So Django, how come you call BJ a rat and you do not have any derogatory name for any PNC goon?

Present the comparison between the two individual, i will give my answer.

All of the PNC.

"Her comments have prompted opposition leader and PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo to condemn her statements as an admission of discriminatory labour practices.

“This is illegal. Volda Lawrence could be charged for this because our labour law says that you cannot discriminate against people on the basis of their gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, whatever else. She is making it clear that she is going to discriminate on the basis of their politics. I hope we can see some private criminal charges being filed against Volda Lawrence for a statement like this,” he told a press conference yesterday."

Hilarious !!! from the Rat , looks like he took a dip in the Atlantic and cleanse himself.

Django,

I see you are quick to the defense...you literally posted 2 seconds after me...

Would it make a difference to you if this highlighted statement was made by ....say ...Ramson?

What about Volda's, statement....a possible future President...which is the issue here? 

VishMahabir,

where is the defense, read my statement again.Since when the Rat have high morality ? if some one wasn't tainted and made such statement, surely it won't be pointed out.

I have condemn Volda Lawerance out of line statement, keep abreast before pointing fingers.

Django,

Since you ask....its not going to make you happy reading this....

I will ignore your penchant for posting info here that educate all of us...I have learned a lot about Guyana from your postings since I have been on GNI. I am sure you will continue to provide useful info on Guyana if and when me or anyone ask:

The issue I have with you is this:

1. You seem to forget that BJ and the PPP is no longer in power...they are in the opposition. Your yardstick always seem to be measured against what the PPP did in the past...more so on “RAT”...not seeing the coalition as a new government and raising the bar and using a more useful yardstick. The coalition promised change...to be different...to nurture a new politics in Guyana...hold them to those standards...

2. Because of your occupation with 1 above, your responses to most people here seems like you are fighting a battle with the supporters of the PPP. You have to be smart to know when to ignore nonsense.

3. This brings me to this one...Because of 1 and 2, (either because you are afraid or unwilling) you are not known for criticizing or taking on some of the outlandish comments by seemingly coalition supporters...you seem to accept them all as Gospel.  

Its like you are playing cricket with your 2 balls, but one ball is bigger than the other...so when you throw the balls you want them all to go to the same place.

What I am saying to you is when you are behaving like 3, you are adding legitimacy to comments from knuckleheads like Skeldon - Man, while appearing like you got “goodie” (I believe that’s the term) so you only leaning on one side.

Bottom line Django...you are not fair and balanced in your fighting words...that’s why I believe you invite so many one-line criticisms (not that all of them are justified).

It is always a pleasure for me to listen and read the words of SHAMELESS, ASS KISSING , BATTY WASHING Parasites!!!

thus VOMITS the DUNCE, DRUNK and STINK ANTIMAN PIG!

Redux, they should ban your ass permanently again for your "antiman" language.

Easy banna...we want to encourage discussion...not censor...sometimes dem colorful words met me laugh...and make my day.

Continue defending your pal.

Knucklehead,

Follow the rope,  you might find the end. 

Don’t forget to check the flashlight if it has batteries.

Can this woman Volda speak without sprinkling the word "comrade" everywhere? WTF is wrong with these people? The PPP and now the PNC has not woken up to the fact that communism for them is OVER! They insist on using these terms and bandying them about!

And what "app" is she building? How is internet connectivity in Guyana? And who is going to answer the billions of stupid reports and questions that come in,  like "meh neighba drunk".Civil servants don't even answer the phone, yet she and them will respond to all the unscreened nonsense that comes in over an "app".

They have no process but want technology to automate what? Or is it just for show?.

This is one BACKWARD, and STUPID place! Doomed to failure.

Can this woman Volda speak without sprinkling the word "comrade" everywhere? WTF is wrong with these people? The PPP and now the PNC has not woken up to the fact that communism for them is OVER! They insist on using these terms and bandying them about!

And what "app" is she building? How is internet connectivity in Guyana? And who is going to answer the billions of stupid reports and questions that come in,  like "meh neighba drunk".Civil servants don't even answer the phone, yet she and them will respond to all the unscreened nonsense that comes in over an "app".

They have no process but want technology to automate what? Or is it just for show?.

Iggy,

Thats why I love you bro...you level-headed...I share de same frustrations as you...

Regarding internet connectivity...I think the many blackouts gets in the way.

Iggy,

Thats why I love you bro...you level-headed...I share de same frustrations as you...

Banna, izz weh yu dozz come up with these things.   I nevva see a gwana with flat head!

The word "comrade" predates the word "communism". It originated in the 16th century from French, Spanish & Latin roots. Its association with communism is relatively short. Comrade has traditionally been associated with close friend, companion, colleague, coworker, fellow soldier, even fellow participant in noncommunist movements like the feminist movement. For me, comrade is a charming word that I use to address someone as a mark of respect. That's all I want to say, comrade Iguana.

The word "comrade" predates the word "communism".

It bin round since cave mans!

"Her comments have prompted opposition leader and PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo to condemn her statements as an admission of discriminatory labour practices.

“This is illegal. Volda Lawrence could be charged for this because our labour law says that you cannot discriminate against people on the basis of their gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, whatever else. She is making it clear that she is going to discriminate on the basis of their politics. I hope we can see some private criminal charges being filed against Volda Lawrence for a statement like this,” he told a press conference yesterday."

Hilarious !!! from the Rat , looks like he took a dip in the Atlantic and cleanse himself.

Django,

Would it make a difference to you if this highlighted statement was made by ....say ...Ramson?

What about Volda's, statement....a possible future President...which is the issue here? 

VishMahabir,

where is the defense, read my statement again.Since when the Rat have high morality ? if some one wasn't tainted and made such statement, surely it won't be pointed out.

I have condemn Volda Lawerance out of line statement, keep abreast before pointing fingers.

Django,

Since you ask....its not going to make you happy reading this....

I will ignore your penchant for posting info here that educate all of us...I have learned a lot about Guyana from your postings since I have been on GNI. I am sure you will continue to provide useful info on Guyana if and when me or anyone ask:

The issue I have with you is this:

1. You seem to forget that BJ and the PPP is no longer in power...they are in the opposition. Your yardstick always seem to be measured against what the PPP did in the past...more so on “RAT”...not seeing the coalition as a new government and raising the bar and using a more useful yardstick. The coalition promised change...to be different...to nurture a new politics in Guyana...hold them to those standards...

2. Because of your occupation with 1 above, your responses to most people here seems like you are fighting a battle with the supporters of the PPP. You have to be smart to know when to ignore nonsense.

3. This brings me to this one...Because of 1 and 2, (either because you are afraid or unwilling) you are not known for criticizing or taking on some of the outlandish comments by seemingly coalition supporters...you seem to accept them all as Gospel.  

Its like you are playing cricket with your 2 balls, but one ball is bigger than the other...so when you throw the balls you want them all to go to the same place.

What I am saying to you is when you are behaving like 3, you are adding legitimacy to comments from knuckleheads like Skeldon - Man, while appearing like you got “goodie” (I believe that’s the term) so you only leaning on one side.

Bottom line Django...you are not fair and balanced in your fighting words...that’s why I believe you invite so many one-line criticisms (not that all of them are justified).

Over a thousand words, you haven't address my two minuscule paragraphs,rebbuting your insinuation of defending.

What you have to understand is Jagdeo is the opposition leader of the PPP and aren't blanketed from criticism.There are many times i called out the wrong doings of the current administration, may be you turn the other side.I don't fight with anyone here,i confront with facts, hence the criticism of the  sheeple and their one line insults.

Iggy,

Banna, izz weh yu dozz come up with these things.   I nevva see a gwana with flat head!

Naw,

Izzy is a different specie, he part of the Darwinian mutation chain...

He willing to die a martyr fightin fo constitutional reform...

I can see it now...

...they gon create a huge statue of him in Guyana and place it next to Cuffy

...on one hand, lifted way up in de air, Iggy gon be holding a map of Guyana (like the Lion King)...and with the oda big arse hand, we gon see him holdin back the invading Venezuelans!...all dis, while de banna gon be standing 100 feet in de air, lookin down on us little people...

The word "comrade" predates the word "communism". It originated in the 16th century from French, Spanish & Latin roots. Its association with communism is relatively short. Comrade has traditionally been associated with close friend, companion, colleague, coworker, fellow soldier, even fellow participant in noncommunist movements like the feminist movement. For me, comrade is a charming word that I use to address someone as a mark of respect. That's all I want to say, comrade Iguana.

Thank you Gilly.........

You're welcome, comrade GT.

You may be correct however in the context of its introduction to Guyana, it was clearly during the forceful indoctrination of the Guyanese public to communists ideals. I suspect Gilly was one of them shirtjack wearing comrades going around calling people comrade this and comrade that during the 70's.

It represents a dark period in our history and it's about time these fools stopped using it while they are conducting government business. No one needs to be reminded of the days when Communism wreaked havoc on our nation. They can use it in their private time when they're praying to the Kabaka and likewise for the PPP with their God Jagan.  

You may be correct however in the context of its introduction to Guyana, it was clearly during the forceful indoctrination of the Guyanese public to communists ideals. 

To the best of my knowledge, a poor humble upright black man named Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow popularized "comrade" in Guyana decades before Burnham-Jagan.

You may be correct however in the context of its introduction to Guyana, it was clearly during the forceful indoctrination of the Guyanese public to communists ideals. 

To the best of my knowledge, a poor humble upright black man named Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow popularized "comrade" in Guyana decades before Burnham-Jagan.

I never heard it used in a widespread manner before the 70's when Burnham made a left turn supported by Jagan. Maybe you old PPP Commies used it at Freedom House and among your fellow Commies. 

As a country boy in the 1950s I heard "comrade" at public meetings and when party activists made house-to-house visits.

Nuff respect bro Ronan for defending your Joan of Arc,

But Volda is demonstrating everything that is wrong with Guyana, and all that was bad, that the PNC accused the PPP of being

...and people seem to already forget the parking lot/restaurant frakas with another lady-like toughness...is this what we gon see from the coalition after 2020? Guyana tekkin 2 steps forward, but 4 steps backward....

You been cussin Carib and moi with fancy vocabulary in another thread...what say you now Comrade???

She is now saying what she should have said before.  She is saying that PNC "comrades" need to prepare themselves to access the 20% set aside for small companies.  The problem is that she said she was only going to hire her PNC friends, so has undermined confidence that she and the PNC dominated gov't will be objective with these contract awards.

Yes it is a fact that Afro Guyanese are under represented among the larger businesses in Guyana.  This because of issues connected to the colonial era, to the failed social Burnham experiment (where private ownership was discouraged), and to the PPP period where blacks were discriminated against.

But one doesn't offset discrimination of one type by installing discrimination of another.  Contrary to what both the Afro KKK and the Indo KKK peddle (for different reasons) not every Indian in Guyana is rich, despite the fact that maybe 90% of asset ownership is in the hands of Indians and Portuguese.  The Indo KKK love to scream about the "industrious Indian and the lazy black".   The Afro KKK peddles the lie that every Indian is rich and that such wealth was generated through corrupt means.

At the grass roots level both manifest high poverty levels, so one cannot operate with the notion that Indians and other non blacks do not need access that the "20%" set aside allows.  One can legitimately install programs in ways to take into that the entrepreneurial tradition among Afros is less than it is among Indos, but the way to do it is to outreach into African communities to ensure that they become aware of the training programs and access to finance that the gov't will provide.

Its a pity that it took an embarrassing loss by the PNC due to low turnout amongst its base to get them to finally do what they should have been doing since June 2015.  All of this could have been accomplished without ethnic inflammatory talk.

But we heard rumors that certain PNC officials didn't want to waste time with small contractors (black people) because they don't have the money.  That they preferred to play footsie with people like BK (rich Indians), who had the ability to build into their costs whatever "incentives" that were required to "win" contracts. And that these people also knew the "pay to play" game. 

Now the PNC panics as they see how this image amongst their base will hurt them in 2020 unless they do something.  Typical stupid PNC.  And this sudden "interest" is that they fear that they will be out on their ass in 2 years and that the same corrupt PPP scamps who they have failed to arrest for their criminal behavior, will not show such "benevolence" towards them.

I resent being called comrade. PPP needs to stop using the dirty C word.

Django concurred.

Can't recalled using Comrade.

If there is one thing that I dislike about the PPP, it is this Comrade thing. 

The Rat sued Freddie K when he was called an Institutional Racist.  When Nigel Hughes argued the case, with evidence of racism and people excluded because they were presumed to be "PNC" (black) Jagdeo couldn't defend himself.  He sent Uncle Tom Roger Luncheon to argue that the PPP wasn't anti black.  Luncheon couldn't furnish evidence to counter claims made by Nigel Hughes and Freddie K.  Jagdeo then dropped the law suit. Ironically after the election Luncheon began to scream that the PPP was doing nothing to protect PPP blacks.

Jagdeo runs around making ethnic inflammatory remarks and Rohee confirmed that the PPP was indeed a "coolie people" party.  This because its TOP leadership and support base is almost exclusively Indian.  Jagdeo, having lost the election, went in front of a wailing group of Indians, who were convinced that "black man gun kill ahbe", this because of what Jagdeo had told them during the election campaign.  This because he was afraid that sufficient numbers of Indians would defect from the PPP to ensure their loss in 2015.  Jagdeo warned them that a PNC win meant GDF and GPF will rape and kill Indians and Amerindians.

Now Jagdeo pretends that he is a man of unity?

Well let Jagdeo furnish proof that he was bothered by the perception which 95%+ of blacks and 80%+ of mixed people have that the PPP is hostile to them.  If he isn't a racist this should have bothered him to the degree that he should have led a discussion of ethnic insecurity in Guyana.  Yes the same conversation that he challenged Granger to have with him.

The only ethnically inflammatory remarks made by Granger is when he inferred that grass roots blacks are lazy and only looking for handouts.  This when it was reported that this segment of the PNC base was unhappy with his leadership.  Yes he spoke in code but he did so at African oriented Emancipation Day events, so we know who he was talking about, and for a short time he was much loved by the Indo KKK element on GNI.

Volda Lawrence did not engage in HATE SPEECH (sorry Bharrat), neither did she do anything even close to "illegal"

husslin to outflank Joe Harmon on the 'militant' side, she dressed herself in an outfit of the grossest political stupidity

failing the test of leadership . . . neither she nor GDF Joe ready for prime time

It shows that she isn't cunning or smart.  She wanted to show that Harmon (and others) are in the pockets of the mainly PPP supporting Indo oligarchs, so she tried to show that she would favor PNC supporters.

What she didn't take into account, in ethnically divided Guyana, that such remarks can be seen as ethnically inflammatory even if she didn't mean it that way.  She should have just gone straight to the point by saying that a majority black crowd isn't sufficient and that the PNC had to expand its base and in a real way.  Not be ethnic tokenism as the PPP is so adept at doing (not winning black support by these tactics by the way).

But now she and the PNC have to defend themselves against making ethnically inflammatory remarks by issuing a more ethnically neutral press release.

Smart politicians know three things;

1.  The opposition will always twist remarks out of context and so these comments should be made in ways to ensure that it becomes hard to do so in an inflammatory way.

2.  Once these comments become viral it is hard to recover.

3.  There are never any secrets as there are always moles in the room which is why we know about Jagdeo's "black people gun rape and kill straight hair people" which he said when he didn't see blacks around. So comments should NEVER be made in jest or from an emotional point of view if they can be pulled out of context.

Mistah..ah mean....comrade Gill, ah know dat. But whatever the origins of the word and its age, it is particularly associated with a bankrupt ideology not viewed favorably by most, particularly the Americans who we relyin' pon fuh tek out we aile. Does it not make sense to abandon the use of that word and get with the times?

These dunderhead, stupid people like those in the PPP and PNC need to be retired. Not only is this Volda woman mumbling stupidity, but spitting out "comrade" every 2 words as though it adds veracity to what she sehin'.

These people talk like they're the second coming of Castro. Who the fk wants to be that? Dress up in battle fatigues and parade all over but got no guns, can't fire guns and win no battles. Sheeeesh.....

Hey hey hey...doh is some RED herrin dey bai. FACT: dem get wan 15 mill USD loan fram IDB foh AFRICAN ONLY village foh agri. FACT: Dem already givin nuff nuff small business contract to dem mattie. FACT: dem putting dem mattie in all bords and senior post. Oh, lemme see...dem tink dat dem muss not give nothing to anybady. Bai, dem dis is serious prablem and waste and inefficiency...bai let me stock up wid me nachos and queso and meh jalepeno foh de action after 2020. 

1. "Dem mattie" complaining that "only coolie people like BK getting contracts".  So show me all of the blacks who suddenly became wealthy since 2015.

2. The IDB will NEVER award any funds to Guyana or any nation in the non Hispanic Caribbean based on allocations only to Afro descendants.  This might be true for Latin America where they are considered extremely under represented and impoverished but the IDB and the OAS EXPLICITLY excludes the English speaking Caribbean, Haiti and North America from this as blacks in these societies are represented at all levels of society.  You will be hard pressed to find a Carl Greenidge from Brazil or Colombia, a man of African descent who represents his nation at all international forums, bringing along a team with many Afro descendant people.  And whatever you Indo KKK might think of him the man is respected in these environments.

Stop telling lies.   Even Roger Luncheon couldn't deny that there was rampant anti black behavior under Jagdeo and that after the PPP loss he accused the PPP of failing to protect its black members from "retaliation" from the Coalition gov't.

As a country boy in the 1950s I heard "comrade" at public meetings and when party activists made house-to-house visits.

Then no wonder the USA and the UK conspired to get rid of him.  Who the hell wanted a second Fidel Castro in the Americas.

Hey hey hey...yuh badminded bai dem busy rewarding dem mattie. But ayoo want all. hey hey hey. Like when ayoo do house scheme. Blackman: ALL, Coolie: none. Hey hey hey...BOG: blackman 245, coolie 4...hey hey hey...doh is de good ole daze ayoo cravin foh nuh. Hey hey hey...

actually, Volda Lawrence and Joe Harmon 'lamenting' the opposite

your reflexive, ethnic sore scraping (force-everything-into-a-race-CUP) chanting notwithstanding

In Guyana PNC=race and PPP=race, so how can one discuss politics in Guyana without reference to race?

That is why Guyanese politicians must be very careful with their utterances as these will be viewed through an ethnically biased lens, whether intended or not.  This is especially if the intent wasn't to ethnically pander.  In fact I have seen in other forums black people screaming that she is right to discriminate in favor of blacks just because they perceive that the PPP discriminated in favor of Indians.

This might not have been her intent but there are many on both sides who see it that way, and some cheer at the stupidity as it makes it easy for them to embellish the PNC with an anti Indian/Amerindian brush. And some cheer because they think that FINALLY the PNC will embrace "ahwe black man on top".

Then no wonder the USA and the UK conspired to get rid of him.  Who the hell wanted a second Fidel Castro in the Americas.

And he (Cheddi) was so dunce and STUPID that he couldn't see that. Kept consorting with Allende and all the anti american clowns and then expect America to welcome he wid open arms and foist billions pon he. Weak, stupid man. No wonder Forbes used to manners he good.

Before the Catholic Standard and Stabroek News began to publish I used to go to the PPP bookshop hoping to see if they had any objective information about Guyana.  This given that the Chronicle was a PNC rag fit only for use as toilet paper.

Instead I saw the Mirror condemning the USA for Vietnam while praising the Soviet Union for Afghanistan.  So how can one suggest to me that the PPP wasn't a hard core Marxist Leninist bunches of stooges controlled by Moscow and Havana?  Gilbakka will find some excuse.

Before the Catholic Standard and Stabroek News began to publish I used to go to the PPP bookshop

You are one ancient racist, imagine you predate catholic standard and stabroek. 

Django,

The issue here is,  Jagdeo supported  Indos as president and  if she should become president, Lawrence  might support blacks,  as she said.

But what is your solution to this racist shit in Guyana,  that is destroying the people and country ?

Either have an answer, or go do your homework, so you can become president of Guyana and harmonize the races for equality.   

Burnham enforced the term Comrade making it part of the national lexicon.