Supersized Government

S/N Ram & McRae Report

President Granger in one of his first moves made one of the most sweeping restructuring of the Ministries and Departments of the Government. Guyana now has twenty-six Ministers in fifteen Ministries and a host of statutory bodies and agencies. Of course, Mr. Granger was exercising one of the prerogatives of any President as he seeks to establish his own stamp on the Government machinery and signal to the nation the priorities of his Administration. But a prerogative is not to be exercised simply because it is there. There must be strong and compelling reasons for change including matching skills to ministries/departments, obtaining economies of scale, optimising the use of resources and the fair allocation of the workload.

Preventing restructuring from being just a blunt tool requires that it be carefully thought out. Empirical evidence suggests that in the private sector many if not most of the mergers and amalgamations turn out to be costly flops, measured by share price, profitability and other similar or derived measures. Such measures do not apply to ministerial/departmental restructuring under which costs and inefficiencies are simply hidden away. One additional cost is that, based on anecdotal evidence, some government units have been in limbo for at least two months with respect to their reporting relationships and therefore no meaningful work has been performed.

That does not mean that changes must not be made. Instead what it does mean is that success is possible when changes are well planned and properly implemented, where a strong rationale for the changes can be made, and where staff can be positively engaged in making them happen. But even in the absence of properly costed information, the empirical evidence shows that potential benefits are often compromised because such changes are often announced at very short notice, are usually poorly managed and always costly.

In Guyana the structure of the Government has remained remarkably stable since Independence except for 1991 as part of the administrative element of the Economic Recovery Programme. At that time, President Desmond Hoyte with funding from the British Government and the services of international consultants Peat Marwick McLintock reduced the number of ministries from eighteen to eleven. And even with the comprehensive study that preceded the exercise there were complaints that Hoyte had gone too far.

President Granger has not explained to the nation the objectives or reasons for the changes or their costs and benefits. This leaves everyone to speculate. Some have suggested that Mr. Granger knew all along that he would be doing a complete revamp but chose to keep it a secret. Others have speculated that one of the reasons for splitting Ministries was to stick to the letter but not the spirit of the Cummingsburg Accord between the APNU and the AFC, the governing Coalition.

Rather than speculating, let us look at some of the more notable features and results of the reorganisation and ministerial appointments made and gazetted in the Official Gazette of June 6, 2015. Let us start with the Prime Minister. Under the Constitution the person holding this position would be the first Vice-President and Leader of the House. And under the Cummingsburg Accord, the holder has a number of important duties and functions, including recommending ministerial appointments. But instead, the incumbent is responsible for Information only, a gross underuse of the most experienced parliamentarian and politician around.

Compare this with the Minister of State within the Ministry of the Presidency. There are three pages of functions and responsibilities including Cabinet Matters, Defence, National Security, Land Titling, Energy, Natural Resources, Forestry, the Public Service, Citizenship, Climate Change, Births and Deaths, Science and Technology and Scholarships. It is unreasonable to impose such responsibility on any single individual, regardless of how many support staff or junior Ministers are assigned to the holder.

Perhaps the Minister with the briefest but yet unclear portfolio is Ms. Amna Ally, the Minister of Social Cohesion whose responsibilities are Equality and Ethnic Relations, a function which constitutionally falls under the Ethnic Relations Commission. Interestingly Ms. Ally is a Member of Cabinet.

Then there was the missed opportunity to fix the anomaly of the Land Registry falling under the Office of the President. But this is also unlawful since the Registrar and Deputy Registrar of Deeds who fall under the Attorney General, are by law the Registrar and Deputy Registrar of Lands. This has been brought to the attention of the new Administration but no action has been taken. There can be no justification, personality or otherwise, for allowing the continuation of this state of affairs even for one more day.

We have too the new phenomenon of mini-ministries with their creation seemingly more about politics than policy. The Ministry of Trade, Commerce and Industry whose Minister in the last Administration also carried Housing and Water have now been split into separate Ministries of Tourism and Business. Ministers are responsible for policy formulation and direction, not day to day activities.

Similarly, the Ministry of Home Affairs has now been split into two with a mini-Ministry of Citizenship with responsibility for Immigration, Citizenship, Registration of Births and Deaths and Naturalisation and the rest re-designated as Ministry of Public Security. Since the Commissioner of Police is the Chief Immigration Officer it means that that person reports and is answerable to two political heads – the Minister of Public Security and the Minister of Citizenship. Section 6 of the Police Act provides for the Commissioner of Police to be subject to the general orders and directions of β€œthe Minister”.

Some ministries have as many as three ministers while the mega-Ministry of Agriculture has a mere one.

There is also the strange omission of a Ministry of Labour with the Junior Minister in the Ministry of Social Protection seeming to assume many of the responsibilities normally associated with the Ministry of Labour. This is a very sensitive area and requires someone of even temperament with the background and experience in industrial relations who can advise on updates to existing legislation and deal with complex negotiations.

For all its size and average age, the Government is woefully short on experience with a mere handful having managed more than a handful of employees. Indeed only the Ministers of Business and of Tourism have any private sector experience and that was in owner-managed small and medium-sized entities.

Ram & McRae is not convinced that the restructuring was necessary, desirable or beneficial. The concentration of power in the Ministry of the Presidency controlled by two former soldier colleagues needs greater justification. There was no discussion or consultation and this structure is unlikely to be adopted by any succeeding PPP/C Administration. Guyana can ill-afford twenty-six ministers with all the perks that go with the office. For us, it is a restructuring that went too far.

While the Minister of Finance did not refer to the new ministerial structure in his Speech it should not be beyond the scope of the Budget debate. A detailed list of ministries for the years 1980, 1990, 1991, 2007, 2012 and 2015 is included overleaf.

Back to the Burnhamism. Turn up at the office or not, do nothing and at the end of the month yuh draw down. And if yuh pay late yuh want mek wan big problem.  Allyuh know the Guyanese phrase" getting pay unda false pretence". Hey it's was always there but the APNU/PNC mastered it. These Military henchmen can't even run wan cake shop like dem Big daddu the Kabaka. Put wan good country in the hand of a ni--a and  there is certain ruin, dem bastard bee- bitch to the nth power. South Africa, Rhodesia, yuh want name mo.

OW bai Moses LUk how dem SHAFT yuh- Underused, underused and abused

Rather than speculating, let us look at some of the more notable features and results of the reorganisation and ministerial appointments made and gazetted in the Official Gazette of June 6, 2015. Let us start with the Prime Minister. Under the Constitution the person holding this position would be the first Vice-President and Leader of the House. And under the Cummingsburg Accord, the holder has a number of important duties and functions, including recommending ministerial appointments. But instead, the incumbent is responsible for Information only, a gross underuse of the most experienced parliamentarian and politician around.

Compare this with the Minister of State within the Ministry of the Presidency. There are three pages of functions and responsibilities including Cabinet Matters, Defence, National Security, Land Titling, Energy, Natural Resources, Forestry, the Public Service, Citizenship, Climate Change, Births and Deaths, Science and Technology and Scholarships. It is unreasonable to impose such responsibility on any single individual, regardless of how many support staff or junior Ministers are assigned to the holder.

Another excerpt from Ram & McRae

Public Service Reform and Contract Employees

Article 38G of the Constitution guaranteeing the freedom of the public service from political influence, one of the changes from the Herdmanston Constitutional reform process, did not matter to the PPP/C. Ram & McRae has always recognised that one of the biggest challenges facing a post-PPP/C Government is how it could carry out its plans and programmes with a public service – however defined – that had been compromised by political influences and appointments. The situation had become so bad that Permanent Secretaries were not only openly partisan, but were candidates in the national elections.

But these masked a deeper problem: the contract employee syndrome. Article 201 of the Constitution envisages the role of the Public Service Commission (PSC) as being principally responsible for the employment of public officers. Its role has been partly usurped by the Public Service Ministry which in the 2014 Estimates described itself as having overall responsibility for the management of all ministries, departments and regional administrations.

The Constitution provides for a Public Service Commission consisting of six persons appointed by the President – three after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, two nominated by the National Assembly and one on his own professional judgment. The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and exercise disciplinary control over holders of public offices vested in the PSC. Public office is defined in the Constitution as an office of emolument in the public service which in turn is defined as the service of the Government of Guyana in a civil capacity.

Budget Focus 2014 pointed to the importance of institutions to a country’s development and disparagingly referred to some paper institutions, seemingly designed not to function, such as the Integrity Commission, the Public Procurement Commission and the Judicial Service Commission (JSC). We were not unmindful of the fact that it required the intervention of the Bar Association a couple of years ago to have the JSC constituted, and even so, the JSC seems to be operating well below par.

From all indications, the Public Service Commission is in a worse shape. It is perhaps fortuitous that in its efforts to have the JSC properly constituted the Bar Association worked with then Speaker Mr. Raphael Trotman. He is now Minister of Governance and must be paying keen attention to the operation and performance of the Constitutional Commissions. Ram & McRae considers that one of Mr. Trotman’s priorities should be to advise the President on the status of each of constitutional commissions and to have them fixed. Many of them are in poor shape.

President Granger has abolished the Public Service Ministry and placed its functions under the Ministry of the Presidency. That as pointed out elsewhere is the prerogative of the President. Mr. Trotman would not be unmindful that the Office of the President was at the centre of the contract employee syndrome. He would be aware too that his political colleague and now Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, in Opposition, had called for a moratorium on the hiring of contract employees. In 2013 he even promised that β€œif the practice persists into next year’s budget the opposition will indeed be unforgiving.” Then, Mr. Nagamootoo was β€œin favor of allowing the resuscitation of employment by merit through the Public Service Commission”.

While Focus shares what we hope are still the Prime Minister’s sentiments, it recognises that the Granger Administration could not begin to function without recruiting a number of persons on contracts while it tried to fix the broken system. We are concerned however, judging from the data in the Estimates that the Administration may be going too far when it comes to contract employees. Having made all allowances for the reorganisation of the ministries, we note that the number of contract employees under the new Administration will increase in 2015 over the already huge numbers in 2014.

The increase is not great – 3,671 over 3,628. But they point in the wrong direction. What is troubling however, is that employment cost for contract employees is projected to increase year on year by 15%. For public sector wages as a whole the increase is only 11%. In other words, contract employees are receiving a larger share of the pie.

We will be watching very closely to assess whether the new Administration’s actions on contract employees will match the rhetoric used when in opposition. The Finance Minister in his Budget Speech announced that the Government plans to revamp the public service, to build capacity and improve efficiency, and to enhance the conditions of service of public servants, including salaries. The task of carrying out a study with a view to making an in depth report has been given to Professor Harold Lutchman who headed the list of the APNU + AFC.

Professor Lutchman is experienced enough to recognise that the extremely high number of contract employees within the system currently cannot facilitate the development of a vibrant, viable public service. Since the Office of the President is an agency beset with one of the worst cases of the contract employee syndrome he will have a battle on his hands. He will require not only considerable resources and some specialist expertise to achieve the desired results but must be allowed the freedom and the independence to act in his best professional judgment.

He should be given all the resources and facilities he needs to restore quality in the public service, described by President Granger as the β€œengine of the executive”.

Good analysis by  Ram and McRae. I too find much strange in all of this and suspect a main motivating factor was to reward some loyal PNC and AFC (Trotman faction) stalwarts.

this is properly pat of Ram & McRae's report

however, let's not pretend that this concern is something new and "strange" . . . even on GNI, this has been dissected and slammed from day one!

let me re-state that the "bloat" (for the most part) is a consequence of the extraordinary demands of the Cummingsburg Accord

it is a work-around that speaks to efforts by the coalition to honor and respect commitments made

look, no one is denying that horrible missteps have blighted the reform landscape or that plenty people are pissed off by agreed-upon stuff that have not been implemented

but this is a work in progress . . . the opening chords of a long-delayed sea change in the way we do politics in Guyana

too many ministas is a small price to pay if Guyana finally gets competent and honest government, Independent Institutions of Governance worth the name and, most importantly, Constitutional reform

90 days on and counting . . . i wish them well

Originally Posted by alena06:

. . . "One additional cost is that, based on anecdotal evidence, some government units have been in limbo for at least two months with respect to their reporting relationships and therefore no meaningful work has been performed"

new ministries . . . gov't in transition . . . opposition still not in parliament . . . budget less than 2 weeks old

where exactly is the scandal you are pointing to here?

. . . "One additional cost is that, based on anecdotal evidence, some government units have been in limbo for at least two months with respect to their reporting relationships and therefore no meaningful work has been performed"

new ministries . . . gov't in transition . . . opposition still not in parliament . . . budget less than 2 weeks old

It's anecdotal.

Originally Posted by Django:

Come 2020, supersized will be circumcised!

The opposition have some serious house cleaning to get

back in power,by the way who will be their presidential

candidate.

Still in the works.  They are rethinking the overall leadership model.

They need to,i am not ruling out their strength,there are some are

some great youngsters in the party,all they have to do is convince

the population they are not tainted with corruption.

By the way i am not affiliated with any party,i support any party

that will move Guyana forward,i am a registered independant in

USA.

candidate.

USA.

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective.  On the other hand, the abhorrent PNC took 20 years to realize their wrong and strong model will get them nowhere and they finally and reluctantly embraced a new model.  And even with that, that brought back all the old PNC relics and are attempting to resurrect the old PNC order.

candidate.

USA.

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective.  On the other hand, the abhorrent PNC took 20 years to realize their wrong and strong model will get them nowhere and they finally and reluctantly embraced a new model.  And even with that, that brought back all the old PNC relics and are attempting to resurrect theold PNC order.

I agree why bring back some of the relics,may be is pay back time,

i hope in the next 2-3 years they are let go bring the young ones.

Resurrecting the old order will not be accepted easily.

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective . . .

sure

recycling Bharat Jagdeo, the biggest tiefman head of state in Caribbean history, as leadah is "reflective" and signals a recognition for "change" . . . uh huh

mussbe that high-THC weed from Colorado u smoking

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective . . .

sure

recycling Bharat Jagdeo, the biggest tiefman head of state in Caribbean history, as leadah is "reflective" and signals a recognition for "change" . . . uh huh

That man Jagdeo is alyuh worse nightmare!

sure

your wet dreams of Jagdeo is your personal affair . . . you can start a thread for that if u wish

meanwhile, please engage the brain not in your crotch and address what i posted

thanks

sure

your wet dreams of Jagdeo is your personal affair . . . you can start a thread for that if u wish

thanks

U not educated.R u? U seems limited-only sexual responses comes fro u. That is a sexual demonic spirit, u know.

sure

thanks

U not educated.R u? U seems limited-only sexual responses comes fro u. That is a sexual demonic spirit, u know.

It's a reflection of ones self or ones craving for something unfulfilled.

sure

thanks

sure

thanks

Which, weed or wet dreams?

One of the reasons I think Granger is a joker. I hoped by now an explanation for this proliferation of ministries would become apparent but they are still obtuse and warranted. Guyanese would surely be in a quandary as to what ministry represent them or can help them. This is a mess and something that galls me with this regime. It has so many legs is finding itself a bit cumbersome to walk.

sure

thanks

knowing that the thought of blowing BJ would get u excited and impair your focus, i hilited the substance of the post (in red) to make it easy on u

feel free to reach out if u having difficulty or have any more questions

however, let's not pretend that this concern is something new and "strange" . . . even on GNI, this has been dissected and slammed from day one!

let me re-state that the "bloat" (for the most part) is a consequence of the extraordinary demands of the Cummingsburg Accord

it is a work-around that speaks to efforts by the coalition to honor and respect commitments made

look, no one is denying that horrible missteps have blighted the reform landscape or that plenty people are pissed off by agreed-upon stuff that have not been implemented

but this is a work in progress . . . the opening chords of a long-delayed sea change in the way we do politics in Guyana

too many ministas is a small price to pay if Guyana finally gets competent and honest government, Independent Institutions of Governance worth the name and, most importantly, Constitutional reform

Donald Trump said yesterday that he is using his own money to run for president so that he doesn't become indebted to any lobbyist if he becomes president. For the Coalition to start out by seeking to appease their supporters by awarding them governmental offices, how do they back-track to a more realistic model? Our human nature does not take kindly to having things taken from us. How would some of those awardees react when their awards are subsequently taken from them as the new government is refined to their ideal size? Or is the size/nature of the new government going to remain as it currently is thereby making it no different from the previous one?

sure

thanks

knowing that the thought of blowing BJ would get u excited and impair your focus, i hilited the substance of the post (in red) to make it easy on u

feel free to reach out if u having difficulty or have any more questions

I put that aside as empty rhetoric with no substance, basically trying to shout lies loud and long enough hoping it becomes fact, just like the Sun Chapman affair.  That banna Jagdeo giving alyuh the belly wuk treatment.

I actually thought your weed and wet dream illusions were more revealing and substantive!

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Donald Trump said yesterday that he is using his own money to run for president so that he doesn't become indebted to any lobbyist if he becomes president. For the Coalition to start out by seeking to appease their supporters by awarding them governmental offices, how do they back-track to a more realistic model. Our human nature does not take kindly to having things taken from us. How would some of those awardees react wen their awards are subsequently taken from them as the new government is refined to their ideal size? Or is the size/nature of the new government going to remain as it currently is thereby making it no different from the previous one?

Guyana needs a Donald Trump type, tell it as it is and hold no punches.

I am fully aware that political realities dictate that loyalists have to be rewarded.  My contention is how the Ministries are structured.  What really is Amna Ally doing, and does she have to be a minister to do this.

Guyana's economy lucked out in the post 2008 period because of a commodity boom.  This is now over, and so the economy will slow, with APNU/AFC getting the blame for this, even though it is due to matters beyond their control.

So one would think that there would be focus on crafting and implementing a well thought out policy to diversify the economy.  It is obvious that neither the PNC, nor the AFC have a clue about what to do about this.  By now we should have been hearing some broad ideas as to what they plan to do, but they don't even have a ministry to accomplish this goal.

But then we have an ex army man, turned historian, and a former communist, so I am not surprised.  But I already see a scenario with the PPP capitalizing on this, as the economy slows, unless APNU/AFC begin to communicate a solid vision for economic transformation.

This is why they aren't dealing with the questions raised by Stormborn, which is incidentally the reason why many came out to support them.

By the way a budget must be based on a vision, so using the fact that it is only 2 weeks old is nonsense. APNU/AFC have been in effective power for over 2 months now. We can see that their honeymoon period is ending, as people like Chris Ram begin to query.

BTW did they select Chris Ram for any of their boards?  I don't except him to want to be on the executive of any state owned entity, but clearly gov't should be attempting to capture some of this man's expertise.  Either they listen to him, or he will be a nucleus for their eventually demise, should the PPP get their act together, dump Jagdeo, and cease being a "coolie party".

One of the reasons I think Granger is a joker. I hoped by now an explanation for this proliferation of ministries would become apparent but they are still obtuse and warranted. Guyanese would surely be in a quandary as to what ministry represent them or can help them. This is a mess and something that galls me with this regime. It has so many legs is finding itself a bit cumbersome to walk.

This government consists of a bunch of ageing PNC men, who want their piece of the pie, before they die, and an AFC, which is living beyond its wildest dreams of actually being in power.

What is obvious is a lack of intellectual capacity in this government.  We see this in their comments about crime, and now a lack of vision in terms ogf their economic development policies.

There is this saying that one must be careful what one wishes for, because they might get it.  Well Granger/Nagamootoo now have the government, and now they must run it.  But I have an emerging suspicion that these ageing men will not be around after 2020, so they don't care whether this gov't is one term or not.

 lies loud and long enough hoping it becomes fact, just like the Sun Chapman affair.  revealing and substantive!

The lie that became fact is the one peddled by the PPP which states that the PNC was actually taking explosives to McKenzie.  This is so silly, given that it was far easier for people to obtain explosives in that bauxite town than it was in G/town.

The PYO placed a bomb on that boat to kill black people.  Quit with your racist notion of the savage black man, because in 1964 the Indian was EQUALLY savage.

I am fully aware that political realities dictate that loyalists have to be rewarded.  My contention is how the Ministries are structured.  What really is Amna Ally doing, and does she have to be a minister to do this.

Guyana's economy lucked out in the post 2008 period because of a commodity boom.  This is now over, and so the economy will slow, with APNU/AFC getting the blame for this, even though it is due to matters beyond their control.

So one would think that there would be focus on crafting and implementing a well thought out policy to diversify the economy.  It is obvious that neither the PNC, nor the AFC have a clue about what to do about this.  By now we should have been hearing some broad ideas as to what they plan to do, but they don't even have a ministry to accomplish this goal.

But then we have an ex army man, turned historian, and a former communist, so I am not surprised.  But I already see a scenario with the PPP capitalizing on this, as the economy slows, unless APNU/AFC begin to communicate a solid vision for economic transformation.

This is why they aren't dealing with the questions raised by Stormborn, which is incidentally the reason why many came out to support them.

By the way a budget must be based on a vision, so using the fact that it is only 2 weeks old is nonsense. APNU/AFC have been in effective power for over 2 months now. We can see that their honeymoon period is ending, as people like Chris Ram begin to query.

BTW did they select Chris Ram for any of their boards?  I don't except him to want to be on the executive of any state owned entity, but clearly gov't should be attempting to capture some of this man's expertise.  Either they listen to him, or he will be a nucleus for their eventually demise, should the PPP get their act together, dump Jagdeo, and cease being a "coolie party".

Good post caribny.  Right on target.  There is no good vision as yet.  They are still struggling.  Could be a case of old men thinking that they know everything.  Granger needs to do a cabinet reshufle and fast.

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective. 

And what changes has the PPP brought.  They still remain a "coolie party", even as the Indian vote dwindles.  And they crown the main person responsible for this racism as its leader.

The only hope for the PPP is for APNU/AFC to be a bunch of bungling idiots who squander their ability to win over more Amerindian votes.  And this is indeed a strong possibility. 

Those who support the APNU/AFC need to speak LOUDLY and HOLD them to ACCOUNT, as Ulele susggested that they do. Finding excuses for them does them no good, and hastens their demise.

 lies loud and long enough hoping it becomes fact, just like the Sun Chapman affair.  revealing and substantive!

The lie that became fact is the one peddled by the PPP which states that the PNC was actually taking explosives to McKenzie.  This is so silly, given that it was far easier for people to obtain explosives in that bauxite town than it was in G/town.

The PYO placed a bomb on that boat to kill black people.  Quit with your racist notion of the savage black man, because in 1964 the Indian was EQUALLY savage.

Carib do you know Mr. Emmanuel Fairbairn?  Ever heard about him?

With all the criticism of the PPP, at least they have quickly realized the need for change and are reflective. 

And what changes has the PPP brought.  They still remain a "coolie party", even as the Indian vote dwindles.  And they crown the main person responsible for this racism as its leader.

The only hope for the PPP is for APNU/AFC to be a bunch of bungling idiots who squander their ability to win over more Amerindian votes.  And this is indeed a strong possibility. 

Those who support the APNU/AFC need to speak LOUDLY and HOLD them to ACCOUNT, as Ulele susggested that they do. Finding excuses for them does them no good, and hastens their demise.

They fired 2,000 Amerindian caribny...now yuh in big trouble.

dude, David Granger is not Guyana's saviour

you guys are missing the forest for the trees . . . i gladly trade minista bloat for a coalition that gives Guyana a chance to breathe

if/when the coalition f*cks up, they will be (deservedly) voted out . . . this is the politics we want

it, indeed, has been less than 100 days; Budget 2015 is far from a disaster

some of y'all need to chill and give the gov't a chance to fix mistakes and catch its breath

btw, Chris Ram has been engaged by the coalition to audit the Jagdeoite tiefman institutions . . . i hope u understand why he was not invited to sit on these boards

dude, David Granger is not Guyana's saviour

you guys are missing the forest for the trees . . . i gladly trade minista bloat for a coalition that gives Guyana a chance to breathe

if/when the coalition f*cks up, they will be (deservedly) voted out . . . this is the politics we want

it, indeed, has been less than 100 days; Budget 2015 is far from a disaster

some of y'all need to chill and let these people breathe

btw, Chris Ram has been engaged by the coalition to audit the Jagdeoite tiefman institutions . . . i hope u understand why he was not invited to sit on these boards

Granger is not looked on as a savior. He is a bridge to take us to a place where we can breathe. He has not demonstrated one ounce of his military disciple to date.

He heeded to run a stripped down government with direct streams of information flowing to him from people he selected to command authoritatively.His troops needed to be deployed in the field systematically securing ground and setting up safe zones for us to nagivate in.

Instead he give us this confused, disorienting  babel for ministers and a maze  as administration and that is completely depressing.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Carib do you know Mr. Emmanuel Fairbairn?  Ever heard about him?

Don't know and don't care.  The PYO had good motive to have planted the bomb. The report said that they could find no evidence as to who the guilty parties were, so aside from peddling your usual "baad savage black man" filth, you can offer no proof which removes the PYO as a suspect. And as I said, the PNC had ample access to explosives in Mackenzie, so had no reason to risk confiscation, should these items have been discovered.

And don't bleat that you don't whine about "baad black man".  Your entire thesis is to ignore Indian racism on this GNI, where this view is dominant.  You whine about PNC racism, and aren't equally concerned about PPP racism, so you fit right into the cobra/yuji/rama/baseman/seignet model of Guyanese racism.