One of the cheques written in Royston King’s name from Brian and Ingrid Chase Mining and Trucking.

Town Clerk, Royston King, has been implicated in the sale of city lands identified as government reserve and then diverting monies from the sale through his Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) instead of to the Mayor & City Council (M&CC) Treasury Department.

About two years before his appointment as Town Clerk, King while serving as the Public Relations Officer of M&CC, reportedly accepted over 15 payments in cheques and cash totalling $6.8M from Brian and Ingrid Chase Mining and Trucking company.

The property is approximately 23,600 square feet located opposite Lot 1576-1580 on Aubrey Barker Road, North Ruimveldt, Georgetown. The expected lease period is for 20 years.

Kaieteur News is in receipt of copies of the cheques and payment vouchers from the mining company which indicate that King used the NGO, Environmental Community Health Organisation (ECHO) to secure the payments.

Before his appointment as Town Clerk, King identified himself as the Executive Director of ECHO, writing letters to the media and leading protests calling for transparency and accountability in the extractive sector.

The owners of the mining company are contending that they knew and trusted King who identified himself as the head of ECHO. Further, the owners indicated that King identified himself as the owner of the land and they entered into an agreement to buy the strip of land for $7M.

The payments for the transactions reportedly started on April 15, 2013 with a cash payment of $200,000 which is said to be legal fees. The payments continued in May 2013 with a Scotiabank cheque from the mining company issued to ECHO in the amount of $300,000.

One of the cheques made out to ECHO, an NGO which Royston King identified himself as the Executive Director.

By the end of November 2013, there were seven subsequent payments by cheque made out directly to ECHO. Among them were a $700,000 transaction and two $500,000 payments.

According to records, the mining company had prepared a cheque dated December 5, 2013 in the name of ECHO. However, the NGO’s name was scratched from the cheque and replaced by Royston King. However, the payment voucher indicates that the cheque was paid to ‘Royston King for’ and bears King’s signature as uplifting the payment.

This is the first time in the transaction that King’s name appears among the cheques.

The company executives have stated that they were told to make the payment in ECHO’s name, but when King became Town Clerk they were told to make those payments directly to him.

According to company executives, they started work on the land, but were stopped by the Guyana Lands and Survey Commission (GL&SC). The agency identified as the owner of the property. Still in pursuit of the land, the company reportedly started the process all over again.

On February 21, 2017, the company paid a leasing fee of $1.8M by way of a cheque. This time the payment was made through the treasury department.

King is currently on administrative leave to facilitate a Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into the mismanagement of City Hall.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ale-of-govt-reserve/

• mceclip0

The M&CC Town Clerks these days are a far cry from those upright ones of yesteryear. I recall Elmo Mayers, for example, who commanded respect within the city council and among ratepayers in the 1970s.

Royston King was riding a wave of office holder corruption typical of the debauched PPP go-go years

it took an APNU-AFC COI to take him down . . . nota bene

Well, is PNC , that is routine. Those Jackasses only know to bray and Mo Fiah Slo Fiah!!!

Professa of Youtube, honorary dakta dakta dakta of CUNY, and king smartman, did you see de date pon de checks or note when de incidents tek place? who was in charge den?

These people should work hard to improve the quality of life in the city.  GT screams for help but the proud people of that city is oblivious to it. 

Did you see the date pon de check?

Dave, thanks for pointing out this pocketing of $6.8M was done in 2013 under the watchful eye of the PPP. 

For your information, the city council has always been control by PNC . Hamilton Green was the Mayor. The PPP was always bailing them in their financial woes. 

Dave, thanks for pointing out this pocketing of $6.8M was done in 2013 under the watchful eye of the PPP. 

For your information, the city council has always been control by PNC . Hamilton Green was the Mayor. The PPP was always bailing them in their financial woes. 

Dave, why did the PPP allow Hammy to be mayor for such prolonged period ?

Don't you think if LGE was held he would have been a goner ?

GT residents always vote race. PNC controlled town council still in place from the last LGE. Bai, wat wrong wid you ? Jumbie voted them in ? Wait and check out the upcoming LGE results when the voting is done this year and tell me who win GT.

Mayor Patricia Chase-Green informed of suspicious deal

Not only did Royston King divert $6.8M from a land deal through his Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO), but he attempted to cover his tracks by issuing a backdated lease for the property when he became Town Clerk.
This is according to documents obtained by Kaieteur News.
King has been implicated in a highly suspicious deal where he reportedly collected $6.8M from Brian and Ingrid Chase Mining and Trucking for the sale of lands identified as Government reserve.
The land is located along Aubrey Barker Road, North Ruimveldt.
Payment started in 2013 while King was serving as the Public Relations Officer of the Georgetown Mayor and City Council (M&CC).

The government reserve (looking west) in question, alongside Aubrey Barker Road, North Ruimveldt

A document titled ‘License to Occupy Council Reserve Opposite Lot 1579-1580 Aubrey Barker Road North Ruimveldt – Guyana’ carries King’s signature as Town Clerk.
In July 2015, King was appointed Town Clerk. However, the first line of the lease document, which carries King’s signature as Town Clerk states, ‘that the Licence is made and entered into on this day of 24th July, 2012’.
There are no records or agreement produced to indicate that payments were made in 2012 through City Hall for the property.
The agreement states that the licence is made and entered into between the Mayor and Councillors of the City of Georgetown and the mining company.
Further, the agreement is for a period of 20 years with a right of renewal for a further period to be determined.
The agreement appears to have been struck based on a payment of $1.8M, which was made through the city’s treasury department on February 22, 2017.

Embattled Town Clerk, Royston King

But there are discrepancies between the agreement and sundries receipt issued by the treasury department.
The lease agreement states that the mining company is to occupy the reserve opposite lot 1579 to 1580 Aubrey Barker Road. However, the payment receipt from the treasury indicates that the payment from the mining company was for the reserve land opposite lots 1576 to 1580.
Kaieteur News understands that several documents and copies of cashed cheques detailing the suspicious transaction have been lodged with City Mayor Patricia Chase-Green.
She is expected to testify today before the Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into the mismanagement of the city’s affairs.
King, who was sent on administrative leave to facilitate the CoI, is expected to testify on Monday. Up until now, he has dodged numerous allegations of corrupt dealings utilising taxpayer funds.
This latest information spotlights a transaction that started about two years prior to King’s appointment as Town Clerk.
He reportedly accepted over 15 payments in cheques and cash totalling $6.8M from the mining company.
Kaieteur News is in receipt of copies of the cheques and payment vouchers from the mining company, which indicate that King used the NGO, Environmental Community Health Organisation (ECHO), to secure the payments.
Before his appointment as Town Clerk, King identified himself as the Executive Director of ECHO, writing letters to the media and leading protests calling for transparency and accountability in the extractive sector.
The owners of the mining company are contending that they knew and trusted King, who identified himself as the head of ECHO. Further, the owners indicated that King identified himself as the owner of the land, and they entered into an agreement to buy the strip of land for $7M.
The payments for the transactions reportedly started on April 15, 2013, with a cash payment of $200,000 – said to be legal fees.
The payments continued in May 2013 with a Scotiabank cheque from the mining company issued to ECHO in the amount of $300,000.
By the end of November 2013, there were seven subsequent payments by cheque made out directly to ECHO. Among them were a $700,000 transaction and two $500,000 payments.
According to records, the mining company had prepared a cheque dated December 5, 2013 in the name of ECHO. However, the NGO’s name was scratched from that cheque and replaced by ‘Royston King’. However, the payment voucher indicates that the cheque was paid to ‘Royston King for ECHO’ and bears King’s signature as uplifting the payment.
This was the first time in the transaction that King’s name appears among the cheques.
The company executives have stated that they were told to make the payment in ECHO’s name, but when King became Town Clerk, they were told to make those payments directly to him.
According to company executives, they started work on the land, but were stopped by the Guyana Lands and Survey Commission. The agency identified itself as the owner of the property.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...e-became-town-clerk/

Mitu trying to rub PNC mud on PPP. Bai, snake oil ain’t selling anymore.

Why LGE wasn't held during the PPP/C tenure ?

Let’s not sway the topic. Comment on the subject matter and start a new topic if you want that discussion. 

GT residents always vote race. PNC controlled town council still in place from the last LGE. Bai, wat wrong wid you ? Jumble voted them in ?

The race based voting is inherent in the political landscape of Guyana, not subjected to Georgetown only.

Deflecting from answering why the PPP/C didn't held LGE during their tenure, is tantamount to be dishonest.

Currently in three years of the Current Government ,there are two LGE.Now the question to asked who are more Democratic.

Let’s not sway the topic. Comment on the subject matter and start a new topic if you want that discussion. 

De banna trying to wiggle on this one but you squeeze he pun he neck here. De man thief and GT people voted him in and he trying to rub de thief man black pot on the PPP. PNC won the last GT LGT. Jumbie na vote them in.

No one is swaying ,KIng is a scamp and was allowed to carry on with his klepocratic behavior because of the past policies of the former gov't.

De banna trying to wiggle on this one but you squeeze he pun he neck here. De man thief and GT people voted him in and he trying to rub de thief man black pot on the PPP. PNC won the last GT LGT. Jumbie na vote them in.

Spoken like a discussion at the culvert corner.

GT residents always vote race. PNC controlled town council still in place from the last LGE. Bai, wat wrong wid you ? Jumble voted them in ?

The race based voting is inherent in the political landscape of Guyana, not subjected to Georgetown only.

Deflecting from answering why the PPP/C didn't held LGE during their tenure, is tantamount to be dishonest.

Currently in three years of the Current Government ,there are two LGE.Now the question to asked who are more Democratic.

This is all about a thief man. He stole. This has nothing to do with the PPP. Bai stop wiggling on this one. Who voted him at the last LGE . PPP or PNC ?

Bai, stop defending a thief man. You can do better than that. 

No one is swaying ,KIng is a scamp and was allowed to carry on with his klepocratic behavior because of the past policies of the former gov't.

So why are you SELECTIVELY posting articles.

What does the past policy of PPP has to do with this matter. 

You have exposed yourself enough. Don’t bury yourself more. 

I like you but change that Freddy Kissoon attitude. 

Have a good day. 

You seems to be hanging out a lot with the culvert corner boys to know what goes on. 

So why are you SELECTIVELY posting articles.

What does the past policy of PPP has to do with this matter. 

You have exposed yourself enough. Don’t bury yourself more. 

I like you but change that Freddy Kissoon attitude. 

Have a good day. 

Bhai, if you read my post on this thread ,you would have gotten the gist.

Thank you for the compliment.

This is all about a thief man. He stole. This has nothing to do with the PPP. Bai stop wiggling on this one. Who voted him at the last LGE . PPP or PNC ?

Bai, stop defending a thief man. You can do better than that. 

Indeed he can do better and he’s a good man . He condemns corruption and try to justify why PNC thief.

Government officials  should be jail together if found guilty by an independent court. 

Wha praablem yuh gat wid culvert corner, Bai? Traditionally the culvert corner has been the people's parliament, a symbolic forum for grassroots debate of regional and national happenings. Without the culvert corner some people's fowl pens would be empty. Recently you said you and some friends used to raid a neighborhood mango tree. I can tell you didn't have a culvert corner or, if there was one you played big shot and bypassed it.

Indeed he can do better and he’s a good man . He condemns corruption and try to justify why PNC thief.

Government officials  should be jail together if found guilty by an independent court. 

Nope, me thinks there are misjudgements.

This COI is nailing the thieves in City Hall, bear in mind it's held by the same government  the thieves supported, the other one is Patricia Chase Green, waiting to hear the files on her.

DJ, at the Colvert corner you does get inside information bhai, back in the days , you keep the ears clean .... Our leader teaches us that way, the great CDE Jagan. 

APNU won the last election with all of their culvert corner allegations against the PPP. None of which can be proven today by APNU. 

Wha praablem yuh gat wid culvert corner, Bai? Traditionally the culvert corner has been the people's parliament, a symbolic forum for grassroots debate of regional and national happenings. Without the culvert corner some people's fowl pens would be empty. Recently you said you and some friends used to raid a neighborhood mango tree. I can tell you didn't have a culvert corner or, if there was one you played big shot and bypassed it.

I used by to stop by and listen to them bhais at the head of a neighboring village, when me hear the emphasis on the evil of Bourgeois and Imperialist, just leave and gone my way, i was still poor then.

One of my my friend was deeply entrenched in the Marxist belief, just listen to him and let him have his day.I figured there have to be some ideology that is better, found it later.

Most of them bhais are my friends today,one will always shower praises when ever we meet up,he remembers when i moved up the ladder, he was treated with respect when visited my home, even the kids from the village have good things to say, they remember my kindness.Although became a Bourgeois they can visit my home,be respected and guided.I passed on what i learned from others.

I used by to stop by and listen to them bhais at the head of a neighboring village, when me hear the emphasis on the evil of Bourgeois and Imperialist, just leave and gone my way, i was still poor then.

One of my my friend was deeply entrenched in the Marxist belief, just listen to him and let him have his day.I figured there have to be some ideology that is better, found it later.Most of them bhais are my friends today,one will always shower praises when ever we meet up,he remembers when i moved up the ladder, he was treated with respect when visited my home.

Bourgeois (capitalist), imperialist (big capitalist countries that exploit poor countries).

Don't underestimate culvert corner guys. They read and sometimes arm themselves with books, magazines & newspapers when they assemble. Each teaching the other. Ravi Dev & Gilbakka are Uitvlugt Pasture Culvert Corner alumni.