Tola posted:

Also dasheen (both the root and the bush) and breadfruit were brought in from the Pacific to provide additional locally grown food sources for the enslaved peoples in the Americas.  I doubt that many Guyanese know this.

Thanks CARIB, I have not heard the word dasheen  for decades. Our mother used to prepare it for us.

Bhai, you stirring a lot of emotions hea and I am not a young kid.    

Tola,

Do you ever had  young tanya leaves  chopped up and cooked with coconut milk, that's the best.

I prefer tanya and eddoes any day before Irish potatoes, don't get them here.

Tola posted:

Also dasheen (both the root and the bush) and breadfruit were brought in from the Pacific to provide additional locally grown food sources for the enslaved peoples in the Americas.  I doubt that many Guyanese know this.

Thanks CARIB, I have not heard the word dasheen  for decades. Our mother used to prepare it for us.

Tola,

Do you ever had  young tanya leaves  chopped up and cooked with coconut milk, that's the best.

Tania baji is de bess wid coconut milk and lil fresh wata shrimp like dem catchman shrimp. Dem man doan even gat that now in GY. Dem doers like Baseman and Yuji and Rev boast bout replace all de bandin with fertilizer. Dem Basemanite, Yujiite/Revite doers kill all de fresh shrimp and givin dem peoppkle cancer now. Hustlers, pushers, hucksters run de Guysuco and f it up. Dem man gat nuff nuff road sense...hey hey hey...like Jagdoe bai Raj Sing. Hey hey hey...

Tola posted:

Tola,

Tania baji is de bess wid coconut milk and lil fresh wata shrimp like dem catchman shrimp. Dem man doan even gat that now in GY. Dem doers like Baseman and Yuji and Rev boast bout replace all de bandin with fertilizer. Dem Basemanite, Yujiite/Revite doers kill all de fresh shrimp and givin dem peoppkle cancer now. Hustlers, pushers, hucksters run de Guysuco and f it up. Dem man gat nuff nuff road sense...hey hey hey...like Jagdoe bai Raj Sing. Hey hey hey...

Django, I am so glad that you guys mention these names again that I forgot. My problem is, I live for decades with a Canadian family, isolated from other Guyanese.

There were twelve in  our family and we had  a  large kitchen garden at Old Albion, where our mother grew most everything.

I remember eating those things, but now I remember their names. 

Labba, BANDIN...is where the sugar cane field after a few crops is flooded for months and when the water is drained its called BANDIN.  Is it really AMBANDON.

When feeling for fish in the cane filed drains during bandin,  you ever grab an alligator or a snake.  We always keep the cutlass handy.

We catch  the best hassa during bandin and also when clapping our hands in the water near  a  hassa nest in the sugar cane field canals,  de fish would come right into our  hands. How about hassa eggs.

During season, there were thousands of buck crabs at Albion sea shore  and  we  pick only the big ones. They were  boiled in coconut milk and eaten. Other times we put our arms in a crab hole and grab the crab with a glove hand. That is  if the crab don't bite your finger first.    

Aaah drugb ignorant as ever.  Do you know that American slave owners imported enslaved peoples from parts of West Africa because of their skill in growing rice.  Yes that famous Uncle Ben's rice. The first people involved in growing rice in Guyana were blacks, so yes cook up rice and its equivalent Jolloff rice, is "black man food".

Incorrect, rice was never prevalent in Africa. The staple was ground provisions, not rice. The white man taught the Afro's in the US how to grow rice using a technique that involved a whip.  Why you bring in the American blacks is beyond me, we are talking about cookup, a Guyanese food.

Even in Guyana, it was the Indos who first successfully grew rice in commercial quantities. The afros didn't have the know how to do it successfully,. 

LOL....look at this pathetic effort to denigrate black people by this ignorant Dalit. Note the opening line hay Dalit - "Rice has been cultivated in West Africa for at least 3,000 years"

https://www.odi.org/sites/odi....inion-files/4146.pdf

We note yuh convenient lack of comment on a link with similar facts posted by Ronan.

Stick to eating dat steady diet of white man food yuh gettin' fed bai - baloney sandwich with lotsa mayo. LOL.

Aaah drugb ignorant as ever.  Do you know that American slave owners imported enslaved peoples from parts of West Africa because of their skill in growing rice.  Yes that famous Uncle Ben's rice. The first people involved in growing rice in Guyana were blacks, so yes cook up rice and its equivalent Jolloff rice, is "black man food".

Incorrect, rice was never prevalent in Africa. The staple was ground provisions, not rice. The white man taught the Afro's in the US how to grow rice using a technique that involved a whip.  Why you bring in the American blacks is beyond me, we are talking about cookup, a Guyanese food.

Even in Guyana, it was the Indos who first successfully grew rice in commercial quantities. The afros didn't have the know how to do it successfully,. 

LOL....look at this pathetic effort to denigrate black people by this ignorant Dalit. Note the opening line hay Dalit - "Rice has been cultivated in West Africa for at least 3,000 years"

We note yuh convenient lack of comment on a link with similar facts posted by Ronan.

Stick to eating dat steady diet of white man food yuh gettin' fed bai - baloney sandwich with lotsa mayo. LOL.

Teach them bhai, they think the dealing with mediocre. There was a thread on rice on GNI.

You need some Dhal.

Tola posted:

Tola,

Django, I am so glad that you guys mention these names again that I forgot. My problem is, I live for decades with a Canadian family, isolated from other Guyanese.

There were twelve in  our family and we had  a  large kitchen garden at Old Albion, where our mother grew most everything.

Labba, BANDIN...is where the sugar cane field after a few crops is flooded for months and when the water is drained its called BANDIN.  Is it really AMBANDON.

When feeling for fish in the cane filed drains during bandin,  you ever grab an alligator or a snake.  We always keep the cutlass handy.

We catch  the best hassa during bandin and also when clapping our hands in the water near  a  hassa nest in the sugar cane field canals,  de fish would come right into our  hands. How about hassa eggs.

During season, there were thousands of buck crabs at Albion sea shore  and  we  pick only the big ones. They were  boiled in coconut milk and eaten. Other times we put our arms in a crab hole and grab the crab with a glove hand. That is  if the crab don't bite your finger first.    

i recall as a lil bai feeling for fish with my cousins in the flooded rice field

we would advance in a horizontal line picking up mud and spraying it up ahead to blind the fish as we feel out and grab them . . . mostly tilapia

and yes, hunting for buck crab was the most exciting/exotic on the coastal mud flats in WCB especially since they were such a delicacy . . . cooked in coconut milk, yesss bai

me nat only live in town

Rice is grown in Africa.  During  water drilling projects, oxen and ploughs were given to  farmers to grown their food, including rice. 

American slaves who might come from the same place as Guyanese slaves, took their traditions and food  where they were taken.   Cook-up is not only a Guyanese food.

We have a story telling club called Baloney on Bologna. It goes better with mustard.  

Instead of sitting behind a computer or use Google,  some on GNI needs to get off their ass and travel to areas, that is not for tourist.   

Tola posted:

American slaves who might come from the same place as Guyanese slaves, took their traditions and food  where they were taken.   Cook-up is not only a Guyanese food.

Yes, they came from West Africa, where rice was grown for over 3000 years. In fact the Asians learnt from the Africans how to make the rice so it wouldn't clump together. As Carib pointed out, West Africans brought Joloff rice to Guyana which later morphed into our cookup rice.

Tola posted:

Tola,

i recall as a lil bai feeling for fish with my cousins in the flooded rice field

we would advance in a horizontal line picking up mud and spraying it up ahead to blind the fish as we feel out and grab them . . . mostly tilapia

and yes, hunting for buck crab was the most exciting/exotic on the coastal mud flats in WCB especially since they were such a delicacy . . . cooked in coconut milk, yesss bai

me nat only live in town

We had two rice fields rented from Albion sugar estate. Bailing wata was me job. Feeling fa fish and crecketta , while spraying some mud ahead,  made for a good meal afterwards.

The memory of sitting on top of the pole as a boy, while cows were mashing rice, saved me from  depression when my sister was murdered.  

Tola posted:

We had two rice fields rented from Albion sugar estate. Bailing wata was me job. Feeling fa fish and crecketta , while spraying some mud ahead,  made for a good meal afterwards.

The memory of sitting on top of the pole as a boy, while cows were mashing rice, saved me from  depression when my sister was murdered.  

Tola, did they curry the creckette? I think our indian neighbors once made creckete curry. I ate some, but honestly did not know what it was.

Ronan,

the local fish in rice fields look like below, that's the type of i know of,or probably tilapia was raised in the rice fields.

Aequidens chimantanus

https://www.fishbase.de/identi....php?genus=Aequidens

that's the type i remember . . . not being wan fish expert, all dem that look like dat is "tilapia" to me

Tola posted:

Tola,

Tola, you coolies say bandin. We inglishman say "fallow". That's right, the fields are flooded and rested during the fallow process. When planting resumes after draining the fields, dem suga cane does be sweet and juicy fo real.

Tola posted:

Tola, did they curry the creckette? I think our indian neighbors once made creckete curry. I ate some, but honestly did not know what it was.

Iguana, I only remember it being fried and used as a side dish with dhall and rice. I don't remember having it curried.  

@Former Member

In 1992, I wrote an article on the history of the rice industry in Guyana. It appeared in "Farm World" magazine published by the Alesei Group of Companies. My research showed that rice cultivation was introduced by the Dutch in Essequibo in the 18th century. The original seed paddy was imported from North Carolina. The Dutch used African slave labour for rice cultivation in their Essequibo plantations.

Later, after slavery ended, after East Indians had completed their indentured contracts and got their own land, rice cultivation accelerated and made Guyana a rice EXPORTING colony.

In a nutshell, Afro labour started the local rice industry; Indos produced a surplus for export.

Gilly, I am not disputing that Afro labor was used to plant rice in limited quantities, after all they were slaves and did their masters bidding. What I question is which group really proliferated rice production to its current importance as an export crop today in Guyana. You will acknowledge that it was the Indo's that did this as evidence by the dearth of rice farmers today in Guyana. The ronans and caibjs will shout all day about how Blacks was responsible for man going to the moon and the cure for cancer, but history will tell a different story. 

that's the type i remember . . . not being wan fish expert, all dem that look like dat is "tilapia" to me

LOL. true dat. I remember going to red water creek by Sosedyke Linden highway and catching small fish fuh put in we homemade "aquarium". Sure enough, we called dem tilapia too ... lol.

Iguana, I was going to write a letter to Guyana news  editor about the scout Camp Jubilee  and Red Water Creek in the 1960s. I might post it here instead. 

LOL....look at this pathetic effort to denigrate black people by this ignorant Dalit. Note the opening line hay Dalit - "Rice has been cultivated in West Africa for at least 3,000 years" https://www.odi.org/sites/odi....inion-files/4146.pdfWe note yuh convenient lack of comment on a link with similar facts posted by Ronan. Stick to eating dat steady diet of white man food yuh gettin' fed bai - baloney sandwich with lotsa mayo. LOL.

If you and the other joker were truthful, you would acknowledge that it is not the same rice that is used today, nor was it a staple of the African diet. An obscure grain that was produced in limited quantities, probably grown on the roadside and fed to farm animals. 

Gilly, I am not disputing that Afro labor was used to plant rice in limited quantities, after all they were slaves and did their masters bidding. What I question is which group really proliferated rice production to its current importance as an export crop today in Guyana. You will acknowledge that it was the Indo's that did this as evidence by the dearth of rice farmers today in Guyana. The ronans and caibjs will shout all day about how Blacks was responsible for man going to the moon and the cure for cancer, but history will tell a different story. 

LIARD nonsense

no one EVER disputed that fact! . . . and the historical/economic reasons for this which have NOTHING to do with race

nice try at moving the goal posts moron

now, let's swing back to this idiot business of yours that rice was not a major crop in "Africa" . . . hmmm? 

Tola posted:

Tola,

Tola, you coolies say bandin. We inglishman say "fallow". That's right, the fields are flooded and rested during the fallow process. When planting resumes after draining the fields, dem suga cane does be sweet and juicy fo real.

Gil, I did not hear about the fallow  process. I understand it to be the same as bandin, but what  does fallow mean.

I have to go out for a while, but back soon.  

LOL....look at this pathetic effort to denigrate black people by this ignorant Dalit. Note the opening line hay Dalit - "Rice has been cultivated in West Africa for at least 3,000 years" https://www.odi.org/sites/odi....inion-files/4146.pdfWe note yuh convenient lack of comment on a link with similar facts posted by Ronan. Stick to eating dat steady diet of white man food yuh gettin' fed bai - baloney sandwich with lotsa mayo. LOL.

If you and the other joker were truthful, you would acknowledge that it is not the same rice that is used today, nor was it a staple of the African diet. An obscure grain that was produced in limited quantities, probably grown on the roadside and fed to farm animals. 

klown show . . . drugb swinging he bt

lol

LIARD nonsense

no one EVER disputed that fact! . . . and the historical/economic reasons for this which has NOTHING to do with race

now, let's swing back to this idiot business of yours that rice was not a major crop in "Africa" . . . hmmm? 

It was not a staple in Africa. An obscure regional crop and nothing near the variety used in cookup.

LIARD nonsense

no one EVER disputed that fact! . . . and the historical/economic reasons for this which has NOTHING to do with race

Bhai, leave that chap alone, if he knows the history of Guyana, he would be aware how  rice planting was increased by East Indians.

Wanna bet he doesn't know the old varieties, before the new types was introduced.I grew up on a 3 acre rice farm.

There was a discussion about the old and new varieties of rice here on GNI.

LIARD nonsense

It was not a staple in Africa. An obscure regional crop and nothing near the variety used in cookup.

jackass, "AFRICA" is a huge continent populated by many ethno/racial groups

WEST AFRICA, a sub continent-size area, is the region where most of the Black peoples of the Caribbean find their roots

not South Africa, not East Africa, etc.

THAT "region" is where rice was historically an extremely important food crop way before the depradations of the slave trade

btw, your bt shaking doan impress anybody . . . you know absolutely  NOTHING about rice "varieties" or anything even remotely agro-botanical

however, even for a dunce like you, there is still time to get a proper education

arite?

LIARD nonsense

WEST AFRICA, a sub continent-size area, is the region where most of the Black peoples of the Caribbean find their roots

THAT "region" is where rice was historically an extremely important food crop way before the depradations of the slave trade

btw, your bt shaking doan impress anybody . . . you know absolutely  NOTHING about rice "varieties" or anything even remotely agro-botanical

however, even for a dunce like you, there is still time to get a proper education

arite?

Dem afroG didn't know anything about rice cultivation. Is the white man teach them at the end of a whip. Then the Indians came and showed them how it could be done commercially. Look at who the rice farmers are in Guyana, 99.999% indos, that should tell you something. I remember when Bunham, another dunce, tried to force blacks to cultivate rice on the east coast and miserably failed during the 70's. 

LIARD nonsense

arite?

Dem afroG didn't know anything about rice cultivation. Is the white man teach them at the end of a whip. Then the Indians came and showed them how it could be done commercially. Look at who the rice farmers are in Guyana, 99.999% indos, that should tell you something. I remember when Bunham, another dunce, tried to force blacks to cultivate rice on the east coast and miserably failed during the 70's. 

shakeabatty, how exactly does the non-sequitur vomit you deposited above constitute a response to my post?

Apparently you like to lick up vomit. Now go find an indo to teach you how to plant rice. 

as you scurry back to your vermin hole, ignominy in your wake, it's not worth my while to follow

my work here is done . . . for now

Tola posted:
s.

Since our knowledge today  indicate that Scotland don't have a great relationship with England, why were there so many people of Scottish heritage in Guyana ?      

The "British" who came to the Caribbean were from the peripheral areas and were disproportionately Scottish, Irish, Welch or from the deeply rural parts of England.  They weren't properly treated in the UK so they left for the colonies.

British who came were usually the second sons or the bastard son seeking to make his fortune. The Scott who came were highlanders. Lowland Scots from areas of Aberdeen were the educators and Scott elite. Actually they are the ones ( the lowlanders) who created the modern industrial world. The highlanders had to migrate or indenture themselves or take low paying jobs in the colonies as overseers, grunt soldiers etc. Most of the KKK in the US are from highland clans. My grand father was a highlander. He was a deserter from the wars in South Africa who came to Guyana.

ball posted:

Mi amigo fram St. Kitts does mek kankee wid sweet potatoes, and as for the origin of black cake, rum cake or fruit cake, I was told that it is of British origin, the names of some foods may differ from region to region for eg. cookup is also called all in one.  Guyana is rather a complex place rich with diversity too bad the people, do not embrace the rich and diverse cultures with an open mind.  A sad state of affairs... <((><    

Is funny you say that.  My son had some Guyanese food and asked how come it’s not more international. He thought it was some in the best.

There is so much positive aspects but people (like Caribjâ˜đïļ) just dwell of the negatives. 

Guyanese food is fusion food....Indian African European. It is not "more international" because the science of food where trained chefs can break down what constitute the cuisine into its essential building blocks is seil in its nascent phase. The first generation of Guyanese chefs who are trained in food science are currently emerging. Foods only are of commercial value if there can be consistency in creation so ingredients can be cost out and cooking time determined as basic fabricating steps are detailed. Cooking in a kitchen for ones family  is not easily translated to commercial success.  

ball posted:

Mi amigo fram St. Kitts does mek kankee wid sweet potatoes, and as for the origin of black cake, rum cake or fruit cake, I was told that it is of British origin, the names of some foods may differ from region to region for eg. cookup is also called all in one.  Guyana is rather a complex place rich with diversity too bad the people, do not embrace the rich and diverse cultures with an open mind.  A sad state of affairs... <((><    

Black cake is another example of British culture being adjusted to suit creole tastes.  In fact much of Southern (American) cooking is the same as the cooks were slaves so shifted cooking styles to suit their own purposes.

Sorrel is African (called bissap in Senegal) , ginger beer is both British and African and mauby comes from the Amerindians.

Black cake is the basic fruit cake that all of us hate infused with heavy dose of rum 

Does anyone know the origin of Cook up or All in One as it is called in Berbice ? 

Every culture in the world has one pot meals. Cookup exists in thousands of cultures. It is basic peasant food.  For us basic ingredient, rice was augmented with any left over meats. Trinis use Rice and lentils  as the base (we sometimes use blackeye peas)

Some are tomato based as the Spanish arroz con pollo and others avoid tomatoes and add potatoes and coconut milk ( from slave culture). Meats added are according to local availability.

There is no standard for cookup. One can hardly go wrong cooking as under cooking is the only possible way to fail. it also that is why kids in Guyana began cooking that first of all in their after school  "bush cook" celebrations To ask for a recipe for cookup is like asking for a recipe for scrambled eggs. Just do it.

Tola posted:

How about "Kechree" boiled rice,split peas, salt ,onions , bhagee and coconut milk, no meats. In India is called  "Khichdi"

Me rememba dis meal. But did not remember its name. Thanks.  

Django, you rememba 'do-say' roti. Made from flour, sugar and water or milk ?

In GT, I was staying with a friend whose wife is from Mumbai. She made a small 'do-say' roti, but it had salt and pepper.

Indian restaurants  serve dosas. Maybe our "do say" roti came from that.

dosa implies batter based. Rotie is a flat bread from kneaded and stretched dough

Tola posted:
It is black man food though just as blacks learned how to cook curry chicken and some even roti some Indians also learned creole and Chinese Guyanese dishes.

This is questionable, as rice is traditionally an Asian food. Unless you are referring to cookup minus the rice. 

It looks like abie Indo foreparents borrowed the cook up from our Afro Brothers and added rice to it. 

Yuji, the Afro families also 'borrowed' many Indian dishes.

I have Afro friends here from Linden, whom make the best dhall and rice with shrimp/okro side dish.  

That’s what make Guyanese the MOST unique people in the world. Burnham and Cheddi split is up politically. Other than that we fine. 

We does argue and fight but I Never allow anyone to eye pass my Guyanese Brothers and Sisters. 

As much as we may give ourselves credit for good food...we are not very diverse in our cuisine. That diversity is being developed now and it will not be what we know.

Hakka chines food are among the most diverse food culture since they are  Chinese gypsies. They are are not identified by a homeland  but by the word guest family ie Hakka  Most of the Chinese food we know are hakka Chinese since they are the people that came to guyana

Tola posted:

Tola,

The word "bandin" is a form of abandon for any field left fallow. the word is sometimes expressed as "bandon" also.  People in albion and guava bush use the term "bandin"

Sugar cane is usually planted for two crops and left fallow for 18 months to replenish the soil. The fields are usually flooded.

Rice existed in Africa. It was planted there for some 6000 years by some accounts. I do not want to go and check but I think the indians got it only around 3000 years ago or less. But it was in africa.

Thanks D2 for your educational contribution.

Dosa implies batter based ...roti is a flat bread. Obvious, but it had to be explained.

Albion Bandin...Others Bandon.  Berbice feget.

Gil, I google  search 'fallow'. I did  not hear it previously. 

The rice fields in Uganda that resulted from water well projects in 2008, must have been contributed by the Indians, who lived there prior to 1972.  When Edi Amin demanded their departure, but Afros continue growing rice.