“I will resign when I please” – Dr Surujbally unmoved by resignation calls

May 19, 2015 10:22 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Chairman of GECOM, Dr. Steve Surujbally.

[www.inewsguyana.com– Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Dr Steve Surujbally is unfettered by the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) call for him to resign as the head of the elections commission.

The PPP/C fresh off an election defeat by less than 5,000 votes at the May 11 General Election, pointed out several perceived inefficiencies at the elections commission.

The Party in a press statement on Monday evening (May 18) expressed that it no longer has confidence in Dr Surujbally, who has been Chairman of the elections Body for approximately 10 years.

“Our positions remain the same today in the face of the refusal of GECOM to conduct the recount of a close-finish race; the PPP/C considers the APNU-AFC government as de facto coming in on fraudulent elections.These events, not surprising, have contributed to the loss of confidence in the GECOM machinery and more particularly its Chairman, Dr. Surujbally. The PPP/C calls for the immediate resignation of Dr. Surujbally as Chairman,” the statement said.

However, when contacted by iNews on Tuesday, May 19, the Chairman made it clear that he was not going to vacate his post.

Former President, Donald Ramotar. [iNews' Photo]

Former President, Donald Ramotar. [iNews’ Photo]

He pointed out that he is a septuagenarian, hinting that he has passed the retirement age and that he was previously asked to retain his position at GECOM.

“I am a septuagenarian…I will not resign…I will resign when it pleases me,” said Dr Surujbally.

According to the GECOM Chairman, “Why they didn’t call for Gocool [Bodhoo – Former CEO of GECOM] to resign when he gave them 33 seats instead of 32,” said a seemingly unfettered Surujbally.

“I am a septuagenarian…I will not resign…I will resign when it pleases me,” said Dr Surujbally.

According to the GECOM Chairman, “Why they didn’t call for Gocool [Bodhoo – Former CEO of GECOM] to resign when he gave them 33 seats instead of 32,” said a seemingly unfettered Surujbally.

This man is a tiger who intends to give the PPP serious belly wuk. Looks like PPP goose cooked for the next elections as well.

I think you mean "duck"..

Surujbally was bribed.    He should resign gracefully and allowed the PNC to replace him with a blackman who can really rig elections.

Bally is an amateur. 

I can understand your opinions regarding most of what you have said here.

But what evidence do you have that Surujbally was bribed? Was he also bribed in 2011? where is the evidence to bolster your assertions?

Originally Posted by Amral:
I have said it before could be trouble if Jagdeo and Ramoutar push it

It would be trouble for them. The coalition won't find a shortage of people willing to testify against Jagdeo and Ramotar if pressure is put on them. Jagdeo and Ramotar used their grip on the courts to get cases thrown out. People will be looking to pay them back whilst there is a chance of a sweet revenge. It has happened before to many who made more enemies than friends whilst in power. The current members of the judiciary who ruled in favour of the PPP are living in fear of reprisals. The words of Granger to judge people on their work, not their past connection is going to ring the right notes in the ears of the usual suspects. Chung for one is a rabbit caught in the headlights of the coalition car. He and many will weigh up the fact that this might be their only chance to redeem themselves.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
Originally Posted by Amral:
I have said it before could be trouble if Jagdeo and Ramoutar push it

It would be trouble for them. The coalition won't find a shortage of people willing to testify against Jagdeo and Ramotar if pressure is put on them. Jagdeo and Ramotar used their grip on the courts to get cases thrown out. People will be looking to pay them back whilst there is a chance of a sweet revenge. It has happened before to many who made more enemies than friends whilst in power. The current members of the judiciary who ruled in favour of the PPP are living in fear of reprisals. The words of Granger to judge people on their work, not their past connection is going to ring the right notes in the ears of the usual suspects. Chung for one is a rabbit caught in the headlights of the coalition car. He and many will weigh up the fact that this might be their only chance to redeem themselves.

Judiciary remained independent.

That's the perceived wisdom aired by the government controlled press. The independent press were kept under pressure to refrain from speaking out against questionable court cases. Lawsuits etc. abound. At least one judge who was going to rule against the son of a PPP big man was swiftly fired just minutes before judgement was due. So the judiciary is not as independent as you and many might have thought.

Judiciary is not independent in any way shape or form. It was not independent before the PPP with the PPP nor is it independent now.

How much you want to bet Chang will uphold term limits on the Presidency?

If the PPP had won that would have been deemed unconstitutional.