Senior cop in hot water for attempting to rape female Constable

September 13, 2015 | By | Filed Under News, Source

A police officer is facing serious trouble after a junior female rank under his command reported that he tried to forcibly have sex with her in his quarters.

The incident which took place last week Sunday at Lethem, has resulted in the immediate transfer of the officer involved and has led to the calling in of the police Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) to carry out a detailed investigation.

Kaieteur News understands that the female Constable, who was recently posted to Lethem, was on duty when she was summoned by the Officer, who holds the rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police, to his private quarters.

Not wanting to disobey the order, the young Constable went over to see what the officer wanted.

According to a source at Lethem, the Officer began making advances to the rank after which he reportedly held unto her and tried to kiss her.

“He asked her if she ever had sex since she came up to Lethem and when she said no, he held unto her and tried to fight her to have sex,” the source told this newspaper, adding that the female Constable managed to ward off the officer’s advances.

What the officer did not know was that the Constable has a well known uncle, who carries a similar rank to him and who is stationed at the headquarters of the Tactical Services Unit, Eve Leary.

When the Constable contacted her uncle shortly after the incident, the man became incensed and immediately contacted high ranking officials of the Force, who ordered the immediate transfer of the officer while, commissioning an investigation into the matter.

The Constable was subsequently transported to the city where she was interviewed.

The incident is a reminder of the much talked about culture within the Guyana Police Force where sexual harassment of female junior ranks appears to be the norm.

“It happens a lot in the Training School.  It used to be for promotion, now it’s being done by force,” one officer admitted.

This newspaper contacted Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan and he did not mince his words in dealing with the subject.

The Minister said that while he was not aware of the Lethem incident, he will certainly not tolerate such actions from police officers.

“I treat sexual harassment of females very seriously…but I don’t know what the OPR will say,” the Minister told this newspaper.

He however warned that if the Officer in this case is found culpable, he will be making an example of him, stopping short of saying exactly what penalties lie ahead.

Minister Ramjattan, who has already shown an inclination to deal sternly with rogue elements in the Guyana Police Force, has hinted at body cameras for ranks within the force, especially females so that evidence of wrongdoing will be obtained.

“Let us get the evidence,” he said.

“We have a nasty culture in Guyana…and what is happening in our Police Force is a microcosm of our society. Male chauvinism is a part of our culture; we have to get rid of it,” Ramjattan added.

He lamented the fact that despite increased training, it is still taking quite some time to rid the force of unwanted practices.

He said that he will be seeking more training in women leadership especially, so that certain attitudes will be inculcated that will make sexual harassment of females a thing of the past.

“I would like to have some women with attitude like (Minister) Simona Broomes and no man will ever try to mishandle them…That is what I want in the Guyana Police Force,” Minister Ramjattan stated.

The Public Security Minister said that he will certainly be engaging the Police Service Commission once officers are found culpable of wrongdoing, especially when it comes to harassment of their female colleagues.

I noticed that there were no names mentioned.  

u actually need someone to hold yuh haan and explain the obvious reasons why?

Minister Khemraj Ramjattan

This newspaper contacted Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan and he did not mince his words in dealing with the subject.

The Minister said that while he was not aware of the Lethem incident, he will certainly not tolerate such actions from police officers.

“I treat sexual harassment of females very seriously…but I don’t know what the OPR will say,” the Minister told this newspaper.

He however warned that if the Officer in this case is found culpable, he will be making an example of him, stopping short of saying exactly what penalties lie ahead.

Minister Ramjattan, who has already shown an inclination to deal sternly with rogue elements in the Guyana Police Force, has hinted at body cameras for ranks within the force, especially females so that evidence of wrongdoing will be obtained.

“Let us get the evidence,” he said.

“We have a nasty culture in Guyana…and what is happening in our Police Force is a microcosm of our society. Male chauvinism is a part of our culture; we have to get rid of it,” Ramjattan added.

He lamented the fact that despite increased training, it is still taking quite some time to rid the force of unwanted practices.

He said that he will be seeking more training in women leadership especially, so that certain attitudes will be inculcated that will make sexual harassment of females a thing of the past.

“I would like to have some women with attitude like (Minister) Simona Broomes and no man will ever try to mishandle them…That is what I want in the Guyana Police Force,” Minister Ramjattan stated.

The Public Security Minister said that he will certainly be engaging the Police Service Commission once officers are found culpable of wrongdoing, especially when it comes to harassment of their female colleagues.

“I treat sexual harassment of females very seriously…but I don’t know what the OPR will say.

He gat no balls. He's afraid. He's just a token fugure...or should I quote Nehru bhai.."House slave".

“I treat sexual harassment of females very seriously…but I don’t know what the OPR will say.

He gat no balls. He's afraid. He's just a token fugure...or should I quote Nehru bhai.."House slave".

Did KNews not report "Minister Ramjattan, who has already shown an inclination to deal sternly with rogue elements in the Guyana Police Force"? This seems like a refutation of "He gat no balls. He's afraid. He's just a token fugure..." No? SkeldonFellah?

Nehru's "house slaves" mantra is catching on quickly like dry fire wood.lol

Shows that shit and flies tend to hang around together.

YOU WOULD KNOW, KEEP SWATTING THE FLIES ON YOUR HEAD.

Nehru's "house slaves" mantra is catching on quickly like dry fire wood.lol

Shows that shit and flies tend to hang around together.

YOU WOULD KNOW, KEEP SWATTING THE FLIES ON YOUR HEAD.

These flies you speak of, coming from your mouth?