Struggling Bosai meets Region 10 officials over planned layoffs

August 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Bosai executives yesterday met with Region 10 Chairman, Renis Morian, and Members of Parliament Valerie Adams-Patterson and Jermaine Figueira to discuss the company’s planned retrenchment of workers attached to the company’s Linden operations.

MPs Valerie Adams [right) and Jermaine Figueira (far right) flank Region 10 Chairman, Renis Morian, at the meeting with Bosai officials yesterday.

MPs Valerie Adams (right) and Jermaine Figueira (far right) flank Region 10 Chairman, Renis Morian, at the meeting with Bosai officials yesterday.

It was the second meeting between the Regional Chairman and the Bosai executives, regarding the impending situation. Morian said that the objective behind the meetings is to come up with a “win win” situation for both Bosai and their employees. According to a senior Bosai executive, retrenchment is “the best option right now” given the Company’s present conditions. The official said that since July last year, Bosai has only been operating one Kiln. According to information earlier released by Bosai, the company operated both calcining kilns during the first half of 2014, however, a decline in bauxite sales in the latter half of the year resulted in the company operating only one kiln. This trend continued in 2015, with the company continuing to operate one kiln, with the further decrease in bauxite sales. Among the challenges facing the company according to a senior executive, apart from the decline in sales, is the high cost of freight. “The distance is too far, and these vessels’ capacity is just six or seven tonnes and the customers cannot accept the freight. We used to have a plan for the AGB-abrasive bauxite, calcined bauxite – we were looking forward to getting a transshipment facility, to load to the bigger vessels, like thirty- or forty-tonne vessels – then maybe we could supply Asia with Guyanese bauxite, as a big competition to China’s bauxite, but because of the freight, it was never realized. Even now, we’re trying to convince RUSAL to rent their transshipment facility for us to do another three or four shipments to Asia each year, but they are very difficult, because maybe they see BOSAI as a competitor.” The official expanded further, “the company has always set a target based on production of two kilns – kilns 13 and 14, but since July last year we’ve only been running one kiln. We didn’t consider retrenchment at that point in time, because we expected things to get better, but after months and things not getting better and even in 2015, we were still operating one kiln, so in July we had to shut down production completely in the plant, because the shipment has slowed down, and we’ve got the highest inventory in the history. “Even in 2009, during the world economic crisis, the highest inventory of calcined bauxite was fifty three thousand pounds. At the end of June our inventory of calcined bauxite was 63.57 tonnes and our storage capacity is just 52 tonnes – we’re down to 11.57 tonnes on the ground, which is being contaminated and is resulting in extra cost to us. Once the product is put back to storage there are some losses. It is a very difficult situation.” Morian suggested that Bosai look at reducing the workers from twelve-hour shifts to eight hours, instead of retrenching, and asked how such an arrangement would affect the company. In response to that, the Bosai representative assured that such an arrangement would not affect the company much, but that the problem would be the workers, who would stand to lose forty percent of their current earnings, which they would not be willing to accept. Morian also suggested ‘’voluntary separation”, but a counter proposal by Bosai was early retirement, which would see those workers receiving all their benefits. Six or seven persons would be eligible for early retirement it was pointed out. The Regional Chairman questioned what would be the problem with voluntary separation, and whether Bosai was afraid of losing half its workforce to other companies in the mining sector. Bosai’s representative acknowledged that such a thing could indeed happen, to which Morian opined that the company’s bargaining strategies ought to be more realistic. “I want a win win situation, I want Bosai to win and workers also, because there are other mining companies out there that are ready and willing to take those workers. But we don’t want that to happen, we don’t want to see the bauxite company fold, this company has been a part of this town for a long time – a part of the history and landscape of Region Ten.” Both MPs, Adams-Patterson and Figueira, also called on the Bosai representatives to seek ways to address the current situation and come up with amicable solutions, and to look at final performance assessment of workers, before considering retrenchment. “We don’t want another strike”, Adams-Patterson declared. Bosai’s representative assured that performance and skill would be considered in determining which workers are retained and which are retrenched. He also promised that an initialized auditors’ report, could be made available for perusal as requested by the stakeholders, even though the auditors’ report is confidential. At the end of the meeting Morian advised Bosai to meet with the Union again, and wished both parties successful negotiations. (Enid Joaquin)

At the end of June our inventory of calcined bauxite was 63.57 tonnes and our storage capacity is just 52 tonnes – we’re down to 11.57 tonnes on the ground, which is being contaminated and is resulting in extra cost to us. Once the product is put back to storage there are some losses. It is a very difficult situation.”

WOW, things went really South since May 11.

"According to information earlier released by Bosai, the company operated both calcining kilns during the first half of 2014, however, a decline in bauxite sales in the latter half of the year resulted in the company operating only one kiln. This trend continued in 2015, with the company continuing to operate one kiln, with the further decrease in bauxite sales."

is fun watching baseman, abee resident cow fly, flitting around looking fuh shittabatty to land pan

i really doan need RAID . . . meh $2 fly swatter does the job nicely

uh huh

I see you git a good WHATAXXX for this one, you get ketch tryin fo lay blame banna.

You're somewhat like Shaaits, you play each side...it doan wuk so. You pick a side an you stay yo rass deh.

Nothing wrong if you pick a side and you want give em shit for making a wrong play but you doan go round sayin they make wrong plays when they just barely start the game.

Watch out fo dat fly swatter or is...squish!

I see you git a good WHATAXXX for this one, you get ketch tryin fo lay blame banna.

You're somewhat like Shaaits, you play each side...it doan wuk so. You pick a side an you stay yo rass deh.

Nothing wrong if you want give em shit for making a wrong play but you doan go round sayin they make a wrong plays when they just barely start the game.

Hey hey, we living in the dayzz of soundbites banna.  What's good for the goose, good for the gander.  Who gives a shyte about facts, context or truth.  Ahwe dayzz now!!

Nothing wrong if you want give em shit for making a wrong play but you doan go round sayin they make a wrong plays when they just barely start the game.

Watch out fo dat fly swatter or is...squish!

Who gives a shyte about facts, context or truth . . .

ahmmmm . . . OK

Hey hey, we living in the dayzz of soundbites banna.  What's good for the goose, good for the gander.  Who gives a shyte about facts, context or truth.  Ahwe dayzz now!!

AHA, Gotchya, ah think ah understan' now...perhaps...perhaps not,,,hmmmm.

Originally Posted by Wally:

I hope some type of job retraining system or new industry is created for these workers.

Plant cassava!!

Pricy produce in the US,2 Lbs Organic Yuca, from Puerto Rico

US$7.00

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Wally:

I hope some type of job retraining system or new industry is created for these workers.

Plant cassava!!

Pricy produce in the US,2 Lbs Organic Yuca, from Puerto Rico

US$7.00

Go down-stream, mek Cassava pone and then go onto guava cheeze!!

Without electricity, everything is a pipe dream.

Guyana and Guyanese at home are lost. And all the governments comprised of idiots.

In terms of operating to sell commodities to the West, Guyana is a backward place that is unaware of the methods to achieve such enterprises.

I sey, leh people do wah dey been doing-why force progress upon the government and the people.

Is manyana time-we in South America.