Still seeks membership to national assembly

Presidential Candidate of the Liberty and Justice Party, Lenox Shuman, is a citizen of Guyana, as well as a citizen of Canada.

Canadian Citizen, Lenox Shuman

It is with this dual citizenship status that the pilot presented his name on his party’s list of candidates to contest the General Elections of March 2, 2020. The Constitution of Guyana disqualifies dual citizens from election to the National Assembly.
In February 2019, Chief Justice (ag) Roxane George made it clear that by swearing allegiance to another State, an MP is not eligible to be elected to serve in the National Assembly.
The court ruling reaffirmed Article 155 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Guyana which states, “No person shall be qualified for election as a member of the National Assembly who is, by virtue of his own act, under any acknowledgement of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign power or state.”
During a Kaieteur Radio interview on the show, Petroleum 101, on January 13, last, the LJP Presidential Candidate was asked to shed light on his dual citizenship status.
He confirmed previous reports that he had already started the application process to relinquish his Canadian citizenship. However, Shuman has not received any document verifying or confirming that relinquishment from the Canadian authorities.
He said, “Today [January 13], I was at the Canadian High Commission inquiring on one thing, because up until last week, I was assured that everything has been… all the requirements for that had been satisfied.”
He is confident that his Canadian citizenship will be relinquished.
“I am simply awaiting just a small document that confirms. And when I went in today, they gave me every assurance that that is already dealt with and it’s on its way.”
The issue of dual citizenship has served as an issue for several small parties, not just LJP.
Presidential Candidate of the United Republican Party, Vishnu Bandhu, also announced yesterday that he is a dual citizen. The politician has indicated that he has started the process of relinquishing his dual citizenship.
Co-founder of Change Guyana and former prime ministerial candidate, Nigel Hinds, has on the other hand, withdrawn himself from the political race.
Hinds said in a statement that he would have relinquished his citizenship, had it not been for the fact that an unfortunate medical prognosis requiring him to seek better healthcare in the United States.

Disqualified Because Of His Dual Citizenship. 

URP, Dr. Vishnu Bandhu

The parties submitted
their lists of Candidates on Friday but Presidential Candidate of the URP, Dr. Vishnu Bandhu has since withdrawn from the race as he is a dual citizen.

GECOM is deciding how to deal with this matter since he would have signed a declaration form in the presence of a Justice of Peace (JP) declaring that he is only a citizen of Guyana and is aware of the articles in the Constitution of Guyana which prohibits dual citizens from being elected a member of the National Assembly.

“We have taken decisions as to how that is to be dealt with,” Gunraj said.

However, it is unclear how this affects his party contesting the elections since Mr. Gunraj could not disclose whether he was replaced on his National Top Up list which had the exact 42 persons required to be approved.

GECOM Commissioner, Vincent Alexander was asked if the police will be called in to which he responded “could be.”

He added that “if Dr. Bandhu is not eligible, what essentially GECOM would do is not approve him as a candidate; there is no other action GECOM will take in direct relationship with Dr. Bandhu.”

• mceclip0

Love how Shuman said that the relinquishment document is “just a small document” when no one considers the landing document (if that is what it is called) just a small document. 😀

All these fools want to run a whole country when they can’t even remember that they are dual citizens. Running countries should be done by politicians. We see how disastrous Granger is at running Guyana since he is grossly inexperienced in that field.

These two men provide false information by signing the declaration forms and swearing in front of a JP, they should be jail. 

AGREED! Jail dem...

AND that one banna is a fake "DR"

Shuman is a big disappointment. He should return to Canada.

I said all along that these crooks will not give up their foreign citizenship. It's will be like committing suicide if they did. We are seeing how "smart flies fasten in cow kaka hole". Stay tuned.

Since when Bandhu is a doctor?  His party was the only one that was contesting in all ten regions along with PPP and PNC.  His constituents were betrayed.  

If Jagdeo can tun dactah, then other people can too

Since when Bandhu is a doctor?  His party was the only one that was contesting in all ten regions along with PPP and PNC.  His constituents were betrayed.  

Don’t start...you gon get dem PPP people here going all “bassidy” [i believe dats a word] 

I don't doubt Shuman's sincerity in wanting to serve Guyana via politics. And I got the impression that Shuman is a splendid showman. I wish him the best.

Shuman was suspect from the get go. I liked him because he seemed sincere but he turned out to be an opportunist like the others who are dual citizens. I thought he could have done well representing the Amerindians.

These people want to have a foot in both countries and if they are not successful politically in Guyana, they will migrate back to the US or Canada, where their new navel strings are attached. They dont plan on living there after the election. Their families are not living in Guyana and they dont want to give up the benefits they receive in the foreign countries.

That being said...I believe the Constitution should be changed to allow dual citizenship, and a No Confidence vote should require a greater majority, not a simple majority. 

I don't doubt Shuman's sincerity in wanting to serve Guyana via politics. And I got the impression that Shuman is a splendid showman. I wish him the best.

Shuman was suspect from the get go. I liked him because he seemed sincere but he turned out to be an opportunist like the others who are dual citizens. I thought he could have done well representing the Amerindians.

These people want to have a foot in both countries and if they are not successful politically in Guyana, they will migrate back to the US or Canada, where their new navel strings are attached. They dont plan on living there after the election. Their families are not living in Guyana and they dont want to give up the benefits they receive in the foreign countries.

That being said...I believe the Constitution should be changed to allow dual citizenship, and a No Confidence vote should require a greater majority, not a simple majority. 

Agree!

Don’t start...you gon get dem PPP people here going all “bassidy” [i believe dats a word] 

The whole of Guyana is infested with dactah and MBA.  Dem lil pickney have 12 page CV with MBA and never see the door of a university.  One of dem give me a CV to help find a job on Wall Street.  

D2 Bai Shuman is untrustworthy.

This banana is an opportunist like so many other politicians who only have their own selfish interest at heart. 
He showed up naked infront of GrNger who rejected him because his party had nothing to offer APNU and was of no value. Another one bites the dust.