11-year-old girl sought in Amber Alert found dead in Brampton home, father arrested

WATCH ABOVE: Peel Regional Police say an 11-year-old girl named Riya Rajkumar who was the subject of an Amber Alert has been found dead in a Brampton home and her father has been arrested in connection with the incident.

Peel Regional Police say an 11-year-old girl who was the subject of an Amber Alert has been found dead in a Brampton home and her father has been arrested in connection with the incident.

Const. Akhil Mooken told reporters early Friday that Riya Rajkumar was out with her father for her birthday. He said Rajkumar was supposed to be dropped off with her mother at a predetermined time. Just before 7 p.m. on Thursday, Mooken said Rajkumar’s mother contacted police and a parental abduction investigation was launched.

“The information we received was that the man was going to cause harm to himself and to his child,” he said.

At around 10:30 p.m., police put out an update on social media with a description of Rajkumar and her father as well as a vehicle being driven by the suspect.

Mooken said officers gathered information needed for Ontario Provincial Police to issue an Amber Alert, which went out shortly after 11:30 p.m. Officials asked for anyone who spotted the vehicle to contact 911.

Mooken said a member of the public spotted the vehicle and called police. Ontario Provincial Police officers in the central part of the province arrested the man and took him to the service’s Orillia detachment.

At around 12 a.m., Mooken said Rajkumar was found dead inside a home at Hansen Road North and Crawford Drive. About 20 minutes later, the Amber Alert was cancelled with officials saying the child was located. It’s unclear how Rajkumar died.

VIDEO: ‘My heart breaks’ Const. Mooken on 11-year-old found dead in Brampton home

Mooken said the circumstances surrounding Rajkumar’s death are particularly difficult.

“As one can expect in a tragic situation like this where your daughter goes to spend her birthday, and especially on Valentine’s Day with the father, and you expect your child to come home… my heart aches for the family,” he said.

“As a parent, I can’t even begin to imagine what the mom is going through.”

The man taken into custody by police was identified as 41-year-old Roopesh Rajkumar. As of Friday morning, there was no word on potential charges.

The homicide and missing persons bureau was called in to take over the investigation.

READ MORE: Canadians will soon get an emergency alert text message— it’s a test

Meanwhile, police said 911 operators were busy fielding complaints early Friday from people who received the Amber Alert.

“We appreciate and understand that some members of the public may have been affected by the noise and the tones that are provided by the Amber alert,” Mooken said.

Help us improve Globalnews.ca
Story continues below

“But we certainly hope they understand that the Amber Alert program is designed for us to locate children that may have been abducted whether by parent or some other person. We essentially hope they understand the slight inconvenience this might have caused them.”

–With files from Jeremy Cohn and Jessica Patton

Police could be seen outside of home near Hansen Road North and Crawford Drive early Friday.

Jeremy Cohn / Global News

<button class="subscribe"></button>

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/gl...ice-mississauga/amp/

Seems like an acrimonious relationship between them and he spited her.  It’s an awful means to an end!

Poor kid paid the ultimate price!

What happens when people insist on 'winning' at all cost.

He probably did it because he can't afford the child support payments. He's living in a basement. Now he'll spend the rest of his life in jail.

This is no excuse for taking her life, shame on you for suggesting this. Men need to be responsible when they make children, especially in our community.  Cribby and Snowey Rowey have their own set of rules in their own communities. 

He probably did it because he can't afford the child support payments. He's living in a basement. Now he'll spend the rest of his life in jail.

If you noticed, according to the report, she called the police rather than checking with him why he was late in returning the kid.  

He should have killed him self!

He wouldn't have had to make the child support payments if he couldn't afford them. The state usually supplement those shortfalls. I think he did it because he is spiteful and didn't care that he was destroying an innocent child's life in his pursuit of that spite. He is a piece of shit who should have never had the right to be with this child on Thursday. He spending the rest of his life in jail is too small a price to pay for what he did to someone who expects him to nurture and protect her forever. Piece of shit! 

Seems like an acrimonious relationship between them and he spited her.  It’s an awful means to an end!

Poor kid paid the ultimate price!

What happens when people insist on 'winning' at all cost.

Not sure where the winning is here.  Kid is dead, he gets life and life goes on with lots of heart break on all sides!

If you noticed, according to the report, she called the police rather than checking with him why he was late in returning the kid.  

I've been on jury duty several times and seen these cases. His lawyer will portray him as the poor dad whose child was taken from him, his ex is enjoying life, he has to work hard to make ends meet, then he snapped, etc.

It appears that she was already afraid that he was going to do harm to himself and the child. Maybe the piece of shit told her that which is why she called 911. His expression in that picture shows a very selfish person.

I've been on jury duty several times and seen these cases. His lawyer will portray him as the poor dad whose child was taken from him, his ex is enjoying life, he has to work hard to make ends meet, then he snapped, etc.

Then the prosecutor will retort that it was wise that the child was taken from him because he couldn't guarantee her safety and comfort. If the wife is enjoying life, that may be because she doesn't intend to allow her previous relationship with this piece of shit to influence how she views life as a whole. Having to work hard to make ends meet is no defense for killing your pre-teen daughter or for that matter whatever age she is. Piece of shit!

I have no respect for parents who don't take their parenting responsibilities seriously. Children did not consent to being born so shouldn't have to carry the burden of irresponsible parents.

Man, i saw something even more disturbing. This hindu girl got burnt alive in india because she attended a christian prayer meeting. 

This shit happens way too often in India and Pakistan. Those people need to stop all that religious division shit and start seeing everyone as children of God and deserving of respect. Seriously, none of us really know which of us is ending up where we believe we are. The only thing we are able to see manifested is the result of our efforts right here on earth before we die. All that other stuff is just what we believe and while they provide some sense of comfort, they should not be the vehicle by which we make others uncomfortable.

Looks like this hit close to home eh?   There is a lesson to be learnt here by men, have responsible sex or pay the price for supporting offspring, if indeed the issue was inability to pay child support.

Remember this was a child out of wedlock ala cribby's people behavior.

That anxiety morphed into something more serious after Rajkumar, an ex-boyfriend, allegedly indicated to the girl’s mother that he planned to harm both himself and their child, Marttini said.

Man, i saw something even more disturbing. This hindu girl got burnt alive in india because she attended a christian prayer meeting. 

This shit happens way too often in India and Pakistan. Those people need to stop all that religious division shit and start seeing everyone as children of God and deserving of respect. Seriously, none of us really know which of us is ending up where we believe we are. The only thing we are able to see manifested is the result of our efforts right here on earth before we die. All that other stuff is just what we believe and while they provide some sense of comfort, they should not be the vehicle by which we make others uncomfortable.

Ksaz. Wish i had a way to post it but im on the move now. An entire village lit what appeared to be a teenager on fire. Just because she attended a christian prayer meeting. Was sent to me by a friend in Florida via messenger. Doesn't appeared to be doctored. I was looking to see if it was. Truly disturbing. The Pakis on the other hand, have an acid problem. From the moment dem girls commit the slightest infraction, is a dose of acid straight to the face. We live in a very cruel world bai.

On the homefront now, I read in stabroek news that the mother of those boys allegedly raped by that muslim scholar is being offered 6 million dollars.  Ah wonda why? Where is GNI resident Mufti Chief?.

Looks like this hit close to home eh?   There is a lesson to be learnt here by men, have responsible sex or pay the price for supporting offspring, if indeed the issue was inability to pay child support.

That anxiety morphed into something more serious after Rajkumar, an ex-boyfriend, allegedly indicated to the girl’s mother that he planned to harm both himself and their child, Marttini said.

you need to relax bro

That was fake.  It was a gang incident in Guatemala and a Pakistani group made it into an incident in India!

U have confirmation?

Ksaz. Wish i had a way to post it but im on the move now. An entire village lit what appeared to be a teenager on fire. Just because she attended a christian prayer meeting. Was sent to me by a friend in Florida via messenger. Doesn't appeared to be doctored. I was looking to see if it was. Truly disturbing. The Pakis on the other hand, have an acid problem. From the moment dem girls commit the slightest infraction, is a dose of acid straight to the face. We live in a very cruel world bai.

I wouldn't want you to post it on my behalf. I have a problem with images that are not beautiful. The believed pain that will be evident in that image would be too much for me to endure. I can't understand that in 2019, there are still people who haven't yet entered the 20th century in regard to how they think and act. It is very sad and depressing.

On the homefront now, I read in stabroek news that the mother of those boys allegedly raped by that muslim scholar is being offered 6 million dollars.  Ah wonda why? Where is GNI resident Mufti Chief?.

While we should always be careful amongst others, we should be even more careful amongst these religious leaders. Too many people become victims because they unwisely assume that these leaders are trustworthy when in fact many of them are using religion only to further their economic and personal cravings. 

Plausible. As I read the initial comment by Sheik, I thought that it was quite unusual as Hindus do not generally behave that way. Those Pakis are really wutliss. Funny thing is as they highlight that as an abomination, they can't see the countless instances where that occur in their own society. What happens when people only see what their matee doing.

Whether in India, Pakistan, Guatemala or wherever else, it is still a horrible act.

From media report, he told his ex via phone call after picking the kid up he will harm the kid and himself. After he didn’t return the kid at the agree time 6:30 PM, mom contact the police base on his threat. 

The same day was the kid and mom birthday. 

A family member say all three attend a family gathering in Florida last month ( although they were living apart).. everyone was in good sprit. And he is a good person cool and calm .. they don’t know why he snap. 

He is in hospital ( trama Centre) from self inflicted injuries after the cop found his car. Cops are not giving info about the injuries. 

Sick bastard let him rot in jail. 

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/www.cbc.ca/amp/1.5020744

Police lay 1st-degree murder charge against father of girl found dead after Amber Alert

'She was like the princess of the family,' said a cousin of the suspect

February 15, 2019

Brampton, Ont., homicide investigation
Peel Regional Police homicide detectives are investigating the death of Riya Rajkumar with assistance from the force's missing persons bureau after her body was found in Brampton, Ont. (James Morrison-Collalto/CBC)

A man who had picked up his 11-year-old daughter to celebrate her birthday has been charged with first-degree murder after her body was found in his basement apartment following an Amber Alert, police in Brampton, Ont., said Friday.

Roopesh Rajkumar, 41, was arrested after the alert was issued around 11 p.m. ET Thursday in the search for Riya Rajkumar. Her body was found about an hour later in his apartment in the city, which is about 30 kilometres northwest of Toronto.

ADVERTISEMENT

Peel Regional Police Const. Danny Marttini said Riya's mother initially contacted police to report her daughter hadn't been returned to her at the agreed time of 6:30 p.m. Riya did not live with her father full time, police said, but had been dropped off at a gas station in neighbouring Mississauga at around 3 p.m. so he could take her out to celebrate her birthday.

Her mother had received concerning messages from Roopesh, her former boyfriend, that indicated he intended to hurt himself and their daughter.

Riya's mother was also celebrating her birthday on Thursday, police have confirmed.

Roopesh Riya Rajkumar amber alert homicide Brampton apartment
The white door on the left leads to the basement apartment in Brampton where officers found the body of Riya Rajkumar around midnight Thursday. (Aizick Grimman/CBC)

"She came in already fully concerned saying, 'This is what he's saying to me, I'm concerned for the well-being of my daughter, I need some help,"' Marttini said. "Obviously our investigators took action right away."

Police went to Rajkumar's home at around 7 p.m. and knocked on the door, but his car was not there so officers moved on with the search.

After several hours of fruitless investigation, an Amber Alert was issued but cancelled after officers found Riya's body inside the home, Marttini explained.

Officers did not knock down the door into Rajkumar's home sooner because there was a lack of evidence to suggest that Riya could have been inside, Marttini later added.

Riya was a well-liked student, and her death is deeply felt by everyone at the school.- Meadowvale Village Public School email sent to families

Rajkumar was arrested by OPP on Highway 11 near Orillia, about 130 kilometres north of Brampton, around midnight, after a caller reported seeing the silver Honda Civic described in the Amber Alert.

Police identified a "medical concern" with the suspect following the arrest, though Marttini did not provide further details about his condition.

Rajkumar was then taken to a hospital for treatment, and has since been transferred to a different trauma centre.

He will appear in court once he is medically cleared, police said.

Rajkumar has remained in police custody throughout the process, Marttini said.

"My heart aches for this family and as a parent, I can't even begin to imagine what the mom is going through," Marttini said.

Police officers who took part in the search are also dealing with emotional distress.

"Officers were close and nearby, and I think a lot of them were really affected by the fact that they were actively searching for this girl, and this is the outcome that we're now dealing with," Marttini said.

Riya 'the princess of the family'

Following news of of the death, members of Rajkumar's family expressed their shock while remembering Riya as a positive, smiling young girl at the centre of the family.

"She was like the princess of the family. I loved her," said Ryan Ashad Alli, Roopesh Rajkumar's cousin. He was outside Rajkumar's residence picking up items belonging to his brother, who lived in a separate apartment at the same address.

"She was such a sweet little girl," said Rajkumar's aunt Nancy Ali.

Ryan Ashadalli
The suspect's cousin Ryan Ashad Alli speaks to reporters outside the home where Riya was found. (Meagan Fitzpatrick/CBC)

Ashad Alli told reporters that Rajkumar has no prior history of violence or mental health issues, which has made the incident all the more shocking. Rajkumar worked two jobs, Ashad Alli said, though he didn't know where.

"He was always a cousin to look up to. You just never expected this to happen," he added.

School sets up memorial

On Friday morning, Riya's elementary school sent an email to families to tell them counsellors would be on hand to support her friends and classmates for "as long as they are needed."

"This tragedy has brought tremendous sadness to the students and staff at Meadowvale Village Public School," the email read.

"She was extremely vibrant, sparkling personality — very well liked. A great academic as well," added school board spokesperson Carla Pereira.

Staff at the school have set up a memorial for Riya in the foyer.

'It's sickening and it's sad'

Several people stopped by the scene outside Rajkumar's Brampton home to leave flowers and pay their respects.

Emmanuel Okafor, who lives nearby, paused near the home, clasped his hands and said a silent prayer.

"I pray to God the family lives through this," he said. "No family should ever go through this ... It breaks my heart."

Okafor said he followed the situation closely after the Amber Alert was issued.

"It's senseless. We were really hoping last night she would be found alive, not knowing this morning we'd have this tragic news."

Christopher Willis, who also lives nearby, said the neighbourhood was stunned by the news.

"It's shocking to know this could happen close to home."

Willis said the story has particular resonance for him as the father of a three-year-old girl. "It just seems impossible."

Jennifer Fuller, who has a daughter around the same age as Riya, laid flowers on a snowbank near the home.

"It's sickening and it's sad," she said.

Roopesh Riya Rajkumar Brampton Amber alert homicide
Roopesh Rajkumar, 41, was arrested on a highway about 130 kilometres north of Brampton around midnight Thursday. His daughter, Riya, was found dead in his basement apartment shortly before his arrest. (Facebook)

An Amber Alert is a special bulletin issued (on cellphones, television and through other forms of media) when someone under 18 is abducted and believed to be in imminent danger. In order to meet the criteria for an alert, police must also have a description of either a suspect or a suspect vehicle.

Communications officers with Peel police revealed on social media that the force had received a series of complaints from residents that the Amber Alert was issued at a late hour. 

"I can't even begin to describe how disappointing and upsetting it is to read the comments, emails and calls to our communications bureau complaining about receiving an Amber Alert late at night," wrote Const. Akhil Mooken on Twitter.

"I appreciate that a lot of people were sleeping, but the immediate need to locate the child outweighed the momentary inconvenience that some people encountered," he continued. "Tragically this incident did not have the outcome we were all hoping for but the suspect was located as a direct result of a citizen receiving the alert and calling 911. The system works."

With files from CBC's Linda Ward, Lucas Powers, Nick Boisvert and The Canadian Press

If so, then it makes less sense i.e. finance as the issue.  There must be more to it which will come out later.

I assume she is an independent working woman.  CS will be determined on combined income and split between them proportionally.  Assuming no other payment, that is not that hard.

Responsible sex is the responsibility of both parties.  If she is not on OC, she should let home know and he take measures.   If he don't want to, keep her knees together and send him home!  In any case, the child is innocent and should be cared for!

U might be rite base. Didnt see anybody in indian wear.

Is it this?

https://www.cnn.com/2015/05/27...urned-mob/index.html

Cruelty of highest extreme, in our back yard.

There is a whole story behind it.  She belonged to a criminal gang which robbed local businesses and taxis.  Earlier that day, her gang had (allege) robbed and killed a very popular taxi driver which orphaned five kids.  The people went out in search of gang members and caught her!

Not an excuse, just perspective!

First degree murder, it was premeditated. What a loser, regardless of the situation there is always a better way out than taking an innocent life. May god give the mother strength to get through this, she will be scarred forever.

Is it this?

Sorry for the late response, Base. But yes. This was what my friend sent me. Yuh know, regardless which country it happened in,  its heartless and sick.

Brother Sheik, please confirm a story before adding gasoline. This is a very sad time for all. India is a very tolerant country. Hindus, Muslims, Christians, Jews and others can practice their religion.

There are a few crazy incidents here and there but please be mindful when posting such unacceptable incidents and label it on Indians without confirming.

Pakistan based terrorists killed about 40 Indian soldiers in an act of terror and Indians are remaining calm about it.

This particular story about a Guyanese father is very shocking and the mother is grieving right now. It is a very sad situation. 

Is it this?

Sorry for the late response, Base. But yes. This was what my friend sent me. Yuh know, regardless which country it happened in,  its heartless and sick.

What would be your response if Fineman's gang was cornered and captured by the people of Lusignan the night of the slaughter and chopped them to pieces?