Keith Murray

A central Trinidad wife is blaming black magic for her husband’s disappearance.

Keith Murray, 39, did not return home from work last week Thursday and his family is pleading for the public’s assistance in finding him.

His wife, Radhay Maharaj, said her husband had not been himself for the past year and she was worried about his safety.

The family lives at Gail Trace, Palmiste, Longdenville.

Maharaj said her husband left his workplace, a woodwork factory in Cunupia, at around 5 p.m.

He took a taxi to Enterprise, Chaguanas, but never made it home.

“He would usually be home by 6 p.m. But when I didn’t see him I told my daughter to take a bligh and call the boss lady. The boss lady said my husband left work normal time. I waited all night for him and he did not come home. The next day I went to the police and made a report,” she said.

Maharaj said her husband recently returned to work as he had been acting strangely the past year.

“Someone cast a spirit on him and he was not himself. He was saying all kinds of strange things and acting up. I was the breadwinner in the family for a long time and he just went back to work. I don’t know what happened,” she said.

Maharaj, 51, said her husband would not turn his back on their family.

She said their two children – ages 19 and 16 – were traumatized and wanted their father to return home.

“My daughter was screaming for her daddy to come home. She said she not eating or drinking anything because he was out there with no money,” she said.

Maharaj distributed flyers throughout Longdenville on Monday, hoping that someone would have information on her husband’s whereabouts.

Anyone with information on Murray can contact 800-TIPS, 555, 999 or any police station.

https://www.trinidadexpress.co...zQnsU8g9f2aKbs8qc9p8

Them Trinis does meck me laugh. They have a number to call the police but not the obyah man. Them Trini love jeera poke. The man musse eat fuh glutton and start talk nonsense. Gumangala is what they call jeera in Trinidad. He musse get am good and prappa in he crack.  

As much as this story seems humorous, it has traditional implications that can ruin families who still believe in superstition. In Guyana, superstitious belief is being faded out, but in Trinidad, the belief is still a way of life for many. It's not easy being a Trini and believe that your husband/wife has a spell cast on them. If you come home one day and behave abnormal, it's the gumangala aka jeera that's taking effect on you. Women mostly believe in this because most of them practice it regularly. Do you know why the majority of Trini women drink hand in hand with their husband or liming in bars by themselves? Trinidadians have a secret habit to exchange their spouses for a night. Yes, you heard that right. Instead of getting "Hunn" which means to have an extramarital affair, they believe its wise to do an exchange or barter and knows about it. Trinidadian men don't chop their wives when they get "Hunn". So, the cream of the story is that jeera and obeah are plentiful when somebody wants your man or woman. TBC.

You know how many times when I missing for day, I does seh a wan spell me had

The Trini women are like women in the Dominican Republic. They will steal you away from your wife in broad daylight. That's the reason I never asked you to join me on a little vacation over there. You stay right in RH. 

Them nah key if you foot bruck or you ass twist, if they want you, you become the man fuh them.  

He took a taxi to Enterprise, Chaguanas, but never made it home.

Maybe he took the taxi to Enterprise, East Coast Demerara.

Enterprise people wicked.