GT, the PPP closed a dew Estates that were not profitable NOT the entire Industry.

None of the estates were turning a profit hence the government subsidies.

Govt subsidies from Europe were not only for Guyana, they were for sugar producers around the world.  No one has control over world markets and sugar consumption.  In the United States, farmers receive subsidies because the govt realize that it's cheaper to do that than import food.  That is the basic laws of economics.  It's not a PNC or PPP problem.

First of all, we are discussing Guyana. Nowhere did I say that Guyana was the only country getting subsidies. The whole point to this is the fact that sugar in Guyana in its current state  is/was not profitable. At no time was this ever conveyed to the sugar workers. They were just votes.

I agree with Base, the Skeldon Factory was a disaster But the scrapping of the Railroad and the Sugar Industry are beyond DISASTERS. It is deep rooted incompetence, illiteracy and plain stupidity!!!!

The railroad by now would definitely have been a waste of money. We're talking old technology and a single track. On the other hand, a railroad might actually saved the sugar estates. Have one super factory do the processing and the rest planting. Transportation of the sugarcane by rail. We'll never know. The sugar factories should have been gradually shut down. These workers are unskilled. What are they supposed to do now?

I applaud UNIFOR for supporting Guyanese sugar workers. Where is the Caribbean Labor Congress? Hiding behind Congress Place?

Did you ask all of these questions when bauxite workers were put on the breadline.  In fact at 80% a much higher rate of severance than is occurring under Guysuco.

Of course not.  Your concern begins and ends with Indians.

I applaud UNIFOR for supporting Guyanese sugar workers. Where is the Caribbean Labor Congress? Hiding behind Congress Place?

Did you ask all of these questions when bauxite workers were put on the breadline.  In fact at 80% a much higher rate of severance than is occurring under Guysuco.

1. I was not in this forum when bauxite workers were laid off.

2. Sugar workers currently on the breadline comprise Indians and Africans. 

Feel free to disagree with me but I resent suggestions that I am racial. Those who know me will tell you otherwise.

What's your problem do something for Guyanese other than arguing about Indians and Africans. You sound like a broken record the bauxite workers have moved on unlike you.

Quote. 

The sugar workers were very supportive (directly and indirectly) of the bauxite workers. When the bauxite workers went on strike in Linden, Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice) during the 1970s and were fired upon, sugar workers went on solidarity strike calling for justice of the affected workers and their families in the greater Linden community. Bauxite workers did not go on strike to support sugar workers when the latter took strike actions during the 1970s and 1980s for higher wages and better working conditions.
The sugar workers also provided financial support for bauxite workers. The People’s National Congress (PNC) dictatorship imposed a tax levy on sugar profits that were supposed to be shared by the sugar workers. The sugar levy yielded tens of millions of US dollars that were included in the Government’s national annual budget; these were used to subsidise the money losing bauxite industry. It is well established and penned in the media that the communities where sugar workers resided were neglected and marginalised by the PNC to the benefit of PNC supporters including the communities where the bauxite workers lived. So the sugar workers were aiding the bauxite workers.

While Linden pays $5. per KW for electricity, the rest of the country was paying $64 per KW. 

Stop bitching about Africans downfall and do something if you are so concern. 

WHO STOP BLACK PEOPLE FROM GETTING A GOOD LIFE. Is it Indians duty to hold their hands and teach them how to better their lives... it seems that what you want... 

 These workers are unskilled. What are they supposed to do now?

They can do what the bauxite workers are doing.

Bauxite workers were more skilled, machine and equipment operators, the understood mining, etc.  many were absorbed in the timber and gold mining operations where these skills were needed.  The sugar workers are lesser skilled and would be best transitioned to Agro, animal husbandry, etc.  

Now, a more credibile argument would be why the EU aid was not used for this in a structured approach.

Try to extract the racism in your head and you might just become more constructive.  

Quote. 

The sugar workers were very supportive (directly and indirectly) of the bauxite workers. When the bauxite workers went on strike in Linden, Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice) during the 1970s and were fired upon, sugar workers went on solidarity strike calling for justice of the affected workers and their families in the greater Linden community. Bauxite workers did not go on strike to support sugar workers when the latter took strike actions during the 1970s and 1980s for higher wages and better working conditions.
The sugar workers also provided financial support for bauxite workers. The People’s National Congress (PNC) dictatorship imposed a tax levy on sugar profits that were supposed to be shared by the sugar workers. The sugar levy yielded tens of millions of US dollars that were included in the Government’s national annual budget; these were used to subsidise the money losing bauxite industry. It is well established and penned in the media that the communities where sugar workers resided were neglected and marginalised by the PNC to the benefit of PNC supporters including the communities where the bauxite workers lived. So the sugar workers were aiding the bauxite workers.

While Linden pays $5. per KW for electricity, the rest of the country was paying $64 per KW. 

Stop bitching about Africans downfall and do something if you are so concern. 

WHO STOP BLACK PEOPLE FROM GETTING A GOOD LIFE. Is it Indians duty to hold their hands and teach them how to better their lives... it seems that what you want... 

Dave,

you still believed the Bishram piece,

here is what Ken Danns said in his book

Domination and Power in Guyana:Study of the Police in a Third World Context.

sugar workers bauxite workersSugarW_Bauxite

Images (2)
  • sugar workers bauxite workers
  • SugarW_Bauxite

Did you ask where they were when the bauxite workers were in the same positions, or when Ramotar shot them in cold blood when he wanted to withdraw the last benefit that they had.

Its interesting that you become a social justice warrior only when you think that Indians will be impacted.  This is why I never trusted the Moses AFC faction.  You all stank of the PPP anti black attitudes but just kept it under disguise.  Some of you not even hiding it too well.

GT, the PPP closed a dew Estates that were not profitable NOT the entire Industry.

None of the estates were turning a profit hence the government subsidies.

Govt subsidies from Europe were not only for Guyana, they were for sugar producers around the world.  No one has control over world markets and sugar consumption.  In the United States, farmers receive subsidies because the govt realize that it's cheaper to do that than import food.  That is the basic laws of economics.  It's not a PNC or PPP problem.

Since when does Guyana have the $$$ that the US does. Other ACP nations saw the writing on the wall and shut down or down sized their industries. Only silly Jagdeo screamed that Guyana should expand sugar.

2. Sugar workers currently on the breadline comprise Indians and Africans. 

Feel free to disagree with me but I resent suggestions that I am racial. Those who know me will tell you otherwise.

Were the bulk of the sugar workers not Indian you wouldn't care the slightest of them.   And even if you weren't on the board at the time that didn't prevent you from acknowledging that the PPPs treatment of bauxite workers and of Linden was inhumane.

If a skunk smells like one I cannot tell him that he smells nice.  

Dave posted:conditions.

I can ask the same questions of the Indian sugar workers. Why should others hold their hands and support their jobs when it is clear that 5he sugar industry is doomed?

You make your racist comments about blacks but don't understand that the same can be directed towards Indians.  

They can do what the bauxite workers are doing.Bauxite workers were more skilled, machine and equipment operators, the understood mining, etc.  many were absorbed in the timber and gold mining operations where these skills were needed.  The sugar workers are lesser skilled and would be best transitioned to Agro, animal husbandry, etc.  

So now Indians sugar works can go and farm.   The bauxite workers had to figure it out for themselves, with many having to spend a lot of time away from their families living under extremely harsh conditions in the gold mines.

I don't know what sympathy you expect from me except to wish these laid off workers the best in their future endeavors.  Just as former bauxite workers had to figure it out for themselves so should they.

I also wonder why you don't even wonder how some the PPP didn't convert Linden into an industrial zone, given the lower cost energy and the greater pool of skilled workers that existed in that town.

You also ought to know that not everyone was skilled. When Linden's economy collapsed so too did many others who weren't skilled.  You do know that women live in Linden.  Many now being unemployed as the purchasing power of the town declined.

They can do what the bauxite workers are doing.Bauxite workers were more skilled, machine and equipment operators, the understood mining, etc.  many were absorbed in the timber and gold mining operations where these skills were needed.  The sugar workers are lesser skilled and would be best transitioned to Agro, animal husbandry, etc.  

So now Indians sugar works can go and farm.   The bauxite workers had to figure it out for themselves, with many having to spend a lot of time away from their families living under extremely harsh conditions in the gold mines.

I don't know what sympathy you expect from me except to wish these laid off workers the best in their future endeavors.  Just as former bauxite workers had to figure it out for themselves so should they.

I also wonder why you don't even wonder how some the PPP didn't convert Linden into an industrial zone, given the lower cost energy and the greater pool of skilled workers that existed in that town.

You also ought to know that not everyone was skilled. When Linden's economy collapsed so too did many others who weren't skilled.  You do know that women live in Linden.  Many now being unemployed as the purchasing power of the town declined.

You are not fully emancipated  that's why you hate Indians.

Banna, the Lindeners got absorbed into the Gold and Timber industry and the GoG provided subsidized electricity.

Why don't you shut yuh racist rass!

Its interesting that you become a social justice warrior only when you think that Indians will be impacted.  This is why I never trusted the Moses AFC faction.  You all stank of the PPP anti black attitudes but just kept it under disguise.  Some of you not even hiding it too well.

Stop with your lies and pretense, you are as opaque as a jelly fish!  You never trusted any INDIAN, period!!!!!!!!!!  You lying racist pig!

Banna, the Lindeners got absorbed into the Gold and Timber industry and the GoG provided subsidized electricity.

And sugar workers will be absorbed into farming and will have to sink or swim just as they bauxite workers in timber and gold had to.

Wish them luck and leave black people in peace.  Just 2 years ago you screamed that Indians are hard working so don't need any help unlike those lazy Linden blacks.

And sugar workers will be absorbed into farming and will have to sink or swim just as they bauxite workers in timber and gold had to.

Wish them luck and leave black people in peace.  Just 2 years ago you screamed that Indians are hard working so don't need any help unlike those lazy Linden blacks.

Is there anyone you actually like?  You hate Burnham, you dislike Granger, you dislike Harmon and you hate all Indians and other races!  Jeeze man, you getting old, pick up the bible and find a path of righteousness!

Absorb yourself in these beautiful words!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELdnx209UOY