Saraswati Vidya Niketan girl gains 20 grade ones at CXC

She was followed closely by her SVN classmate Vamanand Hiralall with 19 ones and one two.

victorianajab

CSEC MAY/JUNE 2015

Individual candidate performances

Full analysis of individual candidates’ performances is not yet available. We have requested however, a list of candidates who have secured Grade Ones passes in eight or more subjects from the Caribbean Examinations Council.

In response to our request for the list of persons who have secured Grade One passes in eight or more subjects, we received a list of one hundred and seventy two (172) candidates.

Of these forty seven (47) candidates secured eleven (11) Grades Ones or more, these candidates are listed below:

School                    Name         Results Obtained

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Victoria Najab          20 Ones

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Vamanad Hiralall          19 Ones         1 two

Anna Regina Secondary   Aliyah Rasheed          19 Ones

Queen’s College          Joshanna Hopkinson         18 Ones

Queen’s College          Ashley Anthony          17 Ones

Anna Regina Secondary   Jagindra Persaud          16 Ones         2 twos

Queen’s College          Abigail Somrah          16 Ones

Queen’s College          Paige Carter          14 Ones         5 twos

Queen’s College          Kadesh Daniels          14 Ones         3 twos

St Rose’s High          Shawn Shewram          14 Ones         2 twos

Queen’s College          Michael Jagnanan          14 Ones         1 two

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Mohanie Sudama          14 Ones         1 two

Queen’s College          Shannon Woodroffe          14 Ones

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Hemwant Seodat          13 Ones         4 twos          3 threes

New Amsterdam Sec          Simon Bactawar          13 Ones         4 twos

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Parmeshrie Ramprasad      13 Ones         3 twos          3 threes

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Nashani Nandalal          13 Ones         2 twos          1 three

Queen’s College          Darnell Benn          13 Ones         2 twos

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Patricia Ramsaroop          13 Ones         1 two          1 three

Queen’s College          Bhavesh Digamber          12 Ones         6 twos          1 three

Skeldon Line Path Sec       Ashmini Prasad          12 Ones         5 twos

Anna Regina Secondary   Kuber Mohan          12 Ones         3 twos          1 three

Queen’s College          Alyea Williams          12 Ones         3 twos

Queen’s College          Cymone Nedd          12 Ones         2 twos

The Bishops’ High          Vishal Roopnarine          12 Ones         2 twos

Queen’s College          Jea Adams          12 Ones         2 twos

Queen’s College          Aliyah Gordon          12 Ones         1two

Annandale Secondary       Shanaz Khan          12 Ones

Queen’s College          Joash Gobin          12 Ones

Queen’s College          Jonathan Gobin          12 Ones

West Demerara Sec Satesh Persaud          12 Ones

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Kishshanna Gobin          11 Ones         5 twos          2 threes

Queen’s College          Marissa Scott          11 Ones         5 twos          1 three

Anna Regina Secondary   Permaishwar Ramnauth    11 Ones         5 twos

St Rose’s High          Renea Marcus          11 Ones         4 twos          1 three

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Parbattee Mohess          11 Ones         4 twos          1 three

Anna Regina Secondary   Rahul Mahadeo                 11 Ones         3 twos          2 threes

Anna Regina Secondary   Nessa Azam          11 Ones         3 twos

Anna Regina Secondary   Haylema Bhagwan          11 Ones         3 twos

Queen’s College          Iyanna Butts          11 Ones         3 twos

Queen’s College          Hadiya Victorine          11 Ones         3 twos

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Yasoda Busham          11 Ones         3 twos

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Bibi Rahim          11 Ones         3 twos

Anna Regina Secondary   Ashana Lakenarine          11 Ones         2 twos

Hindu College          Cristen Singh          11 Ones         2 twos

The Bishops’ High          Crystal Clarke          11 Ones         1 two          1 three

Queen’s College          Supriya Bisnauth          11 Ones          1 three

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Victoria Najab       20 Ones

Sarawati Vidya Nakitan      Vamanad Hiralall    19 Ones    1 two

Congratulations!!!! Words cannot describe the wonderful achievement attained.

‘Hindu School’ produces CXC Top Students; QC shines at CAPE

August 13, 2015 12:12 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Guyana's Top CSEC Student: 17-year-old Victoria Najab of the West Coast

Guyana’s Top CSEC Student: 17-year-old Victoria Najab of the West Coast “Swami” school has secured 20 Grades Ones at this years CSEC Exam

[www.inewsguyana.com]

The Ministry of Education has released the results of the 2015 Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) and the Caribbean Secondary Examinations Council (CSEC), which show Queens College dominating the CAPE performances and Saraswati Vidya Niketan (SVN), a private school at Cornelia Ida, in Region Three copping the four top students.

SVN had more than 10 students in the preliminary results with Victoria Najab [Top Student] receiving 20 grade ones, Vamanad Hiralall with 19 grade ones and one grade two.

Two other students of the school also scored 13 grade ones and these were Parmeshrie Ramprasad and Nashani Nandalal. Aaliyah Rasheed of Anna Regina Secondary scored 19 Grade Ones. Joshanna Hopksinson and Ashley Anthony of Queens College scored 18 and 17 Grade ones, respectively.

Meanwhile, Cecil Cox of Queens College scored six Grade Ones and one Grade Three at CAPE, while Larissa Whiltshire also of Queens College scored 6 Grade ones.

Sasha Woodroffe, also of Queens College, scored 6 Grade Ones, while Shonta Noel of St Roses scored six Grade ones and one Grade Two, both at CAPE. iNews will provide more information shortly.

Some of the brilliant ones of a few years ago:

Sarah Hack, Abram's Zuil Secondary School

Sarah Hack, a 16-year old from Abram’s Zuil Secondary School on the Essequibo Coast, copped the top position at the 2012 CSEC examinations with 16 Grades Ones; an improvement  over the  2011 top performers Anurada Dev of Queen’s College and Shalita Appadu of New Amsterdam Multilateral who both  obtained 15 Grade Ones, 

Bharti Bhoge of Skeldon Line Path Secondary

Third place position went to Tressyia Ketwaroo of Skeldon Line Path Secondary and Lisa John of Queen’s College who both secured 16 Grade Ones and one Grade Two, each.

Other schools which made it among the country’s top performers include, the Anna Regina Secondary, Region Two with Bibi Areefa Mohammed securing 13 Grade Ones and six Grade Twos; Natasha Alladin of the J.C Chandisingh Secondary, Region Six who secured 15 Grade Ones; Farahnaz Hosain of Zeeburg Secondary, Region Three  with 13 Grade Ones and one Grade Two.

Her Uncle Rabindranauth Bisnauth said Bhoge lost her mother in 2010 and during that time she was very traumatised   as her mom was murdered. She nevertheless continued her studies and emerged victorious. Seventeen-year-old Tressyia Ketwaroo, Bhoge’s study partner and close friend also of Line Path Secondary secured 16 grade ones and one grade two to earn the number 4 spot in the country.

Zimeena Rasheed, Anna Regina Secondary

In 2013, Anna Regina Multilateral Secondary student Zimeena Rasheed topped at CSEC with, 18 grade ones and two grade twos. Her class mate, Yogeeta Persaud, copped 18 grade ones.

have any of these people qualified to enter any of our elite US schools? AI am very suspicious of these course loads. I did 10 GCE and it was very difficult to keep up with the course work. It meant studying until 2am most days and for almost 2 years.

WINNERS ROW: Minister of Education Priya Manickchand flanked by some of this year’s top CSEC and CAPE performers from Queen’s College. Absent from the line-up is CSEC top-performer, Elisa Hamilton, who, like so many other students at this time of year, is away on vacation [Photo by Adrian Narine)

WINNERS ROW: Minister of Education Priya Manickchand flanked by some of this year’s top CSEC and CAPE performers from Queen’s College. Absent from the line-up is CSEC top-performer, Elisa Hamilton, who, like so many other students at this time of year, is away on vacation (Photo by Adrian Narine)

QC’s Elisa Hamilton tops the country at CSEC 2014

have any of these people qualified to enter any of our elite US schools? AI am very suspicious of these course loads. I did 10 GCE and it was very difficult to keep up with the course work. It meant studying until 2am most days and for almost 2 years.

Those were the days/nights when you burned that midnight lamp for just six subjects GCE O's and if you were lucky enough and secured all six then you were on cloud nine.

My God, today it is twenty and plus subjects.....how do they do it?

Big Congrats to those students.

As I said on another thread...we should not only be celebrating their great achievements, we ought to be ensuring they did not work for nothing and are helped in every way to maximize their potentials. These should all be on their way to the top US schools at the nations expense. I saw the PPP making excuse for not delivering for one of our students who topped her class. She lamented that even what was promised was reneged on and even modified. They wanted to send her to Cuba or something like that. That was bull crap. These students need  to be helped into any of the top schools they are qualified to attend. I am sure we can at least help them through the first two years.

Saraswati Vidya Niketan girl tops CSEC

As the 2015 Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examination results were revealed on Thursday, a 17-year-old female student from the Saraswati Vidya Niketan (SVN) School was named the country’s top CSEC performer.

The Education Ministry has disclosed that some 172 students from regions across the country have attained Grade One passes in eight or more subjects from the Caribbean Examination Council. Of this a list was issued with those candidates who secured 11 or more Grade Ones, amount to 47 students.

Crediting hard work and support from loved ones, the country’s top CSEC performers were elated to learn about their achievements when they were contacted by <<<Guyana Times>>>>. Seventeen-year-old Victoria Najab of SVN topped the country with a whopping 20 Grade Ones. She is currently out of the country but told this newspaper via social media that while she was excited about the news, she was expecting to do well.

“I was (expecting to do well) but still, it could have gone either way because there are many brilliant children who wrote exams this year… (But) the exams were all very easy not what I was expecting,” she stated. Najab noted that she was relaxed throughout the examinations and was confident afterwards that she would have done well. She recalled how stressful it was preparing for the exams and the difficulties she experienced; however, she managed to balance it all.

The teenager told Guyana Times that she opted to write 20 subjects because she wanted to achieve the best. “I didn’t want to write CSEC knowing that I could’ve done better,” she declared.

The aspiring Petroleum Engineer disclosed that she plans to further her studies and write A Level exams, after which she hopes to attend the Colorado School of Mines to pursue her desired career. She credited her success to her parents, teachers and God. Meanwhile her dad, Mohammed Najab of Najab Trading, indicated to this publication that he was not surprised at his daughter’s performance.

Another SVN student, Vamanadev Hiralall copped the second spot with 19 Grade Ones and one Grade Two. He told this publication that the news came as a surprise since he was not expecting to do this well.

The 16-year-old revealed that when his mother informed him of the news, he could not believe it. “It was chaotic in my mind… I was both excited and relieved; relieved because it was extremely difficult the past few weeks without knowing my results. I don’t think it’s good to overestimate yourself so while I knew I would do well, I didn’t think it would be this well,” he stated.

Hiralall pointed out that while he is still undecided about his career choice, he is sure it would be in the medical field, preferably a Cardiologist or a Radiologist. He expressed his gratitude to the SVN and his parents, whom he said “indescribably”, supported him.

Coming in third was Aliyah Rasheed from Queenstown Village on the Essequibo Coast. She secured 19 Grade Ones. The young lady told this newspaper that although the examinations were challenging, she is elated over her success, “Honestly, I am feeling overjoyed and ecstatic at the moment, I did not expect such good grades but God and the teachers made it possible,” she declared.

The aspiring Chemical Engineer extended gratitude to Sir Jerome Rajpersaud and ‘Sir Rishi’, who helped her to prepare for the exams. However, she noted that her greatest inspiration was her sister, Zameena Rasheed who copped first position for CSEC in the Caribbean in 2013. She said she received much needed encouragement from her sister who told her to never give up.

Topping Queen’s College was Joshanna Hopkinson, who noted that when she first found out, she was extremely elated, noting “It is just incredible that I achieved this and I felt very accomplished right now”. According to Hopkinson, her future plans entail her writing the CAPE exam and then furthering her studies at university, as she would like to become a lawyer or a legal journalist or both.

Meanwhile, Ashley Anthony, the daughter of former Culture Youth and Sport Minister, Dr Frank Anthony, credited her success to her parents and sister for their unwavering support, as well as her friends for keeping her motivated. Anthony, who achieved 17 Grade Ones stated that “My results have made me euphoric. However, it was a lot of hard work. Preparing for CSEC often means a lot of late nights and studying, but it isn’t impossible and is definitely worth it!,” the QC student remarked.

In sixth place is another student from Anna Region Secondary School, Jagindra Persaud of Adventure Village. He copped 17 Grade Ones and one Grade Two. The 16-year-old said that he is happy as this was what he was expecting. Persaud noted that he put in a lot of hard work into his preparations for exams and was glad it paid off, as it paves the path for him to pursuing his studies in the medical field.

Meanwhile, with 16 Grade Ones, Abigail Somrah said that it was difficult managing her studies and completing the SBAs at the same. Nevertheless, the Queen’s College student managed to get both done and come out successful but only with the help of her teachers, great friend and supportive family.

Another Queens College student, Paige Carter, said she is contented with her performance and feels as though all her hard work has paid off. The aspiring Paediatrician thanked everyone who contributed and supported her.

Meanwhile, her fellow schoolmate Kadesh Daniels achieved 14 Grade Ones and three Grade Twos. She was extremely ecstatic about her results, noting the road here was not an easy one; between the lessons, SBA’s and studying. “There were tears and many times I questioned myself but with the support of my family, pastor, friends and teachers I was able to do it,” the aspiring Pathologist.

Finally, Shawn Shewram of St Roses High secured 14 Grade Ones and two Grade Twos. The St Rose’s High student related that after hearing such exciting news, he was ecstatic as well as relieved. He credited his success to God, his teachers, friends and his mother.

Is CXC equivalent to O levels?  I cannot see someone getting 20 As in O levels.  I do no believe doing 20 subjects is a good thing.  They need to build a strong base at that age...I doubt this is possible studying for 20 subjects.  I wonder how they do at University level.  Obviously bright kids though.  Congrats to them.
Originally Posted by VVP:
Is CXC equivalent to O levels?  I cannot see someone getting 20 As in O levels.  I do no believe doing 20 subjects is a good thing.  They need to build a strong base at that age...I doubt this is possible studying for 20 subjects.  I wonder how they do at University level.  Obviously bright kids though.  Congrats to them.

I am still confused on how they count the subjects. Do they count English Comprehension, Grammar and Essay writing as 3 subjects?

Congrats! These students are so bright. I struggled to get one GCE O'Level and six CXCs. Those exams were so hard...but I spent most of my days playing cricket, swimming and eating cane with meh teeth...and sometimes skulking to watch blue movies...TV was a novelty in 1991 . Back in my time we never had teachers...so we studied by ourselves .

Originally Posted by TK:

Congrats! These students are so bright. I struggled to get one GCE O'Level and six CXCs. Those exams were so hard...but I spent most of my days playing cricket, swimming and eating cane with meh teeth...and sometimes skulking to watch blue movies...TV was a novelty in 1991 . Back in my time we never had teachers...so we studied by ourselves .

News to me. I thought people eat cane with their asses.

Originally Posted by TK:

Well we can count on a gurly man to conjure up such images. I am an alpha male...I don't have a pot belly and slim hands...

I am still confused on how they count the subjects. Do they count English Comprehension, Grammar and Essay writing as 3 subjects?

What are the 20 subjects ??? in my days passing grade

was 40 and 70 was distinction,and if you don't pass

English no certificate for you.

Originally Posted by TK:

They were around in Guyana in the early 80's,due to

the invention of launching of VCR,i serviced the first

VCR made by Sony,only the rich could afford those

entertainment devices.

Originally Posted by TK:

Well we can count on a gurly man to conjure up such images. I am an alpha male...I don't have a pot belly and slim hands...

For a  third grade professor, you sure have an  illogical mind. What makes you think I have a pot belly and slim hands?

I cannot believe a "real" professor sitting on a computer and indulge in this kind of mud slinging conversation. You surely bring shame and ignominy to the profession. You make Bharat Jagdeo look like a genius.

Originally Posted by ball:

Man ayo had teachers and VCR and TV and so forth    we din have no school

Ball: school bin open fuh you. You just been hiding under the school searching for lead pencils.

Originally Posted by Django:

I would like to know also what are these 20 subjects?

Originally Posted by Django:

I would like to know also what are these 20 subjects?

Mathematics,

Agricultural Science (Double Award),

Biology,

Caribbean History,

Chemistry,

Economics,

Electronic Document Preparation and Management,

English A,

English B,

Geography,

Human and Social Biology,

Information Technology,

Integrated Science,

Mathematics,

Office Administration,

Physics,

Principles of Accounts,

Principles of Business,

Social Studies

and Spanish.

Some of these appear to be Faux subjects.