Can someone point me to a good audio converter similar to the old school Cheetah Audio Converter. Thanks.

https://yepdownload.com/cheetah-audio-converter

You need to stop playing around and use the best freeware out there You asked this question before and I told you the same thing. Why are you hooked on cheetah? Is it for writing audio CDs

You also need to join the Ubuntu Crowd.....The linux world is complete computing freedom. 

Can someone point me to a good audio converter similar to the old school Cheetah Audio Converter. Thanks.

You need to stop playing around and use the best freeware out there You asked this question before and I told you the same thing. Why are you hooked on cheetah? Is it for writing audio CDs

You also need to join the Ubuntu Crowd.....The linux world is complete computing freedom. 

Told kaz before, to use Audacity works on Windows, seems he old school.

This is a different operation. Maybe I am misdiagnosing the problem but I plug a flash drive into my car stereo where I can play mp3 clips. However, some of the clips don't work on the car but do on my laptop. So I figure that maybe the mp3 signal was weak. So I thought that if I run them through the converter again, it may fix the problem. However, when I did that, the product had clicks that weren't there before. While I can manually do each one, I felt that Cheetah or another application like it can do so without my input for each clip.

I had the same problem(unplayable file). I just deleted those files and made a cd instead and kept in my car.

Run them through audacity, write the files and copy the files to the thumb drive. Get a new thumb drive. They are really cheap

I had the same problem(unplayable file). I just deleted those files and made a cd instead and kept in my car.

Bai, that would be a lot of CDs. 

Anyone remember the last set of Microsoft Office that came on those 3.5" floppy disks? They were packed in a box the size of a small briefcase.

Run them through audacity, write the files and copy the files to the thumb drive. Get a new thumb drive. They are really cheap

I will try this. Thanks.

Just go to Edit menu and click on  Preference  and set the best quality of sound. 44100 Hz, 32 bit, High Quality sample and Best Quality  sample rate in the conversion

Brother Kaz. To start identifying the the cause of the problem I need the following information:

Operating system ?

CPU ?

Ram, how many GB ?

Were these songs originally bought as MP3 or were converted to MP3 from Flac or were the CDs already MP3 ?

I am an audiophile and can do my best to assist. 

You also need to know if he's using a computer or a tablet ... oh gawd...

antabanta posted:

Brother Kaz. To start identifying the the cause of the problem I need the following information:

Operating system ?

CPU ?

Ram, how many GB ?

Were these songs originally bought as MP3 or were converted to MP3 from Flac or were the CDs already MP3 ?

you are kicking him when he is down now...be merciful.

antabanta posted:

Indeed but every time I see his nic, I get this visual of a person decked out with all the props that are supposed to create the techie look - pen-holders, thick glasses, open laptop balanced in one hand, chewing the end of pen, pants waist pulled up - jumping up on a table and shouting "A tablet is not a computer" and I just start cracking up.

antabanta posted:

Indeed but every time I see his nic, I get this visual of a person decked out with all the props that are supposed to create the techie look - pen-holders, thick glasses, open laptop balanced in one hand, chewing the end of pen, pants waist pulled up - jumping up on a table and shouting "A tablet is not a computer" and I just start cracking up.

Shit!! all dis tim I deh visualize him with a frilly pink tutu.

antabanta posted:

Operating system ?

CPU ?

Ram, how many GB ?

This exposes how grossly ignorant you and anta are when it comes to technology. Brother Kaz has asked for assistance regarding the clicking sound and it became worse after he ran the MP3 using his computer and software.

A computer low in RAM is an almost a certainty causing the additional clicking. We do not even know what OS he is using and what CPU he has and the load on the CPU. 

Listen you fool, I built an entire Data Recovery Lab making a over million a year. Providing a solution is based on identifying the problem instead of you and DJ who seemed grossly ignorant at my level.

This exposes how grossly ignorant you and anta are when it comes to technology. 

That's right bud. You know stuff the rest of us don't. Next time climb a lantern post and make your pronouncement. The more people you educate that a tablet is not a comp ter the better

Last edited by antabanta
This exposes how grossly ignorant you and anta are when it comes to technology. Brother Kaz has asked for assistance regarding the clicking sound and it became worse after he ran the MP3 using his computer and software.

A computer low in RAM is an almost a certainty causing the additional clicking. We do not even know what OS he is using and what CPU he has and the load on the CPU. 

Listen you fool, I built an entire Data Recovery Lab making a over million a year. Providing a solution is based on identifying the problem instead of you and DJ who seemed grossly ignorant at my level.

Dude ANTA is a computer network engineer. I am an engineer who do computers. VJ that writes here is a computer engineer . None of these people ever ever come and brag about solving common user problems or how much they make.

Lots of things can cause the clicks before ram comes into play. He could be using a low bit rate for example. Also, Audacity does not demand you understand how Fourier transforms acts on a sine wave. He can subtract the clicks by manipulating the wave form visually in real time and do whatever the hell else he wants done. No mystery to it. 

I do not care what you build. Talk to those who are interested. I am a guitarist so I talk to Cain about guitars because he is interested.You cannot tell us about sounds because we make them.

DJ does not care about your "level". He will be laughing his ass off because the joke is on you

Providing a solution is based on identifying the problem instead of you and DJ who seemed grossly ignorant at my level.

Where on this thread, i said any thing concerning your knowledge in Technology ?

Seeing that you bring me in the conversation, my opinions are you are a braggart and blowing hot air when it comes to Technology.You were running in short pants when i started Electronics Technology.

The questions you asked Kaz to provide aren't needed to solve his problem, I am sure he has a computer that can handle the menial job of audio processing and and transferring the data to a thumb drive.

I used Audacity a few years ago to edit recordings for voice response greetings and was impressed with the features. Always thought of playing with it some more but never got the time. It worked great for Cisco CUE scripts. There was one limitation I think in converting to 8-bit h-law for which I used another app. That was about six years ago and the limitation may have been fixed.

Just have to add, I did not use a tablet because tablets are not computers and only a computerized computer can compute such computations.

Kaz, you need an upgraded computer, get an upgrade with AMD Processors, have been using since the 90's, my preference.

Anyway what you currently have can do the processing for most home use. Audacity is powerful and good when you understand the features.

Bai, you do realize that most of the use of this laptop is for browsing GNI right?   I don't do any high level computing. I use Edge, excel and outlook most of the times. 

And when I need some tech help, I tap into the experts here. 

Kaz, you need an upgraded computer, get an upgrade with AMD Processors, have been using since the 90's, my preference.

Anyway what you currently have can do the processing for most home use. Audacity is powerful and good when you understand the features.

Bai, you do realize that most of the use of this laptop is for browsing GNI right?   I don't do any high level computing. I use Edge, excel and outlook most of the times. 

And when I need some tech help, I tap into the experts here. 

So far you good , for browser would suggest Firefox, have reasonable  "do not tracking features " Latest browser have nice News Feeds, updates daily on the type of news that of interest.

I had always stayed away from AMD because of its earlier technical difficulties. I always look for intel processors when I am looking for a computer. This laptop was probably bought about five six years ago. I keep things for long. Even my cavities I have kept for decades now. 

AMD have done great from since the entry in the Processor Market. The Spectre and Meltdown doesn't severely affect AMD Processors.

LInk for Intel vs AMD processors.

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/amd-vs-intel/

I had always stayed away from AMD because of its earlier technical difficulties. I always look for intel processors when I am looking for a computer. This laptop was probably bought about five six years ago. I keep things for long. Even my cavities I have kept for decades now. 

AMD have done great from since the entry in the Processor Market. The Spectre and Meltdown doesn't severely affect AMD Processors.

LInk for Intel vs AMD processors.

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/amd-vs-intel/

I had a couple of Dells with Intel processors. Last year I bought an ASUS with Intel and 12 gigs of RAM. It does what I want and I never use Internet Explorer. Firefox has features that allow you to block tracking attempts and shows site information. It also tells you if the site is unsafe.