PSC wants evidence of ‘PPP’s drugs-money economy’

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Acting chairman of the PSC, Deodat Indar

THE Private Sector Commission (PSC) is requesting that Finance Minister Winston Jordan provide “empirical evidence” regarding his statements made on the impact of the proceeds of drugs on the economy.

In a letter addressed to the minister on October 12, 2018 and shared with the media, acting chairman of the PSC, Deodat Indar stated that the commission has taken note of his recent statements and now seeks further clarity on the matter.

“The Private Sector Commission has noted several public pronouncements by you regarding the impact of proceeds of drug trafficking on the economy pre and post May 2015.”
“We shall be grateful to be briefed by you on the assertions made that the economy pre May 2015 was heavily based on proceeds of the drug trade and that the current economy post May 2015 is no longer affected by such proceeds,” the letter stated.

Indar’s correspondence went on to add: “As businesses it is important for us to understand the underlying structure of the economy and the various elements that contribute or inhibit its growth.”

The comments referenced by Indar were made recently through a letter to the editor by Jordan in response a Stabroek News editorial piece criticising the current government’s administrative capacity.

In this regard, the article had referred to the present administration as the “least competent one this country has yet experienced” while deeming that Jordan’s success rate would not improve under current circumstances.
In response, Minister Jordan said among other things that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) left behind a “deformed and broken economy,” one which the present administration must now work to fix.

“Lest we forget, too, that economy thrived on rampant drug trafficking, money laundering, and a banking sector in which a few institutions recklessly lent funds for private white elephant projects,” Jordan said.

He stated further that the PPP’s “lending binge” and “reckless investments” resulted in an average non-performing loan ratio contributing, significantly, to the immediate slowing of the economy post-2015.

He later reminded that the country’s economy grew by 4.5 per cent in the first half of 2018 and is projected to grow by 3.7 per cent for all of 2018.
Jordan placed further comparisons stating that in 2013 only 992 out of 2,618 registered and active firms filed tax returns and out of 75,992 active self-employed persons only 33,740 filed their taxes.

Meanwhile, the World Bank in June 2018 had stated that “Guyana is making important strides to promote financial resilience and improve fiscal management” which Jordan says are signs of the country increasingly being viewed as stable.

Apart from this, he outlined that the present government has kept inflation well in check; reduced Value Added Tax (VAT) and increased the minimum basic salary of each public servant along with other measures to ensure a healthy economy. Even so, the PCS has requested a response on the matter from the Finance Minister, as its letter stated: “We look forward to such a brief so that we could better understand the empirical evidence supporting your assertions.”

This will become a big election issue in 2020. Imagine tables turned with PPP accusing and providing evidence of AFC/PNC corruption and the AFC/PNC with “dem bais seh” Nonsense.

Dem people should ask Roger Khan. The US will deport him after he serve his time in prison.

You should provide the evidence.  I'm sure you can find something on Google, given your skills!

Dem people should ask Roger Khan. The US will deport him after he serve his time in prison.

You should provide the evidence.  I'm sure you can find something on Google, given your skills!

You must be naive to think that money laundering and drug trafficking was not a problem for Guyana since the 1980s. The problem has escalated then and has reached new heights in Guyana today.

The US has raised this issue in the past and the Guyana government has refused much of the proposed help from the US, including the assistance of the DEA, and a proposal to establish a branch of the DEA in Guyana (I did a Google search on this, as you suggested).

Roger Khan is a reflection of the pervasiveness of the problem, and the level of sophistication this illegal trade had become in Guyana and how easily it was to corrupt people with the resources his illegal outfit controlled.

Whether government officials were directly involved or not, they simply allowed this problem to take root in Guyana or they turned a blind eye.

Roger Khan holds the dark secret to much of this information and the extent of government involvement in facilitating the narco trade. The trial itself focused more on Khan’s role in building his drug empire and trading in the US, not necessarily on Guyana government involvement. 

Perception is also at play here. Even if the Guyana government may have had its hands free, the then opposition has won this PR battle in getting Guyanese to believe that the government was involved. The PPP has certainly not done a good job at challenging these charges. This fact helped to create a stronger alliance with the coalition and the ABCs in their quest to withhold support from the PPP...the hostility the PPP has shown to the US notwithstanding.

This perception of the PPP and its connection with the narco trade will not go away anytime soon.  We may not have any “hard” evidence of direct collusion, but there are certainly “circumstantial” evidence, I guess Guyanese may call this “hearsay”. There is the fact that PPP did not act quickly to capture and hand Khan over to the US, the “Ramsammy” spy equipment, the “get rich quick big house” owners, etc. If this is not hard evidence, there is plenty of suspicious activities to put the PPP on the defense.

But like I said, the full story on this is yet to be told.... 

This perception of the PPP and its connection with the narco trade will not go away anytime soon.  We may not have any “hard” evidence of direct collusion, but there are certainly “circumstantial” evidence, I guess Guyanese may call this “hearsay”. There is the fact that PPP did not act quickly to capture and hand Khan over to the US, the “Ramsammy” spy equipment, the “get rich quick big house” owners, etc. If this is not hard evidence, there is plenty of suspicious activities to put the PPP on the defense.

You creating your own sh1t swirl and enjoying the spin!  Ayuh PNC full of shyte, take away from your failings!

Try these for size:

http://research.ridgway.pitt.e...workPROFILEFINAL.pdf

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-brooklyn-courtroom/

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-khan-gets-40-years/

https://www.inewsguyana.com/gu...s-testimony-granger/

Roger was more connected to black people than Indians. He got into the fight when Brama was kidnapped and taken to Buxton. The FFs had an active kidnapping opration that targeted businessmen and people handling lots of cash which included drug dealers.  Roger knew if he didn't stop the rampage he himself would become a target for ransom and murder. He moved against the violent Ff and quelled the violence.  Regardless how controversial it brought peace to Buxton

Banna,

This is BS.

You missing the point....A legitimately elected government, one that came to power in a free and fair election, does not, under any circumstance, fork out its sacred responsibility for providing security and protection of its citizens by unwittingly allocating that responsibility to an illegal drug outfit.

In simple terms, the argument you are making here is in contradiction to the argument Baseman makes above, and you are not only saying there was collusion but Roger Khan was used to take care of the violence against businessmen (read to mean Indian, therefore PPP supporters). Even if the government turned a blind eye, this still implicates the government.

Even more damning to the PPP, is the fact that you are saying that the PPP cannot be trusted when it comes to providing security for Guyanese citizens. 

I will argue that security is one area the PPP has failed its supporters.. 

The only connection Roger Khan had to blacks was that he employed them as hitmen in his Phantom Squad. His loyal connections were more to his associates in the PPP like Jagdeo, Gajraj and Ramsammy. Brama was not taken to Buxton when he was kidnapped. He was being held in Lamaha Gardens, a few houses away from Gajraj's residence. Right under his nose and Brama conned one of the stupid men holding him and broke out of the house. They ended up dead shortly afterwards. The Freedom Fighters were a small part of the big picture. Roger Khan and the other drug barons like Brama, Dataram, Morgan, Kalamadeen and others were the major cause of the violence. Drugs is what caused the violence not some plot to overthrow the government that y'all concocted in your head. If the PNC wanted to overthrow the government, all they had to do was send the GDF to Jagdeo's office and tell him to get out. The escalation of the drug trade during that period is what brought violent crime, money laundering and guns to Guyana in a way that was never seen before. A lot of the killings was as a result of a battle for turf and Roger Khan ultimately won that battle with the baddest army and his ties to the PPP. Khan was no hero for quelling the violence as he was the cause of the violence to begin with.

Roger might have to save Guyana from the savages once again.

The only connection Roger Khan had to blacks was that he employed them as hitmen in his Phantom Squad. His loyal connections were more to his associates in the PPP like Jagdeo, Gajraj and Ramsammy. Brama was not taken to Buxton when he was kidnapped. He was being held in Lamaha Gardens, a few houses away from Gajraj's residence. Right under his nose and Brama conned one of the stupid men holding him and broke out of the house. They ended up dead shortly afterwards. The Freedom Fighters were a small part of the big picture. Roger Khan and the other drug barons like Brama, Dataram, Morgan, Kalamadeen and others were the major cause of the violence. Drugs is what caused the violence not some plot to overthrow the government that y'all concocted in your head. If the PNC wanted to overthrow the government, all they had to do was send the GDF to Jagdeo's office and tell him to get out. The escalation of the drug trade during that period is what brought violent crime, money laundering and guns to Guyana in a way that was never seen before. A lot of the killings was as a result of a battle for turf and Roger Khan ultimately won that battle with the baddest army and his ties to the PPP. Khan was no hero for quelling the violence as he was the cause of the violence to begin with.

Incorrect, RK employed them at all levels in his organization. When he gets out of prison, you boys will be tightening your butt cheeks in fear. 

Roger might have to save Guyana from thesavages once again.

Strong words to define Afros,suh alyuh still depend on the East Indian Hero ?

Mahatma Ghandi?

Incorrect, RK employed them at all levels in his organization. When he gets out of prison, you boys will be tightening your butt cheeks in fear. 

Why would I ever have to fear RK? I visited Guyana regularly when he was there and never once considered him as a threat to me. I'm not involved in the underworld and keep a very low profile whenever I'm in Guyana. I don't have reasons to fear him or anyone else on this planet. Besides that, I don't think I'll be going to Guyana as often as I did in the past. My mom was there but she's no longer alive and I have many other places that I'd like to visit before I join her. I spent close to four months there last year and it wore me out. The one good thing I did was to travel the length and breath of Guyana so there's not a lot more for me to see anytime soon. 

Why would I ever have to fear RK?. 

You have no fear, you are an honest straight up straight talker.  The only fear is being at the wrong place at the wrong time however, a remote possibility!

Mahatma Ghandi?

Me thinks you should know better,rather than follow his description.

Bramma was kidnap on Regent St - walking from his store on Alexander st going to Citizen Bank. Dale Moore pull up and ran after Bramma. 

Bramma was taken straight to Buxton.

A hit squad was brought in including a Sislian as they were heading to Buxton. They cross path at Annandale market rd with Notorious criminal Fraser and Roach( both were killed)  and a few others and that’s where the shoot out started. Roach was the son of a senior police office who was in charge of all radio communication 

Bramma was then move from Buxton by his kidnappers to Olender Garden ( was a mistake ) there was shoot out again. 

He was taken to Lamaha  Garden about three  houses away from Gagraj. A US citizen name Michael Singh was guarding Bramma in the house. 

Bramma strike a deal with Michael to pay him US and ask Michael to use his Phone . Bramma communicate in Spanish to his buddies who came and got him and Dale Moore was killed, was heading to the house.

the body of Michael was found at Le Repentire Cemetery. 

The killing started by the five escapee and the mass shooting has nothing to do with drugs until the Phantom Squad came around. And they came to the rescue of Indians and Indian Businesses. 

Why would I ever have to fear RK? I visited Guyana regularly when he was there and never once considered him as a threat to me. I'm not involved in the underworld and keep a very low profile whenever I'm in Guyana. I don't have reasons to fear him or anyone else on this planet. Besides that, I don't think I'll be going to Guyana as often as I did in the past. My mom was there but she's no longer alive and I have many other places that I'd like to visit before I join her. I spent close to four months there last year and it wore me out. The one good thing I did was to travel the length and breath of Guyana so there's not a lot more for me to see anytime soon. 

Sounds like the words of a man getting ready to shyte his pants. You don't have to justify why you don't fear RK to me.  Good thing you don't plan to go to Guyana anytime, your big mouth can get you in trouble. 

I used to go to Guyana at least once a year when my mom was alive. I won’t be going as often now but it doesn’t mean that I’ll never go back. I have cousins and friends there and I always enjoy it whenever I visit. I have no reason to fear any individual in Guyana. I take the necessary precautions when I’m there to lessen my chances of being a crime victim but I never hid under the bed or took up running to flee in fear like you did. RK has bigger things than me to worry about when the US deports him to Guyana. He has to fear someone bumping him off more than I do.

Ok, whatever makes you sleep better at night is what you need to do. Meanwhile shyttings is in your future as RK may want to swat the small flies like you for practice before he goes after big fish.