Sir Lionel achieved most things in his life and found God.  He came to our Northern Canada town on a speaking tour for Full Gospel Fellowship. He was impressed that at least one Guyanese was in the audience and he  asked me to stand up and introduce myself, even though I met him earlier.  

I have an audio recording of his talk, that is very impressive.  A guy who gave up all the prestige, because he feels God is more important.

He sounds like any local Guyanese who has not accustomed being in front of, and speaking on, camera.  I’m sure there is coaching and self-awareness training which will be available to him.  The APNU has many media-savvy persons within their ranks and will work on him. 

On his grammar, he speaks like a regular Guyanese but I’m sure he knows proper grammar.  Once again, coaching and practice will help here. 

Please bear in mind, he went on to win.  So clearly what we see in this appearance is not all there is!

All the deficiencies observed could be rectified via coaching, practice and exposure!  Let’s hope they assign him a “Caribj” type coach and not a “Ronan” type.

To conclude, All Ayuh wuh criticizing the Banna, Ayuh suh exposed and educated and claim Ayuh is diss and dah and does write, reread and still post nuff shit on GNI.  So stop acting like Ayuh some goody-two-shoes and prim and propa.  Ayuh hate the bruddaman because he is PNC.  Good luck to him.

He sounds like any local Guyanese who has not accustomed being in front of, and speaking on, camera.  I’m sure there is coaching and self-awareness training which will be available to him.  The APNU has many media-savvy persons within their ranks and will work on him. 

On his grammar, he speaks like a regular Guyanese but I’m sure he knows proper grammar.  Once again, coaching and practice will help here. 

Please bear in mind, he went on to win.  So clearly what we see in this appearance is not all there is!

All the deficiencies observed could be rectified via coaching, practice and exposure!  Let’s hope they assign him a “Caribj” type coach and not a “Ronan” type.

To conclude, All Ayuh wuh criticizing the Banna, Ayuh suh exposed and educated and claim Ayuh is diss and dah and does write, reread and still post nuff shit on GNI.  So stop acting like Ayuh some goody-two-shoes and prim and propa.  Ayuh hate the bruddaman because he is PNC.  Good luck to him.

Congrats to the guy. An Indo was made Mayor and here we have a few jealous and evil Indos criticizing him. Some who hate him because he's PNC pretend they're PPP but are cavorting with PNC too! Watch out for the con artists here!

Lenora, you talking shere trash. When someone becomes a 1st they should be the best and brightest we have to offer. Not some uneducated low hanging fruit who makes us cringe every time he screws the english language up in his speech. Look at the PNC blacks who hold position and how eloquent they are when needed. This guy presenting himself to the public as a rookie and he can't even string together the english language properly. I believe that the PNC purposely put a dufus up as the 1st Indo mayor to cause embarrassment to our community. Imagine this bumbling idiot will be representing Guyana on overseas visits and meeting with visiting dignitaries. He is an embarrassment.  

Oh, please, you're so transparent. Go cringe in your corner with jealousy.

He guh get deh.  Alyuh give di banna a lil space.

He won the mandate!  Maybe he matters to the people who matters, the people of GT, not ayuh pompous high and mighty drag Kings and Queens living thousands of miles away!

Imagine if Obama spoke like a stereotypical black as depicted in American literature such as Uncle Tom's cabin or even Birth of a Nation. Go get django to google these two works for you. 

Druggy, relax yuhself.  At least he did not talk about black biagan!   Obama was running for president of the USA, not a smelly lil town with less people than Liberty Avenue!

He won the mandate!  Maybe he matters to the people who matters, the people of GT, not ayuh pompous high and mighty drag Kings and Queens living thousands of miles away!

Come on now, we should all be embarrassed that this obviously unqualified person is representing us as a 1st. Imagine the wealth of material that Indo haters such as the CaribJs, Mars, Cains and Ronans of the world will now have to work with. They can become the new Dave Chappelle making fun of this man's speech. In addition what experience does this dufus have in running a city? What are his qualifications? Did he make it past 1st form?

"me nah know"  -- is not appropriate speech when answering questions posed by the press.

Come on now, we should all be embarrassed that this obviously unqualified person is representing us as a 1st. Imagine the wealth of material that Indo haters such as the CaribJs, Mars, Cains and Ronans of the world will now have to work with. They can become the new Dave Chappelle making fun of this man's speech. In addition what experience does this dufus have in running a city? What are his qualifications? Did he make it past 1st form?

"me nah know"  -- is not appropriate speech when answering questions posed by the press.

I see him as a project!  True what you say, I agree, but as I said, none of these deficiencies are not "coachable!"

He needs coaching, camera play-back, camera play-back, practice, practice, practice!

I see him as a project!  True what you say, I agree, but as I said, none of these deficiencies are not "coachable!"

He needs coaching, camera play-back, camera play-back, practice, practice, practice!

Then this may be the wrong man for the job. They will skin him alive and throw him in the gutter. Looks like he is in the wrong lane for this race. But like I sad, "give him a chance".

Bai, the people decided he was the man for the job, with all his flaws.  Suh alyuh juss relax and enjoy the cold!

95% percent of the bloggers at SN, congratulated Mayor Ubraj. Here where there are about ten active posters daily,the negative crew condemning the new Mayor.

smh

He was elected, so they are who matter, not few angry-bird posters on GNI!  Most Guyanese don't even know of this forum!

A female angry bird's writing is coming from Drug's avatar. I guess she controls the crew here. I elect her for PPP Presidential Candidate!    

95% percent of the bloggers at SN, congratulated Mayor Ubraj. Here where there are about ten active posters daily,the negative crew condemning the new Mayor.

smh

He was elected, so they are who matter, not few angry-bird posters on GNI!  Most Guyanese don't even know of this forum!

A female angry bird's writing is coming from Drug's avatar. I guess she controls the crew here. I elect her for PPP Presidential Candidate!    

Hello!!! Not me. Not sure about this angry bird and her binding spell.

For me, Ubraj's language is not an issue. PPP didn't win Georgetown and that was expected. If the unexpected had happened who would have wagered that a PPP Mayor could speak English eloquently like Jagan? 

APNU won GT and Ubraj is APNU's pick. Let's deal with his municipal duties not his verbal expression. Focus on substance, not on form.

For me, Ubraj's language is not an issue. PPP didn't win Georgetown and that was expected. If the unexpected had happened who would have wagered that a PPP Mayor could speak English eloquently like Jagan? 

APNU won GT and Ubraj is APNU's pick. Let's deal with his municipal duties not his verbal expression. Focus on substance, not on form.

Thank you. 

Congrats the Mayor is fine, but don’t get in the gutter to  insult posters such behavior was expected from Mitwah, maybe he is using your handle.

True deh.  But in the grander scheme, I hope he develops in this area if he is to grow into a more national role!

BTW, I saw CBJ once in Campbelville, he had a buze down mentality in him.  Also, I saw him once in NJ when Joey lived here pre-1992.  Couple youths asked him questions, he put them down saying their questions were irrelevant!

I never liked him, I liked him even less then, though I wanted the PNC removed!  And he was that pathway!

smh

The Indo KKK crew hates any Indian who cavorts with Blacks. It's a given that any Indian who joins forces with any faction of the Coalition government will be subject to ridicule. See the way Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and now Narine are treated. You will get the worse of the bitterness from those like drugb and Prasad who are controlled by blacks in their own home. Their hatred is even worse because they themselves have been ostracized by their community for cavorting with blacks, something they probably couldn't help at the time. 

smh

The Indo KKK crew hates any Indian who cavorts with Blacks. It's a given that any Indian who joins forces with any faction of the Coalition government will be subject to ridicule. See the way Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and now Narine are treated. You will get the worse of the bitterness from those like drugb and Prasad who are are controlled by blacks in their own home. Their hatred is even worse because they themselves have been ostracized by their community for cavorting with blacks, something they probably couldn't help at the time. 

Bai, me fambly get some good cuss down fuh criticizing the earthly god and others doing lil charity in Guyana got called all sorts of cussing and name-calling for shaking candidate Granger hands. 

Suh mi know wah yuh seh!

This point I'll make now because no one has raised it yet. When Bharrat Jagdeo became Junior Finance Minister in 1993 his spoken English was disappointing. Up to 1995 when he rose to senior minister there was hardly any improvement. Look at him now. Is real hard to separate de man from a microphone. Give young Ubraj time.

Bharrat was university educated so this is hard to believe that he did not have command of the english language. Many of us including django with only high school education have fluent command of english. What school did this man attend that makes his english so bad, considering it is supposed to be Guyana's native language?

I was living in Guyana up to 1996. The state-owned radio station journalists had a challenge to extract suitable BJ audio clips for their reports. This is firsthand info you're getting.

I won't press the point because BJ overcame that shortcoming a long time ago. There is hope for the pandit mayor.

I remember.

I was living in Guyana up to 1996. The state-owned radio station journalists had a challenge to extract suitable BJ audio clips for their reports. This is firsthand info you're getting.

I won't press the point because BJ overcame that shortcoming a long time ago. There is hope for the pandit mayor.

I know BJ long long before those audio clips days and his English was eloquent.  

When Bharrat wrote CXC, one of his highest grades was in English.  He was always, and still is, a voracious reader.  He owns an amazing collection of books that he buys from around the world.

@Bibi Haniffa

I don't doubt that BJ spoke good English. Praablem is, some bright boys get nervous when they have to speak at public meetings or press conferences. I was jittery too. That's why I can empathize with folks in similar situations.

I concur.  And strongly believe that you mold a person from a young age. Give them plenty of opportunity to make and correct mistakes. And then they become the person they want to be.  

who "us" is he representing...yuh mean the man representing people from Jersey too

He does not sound like he possesses the skills and talent to turn the city's fortunes around. What i see is a neophyte being used to create a facade to mislead the people into believing the PNC is not a racist party. Well, they can sell that to Django and others. BILLY AIN'T BUYING THAT!

Billy, this reminds of when Black stars like Will Smith boycotted the US Academy Awards a few years ago and said they were not offered roles. Chris Rock hosted the Awards in a white suit; cracked jokes and laughed throughout the Awards; and said if they want to stay home and pout, fine, I'm glad the white people asked me to host. Chris is hilarious.   

I know BJ long long before those audio clips days and his English was eloquent.  

You rass lie and YOU KNOW IT!!  Stop pretending you are more than you really are!!  Even YOU told me YOU were surprised when he made it so far!

@Bibi Haniffa

I don't doubt that BJ spoke good English. Praablem is, some bright boys get nervous when they have to speak at public meetings or press conferences. I was jittery too. That's why I can empathize with folks in similar situations.

I concur.  And strongly believe that you mold a person from a young age. Give them plenty of opportunity to make and correct mistakes. And then they become the person they want to be.  

Bull Shit!!  People could be sharpened up anytime.  This guy won GT so he has it in him.  He can now be molded and coached and sharpened with regards to media.  That is nothing insurmountable.  Alyuh putting down the man because he is an Indian, a Pandit and he is PNC.

Congrats to Pandit Ubraj, I hope he goes on to bigger and better things and become a positive force for political change in Guyana!!