Does anyone know the origin of Cook up or All in One as it is called in Berbice ? 

Cook up rice evolved from the one pot dishes that are prevalent throughout all of the cultures that evolved out of plantation societies in the Americas.  It is related to the Joloff rice of West Africa and some also attribute influences from Spain.  Cooking with coconut milk was brought to the Americas by the Africans though these cooking styles are also prevalent in Asia.  I guess wherever coconut trees exist.

Thank you Carib. My children were asking and I wanted an honest answer. I never prepare it without coconut milk, that is a must have ingredient.

I will let them know tonight. 

Tried making souse with chicken feet the other day. Must have missed a step. Friggin thing came out tasteless. Then again was a Trini recipe. Back to meh Guyanese Cook Book.

Yes, you missed a step. Yuh gaffo TEEF de chicken from yuh neighba. Den de souse duz come out nice and sweet.

Never associated souse with Trinis.  I think it was brought to Guyana by the Bajans, another British to creole adaptation.

Y'all rememba dis song? lol

https://youtu.be/ZqWLwZIncec

Tola posted:

What do you call those cups and plates that would flake off a piece, if it dropped or hit on hard surface ?   

They were enameled plates and cups.

Thanks everyone for all this, its very educational. My life was isolated from Guyanese culture for many decades with a Canadian family  and I forget many of these things.

CARIBNY, our African store is operated by Denise from Ghana, I have to share a lot more about our Guyanese culture with her.  

Django, Thanks.  I could not remember the make of the plates and cups.

But I do remember hitting sheep and goats at the school water well, who try to get into our food dish, while washing and bits would fake off.

It is black man food though just as blacks learned how to cook curry chicken and some even roti some Indians also learned creole and Chinese Guyanese dishes.

This is questionable, as rice is traditionally an Asian food. Unless you are referring to cookup minus the rice. 

It looks like abie Indo foreparents borrowed the cook up from our Afro Brothers and added rice to it. 

Tola posted:

My father prepared and enjoyed 'dry-food', maybe originated by Africans, but I don't know how it started ?     It was large pieces of vegetables and meat, with no gravy.    

Your father made Metemgee.

Growing up I always knew that as Methem or Metagee.

Metemgee is made with coconut milk. If we make it without the coconut milk, we call it dry food. I’ve heard people also call it hard food or you can fry it and call it boil and fry.

Most times we make metemgee, we use saltfish instead of meat.

Tola posted:

How about "Kechree" boiled rice,split peas, salt ,onions , bhagee and coconut milk, no meats. In India is called  "Khichdi"

Me rememba dis meal. But did not remember its name. Thanks.  

Django, you rememba 'do-say' roti. Made from flour, sugar and water or milk ?

In GT, I was staying with a friend whose wife is from Mumbai. She made a small 'do-say' roti, but it had salt and pepper.

Indian restaurants  serve dosas. Maybe our "do say" roti came from that.

Does anyone know the origin of Cook up or All in One as it is called in Berbice ? 

Cook up rice evolved from the one pot dishes that are prevalent throughout all of the cultures that evolved out of plantation societies in the Americas.  It is related to the Joloff rice of West Africa and some also attribute influences from Spain.  Cooking with coconut milk was brought to the Americas by the Africans though these cooking styles are also prevalent in Asia.  I guess wherever coconut trees exist.

Thank you Carib. My children were asking and I wanted an honest answer. I never prepare it without coconut milk, that is a must have ingredient.

Berbicians  also put tomato sardine in their cook up.

That we did KP. It was New Brunswick sardines and we used the empty sardine tins as punts, or boats with a broom pointer and paper sail, to race each other in drains, after a rain fall.

We also used the empty sardine tins to make SAKAL-GATTA, a burnt brown sugar cookie.

When I did presentations at our children primary school regarding penfriends.  I would make a bunch of brown sugar cookies [SAKAL-GATTA]. I always do it in the afternoons, because I did not want to leave a bunch of unruly 'sugared' students with  a teacher.  

Tola posted:

What do you call those cups and plates that would flake off a piece, if it dropped or hit on hard surface ?   

They were enameled plates and cups.

Thanks everyone for all this, its very educational. My life was isolated from Guyanese culture for many decades with a Canadian family  and I forget many of these things.

CARIBNY, our African store is operated by Denise from Ghana, I have to share a lot more about our Guyanese culture with her.  

Django, Thanks.  I could not remember the make of the plates and cups.

But I do remember hitting sheep and goats at the school water well, who try to get into our food dish, while washing and bits would fake off.

Based on what we eat, we owe our Afro Brothers and Sisters a big thank you. We are fortunate that we have we have Indo and Afro meals combined. No wonder dem Indian people at our temple love it when Indo Guyanese cook. Dem rass does fetch plate plate when Guyanese cook. 

Me only like a few of their foods, I prefer my Guyanese food. My daughter cannot live without Guyanese food. She says, me don’t want white People food. 

It is black man food though just as blacks learned how to cook curry chicken and some even roti some Indians also learned creole and Chinese Guyanese dishes.

This is questionable, as rice is traditionally an Asian food. Unless you are referring to cookup minus the rice. 

It looks like abie Indo foreparents borrowed the cook up from our Afro Brothers and added rice to it. 

Yuji, the Afro families also 'borrowed' many Indian dishes.

I have Afro friends here from Linden, whom make the best dhall and rice with shrimp/okro side dish.  

Tola posted:

Yuji, the Afro families also 'borrowed' many Indian dishes.

I have Afro friends here from Linden, whom make the best dhall and rice with shrimp/okro side dish.  

That’s what make Guyanese the MOST unique people in the world. Burnham and Cheddi split is up politically. Other than that we fine. 

We does argue and fight but I Never allow anyone to eye pass my Guyanese Brothers and Sisters. 

indeed drugb, the only thing NOT β€œquestionable” is your ineffable DUNCENESS

Let me help your poor education here:

http://journals.sagepub.com/do...7/096746080000700201

THE AFRICAN ORIGINS OF CAROLINA RICE CULTURE by Judith Carney

β€œ. . . The Governor Sir William [Berkeley], caused half a bushel of Rice (which he had procured) to be sowen, and it prospered gallantly and he had fifteen bushels of it, excellent good Rice, so that all those fifteen bushels will be sowen again this year; and we doubt not in a short time to have Rice so plentiful as to afford it at 2d a pound if not cheaper, for we perceive the ground and Climate is very proper for it as our Negroes affirme, which in their Country is most of their food, and very health-ful for our bodies.

. . . An examination of rice cooking provides additional evidence for the transmission of a female knowledge system from Africa to South Carolina. Despite the familiar logo of Uncle Ben on the converted rice marketed by that name in the United States, it was African women who perfected rice cooking in a distinctive manner that characterizes both African and Carolinian culinary traditions. The objective was to prepare dishes to prevent rice from clumping together, as in the Asian style, a plate where every grain remained separate. The method involved steaming and absorption, boiling rice first for 10-15 minutes, draining off excess water, removing the pan from direct heat for the grains to absorb the moisture, and leaving the pot covered for at least an hour before eating. This is the same manner in which rice is traditionally prepared throughout the West African rice region, where wood is scarce for cooking and the task for its procurement often the additional responsibility of women. A similar method of cooking rice is found in other areas of the African diaspora, for example among descendants of Saramaka maroons in Surinam who fled coastal sugar plantations for freedom during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.”

SO MUCH NONSENSE FROM DONKEYS TO DEBUNK . . . SO LITTLE TIME

SMFH

Tola posted:

That we did KP. It was New Brunswick sardines and we used the empty sardine tins as punts, or boats with a broom pointer and paper sail, to race each other in drains, after a rain fall.

We also used the empty sardine tins to make SAKAL-GATTA, a burnt brown sugar cookie.

When I did presentations at our children primary school regarding penfriends.  I would make a bunch of brown sugar cookies [SAKAL-GATTA]. I always do it in the afternoons, because I did not want to leave a bunch of unruly 'sugared' students with  a teacher.  

Berbicians also cook sijan leaves ,we in WCD curry the sijan sticks.

Saijan stick curry is so good, my wife cooks it with eddoes.  I had that yesterday. 

The saijan leaves are chopped up and we usually cook it using coconut milk.

Wow, we Guyanese are amazing with the amount of meals that are so unique. Vish better take note of these meals.

He rass go get bassidy when we start talking bout Ghoja, Pera, Gata etc. 

β€œ. . . The Governor Sir William [Berkeley], caused half a bushel of Rice (which he had procured) to be sowen, and it prospered gallantly and he had fifteen bushels of it, excellent good Rice, so that all those fifteen bushels will be sowen again this year; and we doubt not in a short time to have Rice so plentiful as to afford it at 2d a pound if not cheaper, for we perceive the ground and Climate is very proper for it as our Negroes affirme, which in their Country is most of their food, and very health-ful for our bodies.

. . . An examination of rice cooking provides additional evidence for the transmission of a female knowledge system from Africa to South Carolina. Despite the familiar logo of Uncle Ben on the converted rice marketed by that name in the United States, it was African women who perfected rice cooking in a distinctive manner that characterizes both African and Carolinian culinary traditions. The objective was to prepare dishes to prevent rice from clumping together, as in the Asian style, a plate where every grain remained separate. The method involved steaming and absorption, boiling rice first for 10-15 minutes, draining off excess water, removing the pan from direct heat for the grains to absorb the moisture, and leaving the pot covered for at least an hour before eating. This is the same manner in which rice is traditionally prepared throughout the West African rice region, where wood is scarce for cooking and the task for its procurement often the additional responsibility of women. A similar method of cooking rice is found in other areas of the African diaspora, for example among descendants of Saramaka maroons in Surinam who fled coastal sugar plantations for freedom during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.”

SMFH

Tell me what Drugb said was wrong,  he stated that Traditionally rice is an Asian food. Well what is wrong?  You pick something up from the Internet and post with out relevance. 

Saijan stick curry is so good, my wife cooks it with eddoes.  I had that yesterday. 

The saijan leaves are chopped up and we usually cook it using coconut milk.

Wow, we Guyanese are amazing with the amount of meals that are so unique. Vish better take note of these meals.

He rass go get bassidy when we start talking bout Ghoja, Pera, Gata etc. 

Well if he got a white woman he will starve. So he can take all the notes but he needs a good cook.

Cook Up originated on the plantations during the days of slavery.  Rations were scarce and time was limited as the slaves worked long days. So to save on both, people would put their ingredients into one one pot and cook. Over time that dish evolved with the addition of seasonings and different types of meats, peas, etc. into the delicacy we know today.

With all the different Guyanese dishes most of the ingredients are in Guyana locally,except flour,split peas and salt.

How will we starve ?

There was rice, onion and salt, also fresh cow milk and rice with sugar. 

How about mar ,rice, with some chipped onions or shallot ,wiri wiri peppers and pinch of salt,it's got to be hot.

SMFH

Tell me what Drugb said was wrong,  he stated that Traditionally rice is an Asian food. Well what is wrong?  You pick something up from the Internet and post with out relevance. 

instead of the usual, ignorant pout when confronted with inconvenient FACTS, if you took time to actually read my post, your 'question' would have been long answered

now, what exactly about "the internet" you got a problem with?

SMFH

Drugb dunceness aside, he REAL intent was to portray Africans as not being able to sustain themselves outside of help from other races (in this case Asian/Indian). In other words, "black man would starve if it wasn't fuh abie". It should sound familiar. That is the nasty racist we dealing wid in de man name Drugb. Little did he know it was Africans that taught the Asians how to handle rice. SMFH.

Does Vish knows after 6 PM he enter his home the reverse way and don’t sweep the dust out the house after 6 PM. 

He rass better know about Jumbie and Obeah Man now. 

Moon Gazer  and Baccoo

Wait until he hears about (Berbician Fire Rass) and Village Master.

He will pee his pants if he reads one page of the IndraJal. This one is for real.

Drugb dunceness aside, he REAL intent was to portray Africans as not being able to sustain themselves outside of help from other races (in this case Asian/Indian). In other words, "black man would starve if it wasn't fuh abie". It should sound familiar. That is the nasty racist we dealing wid in de man name Drugb. Little did he know it was Africans that taught the Asians how to handle rice. SMFH.

i know druggie's MO is to try tek a piss pan blackman with any 'opportunity' he can manufacture

but he prappa DUNCE in not knowing that rice was a staple in the culture and diet of West African peoples for millennia before slavery and Indian indenture in the Americas. . . note his "cookup minus the rice" sneer

this is not to gainsay the huge impact of a highly developed, sophisticated cuisine brought to countries like Guyana from India and East Asia that we all enjoy

indeed, that cuisine can properly be said to have brought fundamental, transformative changes in the eating habits of former colonial masters in Western Europe . . . after all, the violent scramble by Europe for spices from the East is what started the voyages of exploration that led us to what and where we are today

Does Vish knows after 6 PM he enter his home the reverse way and don’t sweep the dust out the house after 6 PM. 

He rass better know about Jumbie and Obeah Man now. 

Moon Gazer  and Baccoo

Wait until he hears about (Berbician Fire Rass) and Village Master.

He will pee his pants if he reads one page of the IndraJal. This one is for real.

Me did  not hear about  Village Master, but Old Albion had many Fire Rass, that suck blood on the neck from pregnant women, while they sleep.

They first had to remove their skin and hide it, before their Fire Rassing at night would wuk.

In our logie kitchen, we had  large jar of ground Balla Fire pepper, that was used to rub on the skin of the Fire  Rass.  Next day if we see a  person in our village with blisters on their skin, we will know they were a Fire Rass the night before.

In North America,  me did not see any  Fire Rass, but there were lots of blood sucking lawyers  and politicians.  

So its a tinin cup you talkin bout.

Long before me used tin or aluminum cups, we took enamel cups for the school milk/cookies breakfast feeding program.  I believe it was a US Aid program with two hands shaking each other on the large powder milk bag.

Pieces of the  enamel would flake off if the cup is dropped or hit a hard surface. The enamel coated the metal design of the cup and plate. The cup is usually useable, but it will have flakes of enamel off  the cup.      

After reading the dialogue here as a Georgetown born and raised I can say I know of all and some of what was not mentioned about food and it's infusion into the Guyanese culture, Most of this information is going by the wayside due to lack of interest by the younger generation. What I see now in Guyana is that of a eat out take out food culture. On a visit I was invited to dinner by an old school friend I got there at 6.30 pm as agreed upon time, he offered me a drink and after a few he pulled out his cell phone and ordered food from the Chinese restaurant he also asked his wife and kids what they wanted to eat, I did not expect this. Anyway Tola the sardine that I remember that was used in the cookup was Marshalls sardines in tomato sauce.   

ball