African rice Oryza Glaberrima, distinct from Asian rice Oryza Sativa, was domesticated and cultivated for millennia in West Africa from the Niger Delta to the Sahel as history and science documents, see PNAS abstract here:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC138616/

the link https://www.ucl.ac.uk/rice/his...ebating-origins-rice famously provided by drugb points to offerings from a UCL project on Asian rice and it's antiquity

independent domestication timelines of Oryza Glaberrima vs. Oryza Sativa are an irrelevant scientific debate outside what is being discussed here

the fact that i have to belabor the obvious is bizarre

Interesting read...even the douglarization aspect of the rice itself and that Andre guy!  Ok, I was joking.  But seriously, it was interesting to read!

Oh, we just crossed into page # 9

That was also long, I have contributed a lot on that thread.

I used to think you and Gil were family and that he was sharing the answers with you because you always answered all the questions.  

We are from the same Region,he knows one of my relative,they were in the same Secondary School.

Serious question:  guys, there was a thread here yesterday about Mahdia, what happened to it? I was at a Greek wedding.

That banna really into the Baigan thingy!  It exposed some [shameful] sick inner cravings of the mentally unstable!  As the saying goes, once you went Black, you can't go back!

I was in Queens and shared it with a few persons before it was deleted, including two women.  They had their Oh My Grandma moment!! 

You should have shared it with Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo to show him what his supporters are doing on a Guyanese site, and that such behavior will never garner PPP votes. He needs to caution them.

Poor guy, he has a lot of other things to worry about other than fretting over some old Bunga Bunga Queen with innate carnal fantasies.  I don't envy the Dhal Bai situation!!  He has a tough fight to save abie!!

I used to think you and Gil were family and that he was sharing the answers with you because you always answered all the questions.  

That's when I discovered that Django was a good researcher. He is even better now.

Django has too much frigging time on his hand.  5 am, he done crow and on GNI talking shyte aaaaaaallllll freaking day.  Ms "Background Check" has been Checkmated by Mr "Good Researcher!"  What a sorrowful freaking equivalency!

Me almost had it out wid a guy hea, until me found out he gave me a contact in Singapore  and picked me up in Toronto, after a project in Uganda and drove me to Buffalo,  for a flight and photo project  in New York. Betta watch who you fight with.

Me click so good wid Cain, dat me tink he is me long lost brother in GY, but abie colour might be different.    

I never took off my snows..I did a bit of work on the car so it was hardly driven. Other vehicles here I can use if needed.

Snow tires [not all-season] are mandatory in some provinces. Studs are discouraged, due to the damage it does to the road.

The police here photograph tires in an accident and mixing tires are not allowed.

Both Costco and Canadian Tire have only one make of snow tires for studs, because tire companies don't make them any more.

You car might be rated for the antique car show. Is it older than you.

Serious question:  guys, there was a thread here yesterday about Mahdia, what happened to it? I was at a Greek wedding.

That banna really into the Baigan thingy!  It exposed some [shameful] sick inner cravings of the mentally unstable!  As the saying goes, once you went Black, you can't go back!

I was in Queens and shared it with a few persons before it was deleted, including two women.  They had their Oh My Grandma moment!! 

Did you show it to the Congresswoman who is closely following the case of the angry spurned lover who drove across 3 states to put an envelope in a woman's mailbox?

Tola posted:

I never took off my snows..I did a bit of work on the car so it was hardly driven. Other vehicles here I can use if needed.

Snow tires [not all-season] are mandatory in some provinces. Studs are discouraged, due to the damage it does to the road.

The police here photograph tires in an accident and mixing tires are not allowed.

Both Costco and Canadian Tire have only one make of snow tires for studs, because tire companies don't make them any more.

Snow Tires work very well especially at temperatures below 7 degrees Celsius. Don’t leave home without them.

Snow tiers are like flu shots, some take them and some don’t. 

Tola is correct about it being mandatory in some Provinces. I think it is mandatory in Quebec, I could be wrong on this. 

Tola posted:

Snow Tires work very well especially at temperatures below 7 degrees Celsius. Don’t leave home without them.

Tola is correct about it being mandatory in some Provinces. I think it is mandatory in Quebec, I could be wrong on this. 

I don't use snow tires but both of my vehicles are 4matic and when it  snows I don't drive I wait until the roads are cleared before I venture outside.

Tola posted:

How is the Spyder working?  Think you had posted abt it here some time ago.

That's when I discovered that Django was a good researcher. He is even better now.

Bhai, researching is time well spent, learned lot of things from politics, religion, science, history, Civilizations, etc.From the day we purchased our first HP computer in 1997 and had AOL dial up internet service,my curiosity expanded.Thanks to technological advances from then,lots of information out there, old books, research, etc.

Recently after reaching a dead end tracing some info on my ancestors, decided to give it another shot,lo and behold the info was found,they belong to a lost Intelligent and Progressive Aboriginal tribe of India.

They were there before the Invasions of India, one Sir H.Elliot  from the "Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain & Ireland Vol 21" said "Common traditions assigns them the possession the whole land from Ghorukpur to Bundelkund and Saugor.Many old forts and embankments are ascribed to them.During the time of his writings there 250,000 in the North West Provinces of India.The District they came from there were 53,060.

That was one of my greatest research, time well spent to put the pieces together.May be someday i will be going to the area of their existence.

Alena, I think you meant snow tires. The snow tires worked excellent, all three of our   Vehicles now have them. My son will be behind the wheels next year so that will make it four sets.

Driving with snow tires make winter driving a lot easier now. I will never drive without them again. I drove to Upstate NY last winter during a severe winter storm and passed many many cars stuck on the interstate while I had zero problems.

Snow tires are the best investment for safety and handling during the winter months. 

Alena, I think you meant snow tires. The snow tires worked excellent, all three of our   Vehicles now have them. My son will be behind the wheels next year so that will make it four sets.

Driving with snow tires make winter driving a lot easier now. I will never drive without them again. I drove to Upstate NY last winter during a severe winter storm and passed many many cars stuck on the interstate while I had zero problems.

Snow tires are the best investment for safety and handling during the winter months. 

I agree, snow tires are much better for driving in snow than summer tires!

Does anyone know the origin of Cook up or All in One as it is called in Berbice ? 

Cook up rice evolved from the one pot dishes that are prevalent throughout all of the cultures that evolved out of plantation societies in the Americas.  It is related to the Joloff rice of West Africa and some also attribute influences from Spain.  Cooking with coconut milk was brought to the Americas by the Africans though these cooking styles are also prevalent in Asia.  I guess wherever coconut trees exist.

Thank you Carib. My children were asking and I wanted an honest answer. I never prepare it without coconut milk, that is a must have ingredient.

I will let them know tonight. 

In situations where coconut milk isn't readily available or for those with cholesterol problems, regular milk can be used. I prefer to use coconut milk powder.

Don't get me wrong, If you have to drive often even in Winter I would recommend snow tires, the rubber on the snow tires are softer and has bigger grip they hold better on icy roads and paddle through snow.

Never made such a scream, just questioned how rice became blackman food when it originated in China. But you will note that even the sakiwinki bird man acknowledged that cookup is a dish found across all cultures. 

And how did it become core to Indian diet when it originated in China.  In fact the African rice is a different species so had nothing to do with Chinese rice.

As to cook up rice.  The only other Caribbean people who I have met with a dish with that name are those from St Kitts.  However similar dishes can be found in places where Transatlantic slavery existed.  Some Africans had the joloff rice idea and concocted dishes using left over food cooked into rice.  Feijoada of Brazil is similar as are various Creole/Cajun dishes of Louisiana.

You didn't know anything about this until you came to Guyana so quit your nonsense.

Don't blame me, see the link I provided, no mention of africa is made. I guess you know more than the folks at London Global university.

Other people educated you and you were too dumb and stubborn to listen.  If you dont know something then say nothing.

Banna, Drug man is not interested in any discussion or facts. He only purpose hay is to denigrate black man and paint dem as savages with no culture, class or humanity. We are subhuman according to he. He memorized all the KKK talking points.

He wuk fuh a white master, guh home to a white master and eat he baloney sandwich wid mayo thankfully.

Yuh notice de odda one Skeldon Man ain't had nothing to seh about Guyanese food? Yet he know about hunting squirrel and odda road kill dat white trash duz eat! Dat is what he come to.

Dem bais lock step wid white amerika, tink dey white. De most "radical" racists are the converts like dese 2. Suh ignore dem.

Banna, Drug man is not interested in any discussion or facts. He only purpose hay is to denigrate black man and paint dem as savages with no culture, class or humanity. We are subhuman according to he. He memorized all the KKK talking points.

He wuk fuh a white master, guh home to a white master and eat he baloney sandwich wid mayo thankfully.

Yuh notice de odda one Skeldon Man ain't had nothing to seh about Guyanese food? Yet he know about hunting squirrel and odda road kill dat white trash duz eat! Dat is what he come to.

Dem bais lock step wid white amerika, tink dey white. De most "radical" racists are the converts like dese 2. Suh ignore dem.

Skeldon grew up on Ganges on the Corentyne so doesn't know Guyana.

Poor druggie is so ashamed that he is a dark skinned Indian that he tries to validate himself by pretending that he is superior to every black person.  This personality gets furiously angry every time reports of a successful Afro Guyanese person are made. I will never forget how angry he got when an Afro Guyanese female was successful with Guyanese students at that international tech event in DC.

Never made such a scream, just questioned how rice became blackman food when it originated in China. But you will note that even the sakiwinki bird man acknowledged that cookup is a dish found across all cultures. 

And how did it become core to Indian diet when it originated in China.  In fact the African rice is a different species so had nothing to do with Chinese rice.

As to cook up rice.  The only other Caribbean people who I have met with a dish with that name are those from St Kitts.  However similar dishes can be found in places where Transatlantic slavery existed.  Some Africans had the joloff rice idea and concocted dishes using left over food cooked into rice.  Feijoada of Brazil is similar as are various Creole/Cajun dishes of Louisiana.

You didn't know anything about this until you came to Guyana so quit your nonsense.

In fact the rice in Guyana is the variety from China, has nothing to do with "blackman" as you put it. 

https://www.thoughtco.com/orig...rice-in-china-170639

Druggie is only interested in the truth. So far it's only you granger brownosers who are screaming that rice came from africa. Type in the origin of rice and you will consistently see that China is mentioned.

The scholars agree that China is the origin.

Earliest Evidence

The oldest evidence of rice consumption identified to date is four grains of rice recovered from the Yuchanyan Cave, a rock shelter in Dao County, Hunan Province in China. Some scholars associated with the site have argued that these grains seem to represent very early forms of domestication, having characteristics of both japonicaand sativa. Culturally, the Yuchanyan site is associated with the Upper Paleolithic/incipient Jomon, dated between 12,000 and 16,000 years ago

In fact Africa rice came much later:

Rice in Africa

A third domestication/hybridization appears to have happened during the African Iron Age in the Niger delta region of west Africa, by which Oryza sativa was crossed with O. barthii to produce O. glaberrima. The earliest ceramic impressions of rice grains date from between 1800 to 800 BCE in the side of Ganjigana, in northeast Nigeria. documented domesticated O. glaberrima has first been identified at Jenne-Jeno in Mali, dated between 300 BCE and 200 BCE. French plant geneticist Philippe Cubry and colleagues suggest that the domestication process may have been begun about 3,200 years ago when the Sahara was expanding and making the wild form of rice harder to find.

In fact the rice in Guyana is the variety from China, has nothing to do with "blackman" as you put it. 

And what does this have to do with the fact that Africans grew rice in West Africa and were brought over to the Americas to grow rice?

Its also truly sad when you quote something that UNDERMINES your argument.  YOUR article confirms that rice was being grown in Africa 3,200 years ago.  The first slaves into Guyana arrived 400 years ago.

Druggie Africans had 2,800 years of rice cultivation BEFORE they arrived in Guyana so yes you CONFIRM that cook up rice is BLACK MAN FOOD.  the FIRST cultivators of rice in Guyana were BLACKS!

And what does this have to do with the fact that Africans grew rice in West Africa and were brought over to the Americas to grow rice?

What does Carolina have to do with Guyana's cookup which you claim is "blackman" food, even though the main ingredient rice, originated in China. 

Rice in Africa

A third domestication/hybridization appears to have happened during the African Iron Age in the Niger delta region of west Africa, by which Oryza sativa was crossed with O. barthii to produce O. glaberrima. The earliest ceramic impressions of rice grains date from between 1800 to 800 BCE in the side of Ganjigana, in northeast Nigeria. documented domesticated O. glaberrima has first been identified at Jenne-Jeno in Mali, dated between 300 BCE and 200 BCE. French plant geneticist Philippe Cubry and colleagues suggest that the domestication process may have been begun about 3,200 years ago when the Sahara was expanding and making the wild form of rice harder to find.

Daily you display your stupidity.  So lost in your racist hatred of blacks that you confuse yourself.

The topic was whether cook up rice was "black man food".  You in fact proved that Africans were growing rice LONG before they arrived in the Americas so were perfectly capable of creating cook up rice.

Now run along and scream that "Irish Potato" doesn't exist and the Irish know nothing of it.  This because the original potatoes came from  Peru and were brought to Europe by the Spanish.   Yes no French Fries either!

Rice in Africa

Daily you display your stupidity.  So lost in your racist hatred of blacks that you confuse yourself.

The topic was whether cook up rice was "black man food".  You in fact proved that Africans were growing rice LONG before they arrived in the Americas so were perfectly capable of creating cook up rice.

Now run along and scream that "Irish Potato" doesn't exist and the Irish know nothing of it.  This because the original potatoes came from  Peru and were brought to Europe by the Spanish.   Yes no French Fries either!

Cookup rice is not a creation but an accident of necessity. All left overs from the plantation owners thrown into a pot. Go learn your history and find out the origins of souse, black puddings etc, all the main ingredients thrown out by the white masters. Blood, innards, cow foot, cow ears, cow tongue etc. 

Don't blame me, see the link I provided, no mention of africa is made. I guess you know more than the folks at London Global university.

I think you should expand your reading and not settle for what you think confirms your prejudices.

So the folks at London Global were liars or you are just smarter?

They just were not complete for whatever reason. I have not asserted any dispositions to them. That is your take.  I sent you one by the NIH so using your reasoning should I say you believe you are smarter than the scientists at the institute? You are a knuckle headed man. You have been that way all along so it has to be true about old dogs and new tricks. I however think it is will full ignorance. You cannot accept a mistake so you insist on erasing an entire history of a people and sell it as fact. 

I think you should expand your reading and not settle for what you think confirms your prejudices.

So the folks at London Global were liars or you are just smarter?

They just were not complete for whatever reason. I have not asserted any dispositions to them. That is your take.  I sent you one by the NIH so using your reasoning should I say you believe you are smarter than the scientists at the institute? You are a knuckle headed man. You have been that way all along so it has to be true about old dogs and new tricks. I however think it is will full ignorance. You cannot accept a mistake so you insist on erasing an entire history of a people and sell it as fact. 

Or maybe you and NIH along with the granger brown nosers are mistaken? The prevailing consensus among scientists is that rice cultivation began in China, not Africa as you seem to want to believe despite the evidence that shows otherwise. 

Based on archeological evidence, rice was believed to have first been domesticated in the region of the Yangtze River valley in China. Morphological studies of rice phytoliths from the Diaotonghuan archaeological site clearly show the transition from the collection of wild rice to the cultivation of domesticated rice.

Or maybe you and NIH along with the granger brown nosers are mistaken? The prevailing consensus among scientists is that rice cultivation began in China, not Africa as you seem to want to believe despite the evidence that shows otherwise. 

Based on archeological evidence, rice was believed to have first been domesticated in the region of the Yangtze River valley in China. Morphological studies of rice phytoliths from the Diaotonghuan archaeological site clearly show the transition from the collection of wild rice to the cultivation of domesticated rice.

I do no know how granger got into this but it illustrates what depths one will descend to in order to prevaricate, obfuscate and perform all sorts of mental gymnastics to deny the obvious because it contradicts his prejudices. 

No one makes a claim as to where rice was first cultivated. One asserts that rice, a rather particular kind of rice, was native to Africa for over 3000 years. The idea of mass cultivation across much of Africa means domestication of the specie was pervasive. 

Rice in Africa

Cookup rice is not a creation but an accident of necessity. All left overs from the plantation owners thrown into a pot. Go learn your history and find out the origins of souse, black puddings etc, all the main ingredients thrown out by the white masters. Blood, innards, cow foot, cow ears, cow tongue etc. 

You cannot cook by accident. Cooking is a creative art or people would not eat it. Simply throwing things together and hope they turn out right is the kind of nonsense that can only come from you. All cooks start with a base and build up on it. Cookup has a base and some standard or ingredients.It took creativity to make what was not considered prime cuts into palatable cuisine. 

Black pudding is a sausage and may be of European. Cow tongue and feet are also heavily used in European cuisine. Amerindians never had cows or pigs and their toma pot which is the progenitor of Pepper pot was not made with cows feet or pigs ears etc. That has to be a utilization that came from coastlanders. Obviously Indians do not care for cows and Muslims pigs so the insight has to be African cooks. 

Rice in Africa

You cannot cook by accident. Cooking is a creative art or people would not eat it. Simply throwing things together and hope they turn out right is the kind of nonsense that can only come from you. All cooks start with a base and build up on it. Cookup has a base and some standard or ingredients.It took creativity to make what was not considered prime cuts into palatable cuisine. 

Black pudding is a sausage and may be of European. Cow tongue and feet are also heavily used in European cuisine. Amerindians never had cows or pigs and their toma pot which is the progenitor of Pepper pot was not made with cows feet or pigs ears etc. That has to be a utilization that came from coastlanders. Obviously Indians do not care for cows and Muslims pigs so the insight has to be African cooks. 

Foolish man.

As it turns out, some of the tastiest foods were born out of a similarly magical confluence of laziness, resourcefulness, and luck—or simply because someone, somewhere, f**ked something up. From chocolate chip cookies to beer, humans throughout history have often created foods and beverages far more delicious than anything they set out to make.

So, next time you’re cooking and accidentally screw up the recipe, embrace the failure and see where it takes you. If you read through these examples of accidental tastiness, you’ll see that history is on your side