Stand firm against division - President urges Guyanese at GTT’s Diwali event

Georgetown, GINA, October 26, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo lights diya at GTT’s Diwali fair also in photo- Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, CEO GTT, Yog Mahadeo and Georgetown Mayor Hamilton Green

As we celebrate Diwali we must ensure we understand its significance, which represents not only good over evil but also the pursuit of enlightenment, where societies can be compassionate if they are considerable, President Bharrat Jagdeo remarked at the closing ceremony for the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph company (GT&T) Diwali event, at the Avenue, Camp and New Market Streets.

President Jagdeo, addressing the gathering, stated that this festival celebrates light and is therefore important for its significance that cuts across all cultures, since we all seek for the domination of good over evil, change, openness and continuity in our lives.

Young attendee at GTT Diwali event poses for a picture with the Head of State

The Head of State alluded to the fact that, “though we come from varying origins thereby possessing varying cultures”, in Guyana today there is one culture drawn from the origins of all its citizens, which helps the country in moving forward.

“Be watchful of those that seek to divide us... This goes back to the colonial days where we were divided as a people... We must fight against those who try to divide us because if we see ourselves as separate we will never realize the promises that Guyana as a country can achieve,” President Jagdeo said.

The Head of State also delivered remarks to a large gathering that converged at the La Bonne Intention (LBI) Community centre ground for the Grand Diwali Motorcade last evening, at an event that has now become a 40-year-old tradition which was kept alive by the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha.

At the event, President Jagdeo encouraged all Guyanese to embrace Diwali as part of the nation’s culture, regardless of their religious persuasion and understand the significance of lighting of the diya.

Attendees at GTT Diwali event lighting diya

Jagdeo is the divider, harbouring liars, crooks, thieves and drug barons. AFC and APNU reprsent the racial, cultural and economic diversity of the Guyanese people. Can't wait to see this disgrace for President of our beutiful country go into the midnight. Good riddance for God's sake!
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Spice Girl:
AFC and APNU reprsent the racial, cultural and economic diversity of the Guyanese people. /QUOTE]

Poor baby! Youn only can fool your self..

I always know that you were stupid..
HE IS THE GREATEST CARIBBEAN LEADER WHO BROUGHT OUR NATION FROM WHITE-MOUTH, STARVATION AND DESTRUCTION TO A PROGRESSIVE AND PROSPEROUS COUNTRY.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Jagdeo is the divider, harbouring liars, crooks, thieves and drug barons. AFC and APNU reprsent the racial, cultural and economic diversity of the Guyanese people. Can't wait to see this disgrace for President of our beutiful country go into the midnight. Good riddance for God's sake!
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
AFC and APNU reprsent the racial, cultural and economic diversity of the Guyanese people. /QUOTE]

Poor baby! Youn only can fool your self..

I always know that you were stupid..

Read this and weep Rama

This was said by Moses...ex PPP man, read nuh.

“I have always been committed to the formation in this country of broad coalitions that work for common goals and I believe someday this country will see and must see a government of national unity ,” Nagamootoo said at the Georgetown office from which he runs his legal practice.

Higlighted area means, it aint so at the moment.
Originally posted by Nehru:
HE IS THE GREATEST CARIBBEAN LEADER WHO BROUGHT OUR NATION FROM WHITE-MOUTH, STARVATION AND DESTRUCTION TO A PROGRESSIVE AND PROSPEROUS COUNTRY.

you really confused...when did you ever starve in Guyana? You had to be real stupid to starve in Guyana... Big Grin