I am never interested in gaming the system. That said, I wouldn’t consider myself rich either. Being able to come to America and rid myself circumstances of the wicked PNC is enough of a favor to me. The rest I will gladly pay for. I am, however, not averse to gifts as in the case of my daughter earning two degrees on scholarships or my boy getting to do his associates at no charge. I stay far away from illegal or unethical practices.

I have encountered this problem many times during my tax practice. Rich or poor, college tuition is a killer. Rich folks make money but paid as much as 28% percent of Federal taxes. That exclude State and local taxes, SS & MC taxes. Plus living expenses and indirect taxes. How the hell people will survive? 

I used to pay huge amount in Self Employment and Federal Taxes,the highest was 30k, for one year.

Django, since you brought up the topic, do you pay self-employ taxes, issue W2's or 1099 Misc, offer medical or unemployment for yourself or anyone in your company/business or are you a loner? 

Used to except Medical Insurance, no more employees. Two of us running the show.

Are you an S-Corp? Great way to rip the govt off and advantageous to your personal taxes.   

Django, since you brought up the topic, do you pay self-employ taxes, issue W2's or 1099 Misc, offer medical or unemployment for yourself or anyone in your company/business or are you a loner? 

Used to except Medical Insurance, no more employees. Two of us running the show.

Are you an S-Corp? Great way to rip the govt off and advantageous to your personal taxes.   

2  LLC , one Comm-RE the other Repair Service. I am throwing back now, no more investments. Children are 22 and above.

So meh can't get much to I sue you rass?   Anyway, thanks for playing along. I am semi-retired but involved in other activities.