No worries. The next recession is due soon and the NYS/NYC revenues are dropping.  All of the unemployed should then go to those folks and demand jobs from them.

I am hearing the ignorant AOC screaming about giving away $3billion in tax credits.  Ray please explain to that idiot that  tax credit is an offset against taxes.  If no income taxes are paid then there will be no subsidy.

Baseman the GOP will be back soon because it turns out that the radical left is as lunatic as the radical right is.

I wouldn't mind Florida investing $3B to bring Amazon to South Florida. Amazon should reconsider Miami.

Hope Joe Crowley run against her in 2020

Not gonna happen. From what I read, Ocasio-Cortez is from a section of NYC that is heavily Hispanic, primarily south american. That's how she won, they voted the white man out and her in. From my experience here in America, most of these south americans I encounter have socialist tendencies. The opposite of cubans who tend to be more capitalist.

Amazing how you can flee from countries like venezuela and the bankrupt socialist countries in South America and then come hay and continue to back socialism, the very thing that destroy yuh own country. Guyanese do the same.

She would rather use the $3 billion for handouts. Then where is the next $3 billion going to come from? I think there's a few universities close to where Amazon was going to set up, so they would've hired those students. This woman talks about "education", what about the future of those students and universities?

Alyuh in NY stuck wid she bai. And it looks like she's not the only socialist there.

alena06 posted:

I see this as a lost opportunity for New York. Alexandria is probably all smiles.

Yes. saw her on cnbc yesterday yukking it up, talking about how amazon would've "decimated" the area. CNBC had video clips of business owners in the area out on the street. they were irate. People like her will ensure another win for Trump I fear.

HEHEHE DUMMIES see problems with  AOC but not wid incompetent, inhuman, inept PNC. Go figure. Racism???

Dummies see problem wid de PNC, but were part of the PNC network of bribe takers and oppressive machinery used against Indians in Guyana. Now same dummies come hay talking shit like dem is champion of Indians. Some people duz sell dem soul fuh lil likka and cheap, sorey HO at Gaumont.

I blame her and Amazon...there may even be more to this because this was very hasty by Amazon

Infighting among NY democrats that would've made life miserable for Amazon. They didn't need that given the plentiful amount of suitors. Cuomo, an old school Dem, made the deal. The lower level Dems in NYC are more of the socialist philosopy and opposed Cuomo. That guy Gianiris or whatever is afraid of AOC because his district is becoming like hers, so he went along with her and her socialist cronies.

I don't know she's ever had a job, much less created one.

No worries. The next recession is due soon and the NYS/NYC revenues are dropping.  All of the unemployed should then go to those folks and demand jobs from them.

I am hearing the ignorant AOC screaming about giving away $3billion in tax credits.  Ray please explain to that idiot that  tax credit is an offset against taxes.  If no income taxes are paid then there will be no subsidy.

Baseman the GOP will be back soon because it turns out that the radical left is as lunatic as the radical right is.

I wouldn't mind Florida investing $3B to bring Amazon to South Florida. Amazon should reconsider Miami.

And when they do they should tell AOC what a tax credit is.  Amazon is NOT getting a check from government. What they would have received is a reduction of income taxes due based on job creation. No income tax so no credit.

But AOC will tell you that she will create jobs by running a high speed train through your house so that your next trip will not be on a plane.  She isnt telling you who will build and operate all of her green dreams though.

I blame her and Amazon...there may even be more to this because this was very hasty by Amazon

I think there is more to it.  Amazon is running into challenges.  I believe amazon used the discontent is certain political quarters to back out.  It seems they shelved the entire idea of a 2nd HQ.  

Certain mediocre politicians think that NYC is the center of the universe.  They just learned that corporations can select where they wish to invest in, taking their jobs and tax payments to places that want them.

Two mediocre politicians threatened to scuttle the deal.  They didn't offer a counter proposal that would have allowed guaranteed benefits to a broad swath of NYers. No they threatened to shut it down.

Well Amazon has decided to take their $$ and jobs to places where they are appreciated and let NYC stew in its own gravy.  When we have a recession in another few years and hundreds of thousands of NYers lose their jobs and NYS/NYC revenues drop in the hundreds of millions I hope that Van Bramer (NYC council) and Giannaris (NYS senate) provide them with jobs.  Because this will be exacerbated by NYS/NYC having to slash expenditures as well.

The governor of NJ is also a "progressive" but he is chomping to get Amazon over because he knows that NJ badly needs jobs and tax revenues.  Their VA plans will go ahead so HQ2 is alive and well.

Rather than leading the deal trying to ensure its success by negotiating actions steps and guarantees by Amazon to ensure that a broad swath of NYC benefited Mayor De Bozo wants to be president of the USA.

Yes this city of excessive taxes, excessive regulation, rampant homelessness, a failing educational system and increasing income inequality.  The man can barely ensure that a dusting of snow doesnt clog up the highways!

I think there is more to it.  Amazon is running into challenges.  I believe amazon used the discontent is certain political quarters to back out.  It seems they shelved the entire idea of a 2nd HQ.  

Yeah...meh suspect dat too. Dem kinda over calculate and now dem need some peopkle foh scapegoat foh back out. Hey hey hey...

If dat is true than dem found a very big Packoo in the form of a Democrat.

Rather than leading the deal trying to ensure its success by negotiating actions steps and guarantees by Amazon to ensure that a broad swath of NYC benefited Mayor De Bozo wants to be president of the USA.

Yes this city of excessive taxes, excessive regulation, rampant homelessness, a failing educational system and increasing income inequality.  The man can barely ensure that a dusting of snow doesnt clog up the highways!

Maybe you are oversimplifying the issue.  

Abu Jihad posted:

Folks, Amazon touted a new HQ with high paying jobs, but the reality is that they had scaled back those plans and were only going to bring mostly low paying jobs while the government give them 0 tax rate and pays for all of the infrastructure etc.

If Amazon wants to build, use its own money stop and scamming people.

Thank you.

Amazon is having issues and running into major headwinds.  Their lead in AWS and the DoD contracts have disappeared.  Microsoft, Google and IBM have closed in.  Walmart has invaded their retail space.

To make matters worse, Bezos have upset Trump.  Trump is out to teach him a lesson. America has an emperor, so watch out.  Don’t be surprised if in 12 months AMZN not trading at 500 per share!

Dem poor politicians are mere skape goats!

America's Emperor has no clothes. 

.....and no brain.

Sometimes people about to get lapped, but they think they are ahead!!

Interesting how you group lap and head in the same sentence. Gives it relevance. 

Bai, yuh gatt wan dutty mind!!!

Bai, thankfully meh still have wan mind, albeit dutty. 

I could not have said it any better.

Abu Jihad posted:

Folks, Amazon touted a new HQ with high paying jobs, but the reality is that they had scaled back those plans and were only going to bring mostly low paying jobs while the government give them 0 tax rate and pays for all of the infrastructure etc.

If Amazon wants to build, use its own money stop and scamming people.

This is complete bullshit.

Amazon has many US cities courting him, maybe even some n Canada. Why will he waste time with some loser politicians trying to get some publicity.  I bet he gets an even better deal from some other entity.

NYC just learned that they aren't the center of the universe and people can do without it.  An overtaxed, over regulated, high cost disaster.

The real reason is that Amazon probably realize that they would get shake down big time by the Mafia if they are in Queens. That is Mafia territory.

The mafia died long ago.  This isnt 1985.  Our new mafia are the hipsters with their bicycles clogging up the streets, their non gluten grass and their $50 high octane, high sugar caffeine.

As long as Amazon is in New York then they will have to provide No show jobs for the Mob.

You are 30 years too late.  All the mafia do these days is pick up commercial trash.

The American Mafia may be weak now but there are other groups such as the Sicilian Mafia, Comorro, Ndrengeta and the Russian mafia that are deadly in New York

Amazon has many US cities courting him, maybe even some n Canada. Why will he waste time with some loser politicians trying to get some publicity.  I bet he gets an even better deal from some other entity.

NYC just learned that they aren't the center of the universe and people can do without it.  An overtaxed, over regulated, high cost disaster.

Amazon went through a in-depth vetting process and considered all the factors, chose NY then few low level politicians cry out and they pulled the plug.  This makes no sense whatsoever.  There is more to their decision than they are saying.