Shuman ineligible for presidential election

Legal sources have pointed out that the LJP leader is a poor choice for presidential candidate, since he returned to Guyana only in 2015 after residing in Canada for more than a decade.

Article 90 (1) of the Constitution of Guyana sets out the eligibility requirements for persons to qualify as President of Guyana.

It states: β€œA person shall be qualified for election as President and shall not be qualified unless he or she (a) is a citizen of Guyana by birth or parentage (b) is residing in Guyana on the date of nomination for election and was continuously residing therein for a period of seven years immediately before that date; and (c) is otherwise qualified to be elected as a member of the National Assembly.”

Head line should read " ineligible "

That’s why you always read the constitution before you run for President.

Did he tell you he was running for the presidency? He is heading his party. He will have someone to stand for the presidency position. He will be in the party list. The PPP and the APNU are not the only smart people on the planet. And we need advice from you as a shark needs a dentist.

Hahahahaha.   I guess you forgot to listen to his speech before you made that comment.  Same way he forgot to read the constitution before he run for President.

Did the PPP forget to read the constitution when they have 12 legislators with dual citizens? You as usual like these duplicitous folks in the APNU are convenient readers. 

Been talking dankey years bout dat 7 years residency thing but no one pay attention.  They all believe the court case was all about Jagdeo 3-term presidency.  Why would Guyana want to block someone with tons of real world (unlike Guyana kanta world) experience from returning and serve the country as President.  I do believe you have to give up citizenship of any other country to be President but the 7 years thing don't make sense for a country that suffered massive brain drain.

Anyway is the vulture politicians in Guyana that wanted this.  Who seh the PPP and PNC kant wuk together, they did to pass this unanimously. 

Did the PPP forget to read the constitution when they have 12 legislators with dual citizens? You as usual like these duplicitous folks in the APNU are convenient readers. 

Who are the twelve legislators with dual citizenship?

Sniff dem batty nuh. Yuh is de best.

Go count who the PPP have been using since 2000 when they craft this law and since they begin to ignore it  

VVP posted:

Been talking dankey years bout dat 7 years residency thing but no one pay attention.  They all believe the court case was all about Jagdeo 3-term presidency.  Why would Guyana want to block someone with tons of real world (unlike Guyana kanta world) experience from returning and serve the country as President.  I do believe you have to give up citizenship of any other country to be President but the 7 years thing don't make sense for a country that suffered massive brain drain.

Anyway is the vulture politicians in Guyana that wanted this.  Who seh the PPP and PNC kant wuk together, they did to pass this unanimously. 

Back in two thousand we complained against this ruling here. The PPP let it happen and immediately begin to violate the ruling. 

VVP posted:

Back in two thousand we complained against this ruling here. The PPP let it happen and immediately begin to violate the ruling. 

Which PPP presidential candidate violated the seven year residency rule?

VVP posted:

Which PPP presidential candidate violated the seven year residency rule?

Stupid question given what is discussed.

Sniff dem batty nuh. Yuh is de best.

Here comes the BATTY Inspector.

He is not and has stated the Hinduism is mythology. He can go and stargaze.

One aspect of Hinduism is mythology. For a very good reason, having to do with transmitting abstract religious concepts to the unschooled masses in concrete narrative stories that they can grasp easily. But let's not quibble about it. All I'm asking of you is to show some kindness to Mits. Namaste.