relationships with the Canadians, Americans and the British? 

Last edited by Mitwah

Gail is Portuguese and afro Guyanese from her Portuguese Guyanese ancestry. I don't know anything about her English heritage.

Why are you so concerned about her ethnicity and not if she is electable? She is a Canadian but can she strengthen the relationships with the Canadians, Americans and the British? 

Electability is only one problem she has.

The other question is:would she be allowed to govern.

Look what happen to Auntie Janet...the place became ungovernable, they did obeah pon the white doll, and de woman was forced to reduce her term by 2 years.

Electability is only one problem she has.

The other question is:would she be allowed to govern.

Look what happen to Auntie Janet...the place became ungovernable, they did obeah pon the white doll, and de woman was forced to reduce her term by 2 years.

Suh, she might as well throw in de towel...because it look like de goat bite she and Rohee....

MITS, like you na follow Guyanese history or what, banna.?

I don't think the US will disapprove Gail's candidacy because of the 2014 discourtesy at the ambassador's home. For decades Cheddi Jagan had pissed upon succeeding US administrations by calling them "imperialist bastards". Yet Bush and Carter helped him to get power in 1992.

Had Cheddi not pissed on Kennedy and all the succeeding administrations, Burnham would have never been President of Guyana.  History would have take us down a very different road.  

What stupidity!  They deposed him then kept him out until the USSR fell and allowed him to preside over a bankrupt beggar-bowl wasteland.  He was just figment of what he once was, helpless and impotent, his base all but decimated and ran helter-skelter, hither and thither, bloodied and bruised, licking their wounds!

It's funny how old Jaganite ideological clowns can put lipstick on a pig and pretend they have a beauty queen.

Stupidity still abounds, as ever!

Had Cheddi not pissed on Kennedy and all the succeeding administrations, Burnham would have never been President of Guyana.  History would have take us down a very different road.  

Yeh? Had I put lipstick on you, perhaps you might have  been a beauty queen at the Oink Oink pageant.

Burnham and Jagan were two Commie Clowns. The only thing that would have been different was the color of the people leading us into the shithole. 

Yeh? Had I put lipstick on you, perhaps you might have  been a beauty queen at the Oink Oink pageant.

Hey Mitsy,

Why you being such a knucklehead this early morning...is Cheddi who responsible for you living in that semi-detached basement house in Canada.

Hey Mitsy,

Why you being such a knucklehead this early morning...is Cheddi who responsible for you living in that semi-detached basement house in Canada.

Hey Ghandu, how yuh doing?

My father's first cousins are Teixeira's. We could be far off cousins. I don't know many of my relatives on my father's side, only the close ones. Last year in Guyana, I met an old woman who did a family tree. She explained to me how we are related. I met her son a few years ago in New Jersey and didn't even know that we were relatives.

My father's first cousins are Teixeira's. We could be far off cousins. I don't know many of my relatives on my father's side, only the close ones. Last year in Guyana, I met an old woman who did a family tree. She explained to me how we are related. I met her son a few years ago in New Jersey and did even know that we were relatives.

I long suspected you had some PPP blood in your veins.

My father's first cousins are Teixeira's. We could be far off cousins. I don't know many of my relatives on my father's side, only the close ones. Last year in Guyana, I met an old woman who did a family tree. She explained to me how we are related. I met her son a few years ago in New Jersey and did even know that we were relatives.

How does folks get that ?

By injection or reverse osmosis

I had an Indian girlfriend at one time and she might have left some PPP DNA in me.  

I thought it happens the other way around!  You sure was not an Indian boyfriend!

You've never exchanged saliva with a woman or had some of her juices run on you? Don't tell me you're like Jagdeo now.

It can be transferred thru saliva.