Originally Posted by alena06:

. . . "One additional cost is that, based on anecdotal evidence, some government units have been in limbo for at least two months with respect to their reporting relationships and therefore no meaningful work has been performed"

new ministries . . . gov't in transition . . . opposition still not in parliament . . . budget less than 2 weeks old

where exactly is the scandal you are pointing to here?

I am fully aware that political realities dictate that loyalists have to be rewarded.  My contention is how the Ministries are structured.  What really is Amna Ally doing, and does she have to be a minister to do this.

Guyana's economy lucked out in the post 2008 period because of a commodity boom.  This is now over, and so the economy will slow, with APNU/AFC getting the blame for this, even though it is due to matters beyond their control.

So one would think that there would be focus on crafting and implementing a well thought out policy to diversify the economy.  It is obvious that neither the PNC, nor the AFC have a clue about what to do about this.  By now we should have been hearing some broad ideas as to what they plan to do, but they don't even have a ministry to accomplish this goal.

But then we have an ex army man, turned historian, and a former communist, so I am not surprised.  But I already see a scenario with the PPP capitalizing on this, as the economy slows, unless APNU/AFC begin to communicate a solid vision for economic transformation.

This is why they aren't dealing with the questions raised by Stormborn, which is incidentally the reason why many came out to support them.

By the way a budget must be based on a vision, so using the fact that it is only 2 weeks old is nonsense. APNU/AFC have been in effective power for over 2 months now. We can see that their honeymoon period is ending, as people like Chris Ram begin to query.

BTW did they select Chris Ram for any of their boards?  I don't except him to want to be on the executive of any state owned entity, but clearly gov't should be attempting to capture some of this man's expertise.  Either they listen to him, or he will be a nucleus for their eventually demise, should the PPP get their act together, dump Jagdeo, and cease being a "coolie party".

dude, David Granger is not Guyana's saviour

you guys are missing the forest for the trees . . . i gladly trade minista bloat for a coalition that gives Guyana a chance to breathe

if/when the coalition f*cks up, they will be (deservedly) voted out . . . this is the politics we want

it, indeed, has been less than 100 days; Budget 2015 is far from a disaster

some of y'all need to chill and let these people breathe

btw, Chris Ram has been engaged by the coalition to audit the Jagdeoite tiefman institutions . . . i hope u understand why he was not invited to sit on these boards

Granger is not looked on as a savior. He is a bridge to take us to a place where we can breathe. He has not demonstrated one ounce of his military disciple to date.

He heeded to run a stripped down government with direct streams of information flowing to him from people he selected to command authoritatively.His troops needed to be deployed in the field systematically securing ground and setting up safe zones for us to nagivate in.

Instead he give us this confused, disorienting  babel for ministers and a maze  as administration and that is completely depressing.

the flaw in your neat, ordered, governance scenario is a total non-consideration of the real-life political complexities introduced by the demands of the Cummingsburg Accord

you guys are missing the forest for the trees . . . i gladly trade minista bloat for a coalition that gives Guyana a chance to breathe

if

So you want to see an arrogant PPP do well in the LGE, and set the stage for a possible early election, should dissension within the PNC, or within the coalition, create an environment where early elections might occur.  Rats flee sinking ships and if the coalition becomes very unpopular, many might just do that.

APNU/AFC do NOT have a lot of time to get their act together, and their start has been very underwhelming.

BTW if Guyana remains mired on poverty, as the economy slumps, what "opportunity to breathe" do Guyanese get? 

When Ram finishes his audit, he can then be selected, and in the interim his advice can be heeded.  This is a man who seems to be a patriot at heart, and doesn't seem to be looking for party favors, or interested in crony capitalism.  He is much respected, and so if he is beginning to worry, make note of the fact that indeed so are many others who want to see APNU/AFC succeed.

I will hope that APNU/AFC will craft a response to his letter, but I know that there are too DUMB to do so.  Ram is merely voicing fears that many in Guyana have about this new government, and you are truly simple if you fail to understand this.

Granger is not looked on as a savior. He is a bridge to take us to a place where we can breathe. He has not demonstrated one ounce of his military disciple to date.

He heeded to run a stripped down government with direct streams of information flowing to him from people he selected to command authoritatively.His troops needed to be deployed in the field systematically securing ground and setting up safe zones for us to nagivate in.

Instead he give us this confused, disorienting  babel for ministers and a maze  as administration and that is completely depressing.

Which are not elements favorable to reforming the Constitution, the crowning jewel of the Coalition's campaign.

. . . "One additional cost is that, based on anecdotal evidence, some government units have been in limbo for at least two months with respect to their reporting relationships and therefore no meaningful work has been performed"

new ministries . . . gov't in transition . . . opposition still not in parliament . . . budget less than 2 weeks old

I am fully aware that political realities dictate that loyalists have to be rewarded.  My contention is how the Ministries are structured.  What really is Amna Ally doing, and does she have to be a minister to do this.

Guyana's economy lucked out in the post 2008 period because of a commodity boom.  This is now over, and so the economy will slow, with APNU/AFC getting the blame for this, even though it is due to matters beyond their control.

So one would think that there would be focus on crafting and implementing a well thought out policy to diversify the economy.  It is obvious that neither the PNC, nor the AFC have a clue about what to do about this.  By now we should have been hearing some broad ideas as to what they plan to do, but they don't even have a ministry to accomplish this goal.

But then we have an ex army man, turned historian, and a former communist, so I am not surprised.  But I already see a scenario with the PPP capitalizing on this, as the economy slows, unless APNU/AFC begin to communicate a solid vision for economic transformation.

This is why they aren't dealing with the questions raised by Stormborn, which is incidentally the reason why many came out to support them.

By the way a budget must be based on a vision, so using the fact that it is only 2 weeks old is nonsense. APNU/AFC have been in effective power for over 2 months now. We can see that their honeymoon period is ending, as people like Chris Ram begin to query.

BTW did they select Chris Ram for any of their boards?  I don't except him to want to be on the executive of any state owned entity, but clearly gov't should be attempting to capture some of this man's expertise.  Either they listen to him, or he will be a nucleus for their eventually demise, should the PPP get their act together, dump Jagdeo, and cease being a "coolie party".

dude, David Granger is not Guyana's saviour

if/when the coalition f*cks up, they will be (deservedly) voted out . . . this is the politics we want

it, indeed, has been less than 100 days; Budget 2015 is far from a disaster

some of y'all need to chill and let these people breathe

btw, Chris Ram has been engaged by the coalition to audit the Jagdeoite tiefman institutions . . . i hope u understand why he was not invited to sit on these boards

the flaw in your neat, ordered, governance scenario is a total non-consideration of the real-life political complexities introduced by the demands of the Cummingsburg Accord

That is their interparty organization that needed to be taken care of in its own ethos.

Our state is in the hands of Granger as executive president and appointed overlord with almost unlimited power. He need to have us foremost in his mind. The Cummingsburg Accord has no bearing on the lack of movement with respect to the most corrupt instrument of the PPP NICIL. We need that broken down and separated since it was not constituted to be a management or investment corp but a holding company.

I hoped to hear from him with the pull back of the deal of separating the electricity producing part of the Skeldon factory from the factory. That is a PPP corrupt deal 10 days before the election.

I need to hear that he is pulling back the communication license. Imagine ten more Guyana Times spreading propaganda than the one now. Those frequencies are all in the hands of the PPP and they can consolidate and coopt our entire communication infrastructure.

I want to hear E networks is being decoupled from the government and that Bobby's learning channel is not symphonic off Amerind funds.

I want to hear he is pulling on the money bags of the Chinese and saving our forest and our forest cultures with it ( animals, plants and people)....I have  a really long list and the Cummingsburg Accord means little to me in respecting the needs for good management of our state. This is not about elite accommodation but management.

Guyana needs a Donald Trump type, tell it as it is and hold no punches.

Yes, I would expect you to endorse a racist like Donald Trump.  Atlantic City is a failure, so why is he such a vision of success?

Is he!!

www.thegatewaypundit.com/2015/...adies-respond-video/

But I was talking about his straight talk attitude and tell the truth.

Not interested in what two House Negresses have to say.  Trump will promptly put them in uniform and send them straight to the kitchen where they can engage in full Aunt Jemima behavior.

Originally Posted by VVP:

They fired 2,000 Amerindian caribny...now yuh in big trouble.

Who were doing PPP party work, but then in your view, Indians can do no wrong in Guyana.

Bet you of the PNC rehires them to do PNC party work you would squeal.

Find out about  Mr. Emmanuel Fairbairn bai...the year was 1964.  

You mean 2,000 Amerindians were doing party work for the PPP?  Well it looks like the coalition will not be getting those 2,000 plus their families vote unless they bring true improvements to these people lives.

Who were doing PPP party work, but then in your view, Indians can do no wrong in Guyana.

You mean 2,000 Amerindians were doing party work for the PPP?  Well it looks like the coalition will not be getting those 2,000 plus their families vote unless they bring true improvements to these people lives.

Emanuel was an tool...his name is in infamy because he was instrumental in murdering Michal Ford. He was merely an uneducated man used by powerful people to perform their bidding. This was Burnham and  the CIA bagman Richard Ishmael doing practicing their dirty tricks.

The PNC actually had a decent plan under FCH.  They should dust off, de-politicize and get some experts and businessmen to help update, plan and execute.  On this, I would advise not to stack it with Black talking heads.  Your points are appropriate.  The GoG needs to quickly replace the Venezuela rice market which will mitigate the decline in gold given the decline in costs of imported oil.  Rice prices have not declined as dramatic.

I need to hear that he is pulling back the communication license. Imagine ten more Guyana Times spreading propaganda than the one now. Those frequencies are all in the hands of the PPP and they can consolidate and coopt our entire communication infrastructure.

I .

This is what the fanatics like redux don't understand.  The oligarchs remain with Jagdeo.  They are waging a low scale war to make the gov't look inept, with the goal of doing well in the LGE

Not only does the APNU/AFC lack a vision for Guyana, beyond some simple hopes and dreams, but they cannot even communicate what they are doing well.  Look at the fiasco with the ministers' salaries.  Did APNU/AFC plan to massively increase them?  It certainly looks so, based on the initial responses.  They relented when backed into a corner.

By the time the LGE will be held the honey moon period will be long gone, and unless the APNU/AFC improve how they communicate to the population, the PPP will do very well.  And might even surprise people in PNC strongholds like G/town if PNC supporters stay home.

The election is over.  People want to know what exactly APNU/AFC plan to do ton resolve Guyana's myriad problems, including those created by 23 years of PPP rule.  They do not expect that the problems will be solved, but they expect a broad plan as to how APNU/AFC plan to do so.

But we aren't seeing this.  Instead we see this mess of ministries, set up with no coherence.  It was bad enough if bloat was the only problem.  But it is the complete lack of a strategy which is what we see in how these ministries are structured.

30% of the rice market has been lost.  Which entity within the government is going to find new markets?  Not Foreign Affairs, as diplomats lack that skill set.

We have an economy based on the export of basic, mainly unprocessed commodities.  Which ministry within the gov't is supposed to develop strategies for economic transformation?  Not the Ministry of Finance, and who knows what the Ministry of Business is supposed to be doing.

if

So you want to see an arrogant PPP do well in the LGE, and set the stage for a possible early election, should dissension within the PNC, or within the coalition, create an environment where early elections might occur.  Rats flee sinking ships and if the coalition becomes very unpopular, many might just do that.

APNU/AFC do NOT have a lot of time to get their act together, and their start has been very underwhelming.

BTW if Guyana remains mired on poverty, as the economy slumps, what "opportunity to breathe" do Guyanese get? 

When Ram finishes his audit, he can then be selected, and in the interim his advice can be heeded.  This is a man who seems to be a patriot at heart, and doesn't seem to be looking for party favors, or interested in crony capitalism.  He is much respected, and so if he is beginning to worry, make note of the fact that indeed so are many others who want to see APNU/AFC succeed.

I will hope that APNU/AFC will craft a response to his letter, but I know that there are too DUMB to do so.  Ram is merely voicing fears that many in Guyana have about this new government, and you are truly simple if you fail to understand this.

look dude, let' not start down this road all Nehru-like bawling about AFC-APNU being "too DUMB". . . u are far from the brightest bulb on the board, OK?

now lissen up, Chris Ram did not write a "letter" . . . it's part of Ram & McRae's scheduled report; hence, there is no need to "craft" a response, arite?

further, you are the one wringing yuh haan, stupidly braying about the coalition not placing Chris Ram on any boards; then, when confronted with the facts, u put on this incoherent, Nostradamus, weasel move whining that they are still 'bad' because they didn't do it in some future time

jackass time!

Emanuel was an tool...his name is in infamy because he was instrumental in murdering Michal Ford. He was merely an uneducated man used by powerful people to perform their bidding. This was Burnham and  the CIA bagman Richard Ishmael doing practicing their dirty tricks.

Emmanuel was caught on August 9, 1964 in a hotel room with arms, ammunition and explosives...this brought an end to the terror in GT in 1964.  But your premise could be correct.

The PNC actually had a decent plan under FCH.  They should dust off, de-politicize and get some experts and businessmen to help update, plan and execute.  On this, I would advise not to stack it with Black talking heads.  Your points are appropriate.  The GoG needs to quickly replace the Venezuela rice market which will mitigate the decline in gold given the decline in costs of imported oil.  Rice prices have not declined as dramatic.

Contrary to what you might think I am disturbed if I see only black "talking heads".  Guyana is neither an African country, nor is it an Indian country.  Unless the full spectrum of Guyanese (as defined by ethnicity, social class, geography, occupation, and ideological perspective) are involved Guyana goes no where.

I have long said that Guyana needs to have stronger civic society, and it is our lack of civic society is the reason for our politics being worse than T&T, which  also has an ethnically polarized political environments.  We need to have more input from the business community, the trade unions, the religious organization, youth groups, etc.  Guyana belongs to all who live there, and not just a few score politicians.

Yes what disturbs me is a lack of input from the business community, hence my concern as to whether they are listening to Chris Ram.  Not all in the business community are charlatan soup drinkers like Gouviea, or racist crooks like Bobby Ramroop.   I don't know if Yesu supports the PPP or not, but I do know that he is a patriotic Guyanese who can rise above the politics.  And there are others.  Even Urling, even though he clearly is a soup drinker, who ran to get PPP soup, and now seems anxious to be allowed to drink at the APNU fountain.

But we have a Ministry of Business, with an undefined role.  We have a Ministry of Foreign Affairs, with the asinine assumption that diplomats know who to develop new export markets.  We have a Ministry of Tourism (even though we have no tourists and will never be a major destination), and no Ministry of Economic Development.  God knows what Winston Felix, and Amna Ally are doing, aside from being rewarded for long service to the PNC.

I am actually quite worried, though I will admit, not surprised.  I have long said that the PNC is characterized by being stupid, and the AFC by being shallow ambulance chasers. 

Emmanuel was caught on August 9, 1964 in a hotel room with arms, ammunition and explosives...this brought an end to the terror in GT in 1964.  But your premise could be correct.

FACT.  Both the YSM and the PYO were involved in savagery.  FACT. Thousands of people had their lives disrupted and lived in fear. This included Guyanese of ALL races.

So when folks spin some line about Sun Chapman being a PNC plot, and cannot furnish proof they are being dishonest.  The PYO had motive, and the YSM had easy access to explosives in McKenzie.   BOTH had as their motives the intent to drive terror into the hearts of Guyanese.

So I don't buy any drivel about "baad black man" unless it is accompanied by a narrative of "baad Indian", because elements of BOTH were vicious and nasty, and 50 years later Guyana is still suffering from the events of that era.

" . . . it's part of Ram & McRae's scheduled report; hence, there is no need to "craft" a response, arite?

So they have FURTHER need to craft a response, given that this isn't OPINION, but the result of carefully done OBJECTIVE analysis.

So what will APNU/AFC do in response to the problems raised by this report? People like you, sitting down in the comforts of North America, will say nothing.

Those who have to suffer the inconveniences of life in Guyana, will beg to differ with you. And this will include many more APNU/AFC supporters than you will want to imagine.

And redux, calling APNU/AFC dumb is being kind to them.  I can call them corrupt when they planned to increase their salaries, but will accept that they were outwitted by Guyana Times, and were inept at handling this matter.  But please don't fool yourself that they earned points with the electorate in how they handled this.

And you think that any of these people didn't vote PPP.  Guess what there were 30k interior votes, so this is a mere fraction.  And these people were being paid a mere stipend.  Should APNU/AFC foster real development in the interior they can woo even some of those folks as they get more GAINLY sources of income.

The PPP as a "coolie party" has no where to go and your squeals that Indo racism doesn't matter (implied as you address me and not the Indo KKK) doesn't help them. 

In fact what you do is furnish in the heads of non Indians (who now OUTNUMBER Indians) that Indians are ethnocentric and put their "Indianness" in front of being Guyanese,  and that if its isn't Indian then it isn't important.

" . . . it's part of Ram & McRae's scheduled report; hence, there is no need to "craft" a response, arite?

So they have FURTHER need to craft a response, given that this isn't OPINION, but the result of carefully done OBJECTIVE analysis.

So what will APNU/AFC do in response to the problems raised by this report? People like you, sitting down in the comforts of North America, will say nothing.

Those who have to suffer the inconveniences of life in Guyana, will beg to differ with you. And this will include many more APNU/AFC supporters than you will want to imagine.

actually, it is opinion . . . the 2 are not mutually exclusive

come again better

FACT.  Both the YSM and the PYO were involved in savagery.  FACT. Thousands of people had their lives disrupted and lived in fear. This included Guyanese of ALL races.

So when folks spin some line about Sun Chapman being a PNC plot, and cannot furnish proof they are being dishonest.  The PYO had motive, and the YSM had easy access to explosives in McKenzie.   BOTH had as their motives the intent to drive terror into the hearts of Guyanese.

So I don't buy any drivel about "baad black man" unless it is accompanied by a narrative of "baad Indian", because elements of BOTH were vicious and nasty, and 50 years later Guyana is still suffering from the events of that era.

I do not disagree with what you are saying about there is no guilty race...but whenever you are done the Indians were OVERWHELMINGLY the victims.  It was NOT equal suffering as far as victims of violence is concerned. The Indians suffered much more. I have all the stats from 1964 and years prior...one day I'll make it available so we could straighten things out.  Even in recent disturbances Indians were the overwhelming victims.  That is where Africans need to speak up.

come again better

A report will be done with carefull analysis, and with much supporting evidence. An opinion likely reflects one's biases.

Any way continue fooling yourself that the PNC has all the time that it needs to get its act together.  You will note that I said PNC and not APNU/AFC, as it should be clear to all who is really running this show.  A bunch of ageing PNC men.

Crafty Jagdeo, and the oligarchs already have plans for APNU/AFC in the LGE and for a post LGE early elections.  While the PNC sleeps, they will work hard, and as they control most of the media, will be quite successful at sowing doubts about the coalition gov't, which we have seen is too incompetent in how it responds.

come again better

A report will be done with carefull analysis, and with much supporting evidence. An opinion likely reflects one's biases.

Any way continue fooling yourself that the PNC has all the time that it needs to get its act together.  You will note that I said PNC and not APNU/AFC, as it should be clear to all who is really running this show.  A bunch of ageing PNC men.

Crafty Jagdeo, and the oligarchs already have plans for APNU/AFC in the LGE and for a post LGE early elections.  While the PNC sleeps, they will work hard, and as they control most of the media, will be quite successful at sowing doubts about the coalition gov't, which we have seen is too incompetent in how it responds.

Carib you look like a genius when stacked up against redux 

come again better

A report will be done with carefull analysis, and with much supporting evidence. An opinion likely reflects one's biases . . .

banna, a little advice . . . sometimes it is just better to simply shut up

read the pertinent excerpts from the report at the head of the thread and get a clue,OK?

I do not disagree with what you are saying about there is no guilty race...but whenever you are done the Indians were OVERWHELMINGLY the victims.

Show proof that Indians suffered more than Africans in the 60s.

Africans will beg to disagree with you that they weren't significantly victimized during the PPP era.

Any way you further my point that if it isn't Indian, you don't care.  You don't listen to Africans, nor do you consider their perspectives to be relevant to Guyana.    So the Indo KKK can scream racist bigotry about blacks on GNI, damning the image of Indians from the point of view of blacks as they do so. 

What concerns you is my assertion that the "baad black man, good Indian" narrative which you peddle is ignorant and racist.  This because this is the narrative which you adhere to, as evidenced by your claims.

FYI a report by the colonial gov't on the 60s disturbances offered an opinion that more Africans were killed, while Indians suffered more property damage.  Given that your info is no doubt from some Indo KKK source it will have no credibility with me, so don't even bother.

come again better

A report will be done with carefull analysis, and with much supporting evidence. An opinion likely reflects one's biases . . .

read the pertinent excerpts from the report at the head of the thread and get a clue,OK?

Redux get stuck in the mud of you wish.  But understand something.  The PPP is crafting a trap which the dumb APNU/AFC is rushing to fall into.  They do so because fanatics like you cheer them and attack those who offer constructive criticism.

There is a Ram McRae report, which offers severe concerns about this government.  Rather than demanding that the gov't crafts a response, you descend to your usual personal attacks.

Don't squeal and cry when the PPP does well in the G/town LGE, because PNC supporters, disappointed with the coalition gov't, elect to stay home.  In fact should we not be beginning to hear who the potential coalition candidates for mayor might be, if LGE is supposedly in a few months?

come again better

Redux get stuck in the mud of you wish.  But understand something.  The PPP is crafting a trap which the dumb APNU/AFC is rushing to fall into.  They do so because fanatics like you cheer them and attack those who offer constructive criticism.

There is a Ram McRae report, which offers severe concerns about this government.  Rather than demanding that the gov't crafts a response, you descend to your usual personal attacks.

Don't squeal and cry when the PPP does well in the G/town LGE, because PNC supporters, disappointed with the coalition gov't, elect to stay home.  In fact should we not be beginning to hear who the potential coalition candidates for mayor might be, if LGE is supposedly in a few months?

i'm not worried about u and your nonsense

i underline yuh bullshit so all can see

any sane banna who was so wrong about the coalition and 2015 elections would pause and be lil more circumspect with uneducated 'predictions' going forward

not u though . . . u bray with the certainty of some of these PPP brainwashed

I do not disagree with what you are saying about there is no guilty race...but whenever you are done the Indians were OVERWHELMINGLY the victims.

Show proof that Indians suffered more than Africans in the 60s.

Africans will beg to disagree with you that they weren't significantly victimized during the PPP era.

Any way you further my point that if it isn't Indian, you don't care.  You don't listen to Africans, nor do you consider their perspectives to be relevant to Guyana.    So the Indo KKK can scream racist bigotry about blacks on GNI, damning the image of Indians from the point of view of blacks as they do so. 

What concerns you is my assertion that the "baad black man, good Indian" narrative which you peddle is ignorant and racist.  This because this is the narrative which you adhere to, as evidenced by your claims.

FYI a report by the colonial gov't on the 60s disturbances offered an opinion that more Africans were killed, while Indians suffered more property damage.  Given that your info is no doubt from some Indo KKK source it will have no credibility with me, so don't even bother.

You mean more was killed in ONE incident?  Don't try to re-write history.  Where is that report?  I have to make sure I include the stats from it.

OK based on your comments, you subscribe to the "baad black man, good Indian" myth.   No wonder you ALLOW the Indo KKK to spread bile about blacks.

Basically you have NO RIGHT to comment on African racism, given that you ALLOW Indian racist filth to be frequent on GNI and you REFUSE to repudiate it.  You CONDONE the PYO savagery of the 60s, and don't give a damn about the blacks who suffered as a result.

You are a mere closet version of the Indo KKK.