The more you try to live a normal life, the more you find yourself thinking when your fingers will fall out. Pandits in this country don't make things any better to educate the devotees that the things we were taught to believe in the past do not exist. Instead, they put more fear into people's mind to attend Mandir more often even if nothing happens to you. 

We had a guest came over who I consider a religious freak. She is a cousin of my wife. She is gyaf woman. Me and she head nah tag-a-lang. But I do give her my full attention and respect.  

Before she leaves, she gave us a list of things we must and must not do before this and that happen to us. We do this and that wrong. Sleep with your heads facing this side because dead people facing that side. Don't have sex on this day, but do puja instead. What?

This is when things were really getting under my skin, but my wife was giving me signs to behave myself until she's gone. 

Anyway, if anyone has to believe these things and go along with every detail from the voodoo book, it would be a life-changing experience in the superstition world. The same world we escape the fright when you hear jumbie story at a wake house in Guyana. 

How many of you believe in superstitions? 

PJ bai if yuh set up wan lil chuch or mandir in yuh basement a Queens dey...yuh can mek nuff nuff tax free Merika dallas. Yuh open book and tell dem peopkle foh do all kind puja foh grah. Hey hey hey...we bai balahoo doan do dem dis ritual. De man seh he is wan hari Krishna...he holy...but he doan like blackman...

Regarding sex on certain days, at my age, I have to wait until meh loli decides. 

Regarding grah, some pandits do rob devotees of their hard earned money. My brother in law has as much money as God and as little worries too. But he had to come into contact with this pandit who did the dead work for his parents. In the space of one month, that pandit made thousands of dollars on him as he wanted to foot the bill. Two funerals at over a thousand each plus the three days and thirteen days works were all money makers for the pandit. Now nothing is wrong with that as it is his business. But then he started to tell my brother about this grah and that grah but my brother in law is no fool. He just sent that pandit packing. These are the kind of leaders that give all good intending ones unnecessary challenges as some people start distrusting all of them.

PJ bai if yuh set up wan lil chuch or mandir in yuh basement a Queens dey...yuh can mek nuff nuff tax free Merika dallas. Yuh open book and tell dem peopkle foh do all kind puja foh grah. Hey hey hey...we bai balahoo doan do dem dis ritual. De man seh he is wan hari Krishna...he holy...but he doan like blackman...

Bhai, going to Mandir or any religious place of worship is not a bad thing if you go there for the right reason. Pray. I personally do not go to these places, but I don't object to others. I went to a pandit one time in my life and he told me according to the book I am already dead. Seriously. Anyway, there are too many cons in our own community that its overwhelming. There is no need to add another. Plus, its not in my nature to live a dishonest life. 

I remember in the past, senior pandits were complaining that the youths are not following in their parent's footstep to become pandit of the future. Today, they are complaining that there are too many youths stealing their jobs. Only young pandit you seeing in Mandir these days.  

Hey hey hey. Doh is a good one. Ayoo see de new book by Dr Ramesh Ganpat? De man call dem pandit fraud. 

PJ if yuh want abie can rent de basement foh obeah wuk in place of mandir. Me can go down by de fowl place by Liberty...juss pass Romeo pizza...and get wan supply hard fowl foh cut dem head off? Or dat place when we pass under de tunnel by 130 street and atlantic. Dem gat good hard fowl cack too. Hey hey hey...When de obeah wuk done abie gat to tek share foh de hard fowl...pressure pot and curry and dhal soup. Me want foot and wing foh de hard fowl...and de edda Hey hey hey...

You mind deh pun crook wuck. You nah tired with crookish business? Like you money nah enough as yet. 

I agree that Guyanese are too superstitious and that’s why some so called pandits take advantage of them. I don’t practice those rituals and encourage people not to allow themselves to be conned.

Mandirs are big business in NYC. There are always groups of people taking each other to court over control of finances at a few temples in NYC.

I agree that Guyanese are too superstitious and that’s why some so called pandits take advantage of them. I don’t practice those rituals and encourage people not to allow themselves to be conned.

Mandirs are big business in NYC. There are always groups of people taking each other to court over control of finances at a few temples in NYC.

It nah only limited to mandirs bai. There is a lot of crookedness in religion.