Aug 15, 2016 3:39 pm IST

Dipa Karmakar, India’s first female gymnast to compete at the Olympic Games, came tantalizingly close to winning a medal in Rio on Sunday, but missed out by just 0.15 of a point.

Karmakar finished fourth in the women’s vaults final, scoring total score of 15.066 points.

In her second vault, Karmakar landedthe fearsome “Produnova,” a daring gymnastics element that has been described as a “vault of death.”

The sixth gymnast to perform among the eight finalists, Karmakar was briefly second, then third, in the scores tally until Simone Biles of the U.S. arrived at the arena as the last gymnast and topped the tally, clinching the gold medal.

Maria Paseka of Russia won silver and Switzerland’s Giulia Steingruber won bronze.

A Gymnast's Death-Defying Leap to Success|Watch our interview with Dipa Karmakar, which took place before she headed for Rio.

In the Sunday’s finals, Karmakar left behind the gymnasts from China, North Korea, Uzbekistan and Canada who were all ranked above her in the qualification stage.

After her performance, 23-year-old Karmakar, who overcame flat-footedness as a child to become a gymnast, talked to her parents in the state of Tripura in India’s remote northeastern region.

“Don’t be disappointed; you did well and we are proud of you,” Dulal Karmakar, her father, said he told her over the phone.

Karmakar told her father that she would work to further improve her performance in the next Summer Olympics scheduled to be held in Tokyo in 2020, Mr. Karmakar said in a phone interview Monday.

There was an Indian dude representing the US in the mixed doubles tennis yesterday, he partnered with Venus, played well but lost the gold to another American team.

Last edited by alena06

I am so proud to see young a Indian woman performing gymnastics at such a high level. It's something that most of us cannot imagine possible.  Back in my days I was the only Indian boy who used to back somersault in high school. Only Blacks and Portugese boys did that stuff. I must say that the Black guys in Guyana were very supportive of me. The Indians ones were pessimistic and very critical of what you do. 

Dipa Karmarkar makes us all proud.  People won't question anymore whether or not an Indian woman can be a great gymnast.  Rio 2016 has proven it.

I am so proud to see young a Indian woman performing gymnastics at such a high level. It's something that most of us cannot imagine possible.  Back in my days I was the only Indian boy who used to back somersault in high school. Only Blacks and Portugese boys did that stuff. I must say that the Black guys in Guyana were very supportive of me. The Indians ones were pessimistic and very critical of what you do. 

Dipa Karmarkar makes us all proud.  People won't question anymore whether or not an Indian woman can be a great gymnast.  Rio 2016 has proven it.

Worldwide athletes of Indian origin are doing exceptionally well in the sports field.

On a personal note, my elder daughter was extremely competitive and has numerous personal plus team medals in gymnastics competition both in the local and national Canadian plus international field.

In 1995, she was a member of her team which went to the competitions in Japan where they became the world champions in the gymnastics field.

Worldwide athletes of Indian origin are doing exceptionally well in the sports field.

On a personal note, my elder daughter was extremely competitive and has numerous personal plus team medals in gymnastics competition both in the local and national Canadian plus international field.

In 1995, she was a member of her team which went to the competitions in Japan where they became the world champions in the gymnastics field.

Stop lying. The Romanians were the women's world champions at the Japan games in 1995. Canada finished 15th. 

http://www.gymnasticsresults.com/90/w1995w.html

When did Canada ever win the women's gymnastics championships when there were powerhouses like Romania, China, Russia and the USA?

Just to make the national team is a great accomplishment

Stop lying. The Romanians were the women's world champions at the Japan games in 1995. Canada finished 15th. 

When did Canada ever win the women's gymnastics championships when there were powerhouses like Romania, China, Russia and the USA?

Do your research again and again and perhaps you will eventually find the specific information.

1. The information was published in numerous news papers and sports outlets, locally and internationally, immediately after the competition that took place in Nagoya between July 31 and August 07, 1995.

2. The Edmonton Journal published the information plus the photos of the team members when the returned to the city in 1995.

3. In the Edmonton Journal's publication, there was also a quotation which my daughter made on the competitiveness of the teams at the event.

Do your research again and again and perhaps you will eventually find the specific information.

1. The information was published in numerous news papers and sports outlets, locally and internationally, immediately after the competition that took place in Nagoya between July 31 and August 07, 1995.

2. The Edmonton Journal published the information plus the photos of the team members when the returned to the city in 1995.

3. In the Edmonton Journal's publication, there was also a quotation which my daughter made on the competitiveness of the teams at the event.

Listen up ole man. You're talking sheer crap as usual. Canada has never won the world championships for women's gymnastics in the entire history of the event. Check all the winners here from 1934-2015 - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/...%27s_team_all-around . From 1970 until the current date, only four countries have won the championships and they are USSR/Russia, USA, China and Romania. Canada has never even finished with a medal. In 1995, the world championships were held in Sabae, Japan and it was won by Romania with Canada finishing 15th. See the results here - http://www.gymnasticsresults.com/90/w1995w.html . There is only one world championships event in any given year and in 1995 Canada finished 15th. Your daughter probably attended a small event in Japan but her team surely did not win the world championships. Admit you lied and just move along. You're in the habit of telling tall tales about your "achievements" and now you're extending it to your daughter. Gwan suh wit yuh ole lying self.  

1. With specific arrangements as other countries, gymnastics in Canada is managed solely by local organizations and participants compete every year at the respective national and international competitions.

2. As a courtesy every four years, the organizations in each country make adjustments, where needed, to allow their participants adequate time to train and eventually compete in the Olympic games.

3. The Olympic Games organization is simply an independent body with its own regulations for memberships from each country and has no control of the management of the organizations in any country.

Of note ... Nagoya and Sabae are separate and distinct locations in Japan.

Games in Nagoya were held on July 31 to August 07, 1995.

Games in Sabae were held on October 01 to 10, 1995.

1. With specific arrangements as other countries, gymnastics in Canada is managed solely by local organizations and participants compete every year at the respective national and international competitions.

2. As a courtesy every four years, the organizations in each country make adjustments, where needed, to allow their participants adequate time to train and eventually compete in the Olympic games.

3. The Olympic Games organization is simply an independent body with its own regulations for memberships from each country and has no control of the management of the organizations in any country.

Of note ... Nagoya and Sabae are separate and distinct locations in Japan.

Games in Nagoya were held on July 31 to August 07, 1995.

Games in Sabae were held on October 01 to 10, 1995.

What's your point?

I repeat. Canada has never won the world championships for women's gymnastics. You telling us this is simply your delusional mind at work.

What's your point?

I repeat. Canada has never won the world championships for women's gymnastics. You telling us this is simply your delusional mind at work.

Extremely simple matter Mars ...

You need to take the time to understand basis simple issues in sport.

What's your point?

Extremely simple matter Mars ...

You need to take the time to understand basis simple issues in sport.

Of course it's a simple matter. Canada has never won the world championships for women's gymnastics. You telling us this is simply a lie and now you're caught, you're trying to save face.

Liar, Liar pants on fire!