Arrite!

* If you see any interesting news or tidbits out there and don't want to start a new thread, feel free to dump it in this thread.

* By the way, what would you folks say is one of the nicest things about waking up in the morning ?

CHECK THIS:

* It's the little things in life that are most enjoyable---like savoring a hot cup of java bright and early in the morning.

* The Rev likes his coffee with cream but no sugar.

* You ever had Cuban coffee ?----Excellent--- but too sweet for me.

SO HOW MANY OF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHEN YOU ARE GONNA DIE ?

CHECK THIS:

A Boston scientist created an online calculator that tells you when you will die---and you can try it right now.

http://www.businessinsider.com...g-will-i-live-2015-5

* Well, the fit and healthy Rev figures he has at least 6 decades to go, so no point in checking any calculator now. I rather doubt any of you will click on that stupid calculator.

UPSTAGED AT HER OWN WEDDING: HER SMILE SAYS "CONGRATULATIONS" , HER EYES SAY SOMETHING ELSE

A picture portraying a wedding guest proposing to his girlfriend right in front of the bride and groom at their reception has been met with outrage and ridicule online. The picture, uploaded to Reddit this week by an unnamed user, has been viewed a staggering 1.36 million times. Whether the bride's smile is genuine or strained has been the subject of hilarious debate amongst internet commentators, who are outraged on the newlyweds' behalf.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/fem...-face-priceless.html

SCENES OF BEAUTIFUL GUYANA

* It's only 3 1/2 minutes---enjoy Guyana's loveliness--click on you tube--the images are clearer.

* Now that the PPP has been kicked out of office---many Guyanese who despised that party will begin to see Guyana's beauty again.

* SWEET MEMORIES! WILL BE THERE SOON ENJOYING THE BEST THE OLD COUNTRY HAS TO OFFER.

Originally Posted by Riya:

* By the way, what would you folks say is one of the nicest things about waking up in the morning ?

Riya: Opening my eyes, stretching and say ahhh I live to see another day

Riya:

* It looks like you view waking up in the mornings as a MIRACLE. You're thinking-- WOW! I'm alive---what a blessing. That's the attitude of someone who lives and enjoys life. Congrats!

* Now! For People who don't enjoy life---waking up is a chore---a burden---they want to go back to sleep.hahaha

OK! HOW OFTEN HAVE YOU ASKED YOURSELF THIS QUESTION IN YOUR LIFE:

READ THIS:

Entrepreneurs will start a restaurant in the same location where five other restaurants have gone out of business; those other guys may not have succeeded — but why not me?

Entrepreneurs will start a software company with nothing but an idea; sure, the competition has deep pockets and a huge market share — but why not me? Hard-working professionals will look at all the people with more experience, more education, and better networks and think, "Okay. Fine. But why not me?"

Successful people don't assume other successful people possess special talents or some gift from the gods. They look at successful people and think, "That's awesome. Why not me?"

By asking that question, they embrace belief and ignore self-doubt. They put aside any feelings that they might not be smart enough, or experienced enough, or adaptable enough.

At some point every successful person looks in the mirror and says, "Sure, lots of other people don't succeed ..." and then turns the question into a bold statement, "But why not me," because more than anything, they believe in themselves.

http://www.businessinsider.com...ul-people-ask-2015-5

* The one question every successful person asks:

* WHY NOT ME ?

Arrite!

* If you see any interesting news or tidbits out there and don't want to start a new thread, feel free to dump it in this thread.

CHECK THIS:

* It's the little things in life that are most enjoyable---like savoring a hot cup of java bright and early in the morning.

* The Rev likes his coffee with cream but no sugar.

* You ever had Cuban coffee ?----Excellent--- but too sweet for me.

CafÃĐ con leche is my favorite when I visit my favorite place Miami (little Cuba) 

Don't forget  'the best part of waking up is Folger's in your cup.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

now about coffee...i brew every morn...mostly MacD brand but recently we got a costco kirkland to try...maybe on Saturday i will...my fav cofee is brew with condensed milk...yummmm but that is once a blue moon

i drink my morning coffee black no sugar

the best thing about waking up everyday is to see my 16 yr old beside me...and to know where my other 2 are....

cricket start back 

rev you cannot do nothing right 

hey warrior, when last u see Prak?

last weekend i see him all the time he went to guyana for holiday 

where do u see him now that his bar is closed?

at stone house he go there to play the horses and there is a bar on Ellesmere that we play domones now cricket start back i hear he say he want to play 

HERE'S THE TRUTH ABOUT:

* By the way, That's a catch phrase for "act as if..."

READ THIS:

There is so much B.S. online you would not believe. You’d be surprised to know how much of what people say about themselves is either embellished or complete fiction, especially among the entrepreneurial crowd.

BOTTOM LINE:

If nothing else, life is mostly about taking chances. It’s about stepping into the unknown. None of us have any real control over the outcome. But if you focus on what you’re good at – what you really love to do – and work hard to develop a marketable expertise, you won’t have to fake anything to make it. You simply will. 

http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/243629

LATEST ISSUE OF FORBES MAGAZINE

* THAT'S RIGHT! SELF MADE WOMEN

* The smarter and wiser sex leaving most men behind.

* That's Jessica Alba on the cover:

READ:

Jessica Alba graced the cover of Forbes magazine in an issue titled America's Richest Self-Made Women as her fortune was pegged at $200 million. The 34-year-old actress turned businesswoman co-founded The Honest Company in 2012 and in a short span it has gained a valuation of $1 billion with the actress holding a 15 to 20 percent stake. Jessica was just $50 million shy of cracking the magazine's Top 50 list with Beyonce and Judge Judy tied at the 49th spot with estimated fortunes of $250 million.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvs...-Honest-Company.html

Lalita look lil shy

* Yuh smiling because yuh know shy girls all have a wild side. 

* You don't believe me---Ask your sons---dem bais know more than you and me----they'll tell you---Shy girls are like church girls--daring and adventurous once they get to know you--be comfortable with you---and have deep feelings for you.

* Shy Lalita is an explosion waiting to happen.hahahaha

IS YOUR COFFEE MAKING YOU FAT ? WE ARE TALKING ABOUT THOSE FRAPPUCCINOS, ETC AT PLACES LIKE STARBUCKS. THEY HAVE MORE CALORIES THAN ICE CREAM

From iced-berry frappuccinos to refreshing cool coffees, there are no shortage of ways to cool down while getting your caffeine fix.

But while iced coffees might sound like a low-calorie alternative to traditional summer ice-cream, the reality is very different.

Many come laden with sugary syrups, fruit juice and cream and as a result, consuming the worst offenders could mean adding as much as 500 calories a day to your diet. 

* See article in link:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/fem...-CREAM-revealed.html

NOW CHECK THIS:

"Nah girl, you're good."

WHAT DO YOU FOLKS TYPICALLY EAT FOR BREAKFAST ? ARE YOU CURIOUS TO KNOW WHAT PEOPLE EAT FOR BREAKFAST AROUND THE WORLD ?

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, keeping us healthy and sharp. But breakfast foods vary wildly from place to place

* The Rev has the usual cup of coffee, a bowl of raisin bran cereal, and a bowl of fruits for breakfast. Very boring.

* But I must say---Bake and salt fish or bake and smoke herring is a treat once in a while on weekends---a while back we visited my cousin and she made Gurumba and oil roti---thoroughly enjoyed it.

* Anyway, Click on the link to see breakfast around the world---will post some breakfast photos later from a few countries that caught my attention.

http://www.businessinsider.com...oast-with-vegemite-1

Originally Posted by Observer:

Wow, thanks for that nostalgic song, Rev.

* Nostalgic, indeed!

* When you get a chance---check this out---abee Guyanese coolie people does prapa talk raw. But dem country bumpkin---dem does cook sweet.hahaha

* FRYING BIGANEE AND BARA IN GUYANA

* Click on you tube and fast forward to 31 sec.

Call Sybil's in Richmen Hill and ask them to fedex some to you. 

* I guess "RICHMEN" Hill is where all those Guyanese crooks like Ed Ahmed, etc, etc live.

* I believe we have some GNIers who live in Richmond Hill, Queens---Bhai Nehru, Bhai Cobra and Mullah kari.

RE: SYBILS

* I was in Richmond Hill, Queens last year---a friend took me to a place called The Ranch on Liberty Avenue to buy Bunjal duck---best bunjal duck I ever had.

* Anyway Sybils was just nearby the Ranch.

* Lemme say this---Sybil's can't even make a half way decent bread and tennis roll, so I rather doubt they could make Bara and Biganee like you saw in that video.

* Anyway, the Rev will be visiting Guyana in July----I saw Chams KITRI last week on GNI---haven't had that in decades---so that's on my list to feast on in Guyana---and now I have added Bara and Biganee after looking at that video.

I guess you're doing PR work to boost tourism.  

* Rev days "working" for others finished over 2 decades ago. 

* Regarding my upcoming trip, I am just a statistic----me and my gang will add to the numbers visiting Guyana hoping to enjoy her beauty and hospitality.

CHECK OUT DEM COUNTRY BAIS FROM LEGUAN CATCHING PATWA AND HOURI. DEM BAIS GOOD---REAL GOOD!

* Click on you tube--Any of you guys remember catching patwa and houri back in the old days or only boring, unadventurous town rass people post on GNI. I actually liked that video--enjoyed listening to the banter of those leguan bais.

Hey Rev, we're seeing a well-dressed and distinguished Mr. Nagamootoo these days. Whoever is helping him is doing a fine job. 

Miss Observer:

* Good morning to you too. Hope this last Sunday in May is a lovely one for you.

* I see you are bringing your DIRTY HABITS from POLITICAL over here to calm and serene SOCIAL.hahahaha

* Anyway Observer, Why not take a stab at the question posed above ?

* As you are aware, the vast majority of humans just exist---they don't live---and so answering that question will be impossible for most.

* So Miss Observer if you are the kind of rare human being who enjoys and lives life---what's your answer ?

The secret of reaping the greatest fruitfulness and enjoyment from life is to live dangerously!  

* That brought a smile to my face. Nicely said Miss Observer.

* Living dangerously, huh Miss Observer. I see you are a daring and adventuresome woman.

* The Rev has always said that every woman on this planet is a wild and natural creature---the mistake most men make is they try to tame their women once they marry them---HUGE MISTAKE---Anyway, hope you found someone who is just as wild and daring as you Miss Observer.

* A PICTURE PAINTS A THOUSAND WORDS.

* Sure life's a ROLLERCOASTER for all---everyone has ups and downs---joys and sorrows--screams and laughter.

* You know what I think--The happy people in life are those who choose to ride that rollercoaster ride in life and enjoy it. For such people life on the whole will never be tedious or boring.

ARRITE! THERE'S A LOT OF THINGS YOU CAN FAKE--YOU CAN FAKE A ROLEX WATCH--YOU CAN FAKE AN ORGASM--YOU CAN FAKE A GUCCI BAG---BUT CHECK THIS:

* Since GNI social is family oriented we'll only address COMPETENCE.

* There is a new government in Guyana. 50.3% of the Guyana electorate have HIGH EXPECTATIONS for this new government.

QUESTION

* Does the new government have the COMPETENCE to lead Guyana to greater prosperity ?

* President Granger and Prime Minister Nagamootoo seem like SINCERE blokes, but what about COMPETENCE ? Do they have that ? We shall see.

BURYING A CHILD: That has got to be the most devastating and heartbreaking experience a parent can ever have in his or her lifetime. It is just not right! You are not supposed to bury your children. They should bury you.

"MY SONS WERE MY REDEMPTION": The moving graduation speech Joe Biden gave just weeks before his son dies of brain cancer.

Biden told graduating seniors that 'reality has a way of intruding' in life and he shared the story of how a car crash that killed his wife and one-year-old daughter made him realize his sons needed to be his first priority, commuting four hours a day from Washington to Delaware so he could be with them for breakfast and dinner. Beau Biden's death was announced by the family on Saturday night.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...au-brain-cancer.html

* For those of you who dearly believe in God---like Biden--he is a good Christian man---what does a parent say to God when they have to bury a child ?

BOTTOM LINE:

* There is no god who concerns himself with human affairs---NONE.

WHO VEX, VEX!

BURYING A CHILD: That has got to be the most devastating and heartbreaking experience a parent can ever have in his or her lifetime. It is just not right! You are not supposed to bury your children. They should bury you.

"MY SONS WERE MY REDEMPTION": The moving graduation speech Joe Biden gave just weeks before his son dies of brain cancer.

Biden told graduating seniors that 'reality has a way of intruding' in life and he shared the story of how a car crash that killed his wife and one-year-old daughter made him realize his sons needed to be his first priority, commuting four hours a day from Washington to Delaware so he could be with them for breakfast and dinner. Beau Biden's death was announced by the family on Saturday night.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...au-brain-cancer.html

* For those of you who dearly believe in God---like Biden--he is a good Christian man---what does a parent say to God when they have to bury a child ?

BOTTOM LINE:

* There is no god who concerns himself with human affairs---NONE.

WHO VEX, VEX!

This is very very sad and has touched me so much..he has endured so much

CHECK OUT DEM COUNTRY BAIS FROM LEGUAN CATCHING PATWA AND HOURI. DEM BAIS GOOD---REAL GOOD!

* Click on you tube--Any of you guys remember catching patwa and houri back in the old days or only boring, unadventurous town rass people post on GNI. I actually liked that video--enjoyed listening to the banter of those leguan bais.

This is nice

YOU HAVE A MINUTE ? CHECK OUT THIS ENTREPRENEUR SELLING FRUITS FROM HIS CART IN GEORGETOWN

* Click on you tube---you see how passionate, enthusiastic and efficient that gentleman is conducting his business---you can see his pride in that video---was that an orange peeling machine ?---The Rev has tons of respect and admiration for entrepreneurs---that young man is working hard on building his dreams. I surely wish him well. Listen! If I see him in GT when I visit I'll definitely spend a few dollars at his cart.

Oi Rev if you should run into Councie in Guyana, could you please squish him for me?

READ THIS FROM THE BIBLE CAINSTA BAI:--->Proverb 27:19

* The Rev is a classy and dignified gentleman and would never be caught dead associating with hoodlums from PPP Freedom House.

*The Rev much prefers the company of the genial, good-natured and gracious folks here in GNI Social.

OK! THE WORLD NOW KNOWS THAT BRUCE JENNER MORPHED FROM A MAN'S BODY INTO A WOMAN'S BODY----there is a question coming up

THE QUESTION:

* If your father or son or brother were to pull a Jenner and morph into a woman's body would you love and respect him/her the same or would you love and respect him/her less ?

* The Rev will go first and take a stab at that question.

* I believe in respecting other people's feelings---for the most part---to each his own---everyone makes his own bed---let them lie in it---my love and respect would not change. How about you folks ? Would you still love or would you hate ?

PLANNING TO GET MARRIED SOON: HERE ARE 24 OF THE HOTTEST HONEYMOON DESTINATIONS

French Polynesia's Bora Bora

Where a couple decides to honeymoon is a personal choice.

For some, paradise is lounging on a beach with soft white sand and clear aquamarine water surrounded by palm trees.

For others, it's roaming the streets and enjoying the charm of a romantic city like Paris.

Either way, chances are you'll find an ideal honeymoon spot in our list of newlywed destinations that are trending now...

http://www.businessinsider.com...-destinations-2015-6

OK! THE WORLD NOW KNOWS THAT BRUCE JENNER MORPHED FROM A MAN'S BODY INTO A WOMAN'S BODY----there is a question coming up

THE QUESTION:

* If your father or son or brother were to pull a Jenner and morph into a woman's body would you love and respect him/her the same or would you love and respect him/her less ?

* I believe in respecting other people's feelings---for the most part---to each his own---everyone makes his own bed---let them lie in it---my love and respect would not change. How about you folks ? Would you still love or would you hate ?

He's keeping up with the Kardashians - they are all so FAKE.

THE QUESTION:

Oi Rev, you must enquire where does he tuck it, to the left right or center? Left or right is an offside so it mus be a center tuck.

Originally Posted by Amral:

I honestly do not know what I will do. But I have told my 2 sons that"you guys better not pierce any part of your body, yuh momma mek  1 daughter and 2 sons she nah mek 3 daughters"

* I had a good laugh reading the part highlighted.

* HOMOSEXUALITY IS ABSOLUTELY FORBIDDEN IN ISLAM.

* Here is the Hadith---saying attributed to good old Prophet Mohamed on Homosexuality:

"When a man mounts another man, the throne of God shakes."

"Kill the one that is doing it and also kill the one that it is being done to." (in reference to the active and passive partners in gay sexual intercourse)

http://www.missionislam.com/kn...ge/homosexuality.htm

* Damn! Gays are HATED in Islam---Prophet says KILL them.

* I mentioned to Stormborn over in Political that I was impressed with his cool and composed demeanor these days on GNI, and it looked like he had retired the old, pugnacious Stormborn. He replied with the poem on Youth below.

* THANKS STORMY! WELCOME TO THE REV'S WORLD BE FOREVER YOUTHFUL.

“YOUTH” Samuel Ullman

Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind; it is not a matter of rosy cheeks, red lips and supple knees; it is a matter of the will, a quality of the imagination, a vigor of the emotions; it is the freshness of the deep springs of life.

Youth means a temperamental predominance of courage over timidity of the appetite, for adventure over the love of ease. This often exists in a man of sixty more than a boy of twenty. Nobody grows old merely by a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals.

Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul. Worry, fear, self-distrust bows the heart and turns the spirit back to dust.

Whether sixty or sixteen, there is in every human being’s heart the lure of wonder, the unfailing child-like appetite of what’s next, and the joy of the game of living. In the center of your heart and my heart there is a wireless station; so long as it receives messages of beauty, hope, cheer, courage and power from men and from the infinite, so long are you young.

When the aerials are down, and your spirit is covered with snows of cynicism and the ice of pessimism, then you are grown old, even at twenty, but as long as your aerials are up, to catch the waves of optimism, there is hope you may die young at eighty.

THE QUESTION:

Oi Rev, you must enquire where does he tuck it, to the left right or center? Left or right is an offside so it mus be a center tuck.

Or is it chop chop?

Check you out with yuh selfie...go with yuh bad self

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvs...-s-new-identity.html

* That must surely be a slap in the face for poor Kris Jenner---imagine your husband becomes a woman and folks on the internet are saying he is more glamorous and beautiful than you.

* Those folks--the Kardashians and the Jenners may be fake and dysfunctional---but they have surely monetized their fakeness and dysfunctionality---have made tens of millions.

MILLIONS OF CANADIANS HEADED FOR 'TROUBLE' IN RETIREMENT: CIBC REPORT

READ THIS:

Millions of Canadians who are dreaming of spending their retirement soaking up the sun in an exotic getaway might have to rein in their expectations, a new CIBC study warns.

The report, issued this week by deputy chief economist Benjamin Tal, says about 5.8 million working-age Canadians can expect to see a 20 per cent drop in their living standards after they retire.

Responding to a debate sparked by Finance Minister Joe Oliver's announcement last week that the government would consider expanding voluntary Canadian Pension Plan contributions, Tal said that change to the current system is "essential.

http://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/m...ibc-report-1.2403317

* Savings is a way to spend money without any pleasure. Save mindlessly and spend consciously today and you'll be stress free financially when you retire.

* Don't say you don't get useful tips on GNI.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Okay Rev, I looked through your thread...you've got lots of stuff here. What might me interesting to me might not be for others. I'll try to make a few posts now and then

Mira:

* We are all fully aware of that proverb:

* In other words what's pleasant for you may be unpleasant for others.

* But that's what makes life interesting---half the people will agree with what you say and the other half will disagree.

* I like it when people disagree with me. Sometime I learn a thing or two from them. You never learn from those who agree with you.

Okay Rev, I looked through your thread...you've got lots of stuff here. What might me interesting to me might not be for others. I'll try to make a few posts now and then

Mira:

* We are all fully aware of that proverb:

* In other words what's pleasant for you may be unpleasant for others.

* But that's what makes life interesting---half the people will agree with what you say and the other half will disagree.

* I like it when people disagree with me. Sometime I learn a thing or two from them. You never learn from those who agree with you.

Yep, I've heard that one before and have used it too. How about one man's trash is another man's treasure? 

Let the lighthearted disagreements begin! Here  I go...

The designer handbags, clothing, shoes, watches etc. that you post are not interesting at all to me. See, you've learned some more about me just from this post. Now, it's your turn to disagree so I can learn something from you. 

Let the lighthearted disagreements begin! Here  I go...

The designer handbags, clothing, shoes, watches etc. that you post are not interesting at all to me. See, you've learned some more about me just from this post. Now, it's your turn to disagree so I can learn something from you. 

* Personally I am quite contented with the simple things in life---good books, good music, good foods, good travels--- to places I have never gone to before + a few other important things like good, loving family.

RE: FASHION--clothes/handbags/shoes/watches

* Hey I have learned a lot from my wife---I like her style---she once told me that she buys what makes her happy---I like that---once she is happy---I am happy.

THIS MAN JUST BECAME RICHER THAN WARREN BUFFET

* Any of you ever shopped at ZARA Stores ? Well the man who just surpassed Warren Buffet as the 2nd richest person in the world is the founder of ZARA Stores.

READ MORE:

He’s a famously private person

Amancio Ortega, founder of clothing retailer Zara, is now the second-richest man in the world, knocking legendary investor Warren Buffett into third place.

The 79-year-old who hails from Spain is worth over $71.5 billion as of June 2, 2015, according to Bloomberg. Bill Gates remains the world’s richest man with a net worth of over $85.5 billion.

http://fortune.com/2015/06/03/...a/?xid=yahoo_fortune

* The Bible says, "to those who have more will be given unto them." In other words, the rich get richer.

Zara is one of my favorite store. There's a huge one at Florida Mall.

The clothes are very trendy and elegant.

Riya:

* Mr. Ortega wholeheartedly thanks you for patronizing his store. You and millions of other fashionable shoppers have helped made him the 2nd richest man in the world.

* But seriously riya, did you know that unlike other brands that update once a season, ZARA restocks their stores with new designs twice a week ? That explains why when you go into a Zara store there is a freshness and brightness and newness every time you go.

* In terms of business, ZARA has fundamentally changed fashion---their success has been astounding.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Zara is one of my favorite store. There's a huge one at Florida Mall.

The clothes are very trendy and elegant.

My sis spends a huge part of her paycheck at Zara.   I have picked up stuff there once in a while...not a regular. Their clothes is unique and fits well.

that reminds me of my working days in NYC. I worked across Lord and Taylor and would blow my paycheck right there

HOW MANY OF YOU USE YOUR CELLPHONE IN THE BATHROOM ?

QUESTION:

* Did you folks know that using you cell phone in the bathroom can spread serious illness ?

READ MORE:

You have in the air pathogens such as E. coli, salmonella, C. difficile, norovirus," he said. "These could get deposited onto these devices. That could then lead to either self-infection, or transmission of infection through touching somebody else."

The use of a cellphone without either washing your hands or cleaning off the device with an alcohol wipe could lead to a "cumulative effect of bacteria," Tetro said.

See Link:

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2...germs_n_5283659.html

THE SELFIE SYNDROME--A NEW GENERATION OF NARCISSISTS

Read this:

Most members of the selfie-snapping public try to go about their disgusting business in a discreet fashion. But we’ve found some who have no shame.

CHECK THIS:

http://www.timetobreak.com/416...-these-13-a-winners/

* I saw Mr. cain posting a selfie of himself recently---but unlike that woman he was discreet.

That woman wasn't taking out a selfie. She has a mirror app in her smartphone. She was using the mirror to check out something down deh.

Gilly bai:

* The Rev admires your CURIOSITY.

* Take a bow my friend Only a man with a youthful sparkle--a man who still has that fountain of youth in him--a man with inimitable curiosity---only such a man Gilbakka would make the whimsical observation you just did. Listen! Whenever the good Lord is ready for you my friend you'll depart with a spirited, sprightly and youthful heart. 

Rev, I like that word "inimitable". 

I did say I'll try to contribute to your thread - here I go

i read recently that 8 out of 10 people fear public speaking. I can't recall where I read it. Does this hold true for you?

Mira:

* Isn't all speaking public speaking ? Whether you talk to one person or a thousand people, it's public speaking. If the Rev runs into you in New York city and we have a pleasant chat, that's public speaking, right ?

* Maybe the 8 in 10 people you mentioned---they likely fear standing in front of an audience and delivering a talk or speech.

* ACTUALLY THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

* YOU ASKED IF THE REV HAS A FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING.

* The answer is no---I think if you speak from the heart---if you know what you are talking about---and if you respect the people you are talking to----then there will be no fear speaking before an audience---Be sincere, be brief, and be seated. That's the key.

Oh and just for the record...my aerial is up.

cainsta:

* Stormborn is the man to contact if your aerial is up---his aerial is up also---he's eagerly awaiting to be single again---Stormy is GNI's resident expert on Ukrainian mail order brides:  See link---wide selection:

https://www.google.com/search?...&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAQ

where did I say I would want a mail order bride? I am quite confident if the need arises that I can find a woman from those with whom I would have had something in common.

cainsta:

* Stormborn is the man to contact if your aerial is up---his aerial is up also---he's eagerly awaiting to be single again---Stormy is GNI's resident expert on Ukrainian mail order brides:  See link---wide selection:

where did I say I would want a mail order bride? I am quite confident if the need arises that I can find a woman from those with whom I would have had something in common.

GNI rocks.   Morning folks! 

Rev, you have a variety of topics going on here, so I'll add another: suicide. What leads a 47-year-old Guyanese wife and mother of 2 wonderful children who all lived in paradise: Orlando, FL to hang herself? I guess a few folks are living lives of quiet desperation in these foreign countries. Say a prayer for that soul to rest in peace.

Stormy:

* The Rev was not aware of Ukrainian brides until you brought it up in a thread last year and spoke eloquently about their beauty and sensuosity.

https://www.google.com/search?...pics.php%3B330%3B470

* Anyway, I wish you well with your "bonding" if or when the time comes. Women like confident men. And you say you have tons of confidence.

Rev, you have a variety of topics going on here, so I'll add another: suicide. What leads a 47-year-old Guyanese wife and mother of 2 wonderful children who all lived in paradise: Orlando, FL to hang herself? I guess a few folks are living lives of quiet desperation in these foreign countries. Say a prayer for that soul to rest in peace.

Miss Observer:

* Oh darn! That is very sad. Very sad, indeed.

* Someone once said, "people who die by suicide don't want to end their life they want to end their pain and sadness."

* By the way Observer, I noticed you quoted Thoreau. He was dead right, "the masses of men/women live lives of quiet desperation."

Gilly bai:

* The Rev admires your CURIOSITY.

* Take a bow my friend Only a man with a youthful sparkle--a man who still has that fountain of youth in him--a man with inimitable curiosity---only such a man Gilbakka would make the whimsical observation you just did. Listen! Whenever the good Lord is ready for you my friend you'll depart with a spirited, sprightly and youthful heart. 

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror, a round one with a nude Marlyn Munroe's photo at the back. And being an active youth playing on various fields, I needed that mirror to check for red grass lice and black crab lice which were all native to that tropical climate just like me.

cainsta:

Baana look yeh, when my aerial is up I do not contact men.

I did the selfie because none of the family wanna take a pic with me in biker clothes...well except for the cops. Check the Outlaws shirt, bad ass cain, hehehe

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror,

Gilly Bhai:

* It looks like you were a regular customer at Garmont and the other whorehouses on Lombard street in Guyana. Those diseased women had to have been infested. By the way gilbakka, how much did you pay for services back in those days ?hahaha

Baana look yeh, when my aerial is up I do not contact men.

I did the selfie because none of the family wanna take a pic with me in biker clothes...well except for the cops. Check the Outlaws shirt, bad ass cain, hehehe

* The outlaw shirt is surely bad ass. By the way, is that really you in the selfie ? For a while I thought it was your son or grandson.LOL

I WANT ALL OF YOU---PARTICULARLY THE GNI LADIES---TO LISTEN TO THIS BRIGHT, BEAUTIFUL, CHARMING AND ELOQUENT 56 YEAR OLD WOMAN GIVE A TALK AT THE 2014 TED CONFERENCE--WE'LL TALK ABOUT HER LATER IN THIS THREAD

In this intriguing talk, biologist Ameenah Gurib-Fakim introduces us to rare plant species from isolated islands and regions of Africa. Meet the shape-shifting benjoin; the baume de l'ile plate, which might offer a new treatment for asthma; and the iconic baobab tree, which could hold the key to the future of food. Plus: monkey apples.

DID YOU LISTEN TO HER TALK ? THE BRILLIANT AND ELOQUENT AMEENAH GURIB-FAKIM IS NOW THE FIRST FEMALE PRESIDENT OF MAURITIUS

* The Rev has deep respect and glowing admiration for accomplished women like Ameenah---lovely name by the way.

* I wonder if Americans are in the mood to elect a woman President in 2016 ? Congrats to the Mauritians.

* Click on the link if you are curious:

http://blog.ted.com/surprise-y...sident-of-mauritius/

PAGING MS. MIRAVER:

* You asked me a question about PUBLIC SPEAKING earlier in this thread.

* Did you listen to that TED TALK by the esteemed and scintillating Ms. Ameenah Gurib-Fakim ? It was quite compelling, wasn't it ?

* That's the way you give a public speech without harboring any fears.

* Be knowledgeable. Be sincere. Be brief. Be seated.

* Ameenah was all of those.

* Not sure about my fellow GNI posters, but the Rev thoroughly enjoyed listening to Ameenah.

* And by the way, she has a refreshing sense of humor. When she talked about the Resurrection Plant, for example---she said even Jesus has competition. I thought that was funny.

Padna, when I was young like that girl, there weren't smartphones with mirror apps. I had to use a simple pocket mirror,

Gilly Bhai:

* It looks like you were a regular customer at Garmont and the other whorehouses on Lombard street in Guyana. Those diseased women had to have been infested. By the way gilbakka, how much did you pay for services back in those days ?hahaha

Bai, is not the way yuh mekking it out to be. Some of dat was involved but not much. Anyway, as yuh ask, it was $1 with skirts off, $2 with no clothes. I experimented only in 1970 and part 1971. After that, was real girlfriends. Now, I dare you to be more candid and honest than me.

UK prof says it's time to pitch erasers from classrooms so kids can learn from mistakes

Erasers are an ‘instrument of the devil’ and should be banned from classrooms, according to education expert Guy Claxton

CBC --- Erasers may look benign, but a cognitive scientist in the UK says beware what's inside your child's pencil case.

Guy Claxton, a visiting professor at King's College, London told British newspapers that "erasers are the instrument of the devil," this week. 

Claxton says we do need to rub out the idea that kids aren't allowed to make mistakes.

"The problem with erasers is, if you're not careful, they perpetuate an idea that to be successful you have to get things right the first time. And the eraser says if you didn't get it right the first time, rub it out and pretend that you did. So, the written record looks like you're smarter than you are."

He says the idea that work needs to be perfect is damaging to kids in the long run.

"It's as if we're training children to be little performers rather than little improvers, and in the long run that doesn't stand them in good stead. The international research is very clear that attitudes like persistence in the face of difficulty, curiosity, and imagination count for more in life than the grades that students get."

The man is mad. Imagine making a misteke,misteak,misstake...mistake.

Now imagininging,imiagne,immagene,  imagine this occuring often.

When any of my coworkers made a mistake, they freak out, start breaking out in freckles, hives whatever at the time, I would always say, "don't worry, mistakes are meant to be made, why do you think erasures are placed on the ends of pencils?"    They would smile and breathe easier.

Dis dam man trying fo screw up Iman werds, wirds, wurds, ...words of wisdom.

DID YOU LISTEN TO HER TALK ? THE BRILLIANT AND ELOQUENT AMEENAH GURIB-FAKIM IS NOW THE FIRST FEMALE PRESIDENT OF MAURITIUS

* The Rev has deep respect and glowing admiration for accomplished women like Ameenah---lovely name by the way.

* I wonder if Americans are in the mood to elect a woman President in 2016 ? Congrats to the Mauritians.

* Click on the link if you are curious:

http://blog.ted.com/surprise-y...sident-of-mauritius/

Very admirable lady, and she and Hilary Clinton are great role models for women everywhere.

I think more Indians were taken to Mauritius than anywhere else but am not sure, will check the data later. Indians in India are very aware of this and shot some movies there:  Souten, Chandi Sona, etc.

UK prof says it's time to pitch erasers from classrooms so kids can learn from mistakes

* That's UK professor needs a lobotomy. What an incredibly dumb idea.

* Any 6 year old would tell that stupid professor that erasers are made for those who are willing to correct their mistakes.

* Oh well! 90% of professors are ordinary and mediocre---they have advanced degrees but little common sense and wisdom---that UK professor is among that 90%.

I think more Indians were taken to Mauritius than anywhere else but am not sure, will check the data later. Indians in India are very aware of this and shot some movies there:  Souten, Chandi Sona, etc.

* Read what Mark Twain had to say about Mauritius. He was right. It's a beautiful Island.

* You are right about the demographics---the majority of the population are Indo-Mauritians---who make up 68% of the population.

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mauritius

* That's UK professor needs a lobotomy. What an incredibly dumb idea.

* Any 6 year old would tell that stupid professor that erasers are made for those who are willing to correct their mistakes.

* Oh well! 90% of professors are ordinary and mediocre---they have advanced degrees but little common sense and wisdom---that UK professor is among that 90%.

I do not mind that in early stages of learning they ditch the erasers. Most kids cannot write any thing well. Handwriting is being lost. My kids surprised me when I learnt they ( the girls especially who went to regular school. Son home schooled)  could not write cursive fluidly and when they did it was truly horrid. I actually had to take a couple of months to tutor them for an half an hour to an hour a couple of times a week teaching them to write cursive by tricking them it is calligraphy. Imagine the puffed cheeks I had initially  teaching them an obsolete art! Well, now they see the befit. The girls especially took it to heart and now like to write. I hate ugly writing. Writing well is not only easy with a few lessons but it is absolutely beautiful. I have mastered  a few including Carolingian, Irish half Uncial, Uncial, old English and the standard Spencerian we learnt in school. I think erasers and a lack of emphasis on formal penmanship has led to the decay of good writing habits

Rev, I like that word "inimitable". 

I did say I'll try to contribute to your thread - here I go

i read recently that 8 out of 10 people fear public speaking. I can't recall where I read it. Does this hold true for you?

Mira:

* Isn't all speaking public speaking ? Whether you talk to one person or a thousand people, it's public speaking. If the Rev runs into you in New York city and we have a pleasant chat, that's public speaking, right ?

* Maybe the 8 in 10 people you mentioned---they likely fear standing in front of an audience and delivering a talk or speech.

* ACTUALLY THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

* YOU ASKED IF THE REV HAS A FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING.

* The answer is no---I think if you speak from the heart---if you know what you are talking about---and if you respect the people you are talking to----then there will be no fear speaking before an audience---Be sincere, be brief, and be seated. That's the key.

Come on Rev, you know fully well that I meant standing in front of an audience when I said, "public speaking" Anyway, I like your attempt at humor

Yes, I know this-  THE FEAR OF PUBLIC SPEAKING IS CALLED GLOSSOPHOBIA.

ummm..ravstah..u nah ansah de gyal question...u run aroung de bush kinda...hahah

* You have to learn chams Never answer a question directly until you understand the motive of the questioner.hahaha

hmmmmmmmmmmm...tip of the day...

Rev, fortunately, I had no motive (hidden reason) for asking the question about public speaking. I was merely trying to contribute to your thread and make polite conversation.

Cham, I won't recommend Rev's response as "tip of the day". 

PAGING MS. MIRAVER:

* You asked me a question about PUBLIC SPEAKING earlier in this thread.

* Did you listen to that TED TALK by the esteemed and scintillating Ms. Ameenah Gurib-Fakim ? It was quite compelling, wasn't it ?

* That's the way you give a public speech without harboring any fears.

* Be knowledgeable. Be sincere. Be brief. Be seated.

* Ameenah was all of those.

* Not sure about my fellow GNI posters, but the Rev thoroughly enjoyed listening to Ameenah.

* And by the way, she has a refreshing sense of humor. When she talked about the Resurrection Plant, for example---she said even Jesus has competition. I thought that was funny.

Miraver is answering the page:

I didn't look at that TED presentation as yet. I bet it is a good one.

I do not mind that in early stages of learning they ditch the erasers. Most kids cannot write any thing well. Handwriting is being lost. My kids surprised me when I learnt they ( the girls especially who went to regular school. Son home schooled)  could not write cursive fluidly and when they did it was truly horrid. I actually had to take a couple of months to tutor them for an half an hour to an hour a couple of times a week teaching them to write cursive by tricking them it is calligraphy. Imagine the puffed cheeks I had initially  teaching them an obsolete art! Well, now they see the befit. The girls especially took it to heart and now like to write. I hate ugly writing. Writing well is not only easy with a few lessons but it is absolutely beautiful. I have mastered  a few including Carolingian, Irish half Uncial, Uncial, old English and the standard Spencerian we learnt in school. I think erasers and a lack of emphasis on formal penmanship has led to the decay of good writing habits

Stormy:

* Nice post above!

* You just made me remember my father--he had beautiful handwriting. I have some of his books he owned in my library---he used to make notes in them---I'll have to go and admire his handwriting.

* Personally, my penmanship was always piss poor. I guess I never made the effort to learn how to write properly.

* This is nice penmanship:

* Read what Mark Twain had to say about Mauritius. He was right. It's a beautiful Island.

* You are right about the demographics---the majority of the population are Indo-Mauritians---who make up 68% of the population.

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mauritius

During the Fall and Winter, I imagine myself on one of those beach chairs. It works wonders and helps get me through the bleak and dreary months.  

===

During the Fall and Winter, I imagine myself on one of those beach chairs. It works wonders and helps get me through the bleak and dreary months.  

Miss Observer:

* You surely have a lush and fertile imagination. Good for you. Congrats! You'll never be a lonely woman with such a feverishly inventive imagination.

OK! YOU EXERCISE REGULARLY---YOU ACHIEVE YOUR FITNESS GOALS--YOU LOSE THE WEIGHT YOU WANTED TO LOSE---YOU'RE FIT AND TRIM

QUESTION:

* How long does it take to get out of shape if you start slacking up with your exercise/fitness program ?

ANSWER: Within a month or two you can see complete loss of all gains according to an exercise scientist--that's right! That how quickly you are back to being a lazy, overweight, lethargic slob again.

See Link:

http://www.businessinsider.com...-out-of-shape-2015-6

INVESTORS START TO PANIC AS A GLOBAL BOND MARKET CRASH BEGINS

Is the financial collapse that so many are expecting in the second half of 2015 already starting ?  Many have believed that we would see bonds crash before the stock market crashes, and that is precisely what is happening right now.  Since mid-April, the yield on 10 year German bonds has shot up from 0.05 percent to 0.89 percent.  But much of that jump has come this week.  Just a couple of days ago, the yield on 10 year German bonds was sitting at just 0.54 percent.  And it isn’t just Germany – bond yields are going crazy all over Europe.  So far, it is being estimated that global investors have lost more than half a trillion dollars, and there is much more room for these bonds to fall.  In the end, the overall losses could be well into the trillions even before the stock market collapses.

READ MORE:

http://theeconomiccollapseblog...-market-crash-begins

THE CENTRAL BANKS ARE LOSING CONTROL OF THE FINANCIAL MARKETS

Every great con game eventually comes to an end.  For years, global central banks have been manipulating the financial marketplace with their monetary voodoo.  Somehow, they have convinced investors around the world to invest tens of trillions of dollars into bonds that provide a return that is way under the real rate of inflation.  For quite a long time I have been insisting that this is highly irrational.  Why would any rational investor want to put money into investments that will make them poorer on a purchasing power basis in the long run?  And when any central bank initiates a policy of “quantitative easing”, any rational investor should immediately start demanding a higher rate of return on the bonds of that nation.  Creating money out of thin air and pumping into the financial system devalues all existing money and creates inflation.  Therefore, rational investors should respond by driving interest rates up.  Instead, central banks told everyone that interest rates would be forced down, and that is precisely what happened.  But now things have shifted.  Investors are starting to behave more rationally and the central banks are starting to lose control of the financial markets, and that is a very bad sign for the rest of 20

READ MORE:

http://theeconomiccollapseblog...he-financial-markets

SALMA HAYEK: WOMEN REALLY LIKE BEING CALLED "HOT" AFTER 40

Salma Hayek

SALMA HAYEK SAYS:

"You know makes you 'hot'? When you have the hots for someone," she says. "I have the hots for my husband, and that keeps you, I think that keeps that in you. When you like somebody it comes out of you, almost naturally, and you're motivated. Love motivates you."

http://www.people.com/article/...s-choice-awards-2015

* Very interesting comments from Ms Hayek above. I guess when you see women who are quarrelsome, combative, and bad-tempered---Salma says those women have no "HOTS" in their lives.LOL

YAHOO NEWS: GUYANA WARNS VENEZUELA ON MARITIME DISPUTE

Georgetown (Guyana) (AFP) - Guyana warned Monday it would "vigorously" resist any attempt by Venezuela to enforce a new claim over coastal waters where Exxon Mobil recently announced an important oil find.

* Oh raaaassss! Venezuela better don't mess with the new PNC government. Is war dem playing wid. President Granger ready to nuke the Venezuelans.

See link:

http://news.yahoo.com/guyana-w...spute-152828677.html

YAHOO NEWS: GUYANA WARNS VENEZUELA ON MARITIME DISPUTE

Georgetown (Guyana) (AFP) - Guyana warned Monday it would "vigorously" resist any attempt by Venezuela to enforce a new claim over coastal waters where Exxon Mobil recently announced an important oil find.

* Oh raaaassss! Venezuela better don't mess with the new PNC government. Is war dem playing wid. President Granger ready to nuke the Venezuelans.

See link:

http://news.yahoo.com/guyana-w...spute-152828677.html

we have some ppp ministers to trade 

PAGING STORMBORN:

READ THIS:

* Stormy bai--Salma Hayek was 100% right:

Women who are quarrelsome, combative, and bad-tempered---Salma says those women have no "HOTS" in their lives.

* Good luck Stormborn---there is a saying in Guyana---"you meet yuh meter."hahaha

* The POSER is one testy, prickly and vinegary woman.hahaha

Salma Hayek

SALMA HAYEK SAYS:

"You know makes you 'hot'? When you have the hots for someone," she says. "I have the hots for my husband, and that keeps you, I think that keeps that in you. When you like somebody it comes out of you, almost naturally, and you're motivated. Love motivates you."

* Very interesting comments from Ms Hayek above. I guess when you see women who are quarrelsome, combative, and bad-tempered---Salma says those women have no "HOTS" in their lives.LOL

I keep looking at dat dam picture, you know I can see her breathing, hmmm

Salma Hayek

SALMA HAYEK SAYS:

Check out her dance at the Titty Twister in Tarantino's "From Dusk Till Dawn"...nice guitar lead also!!!

OMG...dat gyal artemis turn paralegal too...hmmmmmmm

Artemis uses those same funny picture inserts (Queen Liz sticking up her fingers etc.) on another site she posts on.  

Amral don't let anyone fite Arte. He cuddles and protects her. Last time we had a throw down she left complaining I am beating up on a fatherless child.

In any event, Arte is bright and while a truly flaky and resourceful cuss bird,  is a few shades less paranoid and by that a bit on the nicer side than this one. 

Salma Hayek

SALMA HAYEK SAYS:

Check out her dance at the Titty Twister in Tarantino's "From Dusk Till Dawn"...nice guitar lead also!!!

She kept her clothes on...what da hell?

Nice guitar work for sure and that girl sure is one sexy mama.

Salma Hayek

SALMA HAYEK SAYS:

She kept her clothes on...what da hell?

Nice guitar work for sure and that girl sure is one sexy mama.

Here is the guitar piece from beginning...the girl also

some of her body look is from cosmetic surgery...lipo and rhinoplasty

she is definitely beautiful...i recall someone telling his wife not to worry, the only woman he will ever leave hr for is Salma Hayek!!! lol

* That someone had impeccable and flawless taste in women. Bet his wife also beguiled him. That's why he got away with saying what he said.

* Anyway, which man won't be ensnared by a woman who thinks this way:

ole me! 56 turning 65...jeez i wish!

* CUT IT OUT! NEVER THINK OF YOURSELF AS OLD!

* Sure the body gets old--if you have been on this earth 56 years---you have a 56 year old body---there is no denying that. But your heart and soul never need to grow old.

* You made a beautiful post earlier in this thread and this is part of what you said:

when i am old OR ready to leave this world...a life well lived would be the one i am having...it is well lived

* Any person who says his or her life is "well lived" such a person has a young heart and soul. So no more "OLD" talk from you. Your body may one day be old but never allow your heart and soul to grow old.

* No need to say thanks Rev.

Revvy, what in the world is going on in that thread?? Looks like someone wants to crush you and Stormy with a battering ram.   

chameli: Observer, u are looking at a courtship

* Chams, Yuh rass wicked yuh know.hahaha

* What a character!!! I knew she was a POSER/hypocrite/pretender from her very first post and kind of let her know it.

* Well the woman was pissed and She dropped some serious verbal abuse on the Rev. But what shocked me was when she posted a photo of herself on a motor bike and commented "Mr. Rev, this is for you."

* NOW TELL ME! WHICH NORMAL, MENTALLY STABLE WOMAN WOULD DO THAT SHIT ?

* Anyway, she made the huge mistake of trying to attack Stormborn---initially Stormy was trying to be circumspect---but the woman got nasty and abusive---and Stormy delivered the knockout blow---calling the woman ugly, and writing "woe behold any man who want to ride that old pony" etc, etc---Stormy sent her packing---she messed with the wrong guy---I guess she pleaded with amral to delete the thread.

* THERE ARE SOME WEIRD PEOPLE IN THIS WORLD.

This morning I woke up with the word fornication on my mind.

I don't know why.

Fornication is consensual sex among unmarried couples but I'm a married man.

My "fornicatering" days ended on Sir Walter Raleigh's 431st birth anniversary.

Something tells me I shall be entering Paradise soon.

Keep I mind, Sir Walter also lost his head. Be careful.

Originally Posted by Tola:

This morning I woke up with the word fornication on my mind.

I don't know why.

Fornication is consensual sex among unmarried couples but I'm a married man.

My "fornicatering" days ended on Sir Walter Raleigh's 431st birth anniversary.

Something tells me I shall be entering Paradise soon.

Keep I mind, Sir Walter also lost his head. Be careful.

Yuh wutliss, bai. Honestly, as soon as me eye open dis marning, da laang f-word jump into me mind. Up to now me cyant figga am out.