Eating Along the Q Line: Sybil’s  Bakery & Restaurant in Flatbush is the place for Guyanese cuisine

Denise Bernard's  popular spot caters to those from the South American country, but also offers a  wide range of international fare

Sunday,  July 1, 2012, 6:00 AM

StmbleUpon

Digg

Reddit

Eail

Sybil's Restaurant & Bakery on Church Ave in Brooklyn. [Jeff Bachner/for New York Daily News)

Jeff Bachner for New York Daily  News

Denise Bernard, owner of Sybil's Restaurant & Bakery on Church Ave in  Brooklyn

There are no secret spices or tricky techniques when it comes to making  traditional Guyanese treats.

Just time and patience, says Denise Bernard, owner of popular Brooklyn  Guyanese eatery Sybil’s Bakery & Restaurant.

“Most people in my country can cook this, but they just don’t want to,” she  says. “It’s a lot of work.”

Together, Bernard and sister Gina McCarthy run the canary-colored restaurant  located near the Q line’s Church Ave. station.

The pair learned to make the dishes from the restaurant’s namesake: their  mom Sybil Bernard-Kerrutt.

Bernard-Kerrutt, a Guyanese native, started off selling West Indian comfort  food from her Far Rockaway kitchen. In 1976, the Queens resident opened her  now-famous restaurant.

Sybil’s has since expanded to four locations along the East Coast, in  Brooklyn, Queens and Florida, and each one is manned by one of Sybil’s  children.

Growing up, Bernard was Mom’s kitchen companion. She still remembers  whipping up batches of round tennis rolls and pineapple jam-filled pine tarts — both of which are still on the shelves at Sybil’s Brooklyn branch.

On the menu, the restaurant offers seemingly far-flung foods, but Sybil’s  most popular dishes actually reflect the many who called Guyana home at one  time.

“Guyanese are a diverse people,” Bernard says. “When they settled over there,  everyone brought their specialties, and it becomes Guyanese food.”

Diners can taste a little bit of India in the spicy curry goat and roti.

Chicken lo mein is just like the Chinese original, with thin, springy  noodles and sautÉed veggies.

Pepperpot, a meat stew seasoned with molasses, cassava juices and cinnamon  sticks, comes from the country’s native Amerindians.

Chicken and beef patties, filled with carrots and peas and enclosed in a  flaky crust, evoke British meat pies.

Everything at Sybil’s is made from scratch and with local ingredients. Their  fresh take on Guyanese staples is what keeps customers coming back for more.

“It reminds me of home,” says diner Janice Blackburn, 53. “What they have  here is what we have back home.”

Sybil’s Bakery & Restaurant, 2210 Church Ave, Brooklyn. (718)  469-9049.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/lif...103262#ixzz1zPpla6g5

Yes there are 2 in Queens ...one is at the corner of Liberty and 103rd Aves & 130th Street...the other is on Hillside Ave by Parsons ...there was one in Inwood Queens but it closed down ...lack of support...only non-WI ppl live out there...LOL
Originally Posted by martin Carter:

You guys would know more than me but isn't there a Sybils in Queens somewhere too?

Living in and around Queens is Great,for our tasty Guyanese very CLEAN food is Sybils for sure,no other food store can come close to this Very name of Sybils.I am a regular since in the 80's at Hillside/161 street and i mostly frequent Sybils(Cookie)on Liberty /133 Street.These Sybils creat lots of jobs and is well recieved by Guyanese who can really cook similar food but choose Sybils because of cleanliness,trust and taste amoung other Positive things.Being a Personnal friend of Cookie and Ken is indeed a Pleasure.

Sybil's, in both Brooklyn and Queens, is an iconic place in the history of the new immigrant Guyanese-American community. People come from afar to get their Guyanese cuisine from Sybil's. Their business model has been creative and the respect for customers is a hallmark of the family. They have given back in no small way to our communities. The BBQ at the 133rd St location was a great show case. Hats off to Sybil's.

Have you ever looked carefully at the mouths of some of the customers?  These people look like they can celebrate Xmas with stale buns and hard bread found on the floor of Guyana bread van.

SYBILS is a great restaurant.

Add a little bit of mauby

Originally Posted by creative:

Ow Badlu Ne#ru you see Oil dabb on rotie,it is Olive oil Mor@n,and it is a custom to place oil.Your imput is always negative anyways,how is my Girl doing.

Maybe Nehru only like to eat Sahda roti

Originally Posted by alena06:
All this talk abt GUyanese food making me drool.  been eating American food on vacation a few days now...we need a Sybils in every state.   Lol.

I went couple times, the line to damn laang.  I don't take kindly to lining up fuh food, reminds me of the PNC era in Guyana.  But in all fairness, the food was good.