SPECULATIONS ON PPP/C PM CANDIDATES

Robert Montgomery Persaud was born in Berbice, Guyana on May 9, 1974.

After completing secondary school, he showed an early interest in the media. He received his tutelage and mentorship in journalism under Fr. Andrew Morrison at the Catholic Standard. He also worked as a reporter at the Mirror newspaper under the editorship of former President of Guyana, Mrs. Janet Jagan and later became its Editor.

His love for the public service and his desire to improve his academic qualifications led him to pursue studies in the Public Communications in the United States and India. Upon his return to Guyana, he successfully read for a Bachelor of Arts Degree at the University of Guyana. Mr. Persaud later graduated from the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill) with a Master's Degree in Business Administration.

Mr. Persaud's political career began in his teens and saw his quick ascension as Chairman of the Progressive Youth Organisation, the youth arm of the People's Progressive Party. While today still a young man, he has acquired considerable experience at the highest levels of his party as he continues to serve as an elected member of both the Central Committee and Executive Committee. He is also the Secretary of his party's Mass Organisation Committee.

In 1999, he was appointed a Media Advisor to the President of Guyana. Mr. Persaud also served as the national coordinator of the Guyana Information Communications Technology Strategy (ICT4D Strategy).

In 2006, he was appointed as Minister of Agriculture. Under his remit, agriculture in Guyana is being modernized and transformed. Mr. Persaud remains the driving force behind the country's Grow More Food campaign as well as the being tasked with the responsibility for fisheries, livestock, other crops, bio-fuels, climate change unit, drainage and irrigation and forestry, all of which are under his leadership making remarkable strides. The diversification of Guyana’s agriculture is being advanced with the first dedicated project on agricultural diversification concluded in 2008.

Persaud is married and has a daughter and a son.

Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by SuperMike:
I don;t think it will be Robert

Hey Mike whats up bro? I will tend to agree with you, but lets say that there is no suitable candidate from within the Civic, then deals are always negotiated. Robert is a long shot....but I would not count him out.

i feel you bro but truss me it naa go be him.
Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
according to the PPP rules, the Prime ministerial candidate will have to be nominated from within the ranks of the CIVIC with whom they formed a partnership.

Do we know who are the ranks of the Civic component of the PPP? Sam Hinds and Roger Luncheon two for a start.

ppp still nah mek up their mind yet.

In 2006 they wanted to dump my respected elder Dr Forbes Lunchman, then they dump Navin the Youth, then the dump Moses the roses and they nah know whom fuh mek PM candidate.

Don't waste time, do not need since PPP will be sitting in opposition from January 1, 2012.