August 24,2017

Dear Editor,

School of the Nations continues to record excellent results in the Cambridge University International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) examinations and Advanced Level (AL) examinations. This year’s IGCSE grades show an 89% overall pass rate, with 26% of students who sat examinations obtaining an A or B grade. Additional Mathematics, Biology, Spanish, Environmental Management, English as a Second Language, History, Literature and Sociology all recorded 100 % passes. Mathematics recorded a 95% pass rate with 26% of students gaining an A or B.

Among the outstanding performers in the 5th Form at the Cambridge IGCSE exams were

Brian Jagmohan: 2 distinctions, 4 As, 2 Bs, 2 Cs

Yingyang Zhong: 2 distinctions, 4 As, 1 C

Samita Paul: 1 distinction, 3 As, 4 Bs, 1 C

Steffi Sinclair: 1 distinction, 2 As, 3 Bs, Cs

Danielle Bouchard: 3 As, 2 Bs, 2 Cs

Felipe DaSilva Sousa: 3 As, 2 Bs

Alyea Singh: 1 A, 3 Bs, 3 Cs

Brian Jagmohan stated: “When I heard of my success at the IGCSE examinations I was shocked at the results. My success was made possible by the support from my teachers and both of my parents, but I attribute my success specifically to my mother. She had always motivated and guided me into becoming the person I am today”.

Yingyang Zhong said, “Without my teachers who directed me to the right study path and discussing about problems I would not be achieving this. Also my parents, especially my father, he always encourages me to be better than yesterday”.

Danielle Bouchard said she was, “shocked and very pleasantly surprised at my grades! I studied very hard to earn these grades and I am very proud of them. I thank my parents for giving me the opportunity to write these exams and for giving me full support throughout the journey yet to be fulfilled.”

Seffi Sinclair commented, “I was actually disappointed with my 3 Cs but taking into consideration all the extracurricular activities I was involved with, I was satisfied. I joined the Nations family late third form so I had quite a lot of catching up to do to prepare adequately for IGCSE. I attribute my success to my overly successful mother, father, stepdad and my siblings who encouraged me thoroughly. I also owe my gratitude to all my teachers, especially Miss White, Sir Khan, Miss Scott and Miss Thomas, who always pushed me to see my true potential even when I failed to see it myself.”

6th Form Cambridge AS/AL exams

Some 147 students wrote the Cambridge University International Advanced Subsidiary and Advanced Level Examinations. This year’s AL results show an 85% overall pass rate with a 100% passes recorded in the following subject areas: Chemistry, Economics and English.

Among the top performers for AL were:

Hannibal Gaskin: Distinction in Chemistry, A in Maths & B in Physics

Shamita Bhagwandas: Distinction in Law & A in Sociology

Sandhya Meerah: Distinction in Sociology, A in Law, B in Psychology

Cindyann Khan: Distinction in Law, A in Sociology

Dominique Wilson: Distinction in Sociology, A in Law, B in Psychology

Mikel Puran: Distinction in Law, B in Economics, C in Sociology

Ambika Ramraj: A in Sociology, B in Business & C in Psychology

Aliyah Gordon: A in Business, B in Economics C in Sociology

Victoria Najab: A in Economics, B in Physics, C in Chemistry

Sachin Sharma: A in Economics, B in Business

Serenity Kanhai: A in Law & B in Economics

Anisa Ramraj: B in Business, Economics & Sociology

Sandyha Kesha Meerah said, “When I heard my results I had that unexplainable feeling that comes with success. My heart was racing and I couldn’t stop smiling and thanking God long enough to actually tell my mother my grades. The road to success was no bed of roses; it took a lot of hard work and determination. I always reread my notes and practised as many past papers as I could so as to always stay on top of my game.

“My teachers also played a major part in my success, they were always there to answer my countless questions and mark my numerous past papers and for that I would like to say a big thank you.”

Cindyann Khan commented, “My road to success was a phenomenal journey but it was all made so much easier because of two very dedicated and amazing teachers, namely Sir Stewart and Ms Singh”.

Dominique Wilson told us: “I attribute my success to my parents, siblings and teachers, mainly. Without their constant support, I may not have been able to achieve such desirable grades”.

When interviewed, Shamita Bhagwandas said: “For my road to success, I will definitely need to further my education to keep learning. I will have to always remain dedicated and aim to work hard to achieve everything I desire to have, especially my own ICT company in time to come.”

Aliyah Gordon shared, “I credit my parents who’ve had my back from day 1; my friends who provided tremendous emotional support and my teachers who’ve guided me and encouraged me throughout it all.”

Some of the top performers for AS

Kayshav Tewari: A grades in Economics, Law, Maths & Sociology

Ryan Benschop: A in Economics & Law and B in Business & Psychology

Arun Kanhai: A in Maths & Sociology, B in Economics & C in Business

Shania Wall: A in Sociology, B in Business & Economics

Theresa Gobin: A in Biology, B in Maths & Chemistry

Accalia Khan: A in Biology, B in Chemistry & C in Maths

Othniel Lewis: A in Law, B in Economics, English & Psychology

Sanjay Pilgrim: A in Business, C in Economics & Sociology

Ramkumarie Ramdass: A in Sociology, B in Business & C in Law

Kimberly Singh: A in Business, B in Sociology, C in Law

Kevin Ramsaroop: B in Biology & Chemistry & C in Maths & Physics

Shania Wall said, “Upon hearing my grades, I don’t think I could have been much happier. I’m beyond elated with what I’ve scored and I can only hope to do as well or better next year. As far as my road to success is concerned, I have no one besides my parents and great teachers who put the overtime in to thank. My parents live in separate countries, but I live here with my mom. She’s around more physically during the school year so she’s my backbone. She deals with my day-to-day frustrations and breaking down. For dad, he’s a call away and he’s constantly motivating me to do well. He gives his help where he can even though he’s not

physically here as often. Even when I’m beating myself up he helps to keep me going; as for mom, she always reminds me that I control the outcome and I can’t give up once I have her by my side.”

Yours faithfully,

Brian O’Toole

Director

School of Nations

Up to the 1950s high schools in Guyana tutored pupils for both Junior and Senior Cambridge examinations. Then the Ministry of Education replaced Cambridge with the University of London's General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary and Advanced levels exams. The Caribbean Examinations Council's CXC took over from the 1970s.

The GCE is now called GCSE with the S standing for Secondary. Both Cambridge and London GCSEs uphold high academic standards. It's nice to know that the School of Nations in Guyana has opted for the Cambridge GCSE Advanced Level tests. Congratulations to the successful candidates.

Up to the 1950s high schools in Guyana tutored pupils for both Junior and Senior Cambridge examinations. Then the Ministry of Education replaced Cambridge with the University of London's General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary and Advanced levels exams. The Caribbean Examinations Council's CXC took over from the 1970s.

The GCE is now called GCSE with the S standing for Secondary. Both Cambridge and London GCSEs uphold high academic standards. It's nice to know that the School of Nations in Guyana has opted for the Cambridge GCSE Advanced Level tests. Congratulations to the successful candidates.

Congratulations to the successful students. I bet these IGCSE students might have been able to about 35 - 40 subjects at the CXC?

congratulations to all the students, Cambridge if not the most then one of the most difficult exams one has to take... it is very unfortunate that some colleges in the USA does not recognise and accept these qualifications...my step son is among these top A level students and my wife holds qualifications from the university of London, just hope they will be able to progress in the USA with these qualifications as they both have done in other countries

Last edited by Sheik101

Who told you they dont accept such qualification. Let them come the the Universe greatest University CUNY!!! The most brilliant people on this Planet came out of the CUNY system!!!!!

When I applied, I took my GCE certificates to the Admissions Office and they accepted them. While studying, I got an internship in the Admissions Office.    

stepson wants to persue a degree in physics

He can start off as a Liberal Arts major then change to Physics. Hunter probably has more stringent requirements for the Physics Program.

went into hunter college yesterday, admission claims they dont accept these qualifications....nehru, please check ur pm

Sheik that is wrong.  US Colleges give 8 college credits for each AL accredited by London and Cambridge universities.  Please go back and verify with them.  Something nah right deh!

Dr. O'toole, mr. Shaw, ms. Bacchus and ms. Deodat are amongst the top Cambridge professors at School of the Nations, congratulations to the students as well as these very abled professors who goes beyond the call of duty to ensure excellence of their students...students holding Cambridge qualifications whether accepted in the USA colleges or not are amongst the most brilliant minds in the world, and I'm convinced the students some colleges refuse to accept will move on to become great leaders of tomorrow because of their perseverance and determination...Malala yousafzai has just completed her Cambridge A levels and was accepted at Oxford University based on those qualifications and I am of the believe that someday she just might be the prime minister of Pakistan... congrats again to all the students, stay focused, believe in what you want and if you believe hard enough and work towards it you are sure to be successful

When I applied, I took my GCE certificates to the Admissions Office and they accepted them. While studying, I got an internship in the Admissions Office.    

The same for me. A couple guys had UG degrees and they asked for their GCE certificate(s).