The death of these 4 Teenagers is bothering me. This was a Tragedy that could have been avoided. When I real the Blogs and Newspaper comments, I feel worst. It seems that Guyanese Parents are the only ones who would buy a new car for a Nonworking Teenager. We as Guyanese need to reexamine our thinking and ways. I am NOT saying this about this case but many times some Parents want to do like the Jones, and most times the Jones are other Relatives or Neighbors. I think most Guyanese will relate to what I am saying.

True Bhai True. I am looking for the Community to learn from these very Tragic instances and adjust our ways and thinking. These are senseless losses. The Families of these Teenagers will never be the same again. Their friends will be greatly affected.

The only way this could have been avoided is if we could read our children's mind. These are all good kids, and their parents do love them. These kids are fascinated with cars, and they can't wait to get on the road to impress their friends. Unfortunately, none of them are mature enough to take responsibility. Losing a child under any circumstances is very difficulty, not to mention four grieving family will have to live with this mistake for a long time.

Nehru, who is to blame will rest on everyone's mind. I don't know if buying the car for this kid, or lack of driving skills is to be blame for this tragedy.

You only get a full DL when you are 21 in NYC as far as I know. If they had a License then one with the License should have been driving. Regardless, this is a very SAD and Tragic event which is repeating itself. I hope this is the end.

We all have hope that this will never happen again. The same said when the four kids crash on the van wyck and now this tragedy repeat itself. These things can never be predicted. Children need to take responsibility for their lives and others. 

Terry, So imagine your kid talks and talks and thinks he's invincible. Now you're the parent with the keys to the Imprezza. So what do you do:

(a) Say "no son, you're not getting the car because you think you're invincible and I know better".

(b) Here son, I'm charmed. You talk fancy and you win me over with all this talk of your invincibility. So here, take the Imprezza Ii bought with my hard-earned money".

The coffee still does not wake me up.

kARI,

kIDS WILL BE KIDS. Up to this day Iam walking with a limp from a motor cycle accident at No 63 beach. WILDNESS AND ADVENTURE GO HAND IN HAND WHEN YOU ARE YOUNG.

I am sure that the parents of the deceased  were not aware that thier kids were on the road at 3.30 am in the  morning.

No matter how much you preach kids will be kids.

kARI,

kIDS WILL BE KIDS. Up to this day Iam walking with a limp from a motor cycle accident at No 63 beach. WILDNESS AND ADVENTURE GO HAND IN HAND WHEN YOU ARE YOUNG.

I am sure that the parents of the deceased  were not aware that thier kids were on the road at 3.30 am in the  morning.

No matter how much you preach kids will be kids.

I agree with this.  However, parents should take some responsibility and not do things to impress the kid and the neighbors.  Kids need to mature into driving like anything else and to hand a young kid a powerful car is not much worse than handing a gun and ammo and expects he don't load it.

I recently gave my son his first car and decided on a small engine, nice looking rig but it shimmies when he hit 55-60.  How he it totally contented driving within shimmy tolerances.  He told me his personal project over the next year is to figure out how to get rid on the shimmy.  It will cost him about $500, so he could try deh.

Baseman,

I don't recommend older cars for young kids.  The newer models have better safety and braking features.

I'm sure the driver survived because of the newer airbag features. Those at the back weren't wearing seat belts.

Also I was on the Southern State late that same night coming back from a wedding. It was raining, roads slippery, and poor visibility. 

You have to teach your kids to drive from a very young age so when they reach 18, they are very comfortable in a fast car. 

I am guilty of buying a new red two-door sports car for my son to go to college, but he is a better driver than me. Reason: Cops target red sports car. If he speeds, the cops will nab him. With a 2 door, there can be only one passenger in the car with front and side airbags. 

TI

Do like the Mexicans and Dominicans. You want a car? Buy it yourself. The kids also learn the value of money. When they work, buy a car for $1000 and do work on it themselves they understand what they can and can't do with it. But to give a kid a nice new car and don't expect him to speed and show off on his friends is like putting a $100 bill in front of Jagdeo and not expect him to take it.

The death of these 4 Teenagers is bothering me. This was a Tragedy that could have been avoided. When I real the Blogs and Newspaper comments, I feel worst. It seems that Guyanese Parents are the only ones who would buy a new car for a Nonworking Teenager. We as Guyanese need to reexamine our thinking and ways. I am NOT saying this about this case but many times some Parents want to do like the Jones, and most times the Jones are other Relatives or Neighbors. I think most Guyanese will relate to what I am saying.

This is indeed very sad.

Nehru, many other nationalities buy new, expensive, fancy cars for their children. Don't pick on we po Guyanese peeps so.

If my son played those games and I was aware, those keys would stay in my pocket. If he wants to drive reckless then I'd much prefer he have his own chauffeur (the bus driver)

Now he has to be able to take care of himself while out on the street just as I had to do, jus start bully them boys before they start pick on you.

As the sayin goes, Do onto others as you think they'd do to you.

When all else fails, run tarass.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

Do like the Mexicans and Dominicans. You want a car? Buy it yourself. The kids also learn the value of money. When they work, buy a car for $1000 and do work on it themselves they understand what they can and can't do with it. But to give a kid a nice new car and don't expect him to speed and show off on his friends is like putting a $100 bill in front of Jagdeo and not expect him to take it.

A Mexican and a Dominician in a fast car.  Who driving?   The police, hehehe!

TI