Honourable Minister of Social Cohesion Dr. George Norton Portuguese Arrival Day Message 2018

Today, the Cooperative Republic of Guyana salutes and celebrates the accomplishments of our Portuguese sisters and brothers, on the occasion of ‘Portuguese Arrival Day.’

When the ‘Louisa Baillie’ docked here on May 3rd 1835, some 40 Portuguese disembarked. They came as Indentured Labourers, but fast-forward 183 years, the Portuguese are now an integral part of Guyana’s identity.

Persons of Portuguese origin have made indelible contributions to this Land of Many Waters, and influences of these can be seen in all aspects of the Guyanese life.

Unfortunately however, the Portuguese community, which accounted for 4.3% of Guyana’s population in 1891, has diminished to 0.3% as of 2012.

This makes it especially important for persons of Portuguese ancestry to become protectors of their heritage. The onus is upon you to preserve the cultures and traditions that your ancestors clutched as a prized possession.

Study your history, learn the language, practice your religions, promote your foods, clothing and music, maintain your traditions and teach your children and grandchildren to do the same, because Guyana can ill afford to lose these precious aspects of her identity.

Guyana’s strength is its diversity, and our diversity can only be as vibrant as the individualistic characteristics of all our peoples. So, we must ensure that these remain fully intact.

Despite their diminishing numbers, Portuguese descendants continue to contribute enormously to Guyana’s overall development.

Their impeccably thrifty spirit seems to have been passed down from generations. The Portuguese were leading in commerce since the colonial era, and even today, their descendants remain prominent business personalities of Guyana.

Some well-known entrepreneurs of Portuguese ancestry include the Correias, the Fernandes, the Alphonso’s, the Mendes and so many others.

Apart from being thrifty, the Portuguese were a people well-grounded in morals, and steadfast in education, charity and sports. It is important to remember also, that it was the Portuguese who were responsible for the establishment and growth of Roman Catholicism in Guyana.

So as we celebrate Portuguese Arrival Day, I extend best wishes to my Portuguese brothers and sisters. On behalf of all Guyanese, we thank you for your contributions to this dear land of ours.

Happy Portuguese Arrival Day to you all.

"Some well-known entrepreneurs of Portuguese ancestry include the Correias, the Fernandes, the Alphonso’s, the Mendes and so many others."

Worthy to mention

Peter D'Aguair [Banks DIH]

Manoel Vieira, popularly known as Buller and his brother Joe Viera

[Sugar Plantation Owner] Houston,EBD and Versailles WBD.

Thanks. I thought it was just one arrival day for everyone. When is Chinese Arrival Day? 

"Guyanese across the length and breadth of the country are joining together today to celebrate Chinese Arrival Day. Today marks 165 years since our Chinese brothers and sisters first arrived on these shores on January 12, 1853.

From 1853-1879, a total of 13,541 Chinese, which comprised a diverse group who hailed from different regions, spoke different dialects and embraced different religious and cultural beliefs, from China, were scattered across the counties of Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo. They were among the smallest group of indentured labourers brought to Guyana, and initially comprised only men."

Honourable Minister of Social Cohesion Dr. George Norton Portuguese Arrival Day Message 2018

Today, the Cooperative Republic of Guyana salutes and celebrates the accomplishments of our Portuguese sisters and brothers, on the occasion of ‘Portuguese Arrival Day.’

When the ‘Louisa Baillie’ docked here on May 3rd 1835, some 40 Portuguese disembarked. They came as Indentured Labourers, but fast-forward 183 years, the Portuguese are now an integral part of Guyana’s identity.

Persons of Portuguese origin have made indelible contributions to this Land of Many Waters, and influences of these can be seen in all aspects of the Guyanese life.

Unfortunately however, the Portuguese community, which accounted for 4.3% of Guyana’s population in 1891, has diminished to 0.3% as of 2012.

This makes it especially important for persons of Portuguese ancestry to become protectors of their heritage. The onus is upon you to preserve the cultures and traditions that your ancestors clutched as a prized possession.

Study your history, learn the language, practice your religions, promote your foods, clothing and music, maintain your traditions and teach your children and grandchildren to do the same, because Guyana can ill afford to lose these precious aspects of her identity.

Guyana’s strength is its diversity, and our diversity can only be as vibrant as the individualistic characteristics of all our peoples. So, we must ensure that these remain fully intact.

Despite their diminishing numbers, Portuguese descendants continue to contribute enormously to Guyana’s overall development.

Their impeccably thrifty spirit seems to have been passed down from generations. The Portuguese were leading in commerce since the colonial era, and even today, their descendants remain prominent business personalities of Guyana.

Some well-known entrepreneurs of Portuguese ancestry include the Correias, the Fernandes, the Alphonso’s, the Mendes and so many others.

Apart from being thrifty, the Portuguese were a people well-grounded in morals, and steadfast in education, charity and sports. It is important to remember also, that it was the Portuguese who were responsible for the establishment and growth of Roman Catholicism in Guyana.

So as we celebrate Portuguese Arrival Day, I extend best wishes to my Portuguese brothers and sisters. On behalf of all Guyanese, we thank you for your contributions to this dear land of ours.

Happy Portuguese Arrival Day to you all.

Where can I get more info on Portuguese and Chinese arrival to Guyana?

Indentured Labor Arrival Day British Guiana.

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Chinese,January 12, 1853.

Mars ,Cain and other Portuguese got more claim [other than the Amerindians] to Guyana,their fore parents were the first Indentured Labors.

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Mars ,Cain and other Portuguese got more claim [other than the Amerindians] to Guyana,their fore parents were the first Indentured Labors.

So when is African Arrival day?

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Help out nuh.

Sister Noel Menezes has written extensively on the Portuguese in Guyana. One of her books is "Scenes from the history of the Portuguese in Guyana". Django also put up some useful links from guyana.org.

THANKS!

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Were they immigrants?

Was never their intentions to be ferried. They objected and still voice their objections. Blaming Columbus for finding the New World. 

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Were they immigrants?

Was never their intentions to be ferried. They objected and still voice their objections. Blaming Columbus for finding the New World. 

Most came against their will as slaves but there were some African immigrants over the years to Guyana from the West Indian islands. 

Any Portuguese came from Madeira or Brazil or did they come directly from Portugal??

http://www.guyana.org/features...story/chapter47.html

In the period from the inception of Portuguese migration, 30,645 indentured labourers arrived mainly from Madeira, while smaller groups came from the Azores, Cape Verde and Brazil.

Portuguese in Guyana came from Madeira.  I thought the GNIers mentioned are Santantone and not Portuguese.  There are very few pure bred Portuguese still in Guyana.

an weh yuh come from , mo like ah you deh?

http://www.guyana.org/features...story/chapter47.html

In the period from the inception of Portuguese migration, 30,645 indentured labourers arrived mainly from Madeira, while smaller groups came from the Azores, Cape Verde and Brazil.

It's a shame the numbers in the homeland have dropped significantly,due to migration during the Burnham era.

Portuguese in Guyana came from Madeira.  I thought the GNIers mentioned are Santantone and not Portuguese.  There are very few pure bred Portuguese still in Guyana.

Very true.  I was there recently and noticed some striking similarities to the Portuguese in Guyana.  The garlic pork and salt fish cakes there is the best I ever had.  And the ever popular Madeira wine that was sold by Correia Wine Distributors.  Funchal is the place in Madeira where many of the Guyanese Portuguese came from.

I heard that you got lots of Portuguese in you. 

Portuguese are some of the most attractive looking people on the planet. I don't blame her. 

Certainly. My neighbor is from the Azores. My High school friends from New Amsterdam were the Pimentos, Alphonsos, Peirras and the Pestanos. 

Many of the Portuguese living in Canada are from the Azores.  The ones from Guyana end up in Canada too.  I’m surprised so many Portuguese ended up in Canada.  From what I observed they have a pretty good life in their homeland.  Great food, shopping, and sea life there. 

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Were they immigrants?

Most came against their will as slaves but there were some African immigrants over the years to Guyana from the West Indian islands. 

Indentured from the islands and america. They were the first indentured just before emancipation.

Many of the Portuguese living in Canada are from the Azores.  The ones from Guyana end up in Canada too.  I’m surprised so many Portuguese ended up in Canada.  From what I observed they have a pretty good life in their homeland.  Great food, shopping, and sea life there. 

There are called Newfie Portuguese. Bcz they came from the poverty striken island of Maderia and Azores.

You liar you...I never heard that term. Watch out your nose getting elongated.