Why do not Trotman et al check Amazon .com and validate for themselves a 15 x 18 x 2 slab of purple heart or wamara is in the area of 3 to 5 hundred US.  It mans one tree can produce close to a million us processed. We get a few dollars per. The Chinese do not care and will come up with one excuse after another to do what the always do...never deliver and siphon every available dollar out of an economy in terms of natural recourse and in commerce. They see us as big fat juicy steaks to gobble up. Note they are eery where in Guyana dumping poor products and slopping up cash while owning everything making us one big fat cash cow for them. That they do not have money to meet their commitments is bullshit.

BaiShanLin wants two years more to set up processing plant

November 6, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

By Kiana Wilburg

The APNU+AFC Government appears to have stayed its hand in the move to sanction those logging companies that have failed to establish facilities which would add value to Guyana’s highly valued woods.

Minister of Governance, Raphael Trotman

Chinese logging giant, Bai Shan Lin wants two more years to get its long-awaited wood-processing facility up and running and it seems as though this has been granted by the new administration, regardless of the fact that such a commitment to the Guyanese people had not been fulfilled for over ten years.

This was made known yesterday during a post-Cabinet meeting with the press at the Ministry of the Presidency.

Minister of Governance, Raphael Trotman, was questioned about his threat some months ago to reveal the action which will be taken by the end of October, should Bai Shan Lin and others fail to make any moves to add value to Guyana’s lumber exports.

But up to yesterday, the government seemed to have modified its position against the defaulting company.

Trotman said, “In terms of Bai Shan Lin, we had met with them on successive occasions and we have had discussions with other foreign companies that have been in the forestry sector. Bai Shan Lin as we know and I don’t think it’s a secret that it has not complied in its entirety. I have met with representatives of the China Development Bank who of course are financing Bai Shan Lin.

“I am led to believe that the company itself is in the process of restructuring. Then it will reengage with the government, but as for now there has been a pause because there has been a process of restructuring its corporate activities and seeking new financing from China Development Bank.”

The Governance Minister also said that when he last spoke with the company (and this was three weeks ago), he was informed that the Chinese logging company was in no position to have the mills that it said it would have imported within the next ten months.
As a result of this sad situation for the company he said, “They have asked for two years and we have had discussions with them about an alternative mill and that is on board. But as I said, much depends on Bai Shan Lin securing the financing.”

Bai Shan Lin is the very company which Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, had said, mimics the behaviour of a bacterium called spirogyra. He had said during the 2015 election season that this “bacterium” gobbles what it wants and keeps splitting and spreading and that is exactly what Bai Shan Lin is doing.
He had said, “With the rate at which this spirogyra (Bai Shan Lin) is going, when you get to my age, Bai Shan Lin would have gobbled up everything.
“But let it be known that once the laws of the country are breached by foreign or local companies, we will speak about it and we will take action. The level of examination and action to follow will surly arrest this wanton destruction of our forests.”

Bai Shan Lin had given conflicting reasons in the past to justify the delay of establishing this wood-processing facility. In fact, Commissioner of the Guyana Forestry Commission (GFC), James Singh a few months ago had also revealed that the company indicated to him that the current holdup is as a result of “financial difficulties.”

Singh had explained, “They told us that they have been experiencing some financial difficulties in the sense that they were unable to meet some bench marks for certain lending agencies…We met with them and they had some concerns. They indicated to us that they met with some government officials and are expected to submit a revised programme in relation to the facility to them and wait for it to be reviewed.”
He had said, too, that a team from the China Development Bank also accompanied the Chinese company to the meeting. The Commissioner said that he told Bai Shan Lin to make the wood processing facility their “priority.”

Singh said that the company promised that once the “financial difficulties” are over, it will also submit the revised programme on the facility to the Commission.

A few months ago, Trotman had told the media that the companies this time around will not escape sanctions for should they fail to make good on their promise then their contracts will be reviewed for termination.
Trotman who is also vested with some responsibility for the natural resources of the nation had explained that Government will be looking at the concessions that have been granted to certain, if not all companies in the forestry sector.

Presidential Advisor on Sustainable Development, Dr. Clive Thomas, had said that the behaviour of the logging companies such as Bai Shan Lin which have benefitted significantly from Guyana’s forest resources is absolutely “unacceptable”.

He said too that he will be recommending to the David Granger-led administration for some of their concessions to be taken away.
“Guyana cannot continue to be giving out hundreds of millions of dollars worth in these tax breaks or concessions and we aren’t benefitting from value added operations. If companies make a commitment to do so then the ethical thing to do is to deliver what was promised. If not, their concessions should be taken away,” the economist had said.

In 2014, BaiShan Lin blamed the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-Invest) for delaying its application for its wood processing factory. In one of its advertisements, the company stated that in 2008, it applied to the “Government of Guyana, through the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-Invest) and other agencies, to lease lands to set up a factory to process logs and engage in value-added production, such as the making of furniture, craft and hardwood flooring.”

It had said then that it was experiencing delays.
Kaieteur News later reported that GO-Invest had no such application. BaiShanLin had nothing to say when this was revealed. This caused many, including the then opposition, to challenge the previous government to make public the investment agreement it signed onto with the Chinese logging company. This was never done.
In April, the company then blamed the “hostile” media reports during 2014 for dispiriting financiers.

In a statement, the Chinese company had said that it is concerned about the apparent “misrepresentations and false reports” being carried by some sections of the media on its operations in Guyana. It identified Kaieteur News as the leader of the “hostile” campaign and even cited a KN article with the headline: ‘BaiShanLin delays US$70M wood processing factory for gold, housing, logging.’
But in its statement, it did not deny that it was approved ‘US$70M’ for certain activities.
With regard to the wood processing plant in the Linden area that was to be constructed, BaiShanLin, one of the largest exporters of the country’s prime species of wood, had complained that it has indeed suffered major setbacks in completing its wood processing facility that will create hundreds of jobs for Guyanese.

It claimed that these “setbacks” directly relate to lack of adequate funding from its financiers, who, since last year “when these sustained attacks began,” became concerned about the “soundness of investing further in what appeared to be a hostile environment.”

As I mentioned before, one set of crooks replaced by another set in govt.

Only the gullible like you actually thought that the AFC/APNU meant what they promised in the elections campaign.

Notice the Stabroek and Kaiteur no longer carry articles about the "evil" Chinese exploiting Guyana. Even crime is now relegated to the back pages. 

Hydro Seed I see you agree that the PPP/Cabal were a set of crooks. The current set in govt pale in comparison.

Just Look at Goodie Walla Today..........

Only the gullible like you actually thought that the AFC/APNU meant what they promised in the elections campaign.

Notice the Stabroek and Kaiteur no longer carry articles about the "evil" Chinese exploiting Guyana. Even crime is now relegated to the back pages. 

Godey_Walla.....You use to flash yuh Big_Seed here before elections and never once said Jagdeo & Ramotar are Crooks.

Yuh keep saying Jagdeo & Ramotar got big_Seed.......

but yuh never admit it was a Godie dem forcing pun de Guyanese.

Like someone is a afraid to say that Guyana in under a Blackman ruler that only know to destroy a country. 

Surprise for you,sit back and watch how development will be

achieved in the next 5 yrs.

Like someone is a afraid to say that Guyana in under a Blackman ruler that only know to destroy a country. 

The PPP and your racist shit will continue to destroy Guyana.

Is everything black man or coolie man for you ?

As long as race in Guyana is brought into a  topic, there will never be any good for the country.

Deal with your racist mind, there will always be two major races in Guyana.   

Originally Posted by Django:

I believe Jagdeo and the PPP are afraid of discipline taking place in Guyana.

It will be harder for them to remain corrupt and lawless, as they were.   

Go back to your history book and see who put Guyana back on the world map? Take a look at Guyana under the PNC rule and compare it to the PPP? You have to be a neemakaram to tell me otherwise.

In your family, do you dwell on the shit that occurred in the past, or do you try to find a way to heal wounds and go forward ?

You sound like an immature kid.

Does your brain have a forward gear, or is it always backwards ? 

The current government is a make up of multiple parties,it is not

PNC.The days of the PNC have ended 23 yrs ago.Post mortem

don't bring back the dead,let us look for a better future for the

Guyanese people.The PPP created a narco state.

Why do not Trotman et al check Amazon .com and validate for themselves a 15 x 18 x 2 slab of purple heart or wamara is in the area of 3 to 5 hundred US.  It mans one tree can produce close to a million us processed. We get a few dollars per. The Chinese do not care and will come up with one excuse after another to do what the always do...never deliver and siphon every available dollar out of an economy in terms of natural recourse and in commerce. They see us as big fat juicy steaks to gobble up. Note they are eery where in Guyana dumping poor products and slopping up cash while owning everything making us one big fat cash cow for them. That they do not have money to meet their commitments is bullshit.

November 6, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

By Kiana Wilburg

The APNU+AFC Government appears to have stayed its hand in the move to sanction those logging companies that have failed to establish facilities which would add value to Guyana’s highly valued woods.

I though alyuh had all the answers, is weh all the fat mouth white mouth PNC/AFC goons these days?

The current government is the PNC.  They have already eaten up all those multiple parties that you are talking about.  If you really think the days of the PNC ended 23 years ago, you are living in a cave.  Look into the current cabinet and see how many of them were Burnham boys.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

The current government is the PNC.  They have already eaten up all those multiple parties that you are talking about.  If you really think the days of the PNC ended 23 years ago, you are living in a cave.  Look into the current cabinet and see how many of them were Burnham boys.

How many in the PPP are Jagan boys and look how greedy and corrupt they turn out. Mansions galore, PPP style !!

Period No, now is the time to take some kind of action, these people has been shoving their fingers in the eyes of the Guyanese for the longest while.

Just Look at Goodie Walla Today..........

Godey_Walla.....You use to flash yuh Big_Seed here before elections and never once said Jagdeo & Ramotar are Crooks.

Yuh keep saying Jagdeo & Ramotar got big_Seed.......

but yuh never admit it was a Godie dem forcing pun de Guyanese.

Dude

watch the personal attacks

Originally Posted by Tola:
Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

How many in the PPP are Jagan boys and look how greedy and corrupt they turn out. Mansions galore, PPP style !!

No one stopping you from building one!

Right now, development is stagnant. there is no Job creation plan and no revenue collecting strategy.  The Government is spending what was left by the PPP.  The government is making good their promise to get rid of PPP appointees in the Government. They already borrowed US$1 billion. The country in serious decline and the brain drain has started and all the PNC can do is threaten the Indo_Guyanese population.

Which paper you read,me notice lots of indo get gov't

contracts,one of them open a new Insurance branch

in Berbice.

Which paper you read,me notice lots of indo get gov't

contracts,one of them open a new Insurance branch

in Berbice.

The contracts are for maintenance, and the spending is money left over from the PPP coffers.  Before you folks were screaming that the PPP were discriminating in handing out contracts. CaribJ in particular. Now it look like you all quiet as the afc/apnu continue to use the same set of contractors that the PPP did.  No more cries or marginalization is now heard from you bunch as long as there is black on black discrimination. 

Development  should happen as they inherited a thriving economy and the leader of the opposition already said they will support anything that's good for Guyana.  Unlike the PNC and their side kick, who use every opportunity to block development.  There has been no burning and looting and no destruction of national assets like the PNC did.

  No more cries or marginalization is now heard from you bunch as long as there is black on black discrimination. 

You don't really know what is happening.  Quietly, quietly, demands are being made.

If you don't know what's happening, maybe you ought to keep quiet.

Development  should happen as they inherited a thriving economy

Economy was in DECLINE in the first 6 months. The PPP was in charge for 5 of those months.  Sugar was in decline, as were bauxite, and gold.  The rice farmers were screaming in 2014, and threatening not to support the PPP.

So how "thriving" was the economy?

I expect more anti black screams from you instead of solid evidence that the economy was in good shape on May 2015.

I do NOT even have to mention that in mid May Guysuco announced that it couldn't meet payroll.

Economy was in DECLINE in the first 6 months. The PPP was in charge for 5 of those months.  Sugar was in decline, as were bauxite, and gold.  The rice farmers were screaming in 2014, and threatening not to support the PPP.

I expect more anti black screams from you instead of solid evidence that the economy was in good shape on May 2015.

I do NOT even have to mention that in mid May Guysuco announced that it couldn't meet payroll.

Caribj, point of inflection due to elections.  It's now for the PNC to stabilize and return the country to growth.  The PNC did not inherit a bankrupt economy mired in debt payments.  They voted themselves large salary increases because they could given the economic reality.  The problems you hearing about, the PPP was dealing with these.  As you said, the rice farmers, sugar workers, etc where always agitating one way or another.  Now deal with it.

  No more cries or marginalization is now heard from you bunch as long as there is black on black discrimination. 

You don't really know what is happening.  Quietly, quietly, demands are being made.

It looks like the afc/apnu stepped right into the PPP's clothes, dirty underwear and all. But since it is black man in charge, you stay quiet while your black brothers are denied contracts. It is funny how black people tolerance for punishment escalates when their own blacks are the perpetrators. 

Here is a topic that everyone should, by virtue of patriotism and desire to conserve the natural environment that is our identity and out of t he walls comes the hordes of troglodytes, waste persons, assorted idiots, the usual bigots and local contingency of idiots that seem to call this place home. Hardly a response to the salient features that would say there is a heighten awareness to the environment; nothing indicating you heartless vermin care about anything but your personal crabbiness and insular bigotry. This is not about APNU or PPP. It is about our legacy as a people, our country which is being bled dry by the Chinese pirate multinationals, and a careless greedy government turns a blind eye.

Now go cut their ass and stop crying like a lil girly.

Here is a topic that everyone should, by virtue of patriotism and desire to conserve the natural environment that is our identity and out of the walls comes the hordes of troglodytes, waste persons, assorted idiots, the usual bigots and local contingency of idiots that seem to call this place home. Hardly a response to the salient features that would say there is a heighten awareness to the environment; nothing indicating you heartless vermin care about anything but your personal crabbiness and insular bigotry. This is not about APNU or PPP. It is about our legacy as a people, our country which is being bled dry by the Chinese pirate multinationals, and a careless greedy government turns a blind eye.

You, by your natural brutish disposition and absurdly misogynistic urges, think  our women's  voices are irrelevant hence the stupid simile. But you cannot help being stupid.

This is as any disapproving complaint is not to people in power who do not listen but to inform on attitudes. If these people are as impervious to what is essential to us and more focused on their own political survival and they are no different from those that came before them we have a habit of disregard that is chronic in the system that only a grass root rejection of the attitude can make a difference.

It is therefore necessary to highlight this as information to the people that it is intolerable and one cannot support this as routine political behavior. I do not target the obdurate political neglectful leaders to change. These would not be motivated to do so by a lonely voice. I target others that a hue and a cry may be raised that catches  on in the society that cannot be ignored. It is a heavy lift but a necessary one in any case

Here is a topic that everyone should, by virtue of patriotism and desire to conserve the natural environment that is our identity and out of t he walls comes the hordes of troglodytes, waste persons, assorted idiots, the usual bigots and local contingency of idiots that seem to call this place home. Hardly a response to the salient features that would say there is a heighten awareness to the environment; nothing indicating you heartless vermin care about anything but your personal crabbiness and insular bigotry. This is not about APNU or PPP. It is about our legacy as a people, our country which is being bled dry by the Chinese pirate multinationals, and a careless greedy government turns a blind eye.

That Chinese Company is small player in comparison to Other Chinese companies at the current time. As with all Chinese, business is the motivation, and very big business. BSL sees the opportunity in Guyana-for them and not Guyanese. 

BSL will appease the government with small investments. Just to pull the wool over Trotman's eyes. BSL aim is to grow in China and not in Guyana. And the GOG MUST RECOGNIZE it. And deal with it. It is a tough decision. They have to be in a hurry, because the Chinese will cut every tree down overnight if they have to. And Guyanese will help them to do it.

For the type of wood products BSL claims it wants to do in Guyana. It is not possible for them to do it at this time. Guyanese workforce are untrained for such ventures. It is immediate upon the GOG to conceive pilot projects to improve the skills AND WORK ETHIC of Guyanese.

Also, government officers needs to be calm in spirit. They are the ones who will permit employment opportunities for their fellow Guyanese.

That Chinese Company is small player in comparison to Other Chinese companies at the current time. As with all Chinese, business is the motivation, and very big business. BSL sees the opportunity in Guyana-for them and not Guyanese. 

BSL will appease the government with small investments. Just to pull the wool over Trotman's eyes. BSL aim is to grow in China and not in Guyana. And the GOG MUST RECOGNIZE it. And deal with it. It is a tough decision. They have to be in a hurry, because the Chinese will cut every tree down overnight if they have to. And Guyanese will help them to do it.

For the type of wood products BSL claims it wants to do in Guyana. It is not possible for them to do it at this time. Guyanese workforce are untrained for such ventures. It is immediate upon the GOG to conceive pilot projects to improve the skills AND WORK ETHIC of Guyanese.

Also, government officers needs to be calm in spirit. They are the ones who will permit employment opportunities for their fellow Guyanese.

Good presentation here, Siggy. I agree with you.

The Chinese attitude is predictable to those who care to look and listen. It is never to optimize business in places like Guyana. It is to extract all it can. There is a global cry against the shipment of lumber to China. They literally have decades of logs stockpiled there from all over the world. Chinese companies are not independent companies. There is only one Chinese logging companies with thousands of trade names. Also it is illegal to cut logs in China. These companies proliferate to extract not to preserve or to build any thing.

The Guyanese government knows this. They simply have to go on line to see the same excuse is used everywhere. The government does not care. It turns a blind eye for the same reasons that hardly any environmental group ever win against the Chinese. They bribe government officials with gifts monies, trips, scholarships loans and constantly defer any regulations against them.  As I said, just go on line to see the amount a slab of Wamara costs. We sell a five hundred year old three for a few dollars. We only make about 14 million a year from all that damage. As I remind others, the Chinese pandas to the US make that much per year as recurring costs for their rentals. Meanwhile these people kill tigers, extract elephants and rhinos indiscriminately from Africa. In Guyana they shoot anything they see since they are given carry permits for high powered rifles.

HEHEHEHEHE Einstein is alive and well

Nehru Bhai

I am laughing my head of. Guyana is headed to economic depression and these AFC Cool Aid drinkers are making a complete fool of themselves.

Nehru Bhai

I am laughing my head of. Guyana is headed to economic depression and these AFC Cool Aid drinkers are making a complete fool of themselves.

What comes first? Political affiliation or progress for all Guyanese. You sound as if u r hoping for calamities.

Caribj, point of inflection due to elections.  It's now for the PNC to stabilize and return the country to growth.

The APNU/AFC inherited an economy which remained dependent on the export of raw commodities, therefore an economy dependent on prices over which it had no control.

APNU/AFC inherited in economy based on commodities which were inefficient, and therefore uncompetitive, and as a result, in decline.

Sugar survived only because the EU paid higher guaranteed prices, and bought guaranteed amounts of raw sugar, even though it had no use for it.  The EU being a NET sugar EXPORTER.

Rice survived only because of a political deal, which was extended, based on the whims and fancies of Guyana's mortal enemy, and was going to cease THIS MONTH.  A broke Venezuela now wants to buy cheap rice, which Guyana doesn't supply!  They now buy subsidized US rice, and plan to buy cheap Uruguayan rice.  Suriname, with an industry even more inefficient than is Guyana's got a deal, only to spite Guyana.

APNU/AFC inherited Guysuco which is bankrupt, and survives only because of massive bail outs, which cannot be sustained.

APNU/AFC inherited an economy which was propped up by high gold prices.  With gold prices tumbling, and with it gold production, as more marginal producers are being squeezed out the country is in a perfect storm.  LESS gold PRODUCED and LOWER prices.

Now you can peddle PPP lies and PPP racism, but then you lose all credibility.

You CANNOT prove how the PPP has improved the economy, more Guyana further up the value chain, or transformed it from a price taking inefficient economy selling RAW commodities to one selling value added goods and services with some price setting capabilities.

My issue isn't that APNU/AFC has destroyed the economy.  It is that they lack the expertise and innovativeness to drag it out of the hole where the PPP left.

BTW don't you look stupid screaming that we shouldn't blame the PPP for what they did 5 months ago, yet we should continue to blame Burnham for what he did 30 years ago.

Hoyte arrested the decline in the economy.  Contrary to year LIES, Jagan took over from Hoyte an economy which was enjoying STRONG GROWTH.  I suggest that you look at economic performance in 1991, 1992, and I will also credit 1993, which grew based on Hoyte reforms. 

Note the slowdown by the late 1990s, as the effects of these reforms wore out.  The growth of the 2008-2013 was due to a commodity bubble, which has now burst as speculators have moved on, and China is no longer able to swallow raw commodities exported from South America and Africa.

I am sure that TK can sure year on year growth to bolster my point.

It looks like the afc/apnu stepped right into the PPP's clothes, dirty underwear and all. But since it is black man in charge, you stay quiet while your black brothers are denied contracts. It is funny how black people tolerance for punishment escalates when their own blacks are the perpetrators. 

Here you admit that the APNU/AFC stepped into filth created by the PPP< and yet they, and not the PPP must be blamed.

If contracts were awarded to people unable to perform contracts, YOU would be screaming Indo genocide.  23 years of PPP racism has meant that at this point few blacks companies are strong enough, as they have been starved of opportunity.

So do you suggest that APNU give people contracts when they cannot perform?  Or do you suggest that they award contracts to those who can perform, while giving others a chance to eventually compete, by encouraging them with smaller projects, or to bid as sub contractors?

But I realize that I am arguing with a moron, as you lack the intelligence, or integrity to under stand this.

Nehru Bhai

Were you also laughing when your idols in the PPP were also heading the country int a depression or is alright since is a sleazy thiefin Hindu Coolie rass doin it?

Nehru Bhai

Were you also laughing when your idols in the PPP were also heading the country int a depression or is alright since is a sleazy thiefin Hindu Coolie rass doin it?

CAIN YOU ARE HITTING TWO BIRDS WITH YOUR STONE,RELIGION AND RACE, OH BOY!!!!