“Suicide is a difficult problem to solve” – President Granger

November 9, 2015 2:40 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

suicide_speak_reach[www.inewsguyana.com] – Guyana has seen its fair share of suicides with the country being labelled with the highest suicide rate in the world and while there is no long term plan currently in place to tackle the issue, President David Granger believes that an active hotline may help.

During his appearance on ‘The Public Interest’ in which iNews participated, the President admitted that “suicide is a very difficult problem to solve and what I see happening in Guyana is something called the ‘Werther effect.’

The ‘Werther effect’ basically means a ‘copycat effect’ and President Granger is of the view that a national study is needed in order to effectively tackle the issue.

“So we don’t really know why people kill themselves because some of the people are quite comfortable; when you look at their life, there is a house, maybe there is a car and maybe the person is employed. It’s not as though the person is a desperado,” the President said.

He noted that some people do not have the necessary tools to deal with whatever problem they are faced with.

“These are middle to lower class people and probably they are faced with some kind of situation and they don’t have the intellectual, moral or religious tools to deal with this issue so we have to look at the more careful analysis.”

According to the President, the government does not have any clue at the moment that may guide them in the direction of preventing suicides.

“We do not have those tools. We are trying to accumulate evidence,” the President said.

He noted that studying suicide is a work in progress, while pointing out that even parents are surprised when their child commits such a drastic act.

President of Guyana, David Granger

“Sometimes the first resort is poison and if you remove poison, they jump off the Demerara Harbour Bridge. It is right now, what I would call an epidemic because not only is there a large number of persons who succeed, there are a lot of people who try but do not succeed and sometimes deaths occur and it is not recorded out of shame or embarrassment; they are not recorded as suicides.”

The President believes that it is possible for Guyana to remove the causes of suicidal behaviour and try to counsel young people in particular.

“It is a worrying factor, it does affect our young people and as I always say, happy people do not kill themselves.”

Only recently, prominent human rights activist, Zenita Nicholson killed herself by consuming ten carbon tablets. Shortly after, two teenagers were found dead on the Kingston foreshore after consuming poison.

Also, police officer, Richard MacBeth attempted to take his own life while a father hanged himself in a Georgetown Police Outpost after threatening to kill two of his children.

Suicide is an unfortunate issue which, unfortunately, has no defined remedy nor cure.

Being sympathetic, helpful and considerate are a few qualities to address issues with others.

Government is being paid by taxpayers to find solution to the most difficult problems facing a nation. Saying that suicide is difficult is like saying go on and take your own life. We cannot accept this from a government standpoint. NGO's, Non-profits and individuals have spend endless time to comfort families affected by this tragedy, and this government just make their work look like garbage. 

Originally Posted by Red Wine:

Government is being paid by taxpayers to find solution to the most difficult problems facing a nation. Saying that suicide is difficult is like saying go on and take your own life. We cannot accept this from a government standpoint. NGO's, Non-profits and individuals have spend endless time to comfort families affected by this tragedy, and this government just make their work look like garbage. 

The high suicide rate is one of the many problems inherited from your clueless PPP government. Unfortunately, there is no overnight fix for this issue.

Reds, the World Health Organization report which stated that Guyana has the world's highest suicide rate was published last year, while the PPP was in its 22nd year in government. At that time, Luncheon and Bheri responded that WHO had incorrect data and used faulty methodology.

President Granger is being honest in conceding the government's inability to turn around the suicide trend. Still, it's high time all stakeholders come together and brainstorm --- families, religious and social organizations, schools, political parties, etc.

Let's forget about how difficult the problem is. Let's encourage everyone to kill themselves. Let's donate poison and rope to young people. Granger should make a public square for this event since it's too difficult for him. 

Man, when I read the President's comments. Wow! What a caring man? The people get the President they deserve. Careless and carefree. 

Is Guyana a country?

Man, when I read the President's comments. Wow! What a caring man? The people get the President they deserve. Careless and carefree. 

Is Guyana a country?

Which specific comments by the president show that he does not care or are you just spewing hot air as usual?

Is Guyana a country?

When the PPP were ruling, they were blame for the suicide problem even though they never conceded or gave up on this issues. But today, it's ok for government to tell people to jump over a bridge instead of helping them.

Is Guyana a country?

When the PPP were ruling, they were blame for the suicide problem even though they never conceded or gave up on this issues. But today, it's ok for government to tell people to jump over a bridge instead of helping them.

Did the government tell someone to jump over a bridge or are you just stretching the truth?

Is Guyana a country?

Is that why Guyana became #1 for suicides in the world?

Is Guyana a country?

This is a major problem. Neither the PPP or current government have the tools needed to deal with this problem. We need to look at what other countries are doing. 

Originally Posted by Tola:

Some nice 'expert' opinions, like hot air.

Is it initiating any action to help resolve the suicide prevention problem in Guyana ?

What a  bunch of friggin' deadbeats.

So we have deadbeats. While the PPP was in power, you constantly beat the death march drum about the PPP inneffectiveness to solve the suicide problem. Now that your "Padna dem deh in pawa", why not offer them the same recommendations you were advocating during the PPP regime"? Wah you tink deh bai? See wah happen nah.

Is it initiating any action to help resolve the suicide prevention problem in Guyana ?

Serious.

If I wanted to do something. In what possible ways could I?

Given that 70% of the suicide victims are Hindus (based on a letter in todays KN) it isnt just up to the gov't to find solutions.  Those knowledgeable of the culture of the rural Hindus need also to be involved.

In Nevis suicide is considered to be "Guyanese", as most of the recent victims have been Guyanese Hindus.  They form 10% of the population of that island.

Given that mental illness/depression, poverty, substance abuse, and family dysfunction are hardly confined to Hindus, the fact that there is such a concentration of this activity within taht community suggests that there is something specific to that group.

Note that the 3 Caribbean countries with the highest suicide rates are Guyana, Suriname and Trinidad in that order. All countries with sizeable Hindu populations. Jamaica, with all its social problems, has much lower suicide rates.

This is not just a matter of comforting people.  It is a matter of finding out why Hindus seem more inclined to take their lives than are Christians or Muslims.  THAt is a Diwali conversation which should be held, rather than fighting over the date of the motorcade, or the day when NON Hindus get the day off.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The high suicide rate is one of the many problems inherited from your clueless PPP government. Unfortunately, there is no overnight fix for this issue.

Suicide has always been a problem with rural Hindus in Guyana AND Trinidad, abd I assume Suriname, though I know less about taht country.

In fact facetious and racist blacks used to make jokes of "coolie cocktail", regarding the fact that many of these suicides were through the use of pesticides.

This is NOT a political problem, and the usual PPP vs. PNC squabbling isnt going to solve the problem.

In fact a letter in today's KN even suggest that Hindu priests need to simplify the religion, and make it more accessable to English speaking people in the way that the Christians and the Muslims have done.  Faith is what helps people survive through adversity, and religion is often an important part of this.   I leave it to those expert in Hinduism to debate as to whether this letter writer is correct about the deficit in how Hinduism is practiced in Guyana.

Is Guyana a country?

FACT.  This isnt a problem that the govt can solve on its own any more than it can solve the scourge of the African and mixed populations, which are the high degree of unmarried mothers, and the social problems which result.

FACT. While the govt can provide directions, and allocate resources this is a problem which must be solved by civic society, and spear headed by the youth groups, and by the religious groups.

If Hindus are less than 30% of the population, but account for an estimated 70% of the suicides, clearly a problem exists within that community.  It is therefore appropriate that people who ahve cultural competency about this rural Hindu population lead the effort to reduce suicides.

Given the political realities of Guyana, one would have expected the PPP to have more in hourse resources at hand than APNU, with its mainly Christian support base.

Let us compare the responses.  Granger admits its a problem, and signals that govt alone cannot solve it.

The PPP screams that it is a lie and that Guyana doesnt have a suicide problem.

It is clear which govt would foster an environment to deal with this problem, and it is NOT the PPP.  It is indeed a fact that the only areas which concern the PPP are issues faced by the Indian elite.  Non Indians and poor rural Indians bore them.

“Suicide is a difficult problem to solve” – President Granger

November 9, 2015 2:40 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

suicide_speak_reach[www.inewsguyana.com] – Guyana has seen its fair share of suicides with the country being labelled with the highest suicide rate in the world and while there is no long term plan currently in place to tackle the issue, President David Granger believes that an active hotline may help.

During his appearance on ‘The Public Interest’ in which iNews participated, the President admitted that “suicide is a very difficult problem to solve and what I see happening in Guyana is something called the ‘Werther effect.’

The ‘Werther effect’ basically means a ‘copycat effect’ and President Granger is of the view that a national study is needed in order to effectively tackle the issue.

“So we don’t really know why people kill themselves because some of the people are quite comfortable; when you look at their life, there is a house, maybe there is a car and maybe the person is employed. It’s not as though the person is a desperado,” the President said.

He noted that some people do not have the necessary tools to deal with whatever problem they are faced with.

“These are middle to lower class people and probably they are faced with some kind of situation and they don’t have the intellectual, moral or religious tools to deal with this issue so we have to look at the more careful analysis.”

According to the President, the government does not have any clue at the moment that may guide them in the direction of preventing suicides.

“We do not have those tools. We are trying to accumulate evidence,” the President said.

He noted that studying suicide is a work in progress, while pointing out that even parents are surprised when their child commits such a drastic act.

“Sometimes the first resort is poison and if you remove poison, they jump off the Demerara Harbour Bridge. It is right now, what I would call an epidemic because not only is there a large number of persons who succeed, there are a lot of people who try but do not succeed and sometimes deaths occur and it is not recorded out of shame or embarrassment; they are not recorded as suicides.”

The President believes that it is possible for Guyana to remove the causes of suicidal behaviour and try to counsel young people in particular.

“It is a worrying factor, it does affect our young people and as I always say, happy people do not kill themselves.”

Only recently, prominent human rights activist, Zenita Nicholson killed herself by consuming ten carbon tablets. Shortly after, two teenagers were found dead on the Kingston foreshore after consuming poison.

Also, police officer, Richard MacBeth attempted to take his own life while a father hanged himself in a Georgetown Police Outpost after threatening to kill two of his children.

I will like the Indo KKK racists and point out where exactly is Granger indicating taht he has no interest in solving the problem.

He stated taht the govt doesnt know, and in fact no one in Guyana knows, because up to now no one really cared about suicide, thinking it t be waht weak people do.

He is interested in studying the problem with a goal of finding solutions.

I ask all the folks screaming about what date Diwali should be celebrated, what has the Hindu body done to reduce a phenomenon which is definitely concentrated among Hindus.  They kill themselves at 2.5X the rate of others.  Were this not the case suicide levels in Guyana would be about 50% lower.

So what are Hindus doing about this?  Is anyone questioning why in the Caribbean Hindus seem more likely to kill themselves when confronted with a problem?  Only Hindus can answer this question, because should others attempt, we will be deemed racist and politically incorrect.

Is Guyana a country?

Does suicide BOMBERS count as suicide or as freedom fighters. OH! one gets nothing and the other get SEVEN virgins.

The suicide epidemic in Guyana is hurting families terribly. The sudden loss of so many family members is a very heavy burden to bear. Putting blame on political parties in or out of power is counterproductive, in my view. All Guyanese at every level of society must come together and work out a solution.

For now, I can only encourage parents to be more lenient with their teenage kids who fall in love. Many have killed themselves because of parental disapproval. This was happening since before I was born. A friend of mine accepted his daughter's choice of an Afro-Guyanese mate in the 1970s after she threatened to commit suicide. Today that same friend dotes on his grandchildren that the multi-racial marriage produced.

Young people usually solve their own relationship problems. They break a relationship on their own if it's not working. With some patience and lenience, parents can help prevent suicides.

I guess Guyanese Hindus are a distinct people. Nobody else is like them. So their issues are unique.

28% of the population, and 70% of the suicides, based on some one who wrote about it in today's KN.   Not an Indian thing, as Muslims seem less impacted.

The suicide epidemic in Guyana is hurting families terribly. The sudden loss of so many family members is a very heavy burden to bear. Putting blame on political parties in or out of power is counterproductive, in my view. All Guyanese at every level of society must come together and work out a solution.

For now, I can only encourage parents to be more lenient with their teenage kids who fall in love. Many have killed themselves because of parental disapproval. This was happening since before I was born. A friend of mine accepted his daughter's choice of an Afro-Guyanese mate in the 1970s after she threatened to commit suicide. Today that same friend dotes on his grandchildren that the multi-racial marriage produced.

Young people usually solve their own relationship problems. They break a relationship on their own if it's not working. With some patience and lenience, parents can help prevent suicides.

An analysis of the suicides will need to be done to determine the root causes and why its over than 2.5X as high among Hindus, as it is among others.  This appears not to be merely a rural Indian phenomenon, but one rooted within the Hindu population.

Are Christian or Muslim parents as controlling as are Hindu parents?  Or is there something else going on.  Any one can be depressed, and at some point most of us might be confronting with difficult issues.  Most people do not take their lives, either because of inner faith, or external support systems.   These seem to be most lacking amongst the Hindu population.

Which isnt to say that suicides amongst non Hindus should be ignored, but it appears as if Hindus had similar rates as non Hindus, suicide wouldnt be as much of a crisis as it is.

What is disturbing about Guyana seems to be the high rates of teenage depression. There is no evidence that this phenomenon can be defined by religion or ethnicity, so this might be a whole other topic.

Tola, baseman claims that you have ideas for suicide prevention.

70% of the suicide victims are Hindus. Granger isn't, but I suspect you are, so what are the solutions, which baseman claims that you have.

Do you expect a Christian to know the specific conditions among Hindus which leads them to have a suicide rate almost 3X the rest of the population?

You cant expect a CRIMINAL entity like the PNC and two CLUELESS House Slave to solve everyday problems, muchless difficult ones.  Brigadier Granger is just being honest, telling us he is a DUNCE!!!

It does not help the suicide rate if people are now killing themselves as they experience hard times under the afc/apnu administration. Those already with suicide tendency may have been pushed over the edge by the economic hard times that the Granger administration brought on the nation with their incompetency and blocking of PPP projects while in opposition. 

Druggy, count your blessings that you have food stamps.

It does not help the suicide rate if people are now killing themselves as they experience hard times under the afc/apnu administration.

Druggie we have no idea what the current suicide rate is.  The fact that Guyana has the HIGHEST suicide rate in the WORLD, is based on data collected in 2014.  The PPP was in power that year.

So why is APNU/AFC to blame.  Given that Hindus are over represented in suicides in Guyana, Trinidad, and Suriname suggests that it is something about the cultures practiced by Hindus which is to blame.

If it is racism against Indians why aren't Indian Muslims and Christians also killing themselves at the rate which Hindus are?

Another poster, who I suspect is a Hindu, suggests that many excessive demands by the older generation, on the young, and the implication that they have no choice but to conform to their demands, might have a lot to do with it.

This is intelligent debate.  Your rantings reflect that you are an intellectually limited racist.

It does not help the suicide rate if people are now killing themselves as they experience hard times under the afc/apnu administration.

Druggie we have no idea what the current suicide rate is.  The fact that Guyana has the HIGHEST suicide rate in the WORLD, is based on data collected in 2014.  The PPP was in power that year.

So why is APNU/AFC to blame.  Given that Hindus are over represented in suicides in Guyana, Trinidad, and Suriname suggests that it is something about the cultures practiced by Hindus which is to blame.

If it is racism against Indians why aren't Indian Muslims and Christians also killing themselves at the rate which Hindus are?

Another poster, who I suspect is a Hindu, suggests that many excessive demands by the older generation, on the young, and the implication that they have no choice but to conform to their demands, might have a lot to do with it.

This is intelligent debate.  Your rantings reflect that you are an intellectually limited racist.

All I am saying is that Granger has aggravated an already tenuous situation.  People who are already depressed, black or indian, will invariably be pushed over the edge in economic hard times, just like the wall street investors who jumped to their deaths in the great depression. 

All I am saying is that Granger has aggravated an already tenuous situation.  . 

Muslims and Christian Indians are not killing themselves like Hindus are.

It is the culture of Guyanese Hindus taht is to blame.  Druggie when yuou Hindus go to the Islands, you all take this habit with you.  Hindus also do the same in Tdad and Suriname, so quit your crap that it isnt the behavior of Hindus which doesnt explain this problem.

Hindu elders need to update how they engage their youths and cease to put the immense pressure on them to conform to their dictates.  If their daughter loves a black man, so be it.  NONE of their business, unless he is a criminal, or a loser.

All I am saying is that Granger has aggravated an already tenuous situation.  . 

Muslims and Christian Indians are not killing themselves like Hindus are.

It is the culture of Guyanese Hindus taht is to blame.  Druggie when yuou Hindus go to the Islands, you all take this habit with you.  Hindus also do the same in Tdad and Suriname, so quit your crap that it isnt the behavior of Hindus which doesnt explain this problem.

Hindu elders need to update how they engage their youths and cease to put the immense pressure on them to conform to their dictates.  If their daughter loves a black man, so be it.  NONE of their business, unless he is a criminal, or a loser.

The issue is not about who is killing themselves but rather that Granger has aggravated the situation. There is no evidence that suicide in Guyana is more prevalent among Hindus than any other religion.  Recently I have read that Blacks were committing suicide but I didn't draw any inferences from this as this is not scientific sampling. Your ramblings are based on opinion rather than fact as usual.

The issue is not about who is killing themselves but rather that Granger has aggravated the situation. There is no evidence that suicide in Guyana is more prevalent among Hindus than any other religion.

There is evidence that Hindus commit suicide at higher rates than others.  In fact Black Bush Polder is known as ground ZERO for suicides in Guyana.

So it might not even be about Hindus killing themselves at higher rates. It might be about conditions in the PPP HEARTLAND.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....igion-are-in-crisis/

Now go argue with your fellow Hindu.

The issue is not about who is killing themselves but rather that Granger has aggravated the situation. There is no evidence that suicide in Guyana is more prevalent among Hindus than any other religion.

There is evidence that Hindus commit suicide at higher rates than others.  In fact Black Bush Polder is known as ground ZERO for suicides in Guyana.

So it might not even be about Hindus killing themselves at higher rates. It might be about conditions in the PPP HEARTLAND.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....igion-are-in-crisis/

Now go argue with your fellow Hindu.

Nonsense, this "evidence" is from that famous survey that you took years ago from the voices in your head. It appears that you are still referencing this fictitious figment of your imagination.  

What is significant is that Granger is now presiding over a burgeoning suicidal population that are pushed further to the brink by his failed policies to keep on course a robust economy inherited from the PPP.