Some in migrant caravan 'have significant criminal histories,' from regions including Mideast: Homeland Security

Homeland Security officials said Tuesday that among the thousands of migrants heading for the United States border are some “gang members” and people with “significant criminal histories.”

Department spokesperson Tyler Houlton said on Twitter that the caravan, 7,000 migrants strong by some estimates, includes citizens not only of Central American countries, but also of the Middle East, Africa, South Asia and “elsewhere.”

“.@DHSgov can confirm that there are individuals within the caravan who are gang members or have significant criminal histories,” another tweet read. He did not offer more specifics.

The statement by the DHS reinforced an earlier tweet from President Trump, in which he maintained that the caravan included “criminals and unknown Middle Easterners.”

Trump also said as a result of the governments’ of Guatemala, Honduras and Mexico failing to stop the migrants, the U.S. would begin “cutting off, or substantially reducing” foreign aid.

The three countries received about $500 million from the U.S. in fiscal year 2017. That money funds programs that promote economic development and education, as well as supporting democracy and human rights. It was not immediately clear how deep the cuts might go, though the administration already had been pushing to reduce the government's global aid and foreign operations budget by about 30 percent for fiscal 2019, which began Oct. 1.

The caravan, estimated to include more than 7,000 people.

The caravan, estimated to include more than 7,000 people. (AP Photo/Moises Castillo)

The caravan has become a crucial talking point for Republicans ahead of midterm elections.

“Remember the Midterms!” Trump tweeted.

Fox News’ Andrew O’Reilly and The Associated Press contributed to this report.

https://www.foxnews.com/us/som...ing-mideast-dhs-says

Some in migrant caravan 'have significant criminal histories,' from regions including Mideast: Homeland Security

Homeland Security officials said Tuesday that among the thousands of migrants heading for the United States border are some “gang members” and people with “significant criminal histories.”

Department spokesperson Tyler Houlton said on Twitter that the caravan, 7,000 migrants strong by some estimates, includes citizens not only of Central American countries, but also of the Middle East, Africa, South Asia and “elsewhere.”

“.@DHSgov can confirm that there are individuals within the caravan who are gang members or have significant criminal histories,” another tweet read. He did not offer more specifics.

The statement by the DHS reinforced an earlier tweet from President Trump, in which he maintained that the caravan included “criminals and unknown Middle Easterners.”

Uncorroborated and unverified information ... as usual.

D_G, you must get a country and run it like lagoo-bagoo. We don't want another Obama danger to fall on Trump's head.

High probability.  In any case the entire flock needs to be stopped.  Let them keep this up, the marines need some work to do.  

I agree. You cannot allow the country to be invaded. Then every Tom, Dick, and Harry will organize a caravan an invade the south.

America has to protect its borders. Otherwise people will start loading up Caravans and seh:

”Me fed up wid life hey, pack up de caravan and let we go Merica, de Mercan border open, Canada smarten up and closed theirs”

D_G, you must get a country and run it like lagoo-bagoo. We don't want another Obama danger to fall on Trump's head.

Your absolute right to do so with full support.

you stick to protecting Cyanada borders.  If you feel so strongly about the caravan, get nice boy to fly in some jumbos and take them to Canada. 

America has to protect its borders. Otherwise people will start loading up Caravans and seh:

”Me fed up wid life hey, pack up de caravan and let we go Merica, de Mercan border open, Canada smarten up and closed theirs”

What was your thought set when you left Guyana to come to Canada??

High probability.  In any case the entire flock needs to be stopped.  Let them keep this up, the marines need some work to do.  

I cannot believe that you are that stupid.  They are not going to be able to enter the USA undetected given the massive publicity that this is generating. 

So why will terrorists enter using this method when they can sneak into all of those tunnels that Trump is to dumb to watch?  Better yet take a stroll over from Canada, which is the route that terrorists use, given that its unmonitored.

This is a bunch of poor desperate people who dont understand that nomadic existence no longer applies in the modern world, so unless they conform to the laws and/or prove a credible case for asylum they will not be admitted.  And even if they sneak in they will then become exploited modern slaves uncovered by labor laws.

Trump could have used this to make his point, but now going into hyperbole unless the brainwashed like you will listen to his screams.  For the rest of us we are more interested in those Trump supporters who think that they can engage in violence by sending bombs.

What the USA should do is to provide escort so these people can safely reach Canada. After all Trudeau loves to boast that Canada is the friendliest country in the world to immigrants and refugees.

you stick to protecting Cyanada borders.  If you feel so strongly about the caravan, get nice boy to fly in some jumbos and take them to Canada. 

If you from a shit hole country have a right to be in America, why can't they??They might by an asset to USA, they are not lazy, they are hard working people.

What the USA should do is to provide escort so these people can safely reach Canada. After all Trudeau loves to boast that Canada is the friendliest country in the world to immigrants and refugees.

Well bai Carib, you got us there. 

And btw those gangs that Trump loves to scream about are AMERICAN gangs, not Central American.  They began in the 80s when Central Americans fled the Reagan encouraged civil wars where he propped up brutal despots.  The kids were beaten up by US kids in Los Angeles and so set up their own gangs, and then were deported back to Central America.  They brought their US gangs with them.

So Trump can scream all he likes but its the USA which fostered the development of these gangs.

Well bai Carib, you got us there. 

Yes when Obama and Trump told the Haitians on TPS that they must go home. Canada jumped up and down, and with their usual anti US rant, welcomed immigrants.  They pushed their nose into an issue that they didn't understand and now thousands of Haitians are in Canada or headed there.

If you from a shit hole country have a right to be in America, why can't they??They might by an asset to USA, they are not lazy, they are hard working people.

Yes, you from s shithole country get admitted to Canada.  Give them passage to Canada.  

Every has the right to go through the process and come in a controlled.  Don’t swarm the border then complain about detention conditions. 

I cannot believe that you are that stupid.  They are not going to be able to enter the USA undetected given the massive publicity that this is generating. 

So why will terrorists enter using this method when they can sneak into all of those tunnels that Trump is to dumb to watch?  Better yet take a stroll over from Canada, which is the route that terrorists use, given that its unmonitored.

This is a bunch of poor desperate people who dont understand that nomadic existence no longer applies in the modern world, so unless they conform to the laws and/or prove a credible case for asylum they will not be admitted.  And even if they sneak in they will then become exploited modern slaves uncovered by labor laws.

Trump could have used this to make his point, but now going into hyperbole unless the brainwashed like you will listen to his screams.  For the rest of us we are more interested in those Trump supporters who think that they can engage in violence by sending bombs.

I know the score, I ain’t stupid.  They will come, create a mess and complain about detention conditions.  America may have to float a military solution like we did in Haiti. Thank you Bill Clinton.

There is too much US $$ in Central America for any "military" solution to be found.  If Trump doesn't want complaints about detention centers then he needs to stop ripping 2 y/o from their care givers or putting people in tents in the desert.

An American reporter with the caravan this morning, reported that the size is estimated at 4,500 and there is no Middle Easterners with the group.  These are poor people escaping poverty and safety created by international companies, including Americans, with mining and other interests. Destructive to  their life style, due to corrupt politicians, paid by these companies.

From my experience, San Cristobel, Tuxela and Tapacula  are poor places, not capable of supporting 4500 indigenous people.   

Omai, an international company in Guyana comes to mind, that almost destroyed the Essequibo river, with their tailing ponds.     

There is too much US $$ in Central America for any "military" solution to be found.  If Trump doesn't want complaints about detention centers then he needs to stop ripping 2 y/o from their care givers or putting people in tents in the desert.

There is a military solution.  We did in Panama and Haiti.  Do it once, the shyte would immediately stop!  Trump is being too soft. 

Bingo!  Comment of the Day!  

Tola posted:

An American reporter with the caravan this morning, reported that the size is estimated at 4,500 and there is no Middle Easterners with the group.  These are poor people escaping poverty and safety created by international companies, including Americans, with mining and other interests. Destructive to  their life style, due to corrupt politicians, paid by these companies.

From my experience, San Cristobel, Tuxela and Tapacula  are poor places, not capable of supporting 4500 indigenous people.   

Omai, an international company in Guyana comes to mind, that almost destroyed the Essequibo river, with their tailing ponds.     

Your anti-American sentiments shine through in great brilliance!  I believe Canada has great mining interest all around the world!  So step up!

What they need to do is organize and protest against their Govt's for a better social contract!

John O. Brennan
@JohnBrennan
Stop blaming others. Look in the mirror. Your inflammatory rhetoric, insults, lies, & encouragement of physical violence are disgraceful. Clean up your act....try to act Presidential. The American people deserve much better. BTW, your critics will not be intimidated into silence.

When violence with guns and bombs is the only solution, a society with failed leadership starts to disintegrate.

Canada better follow the US and build a wall now to prevent American Illegals from entering Canada. Tell Trump to stop sending illegals to Canada.

There are close to 15 million illegals in the US.  I'm with Carib on this one. Send them to Canada, a country that is much friendlier to immigrants and refugees.  Plus Canada has national healthcare.  Many of these people have measles, smallpox, and other diseases.  Canada has the good nature and the facilities to take care of all of them.

Canada better follow the US and build a wall now to prevent American Illegals from entering Canada. Tell Trump to stop sending illegals to Canada.

There are close to 15 million illegals in the US.  I'm with Carib on this one. Send them to Canada, a country that is much friendlier to immigrants and refugees.  Plus Canada has national healthcare.  Many of these people have measles, smallpox, and other diseases.  Canada has the good nature and the facilities to take care of all of them.

What's your thoughts on your  illegal country folks, are there different rules for them ?

Gyaaaaal.  How come yuh nah back me when me bin sehin’ Same ting fuh weeks and yuh GNI fren’ Dem cussing me.  

Didn’t you tell me the other day I am wrong on this and should use my Christian values?  Now you saying build a Canada wall.

Tola posted:

John O. Brennan
@JohnBrennan
Stop blaming others. Look in the mirror. Your inflammatory rhetoric, insults, lies, & encouragement of physical violence are disgraceful. Clean up your act....try to act Presidential. The American people deserve much better. BTW, your critics will not be intimidated into silence.

When violence with guns and bombs is the only solution, a society with failed leadership starts to disintegrate.

But you was blaming BJ and the PPP for Guyana suicide issues.  Hey, how all them ideas you had. Did granger take you up?  Wazzz going on?

Troops ordered to southern border.  The beginning of a military response?  

There is a military solution.  We did in Panama and Haiti.  Do it once, the shyte would immediately stop!  Trump is being too soft. 

The CIA used to allow Noriega to deal in drugs as part of their scheme to smuggle goods to the fascist regimes of Central America.  Noriega got greedy and demanded more and made threats.  George Bush I thought that he needed to be put in his place.

The results.......hundreds, some claim thousands, of innocent Panamanians were murdered.  This was a personal Noriega vs. Bush tantrum.

Haiti has been invaded by the USA so many times.  Which one are you referring to.

None of these Central American nations will be invaded as they all toe the line with US interests and oppress their people as a consequence.

Trump is barking so that racists like you can have orgasms.  He told those nations to allow these people to leave so that he can terrify Americans with the spectacle of being invaded by brown people. 

Of course Trump is who he is and so undermined his case by screaming that hordes of Muslims are part of the invasion.  Only the most die hard Trump disciple, like the ones who mail bombs, will believe that nonsense.

In fact the bomb incident has wiped out all of the PR which Trump planned to get from the caravan.  Now Americans quake at the prospect of living in a nation where the "wrong" post on FB can result in a letter bomb being mailed to them and with a MAGA nut now found, their fears are justified.

Troops ordered to southern border.  The beginning of a military response?  

The spectacle of white men shooting down innocent Hispanic women and babies will guarantee the blue wave, even in Texas.

No invasion, even as your blood curdles for this as Trump will NEVER invade Mexico.