Still seeks membership to national assembly

Presidential Candidate of the Liberty and Justice Party, Lenox Shuman, is a citizen of Guyana, as well as a citizen of Canada.

Canadian Citizen, Lenox Shuman

It is with this dual citizenship status that the pilot presented his name on his party’s list of candidates to contest the General Elections of March 2, 2020. The Constitution of Guyana disqualifies dual citizens from election to the National Assembly.
In February 2019, Chief Justice (ag) Roxane George made it clear that by swearing allegiance to another State, an MP is not eligible to be elected to serve in the National Assembly.
The court ruling reaffirmed Article 155 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Guyana which states, “No person shall be qualified for election as a member of the National Assembly who is, by virtue of his own act, under any acknowledgement of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign power or state.”
During a Kaieteur Radio interview on the show, Petroleum 101, on January 13, last, the LJP Presidential Candidate was asked to shed light on his dual citizenship status.
He confirmed previous reports that he had already started the application process to relinquish his Canadian citizenship. However, Shuman has not received any document verifying or confirming that relinquishment from the Canadian authorities.
He said, “Today [January 13], I was at the Canadian High Commission inquiring on one thing, because up until last week, I was assured that everything has been… all the requirements for that had been satisfied.”
He is confident that his Canadian citizenship will be relinquished.
“I am simply awaiting just a small document that confirms. And when I went in today, they gave me every assurance that that is already dealt with and it’s on its way.”
The issue of dual citizenship has served as an issue for several small parties, not just LJP.
Presidential Candidate of the United Republican Party, Vishnu Bandhu, also announced yesterday that he is a dual citizen. The politician has indicated that he has started the process of relinquishing his dual citizenship.
Co-founder of Change Guyana and former prime ministerial candidate, Nigel Hinds, has on the other hand, withdrawn himself from the political race.
Hinds said in a statement that he would have relinquished his citizenship, had it not been for the fact that an unfortunate medical prognosis requiring him to seek better healthcare in the United States.

Disqualified Because Of His Dual Citizenship. 

URP, Dr. Vishnu Bandhu

The parties submitted
their lists of Candidates on Friday but Presidential Candidate of the URP, Dr. Vishnu Bandhu has since withdrawn from the race as he is a dual citizen.

GECOM is deciding how to deal with this matter since he would have signed a declaration form in the presence of a Justice of Peace (JP) declaring that he is only a citizen of Guyana and is aware of the articles in the Constitution of Guyana which prohibits dual citizens from being elected a member of the National Assembly.

“We have taken decisions as to how that is to be dealt with,” Gunraj said.

However, it is unclear how this affects his party contesting the elections since Mr. Gunraj could not disclose whether he was replaced on his National Top Up list which had the exact 42 persons required to be approved.

GECOM Commissioner, Vincent Alexander was asked if the police will be called in to which he responded “could be.”

He added that “if Dr. Bandhu is not eligible, what essentially GECOM would do is not approve him as a candidate; there is no other action GECOM will take in direct relationship with Dr. Bandhu.”

• mceclip0

Love how Shuman said that the relinquishment document is “just a small document” when no one considers the landing document (if that is what it is called) just a small document. 😀

All these fools want to run a whole country when they can’t even remember that they are dual citizens. Running countries should be done by politicians. We see how disastrous Granger is at running Guyana since he is grossly inexperienced in that field.

These two men provide false information by signing the declaration forms and swearing in front of a JP, they should be jail. 

AGREED! Jail dem...

AND that one banna is a fake "DR"

Shuman is a big disappointment. He should return to Canada.

I said all along that these crooks will not give up their foreign citizenship. It's will be like committing suicide if they did. We are seeing how "smart flies fasten in cow kaka hole". Stay tuned.

Since when Bandhu is a doctor?  His party was the only one that was contesting in all ten regions along with PPP and PNC.  His constituents were betrayed.  

If Jagdeo can tun dactah, then other people can too

Since when Bandhu is a doctor?  His party was the only one that was contesting in all ten regions along with PPP and PNC.  His constituents were betrayed.  

Don’t start...you gon get dem PPP people here going all “bassidy” [i believe dats a word] 

I don't doubt Shuman's sincerity in wanting to serve Guyana via politics. And I got the impression that Shuman is a splendid showman. I wish him the best.

Shuman was suspect from the get go. I liked him because he seemed sincere but he turned out to be an opportunist like the others who are dual citizens. I thought he could have done well representing the Amerindians.

These people want to have a foot in both countries and if they are not successful politically in Guyana, they will migrate back to the US or Canada, where their new navel strings are attached. They dont plan on living there after the election. Their families are not living in Guyana and they dont want to give up the benefits they receive in the foreign countries.

That being said...I believe the Constitution should be changed to allow dual citizenship, and a No Confidence vote should require a greater majority, not a simple majority. 

I don't doubt Shuman's sincerity in wanting to serve Guyana via politics. And I got the impression that Shuman is a splendid showman. I wish him the best.

Shuman was suspect from the get go. I liked him because he seemed sincere but he turned out to be an opportunist like the others who are dual citizens. I thought he could have done well representing the Amerindians.

These people want to have a foot in both countries and if they are not successful politically in Guyana, they will migrate back to the US or Canada, where their new navel strings are attached. They dont plan on living there after the election. Their families are not living in Guyana and they dont want to give up the benefits they receive in the foreign countries.

That being said...I believe the Constitution should be changed to allow dual citizenship, and a No Confidence vote should require a greater majority, not a simple majority. 

Agree!

Don’t start...you gon get dem PPP people here going all “bassidy” [i believe dats a word] 

The whole of Guyana is infested with dactah and MBA.  Dem lil pickney have 12 page CV with MBA and never see the door of a university.  One of dem give me a CV to help find a job on Wall Street.  

D2 Bai Shuman is untrustworthy.

This banana is an opportunist like so many other politicians who only have their own selfish interest at heart. 
He showed up naked infront of GrNger who rejected him because his party had nothing to offer APNU and was of no value. Another one bites the dust. 

And you should get a brain replacement cause you too STUPID!!!

Dude, why the heck you follow Vish around with same shit constantly.? I doubt you actually read his posts but reply with nonsense. 

If he made a post saying Jagdeo is the best you will respond with the same shyte as always and why? You don't fkin read anything before you make a post. You have become boring and your posts should be ignored except for when you speak against Trump.

Dummy, Gail said she was an American Citizen. Laad shit brain when yuh gun catch sense?, NEVER!! I answer my own question.

So why she sitting in Parliament? She knows the Constitution more than you...she can read 

Dude, why the heck you follow Vish around with same shit constantly.? I doubt you actually read his posts but reply with nonsense. 

If he made a post saying Jagdeo is the best you will respond with the same shyte as always and why? You don't fkin read anything before you make a post. You have become boring and your posts should be ignored except for when you speak against Trump.

On the other hand , you are TROLLING Nehru.

The banna has ADD or ADHD...

Are you Vish Gay partner. Mind yuh friggin business Jackass!!

Nehru don’t worry wid dem bais. Frustration is kicking in as they walk around like headless chickens. Granger is walking around like a half dead and so are some of his brain dead supporters. 

The whole of Guyana is infested with dactah and MBA.  Dem lil pickney have 12 page CV with MBA and never see the door of a university.  One of dem give me a CV to help find a job on Wall Street.  

Was that the lil 29 yo bulldog you told you are a VP of Due Diligence and you can land him a WS job?

Poor kid!

Was that the lil 29 yo bulldog you told you are a VP of Due Diligence and you can land him a WS job?

Poor kid!

So tell us nah.  Did he just come up to your bedroom in Marriott and gave you his resume and ask to get him a Wall Street job?

Dat banna bold rass.  Wuh he think, yuzz he houshi  mama?

Macro-finance and research analyst with over twelve years’ experience in commercial banking, the financial sector and private sector development combined. Leadership and Management experience with a strong sense of integrity and demonstrated passion for learning and success. Authored more than 170 articles on economic and finance issues, and policy analysis within the context of a developing economy in a weekly column carried in Guyana Times.

EDUCATION

Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), London, U.K ACCA Levels 2 & 3, expected completion, 2021.

Edinburgh Napier University, Scotland, U.K M.Sc., Business Management (Banking), January 2017.  Dissertation: “The Effectiveness of the Financial Stability Board in Respect of the Institution’s Principal Aim of Promoting and Ensuring Global Financial Stability of the Global Economy; against the backdrop of the 2008 / 2009 Global Financial Crisis.”

Columbia University, School of International Public Affairs, New York, U.S.A Executive Training in Macro-financial policy making in emerging markets, April 2019.  

University of Cambridge, London, U.K Cambridge International Diploma Standard Level Module Certificates in: Effective Business Communication; Marketing; Business Organisation and Environment, and Leadership and Development, 2012.   

TRAINING PROGRAMMES AND WORKSHOPS • The Association of Supervisors of Banks in the Americas, The Bank of Guyana and the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (United States Central Bank) award of Diploma for participating in the “Bank Analysis and Examination Seminar”, August 2018. • CARTAC / Bank of Guyana workshop on Basel II implementation process for Guyana’s Financial Sector, February 2018.  • World Bank / Bank of Guyana workshop on the Supervision and Regulation of the Credit Union Sector in Guyana, November 2017.  

Private Sector Commission of Guyana Limited, Georgetown, Guyana Economic Analyst/Manager, June 2019, present.  • Preparation of reports on various indicators of the domestic and global economy for the members of the Private Sector Commission and other organizations.  • Advice the Executive Committee on current issues which should be addressed by the PSC.  • Provide technical support to all Sub-Committees of the PSC.

• Represent the PSC at meetings, seminars, workshops etc., when required and provide appropriate feedback and reports. • Collaborate with short term Consultants in undertaking research and analyses on issues which may be determined from time to time.

ActionINVEST Caribbean Inc., Georgetown, Guyana Project & Finance Manager, November 2018 – May 2019.  • Supported the Chief Executive Officer with Business Development Activities. • Provided oversight, financial advice and proposals to the finance department. • Developed and monitored progress of projects undertaken by ActionINVEST Caribbean Inc. (AICI). • Developed and delivered trainings based upon the needs of the organization. • Creating proposals and pursing bids that align with AICI focus. • Manage and develop content for the Who’s Who in Guyana Business Directory (WWIGB). • Ensure projects are completed within stipulated deadlines. • Identified relevant growth opportunities from different sources and develop needed proposals.

Bank of Guyana, Georgetown, Guyana Financial Analyst, October 2017 – October 2018. • Conducted in-depth analyses from a risk-based perspective, particularly, of industry-wide financial and non-financial information to identify, assess, and monitor emerging trends and issues in the financial environment.  • Preparation of risk assessment summaries and risk matrices.  • Analyzed aspects of the CAMELS framework. • Reviewed of schedules, matrices etc.  • Drafted of letters, reports, position papers, policy documents for internal and external recipients.  • Conducted studies on matters related to banking supervision or regulatory activities which may inform policy development or supervisory action.    • Conducting stress tests and research as required.  • Reviewed existing methodology/supervisory framework, identifying weak areas, and developing proposals for enhancement.  • Implementation of new legislation, regulations and guidelines.  • Developed a Strategic Plan for the period 2018-2023 for the Deposit Insurance Corporation which was ratified by the Governor: The Deposit Insurance Bill No. 7 of 2018 was passed in the Parliament of Guyana which seeks to establish a Deposit Insurance Scheme. • Developed and Coordinated AML/CFT Regulatory Guideline for Money Transfer Agencies and Cambios.  • Reviewed the licensing and broader legislative framework for the Money Transfer Agencies and Cambios with recommendations.  • Reviewed and further improved a (new) Supervision Guideline with respect to ‘Outsourcing’. The Guideline broadly sets out the Bank’s expectation in relation to the minimum standards with which it expects LFIs to comply as they manage their outsourced activities and processes.    • Spearheaded Basel II Implementation project, the Market Risk Component – strengthening the regulatory framework for the financial sector (2018 – 2020 implementation timeline). As part of this project, I have drafted the regulatory guideline for the Market Risk component.  • Authored a Position Paper on Asset Management in the context of Guyana, as a regulatory mechanism to address the high level of non-performing loans in the financial sector.

Guyana Bank for Trade & Industry Limited (GBTI) Supervisor/Credit Analyst, September 2016 – October 2017. • Managed a loan portfolio of over US$20.0 million. Accumulated extensive experience in Credit Analysis - Commercial & Retail Lending. 

• Participated in the Bank’s five years’ strategic plan (2017/ 2021) in setting the projections and targets for the diversification of the bank’s loan portfolio, among other key areas.  • Participated in the structuring, analysis, assessment and management of two syndicated loan products totaling US$9.6 million.  

Guyana Bank for Trade & Industry Limited (GBTI) Supervisor – Second-in-Charge, Port Kaituma Branch, April 2013 – September 2016.  • Successfully developed and executed a marketing strategy unique to the geographic location and have managed to secure a deposit and loan portfolio of US$500,000 respectively.  Bearing in mind that this region, is/was faced with many economic challenges and limitations with respect to the long-term viability of the branch. • Integrally involved in the operationalization of the GBTI Port Kaituma branch, essentially setting up the branch successfully to a state of being fully functional. • Authored a position paper which was presented to Executive Management addressing the need for an improved level of credit and macroeconomic analysis as it relates to lending. The paper was endorsed by the Head of Credit and Chief Executive Officer and was shared with all credit staff and credit managers to adopt.  • Implementation of the bank’s strategic plan, goals and objectives while contributing to the sustainable growth of its portfolio and ensuring customers and stockholders satisfaction and expectations are well managed.  

Other Positions held at G.B.T.I: Senior Clerk - January 2012 – March 2013, Junior Clerk – February 2007 – December 2011.  

CONSULTANCY ACTIVITIES 
Porter Development Initiative, Building Shared Prosperity in Guyana Consultant/Research Analyst, September 2019 – present.  • The Porter Development Project is led by Professor Michael Porter, Harvard University, and a team of Professors from Harvard University. The Objective is to develop and implement a national competitiveness strategy and industrialization plan for Guyana over the next eight years.  

Guyana Budget and Policy Institute (GBPI), Public Policy Think Tank, Guyana/New York.  Resident Director, September 2019 – Present.  • GBPI produces rigorous, peer-reviewed research and directly engages the policy process, seeking strategies that emphasize cooperation, flexibility, local knowledge, and results.  

Caribbean Medical Supplies Inc., East Bank Essequibo, Guyana Financial and Business Consultant, January 2019 – present.  

Research Assistant, Texila American University, Vishnu Doerga, Ph.D. Project.  • Research project geared at measuring the Intrapreneurship phenomenon in Guyana and analysing the data thereby arriving at useful intelligence which can be utilized to accelerate growth in organizational contexts.  

Pals Beverages Inc., Georgetown Guyana Financial & Business Consultant, September 2017 – October 2017 • Developed a business plan for a US$1.0 million investment project for the submission to the Guyana Office for Investment, in support of its application for tax concessions.  • Provided strategic, financial and economic advice on the proposed business model. 

Roraima Group of Companies Inc., Georgetown, Guyana Financial Consultant, June 2017 – September 2017.  

TEACHING EXPERIENCE  

• Associate Professor, Texila American University, BBA & MBA Programs in Management, Finance, and Business Economics, September 2019 – present.  • Lecturer, ATC and the Business School, the Association of Business Executive Program Assignments (ABE, United Kingdom) Levels 4 - 6 Diploma In Business Management Programs, January 2017 – present.   • Approved MBA Lecturer, Bedfordshire University, Msc. International Finance & Banking Programmes Through Nations University, Guyana: (Global Economic Context, Financial Regulation & Fraud, Bank Management; And Financial Markets and Portfolio Management).  

WORKING PAPERS • Persistent Overdrafts of the Consolidated Fund: What does it mean for macroeconomic stability (Authors: TK and xx) to be presented to the Caribbean Regional Monetary Studies Conference in November 2020, and to be published in an international and/or regional Academic Journal of Economics & Finance.  • The Determinants of Non-Performing Loans in Guyana’s Financial Institutions and Proposed Regulatory Actions –to be presented to the Caribbean Regional Monetary Studies Conference in November 2019, and to be published in an international and/or regional Academic Journal of Economics & Finance. • The Potential Economic and Social Impacts of Oil & Gas in a Developing Economy – the Case of Guyana.  • The Impacts of a Potential Currency Crisis in the Context of a Small Developing Economy – the case of Guyana.  

UNPUBLISHED RESEARCH PAPERS • The Consequences of Crime and Violence on Socioeconomic Outcomes in Guyana: prepared and submitted to the Inter-American Development Bank, Research Department for the 8th Annual Meeting of the Latina Crime & Policy Network to be held in Washington DC, September 7 – 8, 2018.  • The Evolution and Structure of the Financial System in Guyana, the challenges and implications of Monetary Policy and Financial Stability.  
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Bibi, do you understand a single word in this CV?

Did you read any of the 170 articles?

Shuman has a very beautiful family and should really decide on their future and assuming that his children are Canadian born, he should raise and educate them in Canada. That’s my two cents.