Salary increase for Opposition Parliamentarians placed in PPP bank account

November 16, 2015 2:31 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo and other PPP MPs

[www.inewsguyana.com] – General Secretary of the Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee has revealed that the salary increases given to the Parliamentarians have been deposited into a bank account of the PPP.

Rohee made the revelation on Monday, November 16 during a press conference where he was questioned by reporters on what the PPP decided to do with its increase, given the fact that they have refused it.

Rohee explained that the bank account has been in existence for “as long as I can remember,” and that a certain percentage of the salary of PPP Parliamentarians usually goes into the account.

The General Secretary admitted that the account has a substantial amount of money in it. He made it clear that the Party is yet to decide on what to do with the government increases – whether it will be given to charity or placed in the treasury.

“My increase usually goes into a PPP bank account…we opened that account many years ago, so many people send their bank account there or they come to the Party and deposit it with the management upstairs,” Rohee told reporters.

He further noted that “I can’t tell you since when it’s [the bank account] been there but I’ve been putting money in it for a long time.”

The General Secretary said that all PPP Parliamentarians are aware and obligated to deposit such in the account.

“We have taken a policy decision on the matter so that is settled; every PPP MP knows what is our position as a matter of policy in respect to the salary increase, therefore they are morally obligated to do what the Party expects them to do; that is to say deduct the increase or a percentage of their salary…and deposit it with the Party,” Rohee said.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo had described the government’s salary increase for Parliamentarians and Ministers as “reprehensible,” chiding the David Granger administration for displaying double standards.

QUOTE "Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo had described the government’s salary increase for Parliamentarians and Ministers as “reprehensible,” chiding the David Granger administration for displaying double standards.unquote

Dem guys can't find better stuff to bring up so they regurgitate the same stale shyte?

Harmon giving away his own too. I guess no body wants the money so lets rescind the raise and story done.

Dem guys can't find better stuff to bring up so they regurgitate the same stale shyte?

Wah you want dem talk about? Legalising pot? Nah! You are just a kaka bellie rasta...small fry.

Mit,

Ask your comrades in gov't. to go after those Electricity thieves in Sophia, Agricola, Buxton, and other strongholds of the PNC. They are ripping off GPL millions in revenues each year. The problem is overwhelming in areas mentioned.

Originally Posted by asj:

Salary increase for Opposition Parliamentarians placed in PPP bank account

November 16, 2015 2:31 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

[www.inewsguyana.com] – General Secretary of the Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee has revealed that the salary increases given to the Parliamentarians have been deposited into a bank account of the PPP.

Rohee made the revelation on Monday, November 16 during a press conference where he was questioned by reporters on what the PPP decided to do with its increase, given the fact that they have refused it.

Rohee explained that the bank account has been in existence for “as long as I can remember,” and that a certain percentage of the salary of PPP Parliamentarians usually goes into the account.

The General Secretary admitted that the account has a substantial amount of money in it. He made it clear that the Party is yet to decide on what to do with the government increases – whether it will be given to charity or placed in the treasury.

“My increase usually goes into a PPP bank account…we opened that account many years ago, so many people send their bank account there or they come to the Party and deposit it with the management upstairs,” Rohee told reporters.

He further noted that “I can’t tell you since when it’s [the bank account] been there but I’ve been putting money in it for a long time.”

The General Secretary said that all PPP Parliamentarians are aware and obligated to deposit such in the account.

“We have taken a policy decision on the matter so that is settled; every PPP MP knows what is our position as a matter of policy in respect to the salary increase, therefore they are morally obligated to do what the Party expects them to do; that is to say deduct the increase or a percentage of their salary…and deposit it with the Party,” Rohee said.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo had described the government’s salary increase for Parliamentarians and Ministers as “reprehensible,” chiding the David Granger administration for displaying double standards.

lol

dem PPP bais done mek enuf propaganda out of de ting and will now kick back and enjoy de raise

this "announcement" will embalm everything until a proper burial can be quietly arranged

uh huh

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Mit,

Ask your comrades in gov't. to go after those Electricity thieves in Sophia, Agricola, Buxton, and other strongholds of the PNC. They are ripping off GPL millions in revenues each year. The problem is overwhelming in areas mentioned.

Indo KKK in action. Of course only black people steal electricity.