To me this looks like big LGE campaign drama. Of significance: new fares are effective voting day November 12. The increases can be withdrawn depending how the political wind blows. The bridge is owned by pro-PPP investors but Dr Surendra Persaud is reportedly AFC. Who is setting up whom to lose Berbice votes on November 12? This story has a twist coming up. 

Politics at play here, I better put on back my PPP Avatar. Dem AFC bias prappa wicked you know.

Dem PPP bais should show up and say that they oppose and will fight the increase. 

Play politics for politics. Let me Mek a call to the Berbice campaign HQ.

There is going to be a fall guy in this affair. Most likely Dr Surendra Persaud, who could be kicked out of the Berbice Bridge management team. And Granger could kick him out of the NIS Board too. AFC loss. As for the planned toll increases, the Opposition Leader will likely "demand" [ ] that the bridge management rescind and relieve Berbice folks of such steep charges. He will succeed. Berbice voters will applaud and fill the Cup. They will throw away the AFC Key.

Folks, Gilly's crystal ball is cloudy; don't read much into his "prediction". Just having fun.

Why cant Berbician secede from the rest of Guyana?...they night be better off....

Do you think the County will be better ? there was a survey the people don't want that.

Division and walls don't bring harmony.

Who would support Berbice if they separate.  The PPP abused them for votes and the present government ended their source of employment.

The PPP says it is categorically opposed to the planned toll increases.

that's cute

now ask Jagdeo pardna, Berbice Bridge bassman Babby Ramroop how he feel

then circle back and ask Soviet-trained 'economist' Jagdeo wuh business model he use to build a pontoon bridge that ain't viable unless you charge US$40.00 for one car to cross

bearing in mind that Burnham build a 'viable' wan over the Demerara River where traffic crossing for a pittance forty years now and counting

alyuh Robb Street lifers think Berbicians terminally schtupid

The idea of the PNC is to bankrupt the bridge to get it on a fire sale.  Dem guh bail out NIS and screw over everyone else.  Dem PNC wutliss no ass. 

don't the US40.00/car math seh that the bridge bankrupt ALREADY! . . . huh?

in fact, the predatory set up MASTERMINDED by Jagdeo ordained that this happen!

you are a poor comedian

I was thinking to drive from GT to Paramaribo but I would have to think about that some more. It might be cheaper to fly from Ogle. 

Fly from Ogle, a lot safer. You might not even depart GT safely. Add the $ 80 PNC supported increase in fees to the Berbice bridge and it adds up to Highway Robbery.

Fly from Ogle. 

I was thinking to drive from GT to Paramaribo but I would have to think about that some more. It might be cheaper to fly from Ogle. 

Fly from Ogle, a lot safer. You might not even depart GT safely. Add the $ 80 PNC supported increase in fees to the Berbice bridge and it adds up to Highway Robbery.

Fly from Ogle. 

Looks like you using goat dung in the sling shot.

Fly from Ogle. 

Thanks, I saw the same thing but if I had said anything, he'd think I was picking on him.

Fly from Ogle. 

Thanks, I saw the same thing but if I had said anything, he'd think I was picking on him.

Them bhais,thinks they are smart hoping the resonance will be heard.

Bai, this was an AFC political ploy that backfired on them.

Yuji, didn't the Coalition Government reduce the toll? How is this backfiring on them? I think it's more of a PPP ploy. Jagdeo will get his friends to "agree" not to raise the toll and "save" the Berbicians.

He forgot the Gov't currently subsiding the Berbice Bridge Toll.

Coalition Govt responsible for hikes in Berbice Bridge tolls – PPP

â€Ķdid not follow financial model that guaranteed minimal increases
â€Ķas Govt opposed increase; to review legal options

While the Government is digging its heels in when it comes to impending increases in tolls to use the Berbice Bridge, the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has weighed in on the saga by calling the Government out for precipitating the toll increases.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

According to the Party on Tuesday, a formula for minor increases was supposed to be in place – increases that would have lessened the impact on commuters. Instead, however, the Party noted that Government abandoned this formula and even tinkered with it.
“Had the Coalition Government pursued the financial model used by the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Administration, there would have been no proposed increases of this magnitude. The Bridge was built around a financial model that did not envisage such massive increases in tolls.

While the Government is digging its heels in when it comes to impending increases in tolls to use the Berbice Bridge, the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has weighed in on the saga by calling the Government out for precipitating the toll increases.

According to the Party on Tuesday, a formula for minor increases was supposed to be in place – increases that would have lessened the impact on commuters. Instead, however, the Party noted that Government abandoned this formula and even tinkered with it.
“Had the Coalition Government pursued the financial model used by the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Administration, there would have been no proposed increases of this magnitude. The Bridge was built around a financial model that did not envisage such massive increases in tolls.

So these "MINOR" Increases would have reached GY$8000+ this year.

They the PPP build a bridge with No pedestrian walkway . Bycycles ar not allowed, the ferry and speedboat cannot operate. ONLY vehicles can cross witha very expensive toll to cross. 

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

They the PPP build a bridge with No pedestrian walkway . Bycycles ar not allowed, the ferry and speedboat cannot operate. ONLY vehicles can cross witha very expensive toll to cross. 

Government should bring the ferries back. Advise the local minibus operators to divide themselves into 2 groups. One taking passengers to the ferry and the other transporting them on the other side. Minibus operators operating on the other side of the bridge cross once and cross back at the end of the day.

Fly from Ogle. 

Thank you.  

Pointblank posted:

Government should bring the ferries back. Advise the local minibus operators to divide themselves into 2 groups. One taking passengers to the ferry and the other transporting them on the other side. Minibus operators operating on the other side of the bridge cross once and cross back at the end of the day.

Excellent Idea. The problem is having politicians to implement it.