Millions transferred to Broomes’ children were for scholarship arrangements — Harmon

Late last month, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo revealed that, over two years, just over $20M was transferred from the Ministry of the Presidency’s Department of Public Service to the accounts of two of Minister Simona Broomes’ children: while one child was transferred GY$2.5M sometime in 2018, the other received US$50,000 (GY$10.47M) in 2018 and a further US$36,450 (GY$7.63M) in 2019. Since his revelation, Jagdeo has strongly insinuated that there was something improper or illegal at play. But earlier today, Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon assured that this is not the case.

At his post-Cabinet press briefing, Harmon clarified that the transferred funds had to do with scholarship arrangements. He stressed that in these cases, the State provides money and parties are bound to provide service at the end of their period of training.

The Director-General said, “We don’t operate those kinds of slush funds that were operated by the previous government.”

Further to this, Harmon said he can say without fear of contradiction that when the APNU+AFC assumed office in 2015, it was observed that scholarship funds were not used for their intended purposes.

He stressed that the current administration operates in a transparent and lawful manner and all transfers it conducts in this context are only for scholarship arrangements.

Scholarship awarded to Frank Anthony’s daughter will be investigated — Harmon confirms

Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon has confirmed that an inquiry will be launched on Monday, June 17 to investigate a number of matters, including a scholarship that was awarded in 2012 to a daughter of former Culture Minister, Dr Frank Anthony.

Harmon made this revelation after he was asked by the media today about allegations that Dr Anthony’s daughter received a full scholarship from the government but did not fulfil her contractual obligation to serve Guyana for a specified period of time.

The Director-General said, “I would not wish to comment on these matters as they will be part of an active inquiry which will start on Monday. Within a week’s time, we hope it would be completed.”

Harmon said that the inquiry would be conducted by Lance Carberry, who is known to be a respected human resource management professional.

Carberry’s inquiry is also expected to address the dismissal of three individuals by Minister of Public Service Tabita Sarabo-Halley. It is believed that there is a connection between the dismissals and the scholarship issue at hand.

Inquiry officially commissioned into alleged Public Service firings

President David Granger has commissioned a Board of Inquiry (BoI) into the alleged firing of staff at the Department of Public Service.

Minister of State Dawn Hastings-Williams yesterday (June 13) presented the Instrument of Appointment to Lance Carberry, who will be heading the BoI. Carberry has one week, from Monday, June 17, to present his findings to President Granger.

Minister Hastings-Williams said the President has directed that the BoI be commissioned to investigate the allegations of misconduct, corruption, and improper behaviour against named public servants within the Department of Public Service.

“This is against the backdrop of purported services of certain staff within that Department and recent events which have been reported in the media. The BOI will advise the state on the veracity of allegations of corruption, misconduct, and improper behaviour against the named staff and will additionally make recommendations on any matter of concern arising from this investigation and make any recommendations as it deems fit and appropriate in the public’s interest,” she said.

The Minister of State noted that the investigation will be done in a fair and professional manner and she is confident that an unbiased report will be presented to the government. However, she said it is important that witnesses cooperate with the Chairman of the Board and be open and honest in their interaction.

“I can assure the nation of the integrity of the board. They can expect a fair and unbiased report. This inquiry, I am sure, will be conducted to the highest professional standards. It is vital for witnesses to give their testimonies. I urge all witnesses to cooperate. The government will provide all resources necessary to support the work of the BoI,” the Minister said.

Earlier today, Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon told reporters at this week’s post-Cabinet press briefing that the employees are still employed with the Department but have been sent on administrative leave to facilitate the investigation.

What kind of scholarship is this and why isn't the funds disbursed directly to the institution? If this administration is operating in a transparent manner, why are these not properly disclosed but leaked? Why is Hinds beating the drums to weed out people who are leaking these malfeasance that the administration isn't forthcoming with? Why does it take so long between the initial public disclosure, initial denial and eventual empty explanation like the one Harmon provided above?

Scholarship awarded to Frank Anthony’s daughter will be investigated — Harmon confirms

Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency Joseph Harmon has confirmed that an inquiry will be launched on Monday, June 17 to investigate a number of matters, including a scholarship that was awarded in 2012 to a daughter of former Culture Minister, Dr Frank Anthony.

Harmon made this revelation after he was asked by the media today about allegations that Dr Anthony’s daughter received a full scholarship from the government but did not fulfil her contractual obligation to serve Guyana for a specified period of time.

The Director-General said, “I would not wish to comment on these matters as they will be part of an active inquiry which will start on Monday. Within a week’s time, we hope it would be completed.”

Harmon said that the inquiry would be conducted by Lance Carberry, who is known to be a respected human resource management professional.

Carberry’s inquiry is also expected to address the dismissal of three individuals by Minister of Public Service Tabita Sarabo-Halley. It is believed that there is a connection between the dismissals and the scholarship issue at hand.

Was the scholarship illegally awarded? Was it disbursed into the person account of Anthony's daughter as it was in the case of Broomes' kids? Why didn't she honor her obligation for accepting the scholarship? Lots of people since the 70s have failed to honor their scholarship obligations.

Frank daughter received the scholarship according to Harmon. 

Broomes Kids - the money was deposited into there account. 

And Lance Carberry ( PNC ) heading the investigation. Lol

Lance cheque may be a few millions dollars. 

"Carberry has one week, from Monday, June 17, to present his findings to President Granger."

I wonder if Carberry works as fast as old man Patterson. 

You  r@ss got problem with old folks ?

I do not believe anything Harmon says. He is one of those who lied about the signing bonus. Never believe someone who has lied to you once, my parents used to say! I have met Carberry in Guyana many times. He is closely affiliated to the PNC. So it seems to me that he will carry out a political directive, what ever is under the table that they want to achieve.

Also, it seems strange that the government which has been in power for over four years is now saying that it will investigate the scholarship to Frank’s daughter. Classic diversion! 

Z
Zed posted:

Question for those who received scholarship from the government. Are University fees paid directly into your personal account? Or is it paid directly to the educational institution?

Apparently funds are given to the students.

Django your head line is mischievous and misleading.

When Dr Frank enter political office and became a MP, he had no kids unlike Broomes. Frank kids came after the fact.

I am stating facts !! 

Your second sentence is a weak attempt to justify the actions of the leeches.

When Dr Frank enter political office and became a MP, he had no kids unlike Broomes. Frank kids came after the fact.

I am stating facts !! 

BS for your facts be fair. 

you should look up the meaning of leeches before you paint everyone with the same brush. 

"Carberry has one week, from Monday, June 17, to present his findings to President Granger."

I wonder if Carberry works as fast as old man Patterson. 

You  r@ss got problem with old folks ?

Nah you though, You lots younger than yuh age seh. 

Zed posted:

Question for those who received scholarship from the government. Are University fees paid directly into your personal account? Or is it paid directly to the educational institution?

Guyana doesn’t seem to operate like real countries where the funds are disbursed to the institutions. Well, obviously not in the case of Broomes’ kids. 😀

I am stating facts !! 

you should look up the meaning of leeches before you paint everyone with the same brush. 

It's still sponging. Gwan da side wid yuh window dressing.

I am stating facts !! 

Look it up and why the application to politicians.

That's the problem , there was lots of cronyism and leeching under the previous gov't, alyuh sweep it under the rug.

Zed posted:

Is this what happened in your case?

Z

These folks have money and their children benefits from State funding for their Education.The poor children should have been first choice. These politicians are like leeches.

Are you staying that even though their children’ grades and results make them eligible, that they should not apply for state sponsored scholarships? 

Z

....nepotism or cronyism or simply theft! Why are the children of politicians given scholarships and these very offices awarding these grants refuse to help severely sick children needing medical attention not available in Guyana.

VOTE anyone but these crooks in the next election

Zed posted:

These folks have money and their children benefits from State funding for their Education.The poor children should have been first choice. These politicians are like leeches.

Are you staying that even though their children’ grades and results make them eligible, that they should not apply for state sponsored scholarships? 

Yes, they can afford the $$$

Zed posted:
Zed posted:

Django didn't get any handouts, paid from his pocket.

For more clarity on your question, are you referring to N.A ? my answer was related to Guyana.

Zed posted:
Zed posted:

Django didn't get any handouts, paid from his pocket.

For more clarity on your question, are you referring to N.A ? my answer was related to Guyana.

You telling us that yuh wuk hey fuh free, peddling pnc progaganda? Rass bai, yuh stupid fuh daze.