This story is developing and will be updated.

APNU Councillor Ubraj Narine is the new Mayor of Georgetown.

Narine, who won Constituency One (Kingston East and West, Thomas Lands, Nonpareil Park, Cummingsburg, Alberttown and Queenstown) at the November 12th local polls, was elected when the new councillors of the municipality met today. 

Narine’s election was a mere formality as he received unanimous support from his fellow APNU councillors, who hold 21 of the 30 council seats. He was nominated by fellow APNU Councillor Ivelaw Henry, with incumbent mayor Patricia Chase-Green seconding the nomination.

One other valid nomination was received in favour of Bishram Kuppen, of the PPP/C, but he only received the votes of the PPP/C Councillors present.

An attempt by the AFC to nominate Michael Leonard as Mayor failed as its two seats were not enough to field a nomination.

The two AFC Councillors subsequently abstained during the voting.

Georgetown mayor-elect Ubraj Narine