Slain carpenter’s family rejects $50M offer

– “all we want is justice”

With wanted bulletins being issued by both the Guyana Police Force (GPF) and Interpol for Marcus Brian Bisram, the alleged mastermind behind the murder of Berbice carpenter, an individual close to the prime suspect has reportedly offered the victim’s wife a whopping $50 million.
The victim’s wife, Pooja Pitam, alleged that the individual informed her that Bisram was willing to pay $20 million to settle the matter.
When the woman refused the offer, the individual reportedly returned two days later and raised the sum to $50M.
Again, Pitam refused to accept the money and told the individual that no amount of money can bring her husband back.

Wanted for murder: Marcus Brian Bisram

Faiyaz Narinedatt

Not satisfied with the response, the same person allegedly approached another relative of the victim, Abdool Rizan Shareek.
“I chased him out the yard because we want justice and not their money. If his family was to accept that money then the persons who killed him will walk free,” Shareek said.
He said that all the relatives want at this point is justice.
The Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan was informed of the offer when he visited the victim’s relatives on Saturday.
Ramjattan told the family that he will speak to the Director of Public Prosecutions to send a state counsel to prosecute the matter which has been transferred to the Springlands Magistrate’s Court.
For the carpenter’s murder, there are seven persons before the court.
The multi-millionaire, who is the founder of the Marcus Brian Bisram Foundation, is said to have donated $2M to a Berbice Community Policing Group and recently pledged $200M annually to the needy in Berbice.
It is alleged that Narinedatt was murdered between October 31 and November 1, last at Number 70 Village, Corentyne, Berbice.
Narinedatt’s body was found on November 1, on the Number 70 Village, Corentyne, Berbice.

The noble thing to do!!  Their only son butchered by Animals. To hell with the money. I applaud them for their integrity and love for their son.  If the GNI FILTH HEADS had these qualities they would have been better humans.

yuh saying baseman, yugi & chief wrong for suggesting otherwise

No, only one of the above is a FILTH HEAD.

What Yugi and Base suggested is to take the money and still insist on Prosecution. I guess to teach the killers a lesson.

so, I give you 50M to stay quiet, you insist on talking even though you take the 50m...how long you expect to live and spend that money?

The suggestion by Baseman, chief and yuji is based on kind gesture and should not come into focus with a murder case. If the widow has taken the money, it would have done injustice to her husband. We don't know the financial position of the widow, and the offer of compensation is good, but her refusal is commendable.

Maybe someone can explain this to me....how is paying off the family going to absolve the perpetrator of murder? 

This is a criminal case where the government is prosecuting...the case is not going to go away, and the victim's family can sue for much more after the trial in  civil suit.  

This BS of accepting money because of a crime s called bribe anyway you look at it. I also applaud the family to turn it down and show the Guyanese people this is not the way.