Orin Boston
Orin Boston
September 18, 2021

According to spokesmen for two of Guyana’s major political parties, the Guyana Police Force (GPF) misused the Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) unit in the recent operation that resulted in the killing of businessman Orin Boston during a raid of his home.

“SWAT is only used in situations where there is a heightened threat of violence… such as when you had the situation in Bath where police officers were being attack-ed… These arrests could have been done in the normal course by local detectives trained in these matters,” Alliance For Change (AFC) leader Khemraj Ramjattan told a press conference yesterday.

Ramjattan, who served as Minister of Public Security under the former APNU+AFC administration, also questioned claims that the top brass within the GPF had been unaware of the deployment of the SWAT team.

He maintained that all operational matters and especially the deployment of such a specialised team should be under the direction of the Police Commissioner and therefore the explanation that Police Headquarters was unaware of the deployment suggests that there is political interference in the operations of the GPF.

“It is evident that operational matters are being decided and instructed from a source other than the leadership of the GPF. That could only mean political interference,” an AFC statement said.

A similar concern was raised by Retired Chief of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force Rear Admiral Gary Best.

Speaking at a press conference held by the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), two hours before the AFC press conference, Best said that SWAT should only be deployed in a targeted manner.

“If you are going to go into someone’s home, without a warrant as stated, then there is a particular section within the law that allows you to do that. Notwith-standing that, I would say based on my experience that the intelligence must be targeted and the decision to use the SWAT must come from the top brass of the Guyana Police Force,” Best said.

Boston, of Dartmouth, was killed by police just after 4 am on Wednesday after a SWAT team invaded his home. According to a post mortem conducted on Thursday, the 29-year-old died from injuries he suffered when he was shot in the chest. The police had previously claimed that Boston was shot in one of his arms while engaging in an altercation with ranks. Boston’s wife, Feona, has, however, maintained that her husband was shot while in bed.

Both the PNCR and the AFC have called for a detailed probe into the killing but while the PNCR has expressed faith in the acting Police Commissioner to con-duct the investigation, the AFC is calling for an independent foreign investigator.

According to Ramjattan, the actions of the government have demoralised the GPF and the death of Boston has damaged community trust in the force, so an independent probe led by a retired senior regional security official is more suitable.

Best, however, has suggested the acting Commissioner Nigel Hoppie can be trusted. “We, as a whole, do repose confidence in the Guyana Police Force and the Commissioner and we ought to give them that opportunity to conduct that investigation and based on that outcome the party will then reflect on what will be its next stages but at this point in time I think we need to allow the Commissioner of Police to conduct that investigation,” he stated.

Meanwhile, the Working People’s Alliance (WPA) yesterday also questioned whether the reported goal of the operation – searching for and recovering prohibited items – necessitated the use of the SWAT team.

“…[W]e must say that Guyanese should not be comforted by the initial police account of what happened in Boston’s home on that fateful morning. The explanation that Mr. Boston reached for a weapon and a confrontation ensued is standard police rhetoric that is all too familiar to the public,” the party said in a statement, while adding that the account of Boston’s widow, which contradicts that of the police, appears more believable.

Like the AFC, the WPA stated that it does not have confidence in the announced investigation. “We have no confidence in the police investigating itself in these circumstances. We therefore lend our voice to those who have already called for an independent investigation,” it said, while adding that such an investigation is expected to reveal what happen-ed and serve as the basis for prosecution of the accused.

The WPA also stressed the need for the country to find a way to end what it called a “culture of extra-judicial killings,” which it argues has become more pronounced over the last three decades under PPP governments.

The party added that it stands in solidarity with the people of Dartmouth and the broader Essequibo community in their acts of public outrage.

Dartmouth bridge cleared but protest for justice continues

Commander Denise Griffith (at right in foreground) supervising the clearing of the bridge

September 18, 2021

Following protests over the police killing of businessman Orin Boston, the Dartmouth bridge was cleared on Friday, allowing for the resumption of traffic to Charity and nearby communities for a few hours before protestors once again blocked the main road.

Earlier in the day, Region Two Commander Denise Griffith told Stabroek News that she spoke to residents and asked them to co-operate with the police and to stop blocking the bridge and roadway. They agreed and with the deployment of a grader and a tractor provided by the Region Two administration the roadway was cleared.

The Dartmouth bridge was blocked to traffic on Wednesday after popular businessman Orin Boston was shot and killed by a member of a SWAT team that broke into his house. The killing resulted in residents protesting, blocking the bridge, and burning debris.

The roadway with new blockages placed by Dartmouth residents

When Stabroek News visited the Dartmouth area on Friday morning, a front end loader and a tractor were being used to clear the debris from the bridge. There was no resistance from the residents who were at the scene during the clearing process.

However, hours after residents returned to the streets, blocking the main road with a lantern post and debris. Police ranks deployed to the scene were currently monitoring the situation up to last evening, although some were threatened by residents, who told them to stay far away. Persons were seen with cutlasses and bottles in their hands.

Meanwhile, relatives of Boston continued to call for justice yesterday. The newly widowed Feona Boston, who was preparing for her husband’s funeral, said she is currently traumatised. She called for closure as she urged the Minister of Home Affairs Robeson Benn as well as the acting Commissioner of Police Nigel Hoppie to launch an independent investigation.

Feona Boston

“I left with my children now. I have to provide for them. My husband was the main breadwinner for the family. I have to live with the fact that he is no longer [here] and also the fact that I will have to start working for my own money… is this even fair? My husband did nothing wrong!” the mother of two said.

She added that she is currently trying to be strong for her two children, while her only wish now is that she could not help her husband.

“The only regret I am living [with] is not being able to assist my husband when he was lying helplessly on the floor. We were all warned not to video or touch him. It’s a hurtful thing for me and my family but life has to go on,” Boston said, while expressing her hope that the family could find peace.

An autopsy performed on Thursday revealed that the man died as a result of haemorrhage and shock from the gunshot injuries he received to his chest. A single warhead was extracted from the businessman’s body.

The post-mortem result contradicted the initial police release on the shooting of the businessman. The police had said that he was shot in his left arm during a confrontation. Their account of how he was shot has been disputed by the widow.

In spite of the calls for an independent investigation, acting Commissioner of Police Hoppie told a press conference on Wed-nesday that the case is being investigated by the police force’s Office for Professional Responsibility. The rank that shot the now dead man is under close arrest.

Protest ends after police negotiate with protestors….

,” the Commander said.
According to her, “the persons agreed to have it cleared only if the parents of the deceased agreed. So we subsequently went and we had a talk with the family, including the mother, and they came out and advised the residents to have the debris removed.”

Last edited by sachin_05

So seems ratman and frens running this "special unit". No wonder Baseman, inbred dummy dave and the bramin man posting about how "Jagdeo gat dem under control" , "dis time na lang time", "buss dem balls" etc.

“It is evident that operational matters are being decided and instructed from a source other than the leadership of the GPF. That could only mean political interference,” an AFC statement said.
@Django posted:
Orin Boston
September 18, 2021

He maintained that all operational matters and especially the deployment of such a specialised team should be under the direction of the Police Commissioner and therefore the explanation that Police Headquarters was unaware of the deployment suggests that there is political interference in the operations of the GPF.

A similar concern was raised by Retired Chief of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force Rear Admiral Gary Best.

Dull Wood, read the bolded above. Tell yuh fren Ravi.

@Former Member