Alleged boyfriend of girl who was crushed commits suicide

By Ramona Luthi

A 15-year-old Non Pariel, East Coast Demerara resident on Sunday evening took his own life, allegedly over the death of his 12-year-old girlfriend who was crushed on Friday last in the La Bonne Intention (LBI), East Coast Demerara home after it collapsed with her inside.

Dead is Ricardo Niranjan of Block 12, Non Pariel, East Coast Demerara.

Based on reports received, Niranjan would usually reside with his mother and two sisters at their home. However, on Wednesday last, the trio left for Suriname to visit an ailing relative, leaving the teen home alone.

This publication was informed by Niranjan’s relative that the lad and the now deceased 12-year-old were “boyfriend and girlfriend.”

INews was also told that upon learning of his girlfriend’s death on Friday, the teen seemed heartbroken and reserved.

On Monday, neighbours realised that they had not seen Niranjan since Sunday evening and so they decided to call on him at his home. However, upon checking they were met with the sight of Niranjan hanging from the ceiling.

The police were contacted, and the teen’s body was “cut down.”

Niranjan’s mother and sisters are expected to return from Suriname later today.

The collapsed house

Inews had previously reported that on August 18, 2017, tragedy befell the community of LBI after a single-storey wooden building came crashing down, resulting in 12-year-old Amber Richards of Canal Number One, West Bank Demerara being crushed to death, while her 9-year-old brother was rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital, nursing severe injuries.

The two were at the time vacationing at their aunt’s home while on break from school.

According to reports, the siblings were rocking in a hammock tied under the wooden building when the house came crashing down. The hammock was said to be attached to the main supporting beams on which the building was resting, approximately seven feet off the ground.

The children’s uncle, who was home at the time that the house collapsed, said that the children “went downstairs (below the house) in the hammock and like they were shaking and the house pull and drop.”

He said, he along with his wife and two children were in the building, while the two siblings were under the house.

A rescue team arrived at the residence approximately 30 minutes after receiving the report and only managed to remove the children from under the rubble after much effort. The 12-year-old had already taken her last breath before she was found while her brother remained conscious despite his injuries.

Meanwhile, a relative of the now dead child indicated that Richards was faced with severe medical complications as a child and required much investment to keep her alive. As such, they were all is dismay over her sudden demise.

The house was said to be standing for some 30 years and was set to undergo renovations.

We need to get Tola to go down to Guyana and eradicate the suicide epidemic.  The coalition govt will welcome him.

Na, no need for Tola. The PPP government did such a great job of improving the lives of the average Guyanese. Isn't this the mantra that you and your ilk preaches on a daily basis her?

We need to get Tola to go down to Guyana and eradicate the suicide epidemic.  The coalition govt will welcome him.

funny you take someone's suicide and use it against another poster

RiffRaff posted:

No class or humanity!!!

RiffRaff posted:

Its no wonder  Indians in Guyana are is such a shit hole. Bibi and HE hero Jagdeo scratching dem balls in public, living in mansions,  while the people who voted for them struggle for a  livelihood and still killing themselves in large numbers.

Bibi get off you  ass, come and help, or get you hero Jagdeo to use some of his millions to help the people whose votes he want, for his master plan for the sugar industry.

Typical of Bibi, Jagdeo and the PPP, they will use someone misfortune to make themselves look good. These people lost all shame a long time ago.   

Tola,

Yuji always calls a spade a spade.

Suicide has been officially declared an epidemic in Guyana and so recently by the WHO.

Instead of attacking Jagdeo who is not the President, we need to attack and question Granger and the Current Minister of heath. What is fair is fair. They are the government of the day.

And furthermore, since this epidemic mainly affects Indos, what is Moses and Ramjattan dong about this ? 

These are important questions and the current government is doing much worse in addressing this epidemic. Instead of attacking Jagdeo who is not the President, we need to address the important questions at Granger and the PNC.

Last time I checked, he (Granger) was busy working with Afros and encouraging them to provide financial requirements for allocation in the budget to assist Afros.

How about someone asking Granger about the epidemic of suicide affecting Guyanese ?

Why is it that organizations in Guyana which claim to care about Indos and suicide grow some ball* and confront Granger, Moses, Ramjattan, the minister of Health and the current PNC administration ?

Yuji22

Yuji, calling a spade a spade.

We were in Guyana for years and saw the lack of contribution the Jadgeo administration made for  suicide prevention. They even made  the problem worse by doing nothing. 

Rightful, the present government has a responsibility to deal with the issue, BUT what had the Jagdeo/Ramotar  administration did, with more to gain from their Indo voters, to help the situation?  Nothing.

Race is a problem in Guyana, if an Indian government did nothing to help their Indian voters with suicide prevention,  what do you expect a black government will do?  Plus,  Moses and Ramjattan are just blobs with little say, to make things happen.

Come on Yuji, get off that racist shit and look at this logically. Coolie na help coolie, you want black man to help coolie ? 

The PPP administration had an opportunity to do a lot of good  with many NGOs and Canadian universities to prevent suicides in Guyana with the National Suicide Prevention  Committee under Ramsammy.  But dem rass only interested in front page news and filling dem pockets.

The PPP failed the Indians in Guyana. Ministers now live in mansions with their millions, while the ordinary Indian who voted for them, still struggle for a likelihood.

Following Jagdeo's warped  leadership, Mutt and Jeff destroyed any effort for suicide prevention by NGOs and Canadian universities/US Peace Corps in Berbice.

You people on GNI with anonymous names are just farts in the air. Where do you have the time to post all this shit that you assume. Get off your asses and come help the people you seem to care so much about.  Jagdeo now living like a hog in a trough with his millions, he rass could care less about Indians killing themselves.   

One minor is killed under a collapsed house. That's a tragedy. Another minor, allegedly her boyfriend, hangs himself while mourning his loss. That's a double tragedy. Both tragedies were unexpected. These two events have nothing to do with politics. Gilbakka is offering his condolences to families of the deceased.

Tola posted:

We were in Guyana for years and saw the lack of contribution the Jadgeo administration made for  suicide prevention. They even made  the problem worse by doing nothing. 

Rightful, the present government has a responsibility to deal with the issue, BUT what had the Jagdeo/Ramotar  administration did, with more to gain from their Indo voters, to help the situation?  Nothing.

Race is a problem in Guyana, if an Indian government did nothing to help their Indian voters with suicide prevention,  what do you expect a black government will do?  Plus,  Moses and Ramjattan are just blobs with little say, to make things happen.

Come on Yuji, get off that racist shit and look at this logically. Coolie na help coolie, you want black man to help coolie ? 

The PPP administration had an opportunity to do a lot of good  with many NGOs and Canadian universities to prevent suicides in Guyana with the National Suicide Prevention  Committee under Ramsammy.  But dem rass only interested in front page news and filling dem pockets.

The PPP failed the Indians in Guyana. Ministers now live in mansions with their millions, while the ordinary Indian who voted for them, still struggle for a likelihood.

Following Jagdeo's warped  leadership, Mutt and Jeff destroyed any effort for suicide prevention by NGOs and Canadian universities/US Peace Corps in Berbice.

You people on GNI with anonymous names are just farts in the air. Where do you have the time to post all this shit that you assume. Get off your asses and come help the people you seem to care so much about.  Jagdeo now living like a hog in a trough with his millions, he rass could care less about Indians killing themselves.   

Tola,

I am quite astonished at your response.

Riff immediately identified the problem. 

I highlighted the problem with Politicians and you dragged race stating, "racist shyte".

Let us assume that the PPP failed to address this problem then what is the PNC doing to solve it ? They (AFC/PNC) were beating up their chests during the election about the incompetency of the PPP and promised to solve these problems. They need to be held accountable.

Guess what ? They failed miserably.

Why should Granger not solve this problem ? He is the President for ALL Guyanese. You know what ? He is the a racist piece of crap. He does not care about Indos. 

I do not see you for one single second holding him and the AFC responsible for solving this problem. You keep harping about Jagdeo, if Jagdeo failed to address this problem then how differently is this government dealing with it ?

Come on man, be real for once and acknowledge that the AFC/PNC has done NOTHING to address this problem.

You know what ? This problem can get better if the government starts with mental health subjects at the school level. At lease the next generation will start doing a lot better in handling this problem.

Please stop blaming Jagdeo as if he is solely responsible for it. As Riff correctly identified, this is mainly an Indo problem that goes wayyy back. The only solution is education.

Yuji22

Tola posted:

Tola,

I am quite astonished at your response.

Riff immediately identified the problem. 

I highlighted the problem with Politicians and you dragged race stating, "racist shyte".

Let us assume that the PPP failed to address this problem then what is the PNC doing to solve it ? They (AFC/PNC) were beating up their chests during the election about the incompetency of the PPP and promised to solve these problems. They need to be held accountable.

Guess what ? They failed miserably.

Why should Granger not solve this problem ? He is the President for ALL Guyanese. You know what ? He is the a racist piece of crap. He does not care about Indos. 

I do not see you for one single second holding him and the AFC responsible for solving this problem. You keep harping about Jagdeo, if Jagdeo failed to address this problem then how differently is this government dealing with it ?

Come on man, be real for once and acknowledge that the AFC/PNC has done NOTHING to address this problem.

You know what ? This problem can get better if the government starts with mental health subjects at the school level. At lease the next generation will start doing a lot better in handling this problem.

Please stop blaming Jagdeo as if he is solely responsible for it. As Riff correctly identified, this is mainly an Indo problem that goes wayyy back. The only solution is education.

Yuji22

Because this intellectual runt has no clue.  He talks shyte but never elaborate his approach.  His approach is to cuss the PPP/BJ!

Why don't he publish his works and what he is doing/done and where this effort is going?  He cannot.  Who is he anyway, does anyone even knows?

The issue is more than just education, it's deeper.  Educated people also commit suicide.  It's also not just hopelessness.  Why would a 15 year old be hopeless?  Why does he feel the solution to his grief is suicide?  Why is it more prevalent in the Indian community?  I had two friends, one 12 one 19 who committed suicide for different reasons.  This was in the 70's!  Indian suicide is a long-term issue well before 1992 and BJ!

ba$eman posted:
.  Why is it more prevalent in the Indian community?  I had two friends, one 12 one 19 who committed suicide for different reasons.  This was in the 70's!  Indian suicide is a long-term issue well before 1992 and BJ!

Given that this has been a problem for a long time why then did the PPP not deal with this?  They had 23 years to do so but did nothing.

Now they are bold faced enough to scream about Granger and said NOTHING during the PPP era.

Hard face BIBI, you have no dignity nor shame for using such a tragedy to put down another poster.  You deserve to be stoned.

Nothing new here Mits, the PPP and their scratch balls Bibi hero, lost all shame a long time ago.

You notice Basement Baseboard has not replied to why the PPP, in 23 years,  did nothing  to prevent  their Indian voters  from taking their own lives. Because they were too busy filing their pockets,  while the voters still struggle for a livelihood.   

Last edited by Tola
Tola posted:

Nothing new here Mits, the PPP and their scratch balls Bibi hero, lost all shame a long time ago.

You notice Basement Baseboard has not replied to why the PPP, in 23 years,  did nothing  to prevent  their Indian voters  from taking their own lives. Because they were too busy filing their pockets,  while the voters still struggle for a livelihood.   

Fraud, you will be slushing around around in your shitty geriatric diaper and cussing BJ.  You are a dunce and don't know what you doing so all you do is cuss the PPP over some help line!

You had all the answers, how come all you can do is cuss the PPP after over two years.  Tell us what you have been doing since May 2015!  Granger kiced you to the curb and now you even upset at my fam!

Baseman, I was in your hood last week and my nephews spoke highly of you. Small world Uncle Harry. 

Well you found out Base,have some good qualities.

I believe dem boys when dem seh dat he is down to earth guy and will bend over backwards to help others. I never let them know he posts on GNI. 

What Bibi said was uncalled for, even provocative. But, Mits, your statement as highlighted above is atrocious and uncalled for. There are better ways to respond. Please challenge and respect your intellect. Friendly advice.

Thanks. Noted. 

Much appreciated. I know you are still salvageable and redeemable, bhai.

RiffRaff posted:

SUicide has been a problem (mainly Indos) for decades in Guyana....this attitude to kill yourself over every little thing came down from our ancestors...

I guess the changing times and exposure to the media (tv, computers, internet, fancy phones, etc.) did not erase that mentality.    

http://www.who.int/mental_heal...revention/guyana/en/

What is WHO doing, didn't they have a meeting recently in Guyana? I'll follow up with my Geneva contacts.

What is uncalled for?  Do you have a problem with Tola eradicating suicide in Guyana?  I am surprised to hear that.  The govt needs all the help it can get.  And we do have an expert here on suicide prevention who has been banging on the door to render his assistance. I don't see how two rights can make a wrong.

You are being a hippocrite. Perhaps  you meant well. Whatever you said came over as scorn and contempt for Tola and his work and his experience with the past administration. 

ba$eman posted:
Tola posted:

Fraud, you will be slushing around around in your shitty geriatric diaper and cussing BJ.  You are a dunce and don't know what you doing so all you do is cuss the PPP over some help line!

You had all the answers, how come all you can do is cuss the PPP after over two years.  Tell us what you have been doing since May 2015!  Granger kiced you to the curb and now you even upset at my fam!

Hea Baseless Basement Baseboard,  like de cat pee in you dhall again this morning.  if you don't know  anything about me, how come you make so much ASS-umptions   about what we do ?

But we know you screwed up some people lives in India and had to run like hell. Also, you are too dam ashamed of receiving blackman Granger money for your family charity and as  board member, you don't know how it was spent. Why did you remove the information from your website ?

Jagdeo is a low life  who was more interested in filling his pocket, than helping  the people who votes for him. He also trained Mutt and Jeff  with his nastiness and vindictiveness to destroy the youth.      AH,  Jagdeo need to be accountable for doing nothing to assist the youth. He was a failed  leader, who  built projects  that profit himself.

You are also a low life for picking heroes like Jagdeoa and Trump.  Haven help us if Trump don't destroy the whole dam world, with the launch codes.  

Wha rass did Jagdeo and the PPP did in 23 years to stop  their  voters from killing themselves ?

You are being a hippocrite. Perhaps  you meant well. Whatever you said came over as scorn and contempt for Tola and his work and his experience with the past administration. 

Spell Check Alert!!!!

The teacher must have kept you in front of the class at dunsee.

The question Bibi posed to Gilbakka: Do you have a problem with Tola eradicating suicide in Guyana? Yes, I have a problem with the unimaginable idea that the burden of eradicating suicide rests on Tola's shoulders. The good man tried hard and long but encountered a red-brick wall. And it's pointless to mention Tola's name anytime a Ramesh, Ali or Parbattie commits suicide. Uncalled for, Bibi. I expect better from you.

Tola made it clear on this forum on several occasions that he can solve the suicide problem in Guyana if given the chance.  The PNC should give him a chance.  I am not putting it on his shoulders, the man made the offer that no government should ever refuse.  Let him do his thing if that is what God sent him on earth to do.  The families of Ramesh, Ali, and Parbattie will be thankful.

One minor is killed under a collapsed house. That's a tragedy. Another minor, allegedly her boyfriend, hangs himself while mourning his loss. That's a double tragedy. Both tragedies were unexpected. These two events have nothing to do with politics. Gilbakka is offering his condolences to families of the deceased.

I wonder what the families and friends of these people are thinking when reading this thread. Instead of all the mudslinging, it would be nice if we can figure out something to do for them.

Tola made it clear on this forum on several occasions that he can solve the suicide problem in Guyana if given the chance.  The PNC should give him a chance.  I am not putting it on his shoulders, the man made the offer that no government should ever refuse.  Let him do his thing if that is what God sent him on earth to do.  The families of Ramesh, Ali, and Parbattie will be thankful.

You lie. Tola made no such claim. 

And this surprises you?????

I would like to post a picture of her nose. 

Oh Lord - three ring circus come to town - starring eeny, meeny, and moe.   All three add up together can't mek one.