Originally Posted by Vish M:
Gilkaka,

you are pushing this just too far......this place is not for the Gita

I live and die by one principle:

Money talks and BS walks.

Your Bhagavad Gita does not endorse that principle. My copy says otherwise.

Point taken, Vish. You have to understand that yuji22 and I get along just fine despite our opposing politics. I know how far to push his button and vice versa. You would have noticed that I let his point about the Mahabharrat and politics pass.

Not a problem, Vish. We're cool.

Vish, is our home town boy he is cool.

Originally Posted by Django:

You two not real Guyanese people, you suppose to cuss up mattie right about now. Gill you too soff. hehhe

Yall doan bother with me yeh I just watch myself in a movie, well he does a good role of me, Al Pacino in The Devil's Advocate.

yuh like mek truble.

Now how de ass you come up with dat? Anything to do with drowin fish?

I think I'm in shit now with that banna, hehehe

Originally Posted by Django:

You two not real Guyanese people, you suppose to cuss up mattie right about now. Gill you too soff. hehhe

Yall doan bother with me yeh I just watch myself in a movie, well he does a good role of me, Al Pacino in The Devil's Advocate.

yuh like mek truble.

Now how de ass you come up with dat? Anything to do with drowin fish?

I think I'm in shit now with that banna, hehehe

ha..ha.ha you telling Gil,he too soff he shud start

a fight you r...s na know Vish is from our

neck'o'woods...na man yuh aaright cool bro.

Indians are not 40% of the population and the PPP getting 90% of them.  That is 36%.

Then they will get a 5% from Amerindians and 8% from Mixed and other.

That is not 50%

ADD  36+5+8 Less than 50%.

That's 49%, well within the margin of error.  It is 50:50.  The dynamics of the week before the election, and election day itself will determine who the victor will be.

By the way your 5% and 8% I think are a bit high and your 36% a bit low.

Originally Posted by TK:

The openly racial campaigning and bringing up the past is scaring some Indians, but turning off the few Afros who vote PPP. Also turning off some of the relatively larger mixed population who vote for PPP. The election has teeth. For the first time since 1992, I can't say PPP will win an election. None of this is helpful when the Indo population is between 35 to 39%.

Well, you join PNC even though you saw and experienced PNC supporters racism in 2011.  Remember, you could not go to any Afro neighborhoods without your AFC T-shirt fully displayed on your chest.

The PPP is not only winning with the Indian population, they got 49% in 2011 after a defection of approx 6-7% to the AFC.  Was just on the phone with my GT connections, not PPP, just friends.  Looks like the PPP will be returned with a handsome majority, 54% at a minimum.  That makes it over 10% non-Indian vote.

Indians are not 40% of the population and the PPP getting 90% of them.  That is 36%.

That is not 50%

Hey, talk lies hard and long enough does not make it the truth.  Banna, I thought you learnt your lesson back in 2011.

 Remember, you could not go to any Afro neighborhoods without your AFC T-shirt fully displayed on your chest.

What a lie. Last time the AFc was also running against the PNC and boasting that it would replace them in parliament as the largest opposition party. 

The AFC represented more of a threat to the PNC last time than did the PPP.  The PNC knew that the PPP wasn't going to make inroads into PNC support bases.  They had already seen the AFC do so in 2006, resulting in abysmally bad performance by the PNC.

 Remember, you could not go to any Afro neighborhoods without your AFC T-shirt fully displayed on your chest.

What a lie. Last time the AFc was also running against the PNC and boasting that it would replace them in parliament as the largest opposition party. 

The AFC represented more of a threat to the PNC last time than did the PPP.  The PNC knew that the PPP wasn't going to make inroads into PNC support bases.  They had already seen the AFC do so in 2006, resulting in abysmally bad performance by the PNC.

You know not what you say.  Basemen was there and questioned the AFC's soft line regarding the PNC record while attacking the PPP with everything they has.  I had a certain apprehension and the results of the voting proved out my suspicions.

Originally Posted by TK:

The openly racial campaigning and bringing up the past is scaring some Indians, but turning off the few Afros who vote PPP. Also turning off some of the relatively larger mixed population who vote for PPP. The election has teeth. For the first time since 1992, I can't say PPP will win an election. None of this is helpful when the Indo population is between 35 to 39%.

Well, you join PNC even though you saw and experienced PNC supporters racism in 2011.  Remember, you could not go to any Afro neighborhoods without your AFC T-shirt fully displayed on your chest.

The PPP is not only winning with the Indian population, they got 49% in 2011 after a defection of approx 6-7% to the AFC.  Was just on the phone with my GT connections, not PPP, just friends.  Looks like the PPP will be returned with a handsome majority, 54% at a minimum.  That makes it over 10% non-Indian vote.

This is patently false, there are a litany of pictures with Gerhard and others in what would be considered PNC neighborhoods none of them had on AFC shirts.

Total and utter bullshit.

We all have to admit that the PNC's tenure from 1964 to 1992 was really friggin terrible by any measure. We can point to some instances of competence or what not but largely it was pretty awful.

Correction.  It was hell between 1978 and 1990.  Guyana was in a good place before then, and Hoyte blocked the Jagan communists from turning Guyana into Cuba.  Had Cheddi directly replaces Jagan look at Cuba and see what Guyana would have been today.  In fact Guyana would have been worse, given that it started at a more backward place to begin with.

Caribny, the Berlin wall came down in 1989 and the Soviet system with the Warsaw Pact countries came down with it. The Socialist International (the fraternal communist parties controlled by Moscow) was not what it was. The PPP supporters in the Diaspora was meaningful at that point. So I could not see how a Cheddi Jagan-led PPP would have taken Guyana the Cuban route. Note that Michael Manley in Jamaica was suitably changed also and I don't think Cheddi would have been not affected.

That is not 50%

Kishan, if the population breakdown is the same as the registered voters which is the same as actual voters then your logic may hold some water. However Caribny has given the clearest indication of the relationship of the different races' percentage of the population and assuming racial voting the relationship of the different races' actual voting. What he showed by GECOM's figures and the regions results, the percentage of Amerindian voters who register and of those who register the percentage of those registered who actually voted and compared that to the Indians, the latter has a higher effective voting traffic. Likewise Indians compared with Blacks is also higher. Even if you compute a 66% to 33% of mixed-race voting to the PNC (now the coalition), the point being made is that there is no linear relationship between the Indians’ 42% or so of the population and that percentage of their votes minus the 5% who will vote for the other party or stay home.